(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Daphne,
i delivered my boy at TMC but pre-natal class are not FOC. Here's the link for details on the lesson & price: http://www.thomsonmedical.com/facilities.htm
FBI card get additionl disc

Asura,
yes, u can attend alone if hubby not around. No worry cos the teacher "Mrs Wong" can be your partner during Antenatal Exercise. I have seen mothers alone attend the class & we "other couples" will offer to help these mothers if they need any. No problem de.

asura79..

dun worry gal....coz i am also be going for those classes alone most of the time....as my hubby will be overseas alot too....

so to the both of us...CHEERS!!!!
stay happy...

promegrante.....hmmm i think i'll start at 4th mth....coz i KS lah..hehehe........once the bbay stables then i do more exercises and swim...

Daphne,

Would thank all of u in advance for the emotional support during my hb's absence. My hb would be outstation from 22 Sep. Me only 12/13 wks then...

Was telling him that it is good also... no one to indulge me in my cravings, wouldnt be able to gain too much weight... heh.... what a consolation.

thanks alot steph....

sorry ladies.....i guess my galfren have told me something that's not true...hehhee...will check with my repective hospital..if not will head to TMC...

Promeganate,

If u like it, dont drink too much of it during first trimester. We are not supposed to "bu" too much right now. Another interesting thing is that from wk36, we should drink fresh coconut drink with flesh every day, helps in natural birth!

Asura,
fresh coconut cannot drink every day de...too liang. During last trimester ard week 34 onwards then start to drink twice a week only. Coconut will not help in natural birth but when u give birth, baby will be clean & not bloody de. Is true for my case

I haven't tell my boss yet. cos at my last checkup, din see the baby's heartbeat yet. intend to tell him after we see the bb's heartbeat

I'm back... Could not sleep last night, toss and turn and a couple of visits to the loo. By the time i was able to doze off, it's already about 6-7am in the morning. Alarm clock rang for work, but i just could not get up. Took half a day's leave for A.M., now back at work, but still really tired...

Yahyah...My gynae charges are real reasonable, WH's also, i saw it in her post. The minus point of my Gynae is, we always have to wait very very long as it is always soooo crowded.

Hope Sashamama is alright. Can't wait for her good news! Let's pray for her k?

BTW, all your bosses are so nice and +ve about your pregnancy. I am supporting 4 bosses, and 2 are not supportive. I only have My only Lady boss's support, as she is married with 2 kids. The other 3 are men, (workaholics ones, not very family oriented). Haizzzz... Will kinda miss my lady boss after i leave this workplace...

After I typed the above, I found out i am getting more and more emotional...

Promeganate,
The avocado juice I drank is with HL milk and bit of brown sugar. Taste really nice & yummy. I took a lot when I have #1.

Me too don't intend to tell boss yet . Want to wait till first tri over then say .

Last time I eat coconut around wk 36 and about 2 - 3 times weekly not everyday .

Must one really drink fresh coconut in our late trimester? I never drink fresh coconut before coz it's kinda cooling for me before.

But for the BB, I'll try if I have to. =D

Coconut is to tone down the heat of our body before we start to eat heathy confinement food. I also took that around 34 weeks about once to twice a week. its works.

All MTBs here going for Natural Delivery?

I am kinda scared of going Natural...but I think my HB wans to experience that. Me Pain leh, not him.... Arghhhh

Gingal,

I think whichever method of delivery would hurt. I prefer natural as the healing process is faster plus i heard tat when the bb pass through the birth canal, excess liquids would be squeezed out of it. Hence, bb under natural birth are not so susceptible to lung infections.

i'm going natural.
my first born is natural with epidual.
2nd one is natural, only with aid of laughing gas, which din help much at all loh. make me dizzy only
this one, I intend natural again, hope I will not scrumble to epidual.

I'm going for natural. Hoping with no epidural. But that's subject to my pain threshold, since I won't know till then coz This is my 1st born.

ya. agree with minnie.
the nurses will ask you if you want or not, dun scrumble to it if you can withstand the pain.
my case for my first born, i take it because that time 1st time ma, don't know anything, the nurses say wat, i follow wat. they told be a lot of pregnant ladies opt for epidual. Duhz. stupid me to listen to them

same, I'll opt for natural then try laughing gas and if that doesnt work and the pain is too much to bear, then I'll go for epidural.

Hmmm...heard ppl say when u reach your limit then take epidural will have no effect liao. Must take before the pain starts...True?

I dunno what happened, i tot i recovering from my MS...But now nauseas like mad, and my tummy keep cramping...

Minnie24,

Oh, u mean we can decide at that point? Cos some of my colleagues decide before the actual birth starts.

cause epidual is expensive, so normally during birthing, the nurses will ask you want to opt for that or not.
and when you reach 7cm dilated, normally you cannot opt for epidual already, cos it will be too late and risky for the tube to be poke at your back, which is near the spinal cord.
this is wat I remember

I guess we have to pray well we all have a smooth and as less pain labour !! =D we'll never know till then.

Like my sister having my nephew, she opt for natural delivery but had a painful and long contraction so opt for epidural. Then when she's dilated, she has problem pushing coz my nephew's head is too big to pass thru her birth canal so have to go for C-sec. She went thru ALL the process.

minnie24,

U think the gynae can tell us beforehand whether bb's head is too big? My hb's head is quite big... worried that our bb would take after him.

Irene,

Yup! I intend to bf until at least 6 mths, preferably until 10 mths old... heard that milk can be kept frozen for up to 3 mths... am hoping to make sure my bb dont drink formula until he reaches his first birthday. My hb got a lot of allergy prob, think bf reduces allergy prob for kids.

Yah, Asura79

My hb's head is BIG too. We are worried too. Mayb will make note to my gynae about this.

Irene
YES, will hope I can breastfeed BB. Since it's well known for its benefits and can bond BB and mothers. Beneficial for BB and mothers.
But my mother and sister cant breastfed. BB cant suckle. I hope my BB can suckle well.

My HB head also Big, Mine is not small either. wahahaha, why we all have Big-Heads HBs?

Irene, Yupz, Should be Breastfeeding... I hope my MIL who will be doing my confinement is Pro-BF, if she Anti about it I dunno how... Heard that old ppl keep think BB will not have enuff to eat thus they prefer formula milk. Another saying is, if you BF, BB and Mummy will be very close, thus the old ppl will be jealous when BB crave mummy's attention only... True? Hmmmmm....hearsay only loh...

Asura,
I intend to BF again for No.2 as I BF my gal till she is 1yrs old. But her intake will drop after 6mths when they start semi solid, so by 6mths can start to slow down on pumping BM. From start my milk flow not that much so I have to mix with formula until my supply gets better.
Minnie,
Is not that they don't know to suckle, you have to find the right way to BF them. Mostly the nurse will teach and once you get hold of it will be easy.

gingal,
You know in my 1st month, my MIL is like that lor. She kept saying you got not enough milk just give formula don't mix with BM. Coz that time my gal kept puking milk after each feed, so my MIL blame it on my leak of BM and I gave formula milk, she say that makes my gal puke more. I so angry and say: You thought I don't want to have more milk meh!! If I have enough BM I will not be giving her formula. Now think back still very angry!!

Jasmine
So y do babies puke after each feed? is it becoz they are not burp properly? or is it becoz they are not used to the milk?

Jasmine,
Oh dear... i think my MIL won't blame me, but she will worry baby dun have enuff to drink and persuade me to give more formula and stop BF... i scared i soft-heart then give in and stop BF...
They Like FAT BBs, and she will feed alot formula milk until Big Size and FAT, they say easier to look after...*Faint*

I think better communicate with my MIL if i wan BF...

how i wish my mum can take care of me for confinement. Pls let me Tio ToTo, i will ask her take one month's No Pay Leave for me. With my Mum (She is modern de), i can have more freedom...

cindy
hahah tink i made a mistake..
baby shd be 2.41cm haha..as stated in the ultrasound scan pic..
when scanning time, i saw bb moving a lil.. but when dr says "c its moving, dan bb stop moving liao". haha.. tink bb shy.

i tink i will opt for natural w/o epi..
got phobia abt epi..
i will bf since im sahmtb..

next visit to chk up will be 3 wks day..
by then i will have to do blood test and oscar test. donno shd do oscar or nt..

I am also going to have natural birth. When will the gynae ask to choose which method to use?

Wonder will squeeze the wrong thing out. :p

Don't worry about bb not suckling, you can always pump BM out and feed them.
I intend to invest in a good dual pump this time.
Anyone know if Ameda one is good or the Medela de?
oppsgal, you can actually tell your gynae your birthing plan now, so he/she will take note of it.

Irene

Ok.. will tell my gynae next visit. Also must remember to tell her got some spotting (light brown) when poo the day before but after cleaning no more.

BM cannot pump out so early. Must let BB suck 1st to let BM flow. Think can only pump 3mths after give birth.

actually not true, can pump as soon as your milk flow regulate I think.
I know for the first few days, it's good for the baby to feed direct.

My HB was a fat baby and then later on became a fat kid. He said he hated it coz all the aunties liked to pinch his cheeks whenever they saw him and would always teased him for being fat. On top of being tease at, he would always ganna ask to see doctor during yearly check up in primary school coz he was always overweight. So he always says he would never let his children to have the same 'fate' as him.

We've already decided on breatfeeding all along even before I conceived coz breatmilk is the best and most suitable for bb. We've also seen friends who BF and no BF. There is really difference in their children. Children who drink BM are healthier than those who don't. And their parents actually regretted for not BF their children coz always sick not easy to take care also..

irene,
I used Ameda before is ok consider quiet. But if you want more powerful ones, go for Avent DUO or Medela PIS, but they cost lot more than Ameda.
Minnie,
I think my girl got light colic coz she got windy tummy even I burp her she still will puke. Puke until I also don't know she got enough intake of milk or not. So once she cried every 2hrs I just feed her lor.