(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Grace,
I didn't know premature cannot take 6-In-1 wor? My boy born when he is 36 weeks 3 days, does that means he is a premature baby too? $120 is for 1 jab, 3 jab total will be $360 for the 6-In-1 jab.
Wintertime,
We bringing baby to our usual family doctor near our house, Last time #1 also took all her jab there.

queenie, yes, i applied after every pump.. but still a little sore.. esp when bb kept pulling when he gets a little fustrated..

caca, soon it will be ur turn!!! enjoy the times u have now..

jasmine, i see.. i thinking of finding a PD near my place too.. find it so troublesome to go to TMC

Miss83,
I'm using NAN, i think is around $32. but cant confirm cos my husband buy the milk powder not me. They said it taste like breastmilk, so far no problem with it.

Hi Iris, i also underwent a planned C-Sect with Spinal with Dr Adrian.

I stay in 1 bedder ward for 4 days 3 nites, hubby stay for 3 nites (1 full meal day $75, 2 days w/ breakfast $60)

total bills come up to $5,700(+-) (incl PD fees (TMC bb package), Anasthetic fees, Dr Adrian's Fees, Baby Nursey fees, Medicine Fees, Baby Injection Fees, Hearing Test, Misc Fees)

Medisave claim $3200,
So i pay around $2500 Cash

re:short nipples
i also have short nipples, that is what the lactation consultant commented at TMC...just have to prepare by pulling the nipple, make it erect, before bb latch on, bb will definitely get more impatient if she has been exposed to bottle feeding. i have the same problem too, sometimes tell bb not to be too impatient...

re:breastfeeding
mine also suckle for comfort. good thing is, they tend to fall asleep after suckling...anyone resort to using pacifier already??

re:amount of feed
how much does your bb require? mine is 10days old, and she requires about 80ml for formula milk, so would that be the same amount to pump for EBM, coz usually breastmilk is so easily digested, it makes bb hungry within 1.5-2hrs...

re:poopoo
how often does your bb poopoo? mine poopoo almost everytime she completes her feed, wonder if that's normal. her poopoo is now watery yellowish and no more meconium...what colour is normal poopoo?

Hi Ivy, i also think i have short nipples. So when he is rousing (before he fully wakes and starts screaming for milk), i quickly take a warm towel to massage my breasts. this causes the nipple to "pop" out and i quickly latch him. Initially nipple will be sore of course, but over time, i believe it will toughen and we wont feel the pain anymore. Growth spurt apparently is in week3, which means we need to try and ramp up our MS to about 750ml (in 24 hours) by that time. 750ml will stay constant from month 1-6. Afterwhich 6 months they start solid food already. So from now till the 1 month mark, i am latching and pumping every 3 hour to try and hit the 750ml mark (today is his day11, so 20 days more to train my breast muscles). My MS also unstable, sometimes 80ml (both breasts), sometimes 20ml. Dont give up, the more u pump, the more the breasts will refill. Each time baby latch, he will drain about 70%, 80% so there is also 20%-30% reserve still left in the breast so even if u immediately pump there is something. From the Kellymom website: it's like a cup. the more u drink, the faster your friend will pour in more milk you drink. So, in this way, the cup can never be empty. Empty breast = more MS. So the more times u can empty, the faster the MS will be produced. So jia you, keep letting baby latch & keep pumping. Frequency is the key.

re: injections
for 6-in-1, do we have to bring bb to the designated pd assigned by the hospital or can just go to polyclinic or GP, and which is cheaper?

Oh yeah, to get more MS, after breast is emptied by pump, let it continue pumping for 2-3 mins. I called breastfeeding support group, the lady said, this way should bring up the MS in about 2-3 days, so guess we will have to be patient.

I also have a big tin of Similac. I am glad i only fed him formula for 2 days between day 3-5, until day 5 when my MS kicked in then i stopped FM totally. Anyone who wishes to take some Similac most welcome to pick up from me in Yishun. (....$40 down the drain...)

moomoo, my boy suckle for comfort.. will try not to give in to pacifier..
my boy poo a lot too.. it's normal i think. at least shows that bb's digestive system is still working properly.. hahaha

winter, moomoo, poopoo is normal. goes to show bb is getting enough from us, that's why can make poo ma hehe. and no pacifier! WE CAN DO IT!

i supplement with mamex gold during his stay in hospital. Tat time ebm not enuff. Now on tbf. Same with mummies here, cos zac had been exposed to milk bottle, he will fuss when i latch him on, cos flow is slower compared to bottle feeding... This kinda stress me out.

Queenie, did mona massage the breasts for blocked ducts. I think i'm having some blocked ducts on my right breast.

Moomooland, Zac's poo is also yellowish in color.. Tat's normal n yes he poo after every feed.

Hi I'm from Jan 2009 thread. I have a Brand new Medela Mini Electric for sale, with a 3 pack of medela bottles absolutely free!

The pump alone retails at $193.90 and the bottle pack at $31.50. I am letting go the brand new package for just $150 and will deliver to any MRT station. Conatct me on 93223995 if keen thanks =)

prosper - 5 in 1 jab cost abt 87.50 in polyclinic - much cheaper - last year they did not have 6 in 1- but i heard frm my fren this year - they start having - u may wanna check it out - can use CDA to pay also - just have to apply first - hope this helps

missy candy - hang on here - things will get better - i gave up shortly for my 1st one as my nipples bled - regretted it - will have done so much better if i had support frm other mummies at that time

irene
i check with her tomorrow.. she doesnt do tt for me coz i don have block ducts problem..
how wud u noe if u have block ducts?

Irene
I do use the electric bottle warmer to warm up EBM but I find using hot water faster cause the bottle warmer need some time to warm up 1st.

hi mummies... i have given birth to ethan luke on 12th of mar ...... c-sect w spinal epi.. will be discharged this afternoon even though it is supposed to be tmr...

jme
Congrats...or else both of us will deliver on the same day....heee~~~~

Mummies who started fenugreek
When did your supply start to improve? Immediate or a day or 2 later?

moomooland,

My bb is 5 days old and drinks 90ml already.. my ss cant catch up with her demands. Got medication from gynae to increase the milk supply but intend to take only when my blk ducts are cleared, else too much ss, everything still stuck, make me worse only.
Her current 90ml is usually made up of 50 to 60 ml EBM and remaining would be FM. If she latch on properly before taking the other milk, she needs about 70 to 80 ml.
There was 1 occasion where she took complete EBM + latching for a feed, woke up 2 hrs later for feed. If mix of FM, she would usually wake up 3 to 3.5 hrs for feed. So i think FM does keep them full longer.
Poo wise: mine is yellow in color now.. CL tell me that it is not merocium anymore.

meebaby - all the best!

my Mini Electric spoil!! maybe pump too much...
have you guys had any experience with 1 for 1 exchange? its a gift, and there is no expiry date to it.

mimie24

how come i pay more than you and i only stay 2N? we are using the same gynae and also single bedded furthmore i am SBI member.

asura
the malay massage lady did clear my block duct and my breast is soft now but still no flow........maybe i didnt pump enough and regular. i am using avent manual pump also.

Ivy, i also not sure, I'm also an FBI member.
Maybe my medisave claim more than you.
I claim up to $3200.
My Total bill before Medisave is $5700

That's the max for C-sect, irregardless of GA/Epi/Spinal.

thanks all mummies for bf advice, i think i give up!

re:malay massage
do you shower after your massage? and do feel body aching the next day?

teddybaby
you dont need alot arm strength but it will be tiring. for me i hv c-section. if i seat too long and pump i will hv backache.

mimie24
i also not sure why different i pay dr adrian fee about $1901.

i was thinking maybe my c-section done on sunday and at night will cost more for doctor fees.

so have you chosen with caterer?

SG-yalor...just when i was pumping almost 80ml on one side leh!!! usually i can only achieve 70ml max for both... ;(((

now i feel so lost...

Sun
Ya I will be gg for induce tomolo mignight.Expect to deliver on monday afternoon or evening but in my heart hoping morning haha.

moomoolang...wah, tats a great achievement!!! 80ml one side 2hr/3hr interval?? my supply only morning alot...afternoon slowed down liao... =(

wow...moomooland....
80ml on 1 side?? very very good....... =)

I oni realise if I dun drink alot of water then the ss sure drop....then need to hand express to make up the difference!!!

For mummies who feed EBM,
How much are your little ones drinking? How long does it last them? Mine is drinking abt 85-90ml & sometimes oni wakes up 3.5to4hrs later then get up for milk..... =)

My girl's jaundice went up and we just admitted her yesterday for phototherapy. So pumping milk now and delivering ebm for her. She is drinking a lot more than at home cos of the dehydrating effect of the therapy. I was able to pump quite a decent amount when she was at home but now that she is not at home and I desperately need more ebm for her, my supply dropped. ARGH!

I heard from my CL that bb drink Breast milk will wake up 2-3 hrs later. cos breast milk will not make them full but FM does.
So if ur bb wakes up for milk after a while, it's normal just feed on demand.

When i fed her FM, she will sleep longer.