(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

my bb was 1.7kg plus at 30 weeks - he said normal for me - but ic other mummies - smaller bb at 30 weeks - doc say must go diet -dunno how gyane see leh

IDAARSHAD,

Have the guy got back to u on the availability of the additional huggies ultra diapers? If not, i was thinking of collecting mine this sat.

idaarshad
how ur friend can tell cervix dilated by look one? but not surprised u giving birth earlier coz itz ur #4 liao ma..

ya.. mine is the same as urs.. dr paul tseng.. he is cool lor.. cool till he normally dun say anything one...gotta ask but i always forgot wat to ask him one.. hahhaha

re:nursing bras
hey gals, parkway parade basement having sale for bras..n i got 2 nursing bras today at $5.90 each...under promotion from giant..those staying or working nearby may pop down to have a look...but only beige colour...the promo is till this sun...

happy bday fatfish...enjoy yr bday dinner...cheers

gratz clio...jia you for bf...dun mind share yr bill ref k...think i very kpoh, keep asking mummies who had popped to share bills..paiseh paiseh cos dun wana get a shock end of the day...plus me n hb no credit card so hope to have enough cash as nets max at 2k...

asura n jtho:
guess this fri only we 3 makan-ing...if wana meet earlier to walk ard also ok, just sms me n i'll be there...see u girls on fri..

idaarshad
my bb is 1.6kg @ week 28 liao le.. for my size he is really big wo.. hahhaa.. but than one thing good i reduce my milk intake n he is now back on track for his size since his last scan at week 33..

pinkdemoness,

No prob. I shall make the reservation tomorrow for fri nite. Let's meet for dinner at 6pm..
Jtho, u ok?

pinkdemon - u all cn mit earlier or nt ah... im on leave that day but im goin bb fair in the am... i dont think i can tong outside til evening... plus i stay sembawang leh... if i go home i doubt i will crawl out again... hee hee

Completed the hospital tour today and we are impressed with the birthing suites and the wards. So, looks like we're all set for the big day when bb decides to come out!

Cindy
Good luck for a smooth delivery tomorrow!

Congrats Clio!

Re: Breastfeeding
Jia You Mummies!

Nitez Mummies!

missycandy, no problem, i can meet u first but i think jtho is trying to apply half day leave to go for bb fair n asura has her gynae appt this fri too.. y dun we discuss over msn tonight... i dun have any problems coming out early though..

asura - no leh -must ask him again tomorrow- asked hom 2 days ago

oh p3pp3r - means we like same at that time hor - 28 weeks 1.6kg-- but paul tseng never said big rite

i agree - i stimes before coming to see him plan to ask this and that - in the end forget - aiyoo

u know his nick superman rite - coz all nurses said he's like one-hahah

when is ur next appt? mine tomorrow coz my off day in the afternoon

my fren - who is my excutive - she seems to have magic touch and touched my stomach and said that = not necesarily more babies faster - my 1st two came out abt a week earlier but my 3rd was just on time - so dunno what to thnk abt this one leh

idaarshad
ya lor.. he din say the bb big for my size le.. maybe he dun wan to make me worry too much ba, but when bb growth size back on track he wuld say he is on good weight size.. so i assume he dun usually say anything bad first one inorder not to create unneccessary worries ba.. hahaha.. y is he call superman? i din know about tat le.. my next appoinyment will be next tuesday.. becoz will be doing the GBS test so will oso request to have a monitor scan on bb's size ba.. think his weight shld be under control liao ba.. hehehe

IDAARSHAD,

Please keep me updated after u call him ok? I not sure diapers heavy or not but i usually dont have help carrying stuff for me.. just nice this sat my bro is following me ard.. so i tot best timing to get from u.

Lenny & Queeie,
The baby tight my girl is wearing now.
Its think and good if baby sleep in air-con room.
Nana & wintertime,
In order to get supply, is a must to pump regularly like evey 3-4 hrs. cannot just want to pump than pump de.

Koala,

I have booked this chinese massage lady. My SIL used her 1yr + ago. I have booked her as well. U may want to contact her 92951606 QingXia. Can't rmbr the rates cos book her some mths back.

hello mommies... i am v new to this thread... just curious to know for those who've experienced water breaking, how much water are we talking about? cos i've been feeling 'wetter' these days... and just getting paranoid

am at 37 wks... edd 22mar09... first time mom-to-be

Mothers who have popped with Gynae Eunice Chua, need your advise on the hospital bill at TMC. How much did you pay in total for Natural birth with Epidural for a 1 bedded ward??

Much appreciated

Ok, here is my birth story:

19/2/09 (AM)
Gynae checkup in morning--2cm dilated. Baby is very low and engaged already. Feel very grumpy coz baby has been very low and engaged for the longest time! And if she doesn't come out soon, I have to go bk to school (to teach) and its very sian coz they already arranged relief teacher and so i'm sort of 'redundant'.

Gynae suggested walking/squatting more perhaps could come out over the weekend. Went bk to school to hand over stuff.

19/2/09 (PM)
Abt 4pm plus: was at MIL house. Feeling slight contractions, but not unbearable. Already 'booked' my hubby to go watch a movie before impending confinement soon. :p

Abt 6pm plus: we set off for J8. Along the way, contractions already coming quite consistently and strong. Decided to call off movie date and head home for hospital bag. Returned to MIL's house for dinner. By then already no appetite, could only manage a bowl of soup. Headed off to TMC with hubby.

7pm plus admitted to delivery suite. told the nurse MUST have epidural!!! when doc came in to administer epidural, he was chatting with one of the filipino nurses. even after he went off, the nurse kept on talking away to me. I was feeling light-headed and dizzy and wanted her to help me shift the bed's position but it was tough getting a word in!
had to raise my voice to get her attention.

10pm plus:
Gynae instructed the nurse to turn down my epidural so tt i can feel the contractions and get the baby out sooner. That was when the nightmare started--it was really painful! started crying and in the end the nurse turned up the dosage again. By then already quite traumatised :p

1120pm
Nurse started to get me to push. 19Feb is actually my FIL's birthday and Gynae said she'll try to get bb out on 19feb. She came in at 1145pm! Started pushing more earnestly, and amazingly at 1156pm Baby Rae was born.
She made it before her coach turned into a pumpkin! ;)

Prosper,
Thanks! My edd 8 March (similar to yours?) heehee but according to my gynae might be earlier. Yes pls let me know how she is after you've tried her.

Agnes,
Thanks too for your contact! I'll call her to check her rates

louie
my edd is 20 mar but is only w36d5 today le, how come u so fast week 37 liao? u mean coming tis sunday than week 37 ar? anyway, if waterbag break the fluid shld be warm one ba.. i oso feel watery these few days so scare waterbag leak le.. but then will check with gynae on my next appointment..

clio
congrat!! wa.. by the way when's ur edd one ar?

Missycandy
I gt your contact le .Hope to see u at MT A haha than we gt kaki.Will text u when I gg for delivery haha but dunno by than gt strength to mgs ant hehe.

Just to say hi to all mummies!

Esp Daphne and Alfafa who must be somewhere down the hall from me. I am near the ICU so come and say hi if you are still here

I delivered on 23rd Feb after 37 hours of labour. So incredibly tired. Baby also exhausted and admitted to ICU. She came off the oxygen today but still on glucose and anti biotic drips. Please send your love to her so I can hold, feed and bring her home soon!

Will update more when I am less tired.

Good luck to the rest of the mummies!

p3pp3r
sorry my typo... i am 36 wks. 36w3d to be exact.. me too, will check with gynae when i next visit. my MIL was telling me that water may 'leak'... leading to low level of amniotic fluid? wonder if that's possible

pumpkin seed
wa.. u popped already? so long in labour ar..??!! but anyway congrat!! shall hear from ur birth story again when u r free n not so tired.. =)

louie
heehee.. i think itz possible for waterbag to leak le.. better check with ur gynae.. when's ur next appointment? do update on the outcome coz i wonder is mine too.. coz i cant differentiate if itz sweat or leak.. hmmm..

just finished BF-ing my bb girl. She's back to the nursery for now. I'm in a 2 bedded but Mt Alvernia generally lets us keep the bb in the ward with us from morn till night time, abt 8 9pm. Have opted for Total BF so during the night time the nurses will wheel bb to me as and when BFing is required.

BTW, the nurses here at Mt Alvernia are wonderful.

I'll discharging tomorrow. Had my C-sec op with epidural at 4ish 5pm on Mon 23 Feb at Mt Alvernia.

Here is baby Grace, 38w 5th day, 2.94kg 52cm. Alot of friends said that 52cm is quite tall for a bb girl. Hehe guess she takes after her daddy, cos I'm a shortie at 1.52m while he is 1.8m tall.

2194170.jpg

For what it's worth I have to commend my gynae for a successful surgery. He really took his time with the stitches, took about 30min just on stitching me back alone. He also got me one of the most highly sought after anesthetist, Dr C.C. Lu. His touch was gentle; dosage just perfect and I hardly felt the drip needle or the epidural (apparently mine was a regional epi which meant a much finer needle than usual). He was also very comforting in the way he always let me ahead of everything he is about to do.

My gynae has also told me that he used the type of stitches that requires removal (as opposed to the type that disappears into the skin over time) becos this type of stitches actually hold the wound together much better. One of my friends who visited me and had c-sec before told me the same too.

The wound didn't hurt as bad as many made C-sec out to be. It hurts yes but it is bearable really, esp with the binder. Do get your gynae to wrap it on you IMMED upon end of surgery! My op ended at about 6.30pm and by lunch time the next day they took away the drip (for pain) and urine cathether. Gynae wanted me to take my first steps out of bed and to urinate naturally as soon as possible. And I did! Was so proud of myself. While it hurts when I make sudden movement, I find that it gets easier as I walk a few more steps.

BFing is definitely not a problem with c-sec wounds as well.

For those going for c-sec, I would strongly recommend going with epidural as you and your hubby would then be able to witness the birthing of your precious

the first cry
the first breath
the first moment of him coming into this world ...

nothing can ever come close to that beautiful and awesome divine experience that you and hubby will have. Hubby and I were filled with such an indescribable joy that we simply couldn't stop weeping when we heard her cries.

Can really understand the astounding love of a father and mother now as I become one myself

congrats to new mommies who have popped! haven't have time to read the archives but I am just happy for all anyway. And for those waiting ..... what a moment to savour when it comes. Wish I could relive that moment of exhilaration but it is really a one time thing (as I'm sure will be diff for each pregnancy/birth). Wish you all beautiful memories

going to zzz now before the next feed

Pumpkin,
just saw your message! 37hrs???????

Will pray for you and the little one OK? am discharging tomorrow (thu). Have only been walking to the ward toilet and back, and not one step more. Not sure if I can go visit you.
Come to think of it ... I'll have to be walking alot tomorrow since I'm discharging. yikes.

p/s my neighbour snores are thunderous when she reaches deep sleep every night. Even my hubby's snores pale in comparison.

Alfafa,
Baby Grace is sooo adorable, big eyes and she can already stare into the camera while taking photo now hahaa!

I think its such wonderful blessing for all of us to be a parent. I'm still waiting for my girl to be ready to see the world and I'm sure it'll be such a beautiful and touching memory to behold too.

Really happy for you and also all the best to your BF

Hmmmm.... looks like you have to tahan 1 more night of symphony. Get some good rest when you're home tomorrow!

Clio, congrats!!

Waa your girl is very guai, knows that you want her to pop out on FIL's birthday. I'm sure your FIL is very happy & proud that she's sharing same bday as him.

Me can't get back to sleep again.

Clio
Can i know how much deposit you pay for your 2 bedded hospital stay? I intend to take 2 bedded at Mt A too, so hope can have a rough guide.

Alfafa
Your girl looks so alert and she is beautiful.

Pumpkinseed
Your little one will be fine and you will be hugging her home very soon.

Alfafa, congrats!!! Grace is so cute! Maybe I can peep at her on my way to ICU, my room is quite near the nursery so I can still walk there very slowly. But then after that have to be wheel chaired back. I had 2 long tears so it hurts a lot! Woke up early because of the pain. Bu anything is worth it to be able to touch her.

Mummies, I know this may sound redundant but do treasure every moment with your babies even when they are crying non-stop. We have not had her in the room with us ever since she was born, have not been able to hold her (except once for few minutes), or soothe and feed her. We were also advised to touch her minimally while she is in ICU to cause her less stress. It's really quite 'heart pain'!! I think when we finally can do all that we will appreciate it 10 times more.

Thanks for your kind words Kome
Good morning

Morning Mummies!

Wow! Wake up reading all the new birth stories have me welling my eyes out! :~) So happy for you brave gals!

Pumpkin seed! Hooray after 37hrs! That would have knocked me out! Stay strong and hope all is well!

Clio! That's a sweet and great birth story to share with your gir-girl when she grows up.

Alfafa, glad to hear your gynae step up the plate to impress you both in the end after all that! Your bb gal has your eyes!

Had a hard time sleeping last night again. Just too many things running through my mind. Hubby also get woken up and ask me why my eyes still wide open. I don't have an answer, just sleepless in Melbourne these days.

Morning Pumpkin Seed and babe
Haha.....does not expect to see people in here so early. Yes, the moment you hugz your lil one you will feel that everything is so worthwhile.

babe
Me too have sleepless nights this few days, maybe just too many thoughts running in my head same as you. Later will be going for my check up and hope is well.

p3pp3r, yes it was so super long. Everyone thinks I am a bit mad because I took epi only after 30 hours.

babe, I was completely knocked out after delivery. I didn't even know how I got to the ward from delivery room. Maybe that's why it's taking me so long to recover from natural birth. As for the sleeplessness, I completely empathise. In fact, the 2 night before I started contractions, I didn't sleep a wink, just closed eyes. Maybe you're nearing your delivery date? How is Melb these days with the bushfires and all? I used to live there so been checking theage.com.au for updates

Morning Kome
Sleepless too?! Oh dear. But it's very early for you though, not even 6am! Yea, let us know how your check up goes! Bb'll be fine! No worries, ya?

Very strange for me. I usually don't have such a problem, from pre-preg & preggy time. Only now last few days, always half asleep, have some strange dreams, then awake and stare out the window.

babe
Thanks. Yup, i wake up at around 5.30am feeling hungry and cannot went back to sleep. Make myself a cup of milk and read all the posts here. Maybe we have been too stressing of ourself which lead to sleepless night.

Ok.....i going back to lay down and see if can catch some sleep. Will update here after my check up. Haha.....but normally i got not much to update as my gynae does not say alot.

Pumpkin Seed
Ya, really not surprised it knocked you out! :] Keep rested as much as you can so your wound can heal faster. Very happy you come through it.

Oh yea, I'm due in 5 days!!! Yikes. Bb's moving quite a bit, guess she's still trying to figure out where's the exit?! Haha.

You lived here, too? Yea, it was a shock when we arrived in Jan, there were 2 very hot days just around CNY due to the heatwave when temp rise to 45 degs in the day and the the evening was 39 degs. Can you imagine my hubby and i just left Singapore which has aircon to our little melbourne city apt which they only provide 2 electric fans and 3 wall heaters! Hahaha. We were baking hot. Fortunately, we are nowhere near the bushfires up in the North although the news shows diagrams of the bushfires seems like whole of Mel is surrounded. Terrible tragedy and lost of lives though.

So far, the weather's been back to its unpredictable normal Mel climate. Always just make sure I bring my cardigan outside just in case.

kome
Nites again!! Hope you can get a bit of power nap
My next check up is 2 Mar, just 1 day before my due date! 80% of me hopes bb shows up before my check up.

Kome, yes my dilation was extremely slow. 17 hours after regular contractions started, I dilated a grand total of 1cm....fainted! Then after 9 hours more, it was 5cm. 6 hours later, only 6cm. Had to have epi, oxytocin, manual breaking of waterbag and yet still couldn't fully dilate. Gynae says my contractions just were not strong enough. My parents are a bit upset because they think I should have gone for C-section much earlier to avoid stressing the baby. But no point to backtrack now

Good luck with your appointment later!

Babe, oh I def remember the unpredictable Me;b weather. 4 seasons in a day hehe. My previous apartment didn't have A/C too so I purchased a water cooler. All it did was blow hot air at me. Make sure you keep hydrated in that kind of heat. Which hospital are you delivering at? I used to live near the Cabrini.

Pumpkin Seed
Weather here is a bit loopy! OMG Water cooler, we were SOOOO close to buying one during Jan, it was really getting unbearable. That hot week, we saw many students (RMIT & Mel Univ) carrying their newly purchased desk fan along the shopping area like their bao bei. But end up, we got over those few hot days and decided to buy a nice LCD TV from Dick Smith instead as the owner provided us a crappy TV. Though my hubby had to carry a 16.5kg TV box on his own to the taxi stand, he was quite happy.

I'm going to deliver my bb in Royal Women's Hospital. They have a new maternity wing at Royal Melbourne Hospital so the facilities are pretty good. Our apt is just 15 mins walk from there, on Franklin St, near Queen Vic market.

Pumpkin Seed
Yea, no point backtracking. Just don't let your parents get to you on the delivery thing. Be happy always no matter what!