(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

seabreeze,
yah yah I know what you mean. I also have tens of handmedown mittens/soft shoes for my baby but I still cannot resist. Hahaha too cute.

Daphne & mango, I PM you girls ok?

Asura,
these are machine stitched. To be honest because I am a real beginner at using sewing machine, I find hand stitching easier. BUT hand stitching means it is more time consuming. Machine stitch is harder to control if you are not so proficient, like me lah. Esp when sewing rounded or sharp corners.

This particular design, sneakers design, is pretty complicated though and requires quite a lot of work. But the end result is just so stylish, good for baby boy/girl and makes an excellent present. I can help you if you like. You can start with scraps of cloth you have lying around at home. I'm a bit more fussy so I went to buy fabrics at People's park (the one with hawker centre downstairs).

OR I recommend that you try another design, a simpler one but still pretty. Alot of it depends on your raw materials i.e. if you fabric is gorgeous, it cannot go too wrong. That's why the price difference can be so great between fabrics too! See this

2122633.jpg

these are not reversible and have seams on the inside. but still very pretty esp if you line parts of the inner side with the same pretty fabric as the outside layer. You can't see it from this pic but there is actually an elastic band running round the heel to give it a snug fit.

Seabreeze
My #1 also in CC but my mum health not good and hb don't quite like the idea to ask my mum to help look after #2, so might be putting him in infant care

Kome ...

Yar i think if really no one to take care then infant care might be the next best choice ... sorry to say this but i personally dun trust maid to take care of baby

hows your #1 in cc now? I rem you found one that is pretty affordable right?

Mango, you have PM!

Daphne, your PM is not activated

if you still want it, let me know the fabric combination yah? I can make this in the standard international sizing for 3-6mth/6-9mth/9-12mth. Don't pay first hor. I make first, show you pics and if you are happy then pay. Very unorthodox I know but I'm happy enough that someone wants to buy my craft. Hehehe

Seabreeze
Yup, same everyday. Don't let his daddy goes off initially, but after 10 mins he start to be mischevious already. Last thur and fri the principla told us not to bring him there as he is too mischevious and her teacher on 2 days leave.

My hubby also don't trust maid at all. Think infantcare is the best choice for us now.

Seabreeze,
true lah. I would feel worried to leave maid alone with little ones also. But infant care also cost about $1000 is that right? after subsidies? If so, then you might as well get a car. COE is pretty low these days. lots of desperate sellers also.

seabreeze : me too actually don't trust maid to take care of baby , would rather put at infant care . But luckily for me , the maid will be with my MIL to help out housework and at the same time look after my SIL's toddler to make sure he don't fall or hurt himself so will be getting a maid then put my newborn in infant care .

Kome ...

Hur?? how can the principal say that! So you really never bring him to cc? Then you should ask the cc to refund you 2 days of school fees =p

so far mine will appear 'bu she de' but he will say bye bye lar but i know once we go off he will enjoy school - he is the drama king type hahahahaha

alfafa77 ...

i think must look around for infant care ... the cc that i send YC to is charging $600 aft subsidy cos i think for infant care the subsidy is higher $500 or something

wish a boy ...

yar if your MIL is around to supervise the maid then its not too bad ... i dun trust if completely 100% leave maid at home with bb unless super no choice or that the maid is super good and trustable

speaking of which, two of my friends initially wanted to send their babies to Cherie Hearts (ratio 1 nanny to 3 infants) but later changed their minds and got their parents/inlaws to help instead. Apparently they went to check out specific branches about 3 times and everytime all they saw was infants (some of them can already stand) left alone in their cot with the nanny no where in sight. Basically bo chap the infants. So they advised that you really have to visit the outlet and spend some time to observe what goes on there before deciding which branch/care centre to go to.

kome : how can the principal say that . the cc your son goes is it Jxxwx Pxxxhxxxx as I remembered u mentioned that cc previously when u looking for infant care ? Did u send your son there also ?

Ya subsidy for infant care from govt is $600 off while childcare is $300 off .

Seabreeze
Haha..... i know my son is giving them some hard time so never told them to refund me 2 days fee lar. Some more their fees already very cheap.

Ya lor after $600 subsidise by gov, infant care still need to pay them about $500 or more. Haiz.....hb and me need to be more thrifty after #2 come out.

Wish a boy
No, its a different childcare this one is a vegeterian childcare. At first i was angry too but after that consider my son mischevious and their fees is so cheap so i just don't care lor. My mum also willing to help look after him those 2 days as my dad on leave also to help out.

st: ya me still seeing TCM doc. She says can start drinking when I saw her around wk 31. But she says no need to drink alot la, 2-3 times can liao.

Idlecat: Think got flu also can drink coconut, cos when I got flu last time and see my TCM ard wk 31, she says can. But mine was heaty flu I guess cos accompanied by sore throat. But if u r coughing, then maybe put on hold 1st? Coconut flesh can also eat.

Alfafa: Wah, this other design also very nice...batik style. Your BB very lucky, can get to wear diff design everyday, haha!

kome : if my guess is correct , don't think the fees is cheaper , I use to send my elder gal to that cc in another branch and I had bad experience with them .. only $$ minded management . I personally feel that no matter how naughty the child is the principal cannot tell u not to send your son there when the teachers is on leave , what if the teacher quit , the principal going to tell u don't send your son till she got replacement .

Kome : another childcare ? but also very bad lah .. how much u pay after subsidy ? me pay $250 after subsidy for my gals childcare and can tell u the centre she nows in is so much better than her old one as the no. of students per teacher ratio is very low and so care and attention is given to all kids .

Sunshinebaby
yes, my mom taking care of #1. But she not staying with us. The bus journey to her place around 15 mins to 20 mins by bus.

Wishaboy
But u ok to put her baby to a maid? Or put at your MIL's place?

alfafa
But I still have to bring them back to my mom in the evening. So same leh.. Still have to travel to and fro. My mom wants to go home and cook for my dad and my bro.

Seabreeze
I have no intention of putting No 1 to childcare. She is coming to 20 months. But I will put her for weekdays playgroup. That's y now dunno what to do.. Left less than 2 months to think think think. My hubby asked me to make a decision fast if wants a maid.

If a maid is about $900, in the end, car would be better right. About the same. Just need to send them to my mom's place in the morning then fetch them back in the evening...

Devil : the maid will be with my MIL to look after the newborn and my SIL's toddler when I back to work . Maybe weekday night will leave the maid at my MIL's place to help out housework , while me and hubby bring all the 3 kids back home . Only Fri night then bring the maid back with us as weekend MIL want private time . Maid cost around $500 - $550 , levy is around $200 since we got infant to look after salary around $300 - $350 depending ..

Wish a boy
Haha.....ya you are right what if the teacher quit? Mmmm......don't think they will asked my child not to go ba.......
After sunsidy i paid $60 every month for the childcare. Where is your gal childcare?

alfafa77 ...

my son is at cherie hearts heehee but i always see the nanny there carrying the bb one ler ... maybe diff outlet diff style

but i agree ... if wan to send to infant care or child care must really check and check again one

Kome ...

yar lar our kids may be super active and naughty but its not a good 'reason' for asking the parents not to send the child to school lor ... i feel that it tells me alot abt the school's attitude towards 'naughty' kids

wish a boy ...

v affordable ler your cc ... mine is $480 aft subsidy ... damn siong lor!!

devil ...

why dun intend to send to cc ler? cos weekend playgroup oso not cheap but honestly at cc always fall sick when they are too young.

Wishaboy,
Ohhh so cost of maid in total is about 500-550 a month? Much lesser than I thought then.

Devil,
have to say that nothing beats having your own set of wheels.
but then ... economic cost of that $1000 a month is also alot though. Tough one. I'm intending to be a SAHM myself so I don't know about these things and can't advise.

But hor ... "hang qin pai" (economy is really bad) now, and a car is a huge depreciating asset. So really need to weigh the pros.cons.

Kome ...

$60??? thats dirt cheap ler ... even cheaper than those 3hr kindergarten!!

mine attended those 2hr kindergarten last yr ... so he already 'finish' his round of falling sick liao and at his current cc ... they feed him cod liver oil every morning and I oso feed him at hime heehee

crossing my finger lar

seabreeze,
the one my ex-colleague checked out is at Vivo Tower II, cos my office is at tower I. As for the other friend, don't know which one he went to.

Glad that the one taking care of your precious is good. The care taker is the one that makes a huge difference

devil ...

yar lar ... 20mth is like so young lor if you ask me i would prefer a car than the maid cos at least with a car its v convi and i can use it for weekend to bring the kids out + rest assured that the kids are in good hands

maid will have another set of problem ... now with only 2months away ... you need to be able to find a good maid FAST and these days even the indo maid is asking for close to $400 + levy + insurance + food & lodging etc ... it comes up to the same cost as a car

alfafa77 ...

yap v lucky that he likes the teachers there ... in fact his chinese improved alot cos his fav teacher there is those native chinese and they are v caring =) the ratio is low too ... 1:7

Kome ...

yar lar $60 is really really cheap and v hard to find these days liao whats the class ratio like over there?

Seabreeze
Ya loh.. But now my hubby no license yet, as his Malaysia license cannot be converted just like that. Need to re- go thru all the stages of learning in Singapore. Sianz... My friend also advised me, better to get a maid as she can help with the housework, so I wont be so tired after work and can spend more time with the kids... Esp my #1, will need much more attention at her age.

Wishaboy
$550 is cheap, but still no privacy. But most of the times my hubby works OT, so he cant help me to bring back the kids also.. So I got to handle them myself. Unless i ask my mom to stay at my mom till I come back home. I dun trust my kids to a maid.

kome : no wonder u close your eyes as $60 for childcare is damn cheap , even cheaper than PAP nursery or kindergarden cost .. hahaha ... my gal childcare is near my in law place at Simei .

devil : ya never consider the insurance for the maid .. food think not too bad , what we eat just give them lor .. think u need to consider whether your mother can cope with 2 kids without maid when u go back to work .. I don't understand what u mean send the kids to your mother in the morning ? if send to your mother in the morning your mother can cope looking after 2 then no need maid right , u bring them back to home every night ?

Seabreeze
Ration is like 1: 5. Exact figure i don't quite remember already.

Devil
Its true. $60 per mth, furthermore this is after this year increament. Last year only $30 per mth after latest gov subsidise amt been annouce.

Since its so cheap, how can i give up because of their attitude. =) As long as they don't torture my son can already.

Devil : Like u I also don't like maid but no choice lor my MIL cannot handle my newborn and my SIL toddler who is also a boy so have to get her one maid lor . Since u working also and hubby usually works OT , my personally thinking is get a maid to help u also not bad as she can help to look after the newborn at your home while u do some coaching to your elder one .. if not can help u do housework while u spend time with kids ..

Re: coconut
me in week 36, just had one during lunch..so far this is my 2nd coconut liao..tink is the big one ba...hot day drink coconut super shiok..but hor...dunnoe wats wrong with bb leh...after drinking keeps moving ard inside..keep pressing against my bladder..dunnoe izzit the coconut "washing" bb...hahahahahha coz i heard drink coconut is to "cleanse" bb and come out will be smooth smooth clean clean de. correct??

SG
I also experienced lots of kicking from my baby after I had my 1st coconut juice last week. Wonder if he like or don't like.

Wishaboy
Now my mom comes to my place every morning, then bring my ger over to her place by bus after she bath her. With 2 kids she cannot handle herself if she comes over unless I bring over, but I also cannot handle 2 kids by myself.

Do you think there's no privacy with a maid around?

Kome
That's really very very cheap. Nowadays I dun think we can find any CCC at this rate?

Jasmine...serious ah? hahaha i tink the coconut is washing bb's head lah..else why keeps moving ard...makes me go toilet few times wor...or too cooling liao?? =p

Kome ...

I can imagine lar ... if i am only paying $60 per month i think my hubby and the whole world will tell me to REN lor as long as they dun do anything too drastic to my son hahahahaha

Devil ...

i think you are caught in between lor ... to have a maid so that you need not spend time to do housework + your mum can get some help or a car which def will be very useful when the family goes out

seabreeze
Ya loh... So I dunno what to do now... Luckily still got 4 months of maternity leave... But must quickly think about it liaoz...

Kome
Even new students also at this rate?

For me, #1 is being taken by inlaws on most days. She'll go for playgroup in the morning then my parents will send her over to PIL's place. But bcos PILs are getting old, dunno if they are able to cope wif #2...although we'll be bringing both home in the evening...hmmm....

If they really can't cope then my parents will need to 'step in'! But like abit paiseh lor...dun you all think so?

Can check if your gynae will be doing any baby heartbeat checking maybe i ard week 36? They will tied something on the tummy and monitor baby's heartbeat for half an hour and the machine will draw the graph out. Not too sure what the process know as.

Devil
Heehee.....might or might not put #2 there as i will be moving to my new house maybe latest early Jan next yr. Will discuss with hb when the times come.

kome
me not sure if my gynae will be doing that cos she will not tell me in advance what will be done one..but every visit she will montior bb heartbeat.

Grace
This one is different, my gynae not using the ultrasound to check baby heartbeat. Its another machine where a graph will be draw out for gynae to see after that. I need to lay in the room for half hour.