(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Sun, Oh Dear!!! I Took Crabs!!! Pray everything will be ok....

PinkPiglet, Sure..i try to update as best as I can...

Oh Dear, Im feeling Dizzy now, dunno is it the Crabs or the XO in crabs....Feel like sleeping...Maybe too full....

Pink Piglet,

I am also a thalessemic beta minor. These few days, i have been getting flashes of black and feel like fainting. Dr Wong says most prob need iron supplements but it may cause vomitting at this stage so she told me to try and if it does not settle well, take it at a later stage. Have not tried crowded areas but if i have been faintish at home, i wouldnt be surprised if i do in crowded areas.

pink piglet, me too, i m a alpha thalessemia carrier too.. luckily my hb don't have. tt's y my blood count a bit low too.. i m taking royal jelly now, hopefully can "prevent" my bb from having thalessemia too.. tt's wat my sis did for her children and seems pretty effective.

asura, wat's a FBI card?

Annt,
I've also heard from my mum to avoid taking any herbs or tonic esp during the 1st trimester.

Asura,
Me too, lost about 2kg since i preggy. I've always been a foodie but now simply dun have the appetite leh... but strangely my pants feel tight already heehee. i think the only craving i have so far is Popiah, funny right!
Hope we all can gain our appetite and eat properly for our baby soon

Yes Pink Piglet, I do feel dizzy and breathless when i do any shopping or walking for more than 1 hour... That happened since i was almost 5 weeks Preg... Til now..it's the same...

Don't Worrie too much, i guess many of us also feeling the same way.

Sun,

did ur gynae say what is wrong with eating crabs? By the way, i am avoiding lamb as well... from the statistics i get, if MTB eat lamb during preg, bb would be born more hairy and darker... i hope not if it is going to be a girl... so just in case... hee..
Shall follow my mom's method of drinking soya milk or milk everyday, me and my bro are really fair... hahah..

Hi Sun / Pink Piglet : me too 6 weeks , LMP is 24 June 2008 . Me also seeing gynea this Fri .

All along we want 3 kids regardless of boy or gal . The nick I just chose as a lot I want already chosen so try this one and ok so just take it lor . If this is a boy it's good , even gal also never mind , most impt most be healthy lor .

Wintertime,

FBI is first born incentive, they have got subsequent born incentive as well. http://www.thomsonmedical.com/facilities.htm
You can visit the website to take a look. Call them and ask them to email you the brochure. Think i would sign up once i make my appt for OSCARS since got 10% discount. Read that can get up to $450 discount with cordlife. Am quite keen on cordlife so the card is quite worth it.

Yah Hor, i also wanna know why cannot eat crabs...cos i scared i cannot resist again...
it's a NONO for me to eat mutton...my MIL forbids...forget reason liao...

Heard Soya Milk is good for Baby Gers...Will make them more well-endowed...

pink piglet
Cannot take hotdog? I been craving for hotdogs and had ate quite a few. Why we cannot take hotdogs?

Me too, head feel giddy very easily esp when i in MRT. Think in crowded place will be the same. Don't dare to go out in crowded place already.

Sandi,

No worries, bb got a yolk sac with all the nutrients we ate before we got pregnant... haha.... was a foodie too.. so confirm bb got lots of nutrients now! Think the yolk sac is sufficient until week 12 when the placenta is built. Do take more vit C, i read that it is good for strong placenta.

asura79
my gynae mentioned tat there's a substance in crab which is ok for adults but not for the foetus... so he asked me to avoid tat when i tested +ve in my BT... =)
wow, quite a no of us r visiting our gynae tis fri, 08/08/08... nice date n hope it will bring us gd news too
1611178.gif

Assura and gingal
I heard that 1st trimester cannot drink too much soya milk coz its liang. After 1st trimester than can start to drink so that bb will be fair.

Kome,

Thanks for the advice, good thing i have been drinking normal low fat milk instead. Am wondering if i should switch to Emfamama. Any of you tried? Nice? More worried that it would taste like powder milk. Forgot to try the sample at my gynae's this morning.

Pink Piglet and Sandy: hmmm, in that case i better check with my gynae first then. I'll be seeing him on thur.. thanks!

Oh Dear...Kome...I drank nothing else but Soya milk when eating outside these days. Too sianzz of the Ribena taste...Headache...I'm starting to do all the wrong things...

Imagine when we lunch/dinner outside, what can we order for drinks ah? I'm having a great headache. All the drinks with Tea cannot drink, barley and chestnut drinks also liang, cannot drink... i really dunno what else liao...i dun like carbonated drinks...

Gingal,
I drink only water, milo or horlicks when outside and soya milk occasionally... headache hor, so many drinks cannot take!

i heard that we cannot take internal organs, is it true? means cannot eat kway chap anymore? ohh....

Gals

any way not to put on so much weight?

sun: can only take normal panadol. others for cold flu etc.... cannot. please check with doc before taking k?

gingal: mutton cannot take cos will cos bb to have fits. lol...

Maddy/Dlim: My edd same as yours.... which week are you in now? kekeke.. i donno?

wishaboy: i'm havin no4? still debating whether to keep... hehehe.... mine is boy gal boy.

gingal
norm i've a waterbottle w me so mi drink water when dining outside... now i drink milo in the morning since i felt nausea, once better will switch back to milk...

Sandi,

i vomitted milo once...don't dare take liao. Maybe try horlicks next round. Mineral water like not safe also...dunno is it becos of the minerals...

my mum says don't eat Internal organs as afriad they never wash properly and thus will have bacterial, esp. the intestines.

I still eat Kway Chap, the dishes keep to "Tau pok, egg, fish cake, and tau kwa"...Boring...

magd,

I presume with ur qn that u are not going to give up ur bb...
We all wish for u to keep.
How to not put on weight... me 1st time mom here... I think if we stick to our usual pre-preg diet + 2 glasses of milk, would help us.. but then definitely got one stage extra greedy one... somemore no waistline, so just eat... that would be a sure guarantee weight gain... :p

magd, thanks for the advice on the mutton.

Seen your reply and realised you have not yet decide whether to keep ur No.4.... Great...Give it some good thoughts. Hope that you will choose to keep God's Gift... There will ultimately be a way out to the worries that are keeping you from keeping the bb.
You can Do It!

Hey ladies,
I know that mangosteen is supposed to be "liang", but is it true its good for us as it relives constipation? Longan & rambutan no prob right?

sandi
i dun take mangosteen so not sure... but logan n rambutan consider 'heaty'... eat moderate will do...

Sun, Pink Piglet, Azura,

Still got me!! my EDD almost same as yours, just 1-2 days diff. Actually I dunno my EDD, my doc didn't tell me when he saw me last Thurs. my LMP was 15Jun, so I used the calc that Sun sent to predict and it's 29 Mar 08. I'm seeing gynae this Fri again, and this time must remember to ask him.

MTBs, My colleague was telling me from her experience and dunno read from where that once you know you are preggy, refrain from BD till 1st trimester over, otherwise would risk getting spotting or bleeding. Dunno how true, but I was told the same thing by gynae when I had my #1 when I had spotting, but didn't do anything also kena. dunno why.

Asura,

oic.. then u better dont walk too much too, its dangerous if we faint lo...my friend also have Thalessamia, but she cos its consider in born, even if we take iron pills, it may not help much..

hey I tried Similac Mum and Anmum milk powder, but i prefer Anmum smells better and its not sweet even tot i took the chocolate one. I find Similac mum sweet, so i dont really like.

Wintertime,

wah u also ah...i think its v common to have thalessamia. I read somewhere online b4 and they said the chances of transfering thalessamia to baby gal is higher than to boy.. i think it may be true somehow, how its pass on to me but not to my brother.

gingal,

same here i also feel giddy & breathless. aiyo like just went for jogging...kekkeke..

kome,

i think they said the meat that are used in hotdogs are fatty and its consider processed food, so its not good to take. but this morning i still take hotdog bread cos i really dont kw what to take lor, i think once awhile should be ok.

BD is "make baby", but can i know what are the letters stands for? keke...

Yupz gotta refrain from the exercise for the first 3 months... not risk of bleeding/spotting...i think more on risk for M/C.

sandi: mangosteen really cannot take. super duper liang. for constipation just eat more fibrous fruits n can try eno?

gingal: paisey i meant htwooo donno spelling the non carbonated ones....

it's not whether i can or cannot. as it is i really don't have enough time for the kids. plus my boss is very anti maternity leave, sick leave he aldy say cost to company. cannot take mc... childcare leave oso cannot take. only this year my 2 kids so sick i brought them to clinic then i submitted for childcare leave with their mc and all the doctor's bills... then he ok with childcare leave one day.

fairymoss,

heehee, wah so many of us now with EDD that are close

BTW I read on my preggy books they did encourage not to BD in 1st and 3rd Trime, so i think we better listen, I have told my DH when i found out i'm preg le..I think there's a higher risk of bursting our water bag if we BD at 3rd trime. but i'm not sure whether i would dare to BD in 2nd trime anot..worry also lah~~

Wahahahahahaha...... Baby Dancing... I laughed out and my colleague turned back and looked at me..abit like Siao Char Bor...

asura:
will try la but i am the kind surely put on close to 30kg for each preggy de. that's why i am sooooooo terrified lor. hehehehhehe

When i was going out also not too sure what to drink, so normally i will order for sour plum lime juice. Do your think its ok to drink this?

magd

oh gosh!!! dont scare me! how u kw u gain that much? is this not ur 1st pregnancy? actually i'm v worry too cos i'm already overwt...i dont kw wt will happened to me...

kome,

I'm not very sure, for me i strickly stick to hot water or milk niah. but maybe thats becos i have no craving yet..

Sun
Not too sure leh.....but i think too much lemon also not too good coz it is acidic.

Pink Piglet & magd
Last time i gain 10kg till now haven lost. I praying hard not to gain too much weight. If not my mum will laugh at me. Already been laugh by her now.

gingal,
i still take mutton curry occasionally when preggy with #1 but that was when i am into my late 2nd trimester. Chinese older folks believe intake of mutton during pregnancy can cause Yang Tian Feng aka fits but no scientific evidence lo. My gynae say mutton no prob, in moderation.

As for Soya milk, i have been drinking it every morning for breakfast. The last time, i took Milo every day without fail & my #1 turn out to be darker in complexion:p so this time round, i change to take Soya. Hope that it's not too liang?

fairymoss,
If gynae give green light to BD during 1st trimester, why not? Since no tummy bulge to obstruct BD...hehe <gentle BD &amp; not rough BD> of course if u experience spotting, gynae normally would say NO &amp; wait till 2nd trimester. Wait till later 3rd trimester, no mood to BD liao!

Sun

The book says lemon is good for pregnancy. But must be taken together with the lemon meat. Going to try tonight.

If got brown spotting can still go out walk about?

Did anyone know if don't drink milk, will it affect baby? I prefer soya milk.

sun,

yeh, i read somewhere also.. they said can add some lemon (maybe a slice i guess) to hot water, its helps for pple w MS.

but for me i dont have MS the most i feel nausea, dont kw whether to be happy or not.. cos i heard pple who have alot of preggy sign shows that hormones are doing well..and i scared if i dont vomit and kept eating so much i will gain alot..so not sure its a blessing or what. :p

pink piglet: this is no4..... wahahhaha.... that's why i am so reluctant.
the govt better gives something good else i surely will have to terminate lor. my hb face not so nice liao oso.

oppsgal: better not cos preggy not stable yet soya milk is ok but too much will cause wobbly legs. the donno what powder inside.... only noe in teochew. so milk still better. else like me lor... take calcium. but nw not so yet.... folic acid still more impt.

kome: there are ways to lose all the weight la. but i am so frustrated by the time being fat. if you factor in preggie days plus bf... for me is av 10mths... it would be like 2 years of fat lor. then losing it all would take another 3mths min leh. you go count lor. haiz....

Oppsgal
Drink milk is to provide more nutrients to bb, so its good to drink some milk. For both soya milk and fresh white milk, i heard that by drinking alot bb come out will be fair and white.

magd

Calcium tablets not enough calcium one. Must take other food supply for calcium like fish or milk.

Kome

Think I am allergy to milk because pimples all pop out.

kome,

OMG, ur mom so naughty lah...kekkeke, i also worry lor, cos i'm those that will gain fast de. So i planning to sign up massage for slimming at JB. my cousin used to be alittle fat and have big tights tot she not preggy b4. she sign up the package there and slim down so much, the best is that even the stuborn fats around her hips and tights were gone. and the package was cheap @ RM1000 for 10 sessions (not sure now),i have been wanting to go after i gave birth. so die die must go...