(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

moomooland,
Ya, cos if I stay at home, I think I am going to imagine there are contractions even when there isn't! LOL Anyway, this is just ideal situation, hopefully there will not be anything the forces me to stay at home earlier than expected. *touch wood*

Grace,
Yes, I was doing that also. Every monday and tuesday off kind of thing. Haha. I quite enjoy it but boss doesn't leh :p

pinksorbet, har?? include sat, sun and PH?.. should be like 16 wks*5 days..equivalent to 80 days of working days bah.. that should be the calculation right?

Re: coconut
I started drinking coconut since 2 wks back.. now currently completing wk 33 by wednesday..

Sorry for the interruption.

Siemens Healthcare Sector (Ultrasound Division) is providing free 3D ultrasound scans for expectant mothers. A free CD with your baby's 3D images will be given after the scan.

Details:
1) Preference: 32 weeks pregnancy
2) Date: 6 Jan 2009 (tomorrow)
3) Time: 10am - 2pm
4) Duration: 1hr
5) Venue: Siemens Center. 60 Macpherson Road, Singapore
6) Contact: Jessie Wong, ofc 6490 8076 or Dr Liu, hp 9678 5889

Please be assured that for the Siemens free scan, you are not guinea pigs, and Siemens is not testing the machines. They are selling these machines to Ob doctors in the region, and worldwide. They need you as models to train their sonographers and sales people, so they can learn how to scan pregnant mommies and things to look out for.

Please refer to this thread for an earlier scan for Dec 2008 mommies. http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/578191/1742857.html?1222314404#POST5865189

Mangogal,
I hv opt for 2 bedded at TMC.. hv already booked but yet to pay deposit. was told to pay by nurse on 30th or 32th week.

these r the list of items that Mrs wong sells:
towel(1pc) $9
fleece blanket (2pc in a pack) $13
washcloth (1pack) $3.80
avent bath and body wash(1 btl) $13.50
pigeon laundry liquid detergent(1 btl) $8.05
Mrs wong and Dr TC Chang's bk $35
Mrs wong 3 books $12.80 each(estimated)

PJ:
we need to bring our own as hospital is not providing.

meebaby,

Can drink liang tea but maybe restrict to at most twice a week and dont drink those that are extremely liang like ling yang. My colleague was sharing with me that she had avoided all liang stuff until she got overheated and kena the "100 days" cough in 3rd trimester. Quite terrible as pregnancy medicine are quite mild so more difficult to recover.

Me now having a cough.. just started today. waiting to go see doc in 10 mins.

recently spoken to my cousin (guy) who had female subordinates. he commented that his employee came up wif proposal that she cleared 12 weeks in a row, and remaining 4 weeks shall break up as 1 day off a week, meaning she works only Monday to Thursday, but my cousin declined.

he prefers her to clear 1 week in a row in a month rather than 1 day a week in 12 months. i m the first preggie in my Company, so far no fixed rules or policies to how i can clear the ML, so got to tink how to make the best out of it. Any suggestion anyone?

I've heard of friends clearing one or two days a week, however it seems that they end up working from hm on their off days, coz they can't finish their work. hmm...

Finally finished watching little nyonya...ending abit disappointing cos alot of questions still left unanswered...haha...

wintertime - i'm a bit confused too...but like wat elina said, tink we are entitled to 16 calender weeks (thus including sat/sun/ph) in between...I have to counter check on the details with my colleague before applying. If conditions need be, i may consider starting my ML before my date of delivery...tho i very much want to work till the day i deliver...

Hello mummies..

Happy New Year !!!!

have not been able to come into the thread for awhile..

hubby in town and has been running to take refuge in mothe's place bcoz hubby actually installed and repaired some stuffs in the house..pang tang can't be at home when " men at work"

phew...all's done..i can relax and sleep till late in the morning...haha

anyway.......just a reminder for all mothers-to-be....do rememeber to count baby's movement of 10 x in a day..it's a way to monitor baby's well being and peace of mind..

wintertime,

The statutory requirements is that we got to clear at least 8 calendar weeks (including sat and sun) in a row, which means we would lugi any PH inbetween. After that, if employee agree for us to take flexible leave, we can split it up and have 8 * 5 days (if based on 5 working days week) = 40 days to take any time. This one would be count PH/Sat/Sun. However, if we choose to take all 16 calendar days in a row, we would have to forgo the PH/Sat/Sun inbetween.

Actually, looking at our EDD, we would kena 3 PH during the 16 weeks. Think we take a lot of leave liao also dont want to ji jiao with them. I would think dont bother abt the PH and take the leave according to what's best arrangement for u that ur employer would allow.

For me, i going to US with bb, so not only taking 16 weeks ML but also going to take the unpaid infant care leave as well as annual leave to top up for another 7 weeks leave after ML. Quite a good year it is to me i feel... 2009... new family member plus dont really need to work.. hee..

Maternity Leave
for me, i will be taking the full 16 weeks one short. i think like this will be good for both my office and myself. if i take partial, say 12 weeks first, i dun think it will be easy to take the remaining 4 weeks subsequently due to the heavy workload. on top of that, for this year, i still have more that 50 days of leave, and i can only carry forward 28 days to next year 2010. so if i cannot clear my annual leave, plus still have 6 days of childcare leave, i might as well once and for all clear the 16 weeks. i think my boss will also prefer this so that he just get someone to cover me for the full period of 16 weeks.
this is just my case.
if i am the boss, i dun think i will approve my staff to apply one day off every week also. it's too disruptive. just my 2 cents worth.

pinksorbet,
ya the ending like not very fantastic hor..seems like they rushing to end the show like that..heehee

re: ML
personally, i prefer to clear all 16 weeks at one shot due to nature of my work.

re: breastpump
I saw Isetan having 15% on medela pumps. Those interested can go take a look.

re: wet wipes
have any mummies bought them yet? Isetan has this super value pack for pigeon 82*6 @ $19.50. The normal value pack is 82*3 @ $10.50. There are so many brands and types. which one to buy?

jtho,
wa...how come u got so many days of leave? u in civil sector ah?

asura,
i also think the prob of me not working after seems quite high as my work requires me to travel overseas for long period of time. Doubt it will be good for me to continue with my current job. So may have to quit..maybe lobo till 2010 then start finding work again.

asura
that means u will not be working for more that 6 mths!
if i clear my annual leave and the childcare leave, i guess i'll be like you, not need to work for 7 mths... hehe
but worried that boss will tell me not to go back anymore... hahaha

Keron&Jeris, maybe you can discuss with your boss.
i will be taking one day a week till i clear the 20 days, my boss is ok with it.

for ML... im also thinking of taking the 12weeks continuously... then after that slowly clear the 4 remaining weeks slowly... not sure how though.. i wan to keep it as standby for the rest of the yr jus in case for PD appts... gynae appt... anything to do with the bb ba... must standby... dont want to eat my own leave leh.. i only have 15 days.. =P

anyway my boss did mention when i 1st go back to work, will probably work half day for the 1st few weeks... work from 9-1 daily... but im nt sure whether will have pay cut or minus from the ML... need to find time to sit down to discuss with her bah... no time recently... all busy with work... gah!

oh ya... if u all buying breast pad, i think that avent ones are really nice!!! i havent tried it personally but the last class i attended they gave us a pair of disposable ones.. i didnt try it yet la.. but when i felt it thru the plastic really very soft and comfy wor.... not sure hw much it costs though... im sure will be exp ba.... the shop u all recommend at upper cross strt do they have it? anyone knw?

Gingal , saw that ur gynae is frm TMC so u gave birth in KK, did ur gynae go KK and help u dleiver or is done by KK gynae?

jtho,
oh..no wonder. so envy got so much leave.

irene,
pigeon also got so many types wor. which type to get? that day i saw online the same value pack selling at $8+ only, cheaper than outside.

irene
you're lucky since your boss is ok with it... i dun think my boss will like it. example today i'm on leave, i already received 2 sms from him to do work early in the morning. then i still have to sms him back to tell him i am on leave and already got appt. i have a very forgetful boss. whenever i'm on leave, he forgets. then i got to get my staff to help me do the work that he wants done...

vernice
yeah, many pple envy me but to be honest, every year i also cannot clear my leave. like last month, got to clear more than 10 days, and sometimes work from home... *sigh*

baby wipes
that time during the J&J sales, i already bought quite a few packs. dunno good or not! any mummies know?

missycandy, the class we attended last week was a bit boring actually...

after you left, the trainer actually told us what to do when in labour pain, end of the session she showed a video on the natural delivery. Before you left, you told me you saw the video on delivery at the start of the session as well? dunno if it was the same thing... then there was a hospital tour, but i did not join in as we went before already.

sportyger,
u bought the value pack 3*82? only 9.85 so cheap? tot i saw 10.50, hmm..

jtho,
at least u can clear 1 - 2 days each mth also not bad mah. 1 yr u all have like 28 days?

jtho,

no leh.... 16 weeks + 7 weeks is only 5.75 months... so sad.. cos 1 calendar month is actually = 4.5 calendar weeks.. but better than nothing.. half of 2009 gone and i get paid for the whole time other than the 6 days no pay infant care... hee... and when i am back.. i shall take my 6 days childcare leave in nov/dec... sounds good hor? hee hee

yeah, today lunchtime, hubby and me went to a japanese restaurant at valley point. it is more like a fusion between western and japanese. the service is fantastic and the food is good too! for six course meal, it is only about $40++ per person. total we paid $93+ and we are talking about fine dining.... restaurant is called DOZO restaurant. can try if you have any celebration with hubby.

vernice
i dun even get the chance to clear 1 or 2 days a month. boss is very demanding. but one thing is that sometimes when i need to run some errand, he will let me go without having to take leave cos i always work late for him, till about 7 or 8pm. then sometimes even work on weekends when there's an event. so give and take lor... but after bb comes, i dun think i can work late anymore...

asura
aiyo, 5.75mths is almost half year, right? not too bad lar, huh? and 6 days in nov/dec, sure sounds good!

saw the posts about the coconuts, so now can drink? how frequent? big or small coconuts?? Hubby said nata de coco also made from coconut.. so later i m gng to eat some.. yummy yummy!!!

sportyger,
i also thinking how many packs shld we buy? u know if they will dry up fast if u have open them?

oh, did u get the one that comes with box?

kris -LOL... ya i was dozing off! so was hubby!!! i went thru the notes and it didnt seem that interesting to keep me awake... plus i was working b4 that... so i left la... ya.. she did mention the hosp tour which we went for lor.. so no point sticking ard.. plus i was soooo hungry!!! i didnt have my lunch =P so went for early dinner... kakaka

i also bought the J&J wipes.. nt sure if good or not... but jus buy la.. i actually bought a box.. so i think its 12 packs? jus use lor.. once finish then see what else i can buy ba... =) i think coming wkend will starting sorting out the bb stuff.. pack properly... shall go buy some powder to wash the bb clothes ba... also good so i can stock take what i have currently... i need to buy more bb clothes... becos most of my loot is 6mths up... hahaha... anyway will see how big lil one has grown this thurs... cant wait! woooPeee!!

oh ya... ive actually opted to go to Gallery by the Straits for Hubby's birthday.. not sure if anyone has gone b4... if have do give reviews! the plus point is its near my home la... hahaha... its at the Saf Yatch Club... i see like quite romantic plus its by the sea... so hopefully the food is good as well.. =) i asked for quiet corner... they dont have cake leh... so thinking if shld bring cake or go home then surprise a cake... but hard to surprise lor! hmmm... maybe jus bring cake along lor... afterall hubby is nt a sucker for surprises like me! LOL *forgot* if anyone interested can check out the web here - http://www.galleysgourmet.com/index.php i will take photos too!! =D

i keep saying i wana drink the coconut water but so far no opportunity!!! need to go pasar malam liao!!! that day i went past but no urge to drink so didnt buy... =P mistake!! shld buy and keep in fridge! aiYa! maybe on wed or thurs ba.. hee hee hee...

kris - this coming week class on Bf-ing right? this one i will stay thru out... becos im very pro BF also want to learn more.. hee hee...

oh ya one advise abt BF-ing... we must all think POSITIVE about BF... cannot think low supply or cannot becos somehow it will affect the milk supply... so we all must support one another okie?

Well, for wat i think i scare the wipes will get dirty or rust or dry up without the box.(this is wat i think) Want to use then open the cover if not using just close the cover more well kept.
My friends they also brought the box so i follow.

candace, is it on bfeeding??? OMG, must make sure my hubby gets enough sleep before gng for the lesson... he has a male colleague who always ran home during lunch to help the wife to squeeze her milk.. mm.. so to me, bfeeding sounds like a very tough job man, worse is, recently i heard that they bought 6-7 types of pumps, **faint**.

consulted one of my friends who just went back to work after maternity leave. she told me no need to buy the pump until after confinement. reason is during the 1 month confinement, your bb always wif you and you can feed as and when she needs it. But to be on the safe side, we need to set aside FM just in case bb doesnt drink enough from bfeed.

so let's jia you!!! i wish i can bf my bb for at least 1 year!!