(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

thanks serene.

kris,
i think some mummies wanted daddies to be involved so they will want to express their milk so papa can feed bb too

vernice, i tink some daddies do not have paternity leave, so no choice got to use lunch hours to go home and see see the bb.. my company gave 3 days paternity leave but my hubby's co give nothing, so i guess he will have to discuss wif his boss to work from home. i have been telling him to be more tolerance if i m being cranky during confinement.

kris - im getting breast pump early becos its advisable to pump after feeding the baby... this is to ensure that u totally empty the breast... esp when engorgement sets in... frm where i knw it is supposed to be the bf session... i dont wan to risk wanting to pump and not being able to pump... of cos will try to latch on all the time... but not sure if really can endure 2-3hrly latching for the 1st mth... i think il be super grouchy becos nt enuff slp... hahaha! i plan to BF after i go back to work... probably latch bb on b4 i leave for work.. in btwn no choice will feed EBM and when come back from work then latch on again... hopefully at night have strength and will latch on during the night as well.. JY!!!!!!!!

kris,
i tot all daddies got 3/6 days of childcare leave? i haven update myself on daddy's part.

my hb say he will try to take care of bb during night time sometimes. i told him not possible since he got to work the next day.

missycandy,
i scared of getting pump early. too costly an investment to make the wrong decision.

kris,
oh..thxs for the info

So many posts to catch up with.

RE: Studio Photo Shoot
Ladies, I will compile the list when I am back to office on Wed. Sorry was on leave these few days.

RE: Coconut
Was told to drink Young Coconut to have the effect. Usually can get from NTUC. Heard that if u drink 1 coconut per week at the last mth, baby will come out very clean, else will be very bloody de. Not sure if it is true cos my first pregnancy is delivered via GA Emergency C-sect.

RE: Pyjamas
I bought 3 Looney Tunes brand from OG Chinatown last weekend. Material very good. Bought 2 dress and 1 with pants. $35 for pants set and $29 for dress.

Then I went out of OG, outside got pasar malam, they sell PJ too. 1 pc for $8. And I bought another 2. hehe.

Re: Water Bag burst...

Sanitary Pads won't hold the water at all.. It will still gushed out... Unless U girls want to wear diapers?

mangogal:

No dear, I was delivered by the doctors on duty that day in KKH and their senior staff nurses and mid wives.
i really wished I was delivered by my Gynae though, he has been very supportive since Day one I knew him...
But I must say the Labour Ward Team and the NICU Team really are very very Pro and Caring!!! Their service was better
than expected and better than what I have experienced on my last visit to them...

Mangogal,
I was given the list which stated that to pay $975 as deposit at 32 wk..not sure if they hv increased the amt.

Re: coconut
my friend told me she drank coconut for her #2 and true enough not so bloody compared to her #1. Nt sure if its really the coconut effect.

morning queenie.
u r real early for a SAHMTB

i wanted to go for the free scan but hb say sure got lots of ppl one, so end up not going lor. r u going?

hehe..thank u for ur compliment! my timing is always on n off one..

i juz saw the post awhile ago.. i tinkin of goin. coz i tink i got straight bus from wdls to there.. but ya hor.. u remind me abt the queue..
i tink i call nw n ask haha.

vernice80, the normal one in red packaging is good enough. for the box one, just get one and can reuse the box. actually the box is for easy usage only, just open and pull out whatever you need. without the box, the adhesive on the wipe will wear off, then no protective cover for the wipes.

jtho, my boss also the same, either call or sms me. He is the one who suggest to me to stagger my leave. he cannot afford me to take 16 weeks one shot. scare no one to cover me ba... initially he wanted me to take 8 weeks and stagger the rest, i told him 8 weeks is too short, i want to take at least 12 weeks.
J&J baby wipes are good also.. just that they are expensive.

Good Morning Mummies . It's almost 2 weeks plus since my last login as was busy as my elder gal is going P1 this year and busy with work as well .

Congratulations to Gingal . Share with us your birth experience . Natuaral ? C-sect ? how long the labour ? Baby weigh etc ?

Coconut drink thought it's best to drink around 35 - 36 weeks onwards about once a week .

Went for the Glucose tolerance test on 31 Dec and result ok and I ok . Phew . Went for checkup as well and baby abt 800 - 900g at wk 27 . Gynea say normal and I was surprised that till todate I only gain about 3kg from pre-preg wt till now . Aiyo think I must start to eat more cheese drink more milk etc worried bb will be small when born .

vernice
heng ah... i got call them up.. they told me morning slots 10-2 all taken up liao.
but they put me at 2-3pm slot! yipee!!

wish a boy
hows ur girl coping in sch? muz be another great experience for u n ur hb hor.. hehes.
i cant imagine 8 yrs ltr im sending my son to sch too..
btw, great to hear tt u passed ur glucose test..

Re: coconut
i checked with my mom ytd nite. she advised me only to drink it in 2 more weeks' time. so shd be in 33 weeks. tink i will drink officially by then.. lols.

Queenie : My gal ok and luckily got a niece going to same sch and class as her so got companion so not too bad . Another form of stress is her sch work lor .. luckily just the beginning not so much work and somemore hubby reservist so have to look after 2 gals at night alone these 2 weeks ... luckily got PILs to help out lor if not die man ..

moomooland..
didnt they ask u how many weeks u are in?
the jessie got ask me hw many weeks. i told her 31wks. and she put me on hold while she check smething.. den give me the slot de..

prosper
haha u better call to check asap.. b4 u go tk time off..
the place is at macpherson rd. somewhere near the jackson kopitiam i tink.
the lady told me to tk train to potong pasir and walk over.

wish a boy
haha gd tt got companion.. wow. i tot P1 don have much hmewrk to do de.
no worries, 2 wks will pass v soon.. =)

queenie,
u r lucky lor. moomooland didn't get it. share with us ur experience there
did they say they will give u any pics?

wish a boy,
good for u! my doc only ask me more careful on sugar intake cos my dad got diabetics history. So i donno if she will ask me take glucose test.

Fatfish, thks I will check with the nurses on my next visit

Gingal, I see...but u update ur gynae u gave birth at KKH right?
Ya ur gynae very fatherly looking hor? Cos one of my cousin used him and saw him once before when I visited her when gave birth last yr

Well dun worry , ur princess is in good hands under the NICU team, BTW there is a support grp for premature babies in this forum, u can yak with the mummies there.

queenie & vernice,
just my luck...
remember to share with us then..i'll just go over to my 2D scan this evening's appointment then ...

when i called, they just said the slots are all fully taken up...din even ask me how many weeks i am in..guess they really have pretty limited slots...either that, or im just too late to call through.

Vernice,
Yes, it is all button kind.

RE: Water Bag
No need to bring/wear pad bah. Cos it is not going to hold the water. Cos it will just gush out, no time to put on too. Once it is all out, then contraction will come soon. The water is warm and clear.

Actually I very scared that the water bag will burst somewhere too. So I took ML 1 wk before due date, also to relax myself before I deliver.

Gd Morning mummies to be,

Sorry to interrupt. I have a Medela Mini Electric to let go as I hv stopped bf. Used less than 2mths.

Willing to let go at cheap price.

Pls PM me if you are interested.

Queenie : Though say P1 no homework but heard not really lah .. later stage they got and somemore the sch my gal went to hear from mummies quite demanding so parents must follow up if not wait my gal cannot catch up .. sigh ..

vernice80 : My dad also diabetic but my gynea will always requested mummies to take the glucose test even if there is no family history as worried mummies might get pregancy related diabetics and so have to be careful as having pregancy related blood pressure and diabetics , mummies usually need to go for C-sect instead .

Maywong : I really hope this preg will be same as 2nd preg have bloody show and slight contractions instead and not water bag burst man ..

thanks may.

wish a boy,
oh. but till date, my gynae haven ask me to do the glucose test wor.

re: water bag burst.
i also worried leh esp FTM. I wonder if i shld just stay at home.

wishaboy, my girl in P1 last year got homework almost everyday.
Nowadays schoolwork quite stressful.
Yesterday was only the 2nd day in P2, already got homework.

vernice
=) thanks. maybe becoz i SAHMTB so got luck in freebies bah. hehes.
i tot of doing @ nuh too.. but didnt dare to bring up to hb. ltr he say i wan anihow spend his money again. -lols-

moomooland n prosper
cheer up okies? -hugs-

wish a boy
hmm come to think again. my nephew last yr at P1 oso like almost everytime got HW to do also.
i tink maybe first half yr relax. hehe.

hi Mummies...My Updates on my Birth Ordeal!!!
The posts will be very very long as I copy it from my BLOG, lazy to re-type..so pls pls pardon me...

18th Dec 2008

I have been feeling menstral cramps at night whilst sleeping since 2 days ago, and ytd night it was getting more intense. John say to go see Dr. Lim immediately and not wait til next week's routine appointment. So at 11 am we proceeded to his clinic at TMC. Sis is working today but at another clinic, so glad to be able to see her...John and I went for lunch at Delifrance 1st as I was feeling extremely hungry. Then we proceeded up to Dr. Lim's clinic, as I was in pain, I was allowed to "Cut Q" and go in as soon as I reached. Sis Rachel went in with us. The Scans showed that baby is healthy and everything is well, eg Placenta not low, fluid is good and baby's position is not low and good. John and Sis were feeling relieved that I was ok, and then proceed out of the room whilst Dr. Lim wanna do a VE on me. Then, I saw that his facial expression changed when he checked me, he immediately asked Sis and John back to the room and told us that my cervix was already dilated by 2cm. Next thing i knew was, Dr. called up the Labour Ward and got ready to wheel me to the ward. He also explained that the worst scenario is to deliver the baby and he will suggest that I do it in KKH as Premmies Care in KKH's NICU is more intensed, the equipments are more advanced and the team is more experienced. Furthermore, as I was only 27 weeks Preggie, baby will need to stay quite some time in NICU and the costs will be very high in TMC.

Meanwhile, Dr. Lim said he will not want me to deliver so early and he will try his best to keep baby with for as long as possible. I was then wheeled down immediately thereafter to the Labour Ward. The Deputy Director of Nursing got me ready on the "Ventolin" Drip to counter the contractions, and jabs to help mature baby's lungs faster. The Team at labour ward was really checking on me like every 15/30 mins to make sure that everything was ok. I was not allowed to move at all, and Pee and Poo Job had to be on the bed with a BedPan...

It was really cold at the Labour ward, and John did not bring his jacket..so poor thing who stayed with me for more than 12 hours there was cold stiffed. I was stabilised at about 10plus at night and was transferred to normal ward for complete bedrest and John left home to rest...

19th Dec 2008

1 am and I started to feel pain again, immediately, I was wheeled down to the Labour Ward to be on CTG monitoring again...Dr. Lim came down and visit me at 3 am...He wanted to make sure that I am ok, and to reassure me Not to worry and let him do the worrying for me. The dosage on "Ventolin" Drip was increased and I was taking in like 40 mls dosage. This drip will cause extreme fast pulse rate and shivers... I was still doing ok, and thus slept awhile at the Labour Ward. It was about Noon time that I was doing better and wheeled back to the Normal Ward again. For better results, the dosage was increased to 50 mls..

24th Dec 2008

I can be off the drip today...!!! Dr. Lim said that if I responded well after changing the drip to oral pills, then I should be able to discharge tomorrow. The 1st thing that I think of is YEAH, I can bathe at last!!!!! My Hair stinked like shit after so many days of not washing...I'm spending my countdown in the hospital this year... luckily Johnson is able to stay passed mid-night as there are no other patient in the room with me, and so the nurse did not ask him to leave...

25th Dec 2008

Best Xmas Gift - I can be discharged today!!! After this, need to be on Complete Bedrest at Home.. I can only get up to go toilet and bathe..other times I have to lie horizontally... Though it's not gonna be easy, but still better than in hosital wor...at least I can watch so many shows on SCV. Now I have to try and keep baby with me for at least 1 month...Dr. Lim says, it will be safer if baby is 33 weeks and older...Today, she is 28 weeks old...One last Jab to help mature baby's Lungs.. Ithink it's kinda like Steroids Jab...

30th Dec 2008

I have passed 6 days of Complete BedRest at Home...It was so good to have friends coming over and Mummy and MIL taking care of me while I stay in horizontal position...

Toady Feeling some cramps again...Didn't dare move around even to get water to drink today...Kinda worrying..Maybe wanna go see Dr. Lim tmr, to reassure that everything will be fine. Cont'd taking the Medicine, Adaluit, to control Contractions... Tmr is New Year's Eve, every year will be celebrating with Friends, R & R countdown with BBQ or Picnic...This year can't join them..So sad... But John came back with Good News!!! They are coming over my House to celebrate the Countdown with me, they have booked the BBQ Pit I heard, but willing to forsake it and PotLuck to celebrate with me at my Hse...So Nice...Made John pack the hse up and buy the drinks required for Tmr's Party...

End this day with some Hard Contractions and Cramps after bath...went sleep immediately and hope the pain will go away....

31st Dec 2008

Felt like I wet my pants whilst sleeping... knew at once that is the legendary "Water Bag Burst"!!! Wake John up. told him..quickly changed and called Dr. Lim to tell him, his advice is to admit myself immediately to KKH and tell them he is my Gynae. Time is about 6.30am, whilst waiting for John to drive the car over to the lobby, another huge leak of water again...Changed again and John quickly walked me down to the car...

On the way to KKH..nothing but Anxiety Anxiety Anxiety...Is Baby coming now??? I prayed to God...Whatever is his plan for me, I'm gonna take it with lots of courage...

I was wheeled to the Delivery Suite straightaway after I told them that my Water Bag Burst at the 24hr Women Clinic. The MO checked me and confirmed that I was 6 cm dilated... I started to bleed (The legendary "Show of blood" before labour kicks in)... The doctors dicussed, and they came to conclusion that, they will still want me to keep baby inside my womb for as long as possible. Proceed to scan me to see my baby's position to make sure it is not breeched, then to do another Detailed Scan to see if I still have enough water for baby to stay inside...also to see her weight/size/organs etc..They checked with Dr. Lim on my History (They knew Dr. Lim well, as he has been in this line for donkey years and used to be in KKH when he was young, thus mid-wives and staff nurses mostly knew him, they say he is a doctor who likes to dress himself smartly, of cos la, heard he is all "branded" de).

I was put on Ventolin Drip again and one 10mg Adaluit per 15 mins for 4 times in a row...20 hours in the Delivery Suite... On and Off with Contractions Pain coming in...Mum and Dad came in the hospital at about 9 am in the morning, waiting to see if I will be delivering soon. They waited past Lunch hours, but Doctors were still trying to control my Labour. The time was so difficult to pass...After Dinner, I was having more contractions, The MO checked me again, and I was dilated to 7cm, the doctors discussed again and decided to continue to hold on to delivering of my baby. 8 pm and the pain was so intense...They put me on 90mls of Ventolin Drip and more Adaluit tablets...I was shivering badly, like going mad and I can't breathe... They quickly turn it off as my Pulse rate shot up to near 160, like gonna die liao...

Off the Drip and I was feeling the contractions badly again...This time they say I can use the Laughing gas to relief the pain,i asked for Epidural, but was not allowed...They say if last resort is to deliver the baby, they want it Fast..With Epidural, I won't be able to push fast and baby will be distress...

Quickly used the laughing gas, It won't take away the pain, but it makes me "high" and forget about the pain temporary...I genna the side effects of using laughing Gas...Vomit like Mad for 2 hours..makes my contractions pain worst with all the vomiting...decided i won't take another sniff of it in my whole life again...

10+pm, Mum and Dad, Baby's God-ma-to-be, Ah Lian and Uncle Tan arrived and waiting outside, thinking I might deliver anytime. I dunno what time they arrived though...

11+pm... Contractions getting worst, Doctor checked me again, I was 9 cm dilated. She said I can start trying to push...as I complaint that I can feel baby trying to push her way out, and I extremely felt like I wanna Fart and pass Motion, but all stucked...I wanna break down and cry... Few Mins later, she came in and ask Nurse to feed me Adaluit pills again, she said she had consulted her Senior Team and they all decided that they still want me to keep baby in the womb for as long as I can..be it only an hour or 2...Baby wanna rushed for the 1st Baby of the Year, but Too Bad.. Not allowed by Doctors...The pain was KNNz unbearable, the medicine did not stop the contractions at all... I was so out of my mind, I keep asking for Epidural, or C-section...(knowing that it will be 100% rejected)...

1st Jan 2009 (New Year 'sDay)

The next 2 hours, Contraction pain was unbearable..I heck-care and start pushing with my baby...It's just normal body reaction..I can't help it...so I let baby push whilst I dun hold back...Every Contraction that comes in, the pain is so unbearable that I have to scream a little out, like "Ahhhhhhhhhhh...ahhhhh" Deep breathing doesn't help also. John has to grab my hand everytime the contractions are here... All I can hear is him asking me to "Breathe In..Ok..Breathe Out"...One time, he went away, and I almost cry as the contraction came and he was not around...Maybe he gan jiong & went smoke or toilet or update those waiting outside..I forgotten...

2.00am...One young Mid-wife came in, checked my dilation and she says she can feel baby's head already...I keep asking, can I deliver now? Can I push? The baby's doctors, some other nurses and a Gynae all ready standing around me...I think the room was filled with 6/7 people, all waiting for the MOMENT... With John and the Mid-wife's help...I started pushing real hard. Johnson has his hands on my left thigh and my head to help me arched, and the right leg was supported by the mid-wife and myself...

Everytime the contractions came in, about every 10 seconds, i gotta close my mouth and just push and push, each contractions, I can change breath and push like 3 times......lots of commotion, lots of "You can do it - Ni Ke yi de" by John..all i can hear is his voice and the mid-wife's scolding to ask me dun open my mouth and make noise, cos if I make noise, i won't have strength to push. With about less than 10 times of pushing with close mouths, I can feel her head stucked at my vagina, the pain was undescribeable. My Anus was like gonna erupt too, and I start screaming, "How how, the head is stuck, very pain very pain"... Mid wife said immediately, " Now I want u to push really hard whilst we cut u, baby will be out!" Another 3 more pushes...and I can feel baby is out with gushes of warm liquid... John say he witnessed she "flew out like rocket" and 6 hands were getting ready to "hope" her...Time was 0210 Date 1st Jan 2009...Baby is 29 weeks and 2 days old (MY NEW YEAR BABY)

John didn't get to cut Baby's cord, as everyone was in rush to get her into the warmer immediately..i didn't even get to see her face..straightaway she is brought over to the cot that has warming effect..(BTW, I forgot to mentioned that The air-con of the room has to be OFF when I was delivering, as they dun wan baby to have a suddeen drop in tempearture when she comes out..she has to stay warm)...I keep asking , why baby was not crying...and until about 30 seconds later, they cleared her mucus and she cried and cried..softly...there and then, I felt relieved. Next I have to "deliver" my placenta, such a big piece of bloody thing it was, cannot imagine it inside me...The mid wife slowly pull it out, and I am not allowed to push...John has to follow the baby team to NICU...I'm then left to wait to be stitched back...I was not stitched yet and about 0230, I felt like peeing... i asked the nurse, she said it is good that I wanna pass urine..so she gave me a Bedpan, at first I was reluctant, I was afriad of the raw cuts...But, alas couldn't help it, so I just pee...Nurse said I did a great job...cos alot mummies never dare pee on the 1st day of delivery and I managed to pee alot...Wahahaha

Doctor came in and stitched me...whilst doing so, she explained that my next baby, will be high chance of Pre-term again...so I have to be really cautious...I was given 6 stitches. 4 for the cut and 2 for the tear...I was thinking, all I want is my girl to be well soon...next baby, will think about it later...

3.00am...John came back from NICU and after annoucing the arrival to my Mum and dad and also Ah Lian and Uncle Tan, who were still waiting anxiously outside...he suddenly complaint he is feeling very very tired...if he can go home. He was with me throughout the 20 hours ordeal, can guess he really tired...As I will be pushed to the ward soon, I asked him to go back loh...I felt so light and relieved now..suddenly I felt my tummy became small...I cannot imagine, I am a MUMMY now...It's really not easy....

queenie,
can tell him its really cheap compared to other places. told my hb that too. i did try to call TMC and KKH and they charged like 200+ lor.

moomooland & prosper,
see if there is another chance to go again

gingal,
Thank you for sharing your story. Sounds like a horrible ordeal! But so glad that both mummy and baby are safe
Hope that your little girl will gain weight fast so that she can return home with you!

gingal,
Thanks for sharing. You are very brave.
Glad tat everything is alright now.
U take care and awaits for your gal to return home soon. Hugs...

gingal
i almost cry while reading ur birth experience with ur princess!!!
thank god for keeping you both safe..
hope baby princess can faster go hme with u..

vernice
haha. ya lor im awared of tt..
hehe nvm i go for the free 1 first. den come hme n throw the surpise gift from me n baby. hehes.
i tink there shd be pictures or video for complimentary gift.

Dearest Gingal, I applause ur birth story!!
My heart was palpating up and dwn as reading it and can feel ur high and low of emotions during the whole process...HUGS & U did a GREAT JOB!!
Ur gal will be very proud of her mummy

Haa I burst out laughing abt the peeing part after u delivered, but u can feel the painwhen they stiched u up?

Well, hope u are doing well wif ur confinement and moo moo ur gal fat fat,hehe

gingal - i read yr story from top to bottom and felt it must have been such a difficult and scary time for u...but i am glad that u and yr gal are ok...such a brave mummy to go thru the whole experience and i salute u for that...

how much will u have to pay for the NICU charges?

But nevertheless a big and wonderful New Year pressie for u =)