(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

steph.. ya.. but i seriously want to pass by this period fast and faster pop.. don't wan to keep feeling uncomfortable often.. very xin ku leh..

steph
Ya, looking after bb is really not a small joke. Not enough sleep still need to get up in morning to work.

I called my mil during lunch asking if she wants to attend this sat talk with me since hubby cant make it. in fact i expected her ans. The first thing she said is "cant lah, i have to go market at 1130 .... tmr is 15th need to pray... blah blah" I realised that she and my mum about the same. insensitive. They have nvr finished household chores and nvr think twice about the reason for a request. All they think is about the chores and they are super busy etc. sigh... I wanna talk to hubby about this.
Sometimes when i quoted to him so in future xxx event she will response same way too. then he said i jump to conclusion. but some times it is the fact. the way one behave. of cos i have to expect the worse.

steph
Panda eyes club!!! Boy I'm not exactly looking forward to that yet! :[ Guess after having the 1st bb, having the 2nd will be easier to take care?

actually looking after 1st one is easier . when its 2nd one , u be super tired as other than looking after the 2nd one u still have to look after 1st one emotions , feelings and must also give 1st one some attn otherwise he will feel neglected etc ..

Wish a boy,
i also made my hubby attend parentcraft with me
i want him to get involve in the process & understand how he could help during my labour. Indeed he did encourage me to use laughing gas to ease the contraction pain & i scolded him...keke cos too painful to think straight liao:p During my maternity leave on wkends, he will help to bath our son since parentcraft did demostrate how to bath a newborn
Until now, he still bath our son.

Keron&Jeris
Gynae should be doing normal ultrasound scan for you, after that will draw 3 tubes of your blood for testing and will need abt 1 week for the report.

♥♀steph♥♂ (steph77) : your hubby better than my hubby as he don't dare to bath newborn . but as they grow up , he will bath them . He did others like milk feeding , change diaper better ..

Keron&Jeris (keronjeris) : for my every visit to gynea , he will scan the bb and update us the growth . Think yours will also as most private gynea do that and if not wrong , I ever heard KKH don't scan bb every visit for some patient

Wintertime,
MS is xin ku but a short passing phase only.

babe,
yes i agree with Wish a boy. Looking after 1st one is easier especially when u have MIL/own mum or maid to help out. For #2, if age gap very close...lagi worse, very tiring cos imagine chasing #1 when they are still toddler stage, very active & breastfeeding a colic/cranky baby who dun sleep thru the nite. Oh...it's nite mare!

guest, wah. u will still "invite" ur mil to go with u.. so nice har.. if i were u, i rather to go alone.. opps.. kekeke

Re: looking after bb
well, i have headache who to look afer my first child. i think next time i have 2nd kid, i sure "faints"

Wish a boy, Steph
Oh, I just thought with No.2 will be easier since you've already gone through with No.1 and you'll know what to do with No.2. We also hoping to have No.2 close to No.1, age wise. Now, you tell me how tough, I'm worried! :[

babe : u have to think lah . when u have no. 1 and u are preg , u know first 3 months super tired and so it's not easy . First one will also be the most easy , too tired just rest and don't bother anything at all . If no. 2 and u too tired , u still have to find time to look after no. 1 and play with him if not he feels neglected and will not like the bb when it is born as he feel his place being taken by the newborn . Age gap too close , imagine 1 year different , no.1 is 1 year old toddler when u deliver no.2 , how can a toddler understand u busy with no.2 etc .. a toddler will also want your attn and so u will be super busy with 2 kids ..

Hi Mommies, was thinking if I should stay on with KKH TPS esp when there is no more packages available for mother-to-be anymore. can I find out the following from you ladies:

1) Where is your gynea and who?
2) How much is your package with your gynea?
3) What does the package include?
4) How much are your tests thus far?

I've paid $321 at KKH for my triple tests and my scan for down syndrome. The other routine tests are quite cheap, about $10 only. My consultations are usually $55.

Thanks. Really appreciate your help. Wondering if I should change gynea to take a package instead. Not sure if it'll be more worthwhile.

hi mommies

I'm going for my Oscar test @ TMC tmr. Cant really sleep these few days, dunno worry abt what. Can see BB tmr, do u think i can ask if they can scan the gender of BB for me tmr? Me oso eager to know BB's gender.

Padi : Mine is as follows :

1) Where is your gynea and who?
He is Dr Douglas Ong . He got a clinic at Ten Miles Junction and Mt E Hosiptal . He can deliver in Mt A and Mt E .

2) How much is your package with your gynea?
Mine is old package , my SIL package last year is $1.8k which starts from wk 12 and this include normal delivery charges . Assisted and c-sect need to top up $400 and $800 respectively .

3) What does the package include?
Schedule visit consultation and scanning every visit included till deliver . Only need to pay for blood test and detailed scanning package and medicine .

4) How much are your tests thus far?
My NT scan and PPAP blood test for down syndrome will be $450 .

minnie24 (minnie24) : Of course u can ask them to scan the gender and all depends on bb position can see or not .

Padi
My consultation is $80, ultrasound scan each time is $65. Till now i have paid almost $1k. My gynae provide package after wk 14. Package include:

1)Consultation (Unlimited)
2)U/S (But no pics given)
3)Multivitamin & Folic Acid
4)Normal Delivery

PAckage $1400, $600 pay cash $600 deduct from medisave.

Blood test need to pay and also DHA pills.

babe,
not trying to scare u la. Every baby is different. If u have a easy to take care baby who drink milk & guai guai sleep, u r lucky. If u have a cranky baby who need to wake up every 2hourly for milk then i say gd luck! If bless with gushing breast milk, gd for u. If kena engorgement & block ducts, worse is led to fever or infection, then u tell me tough anot?
But if u have helper/care-giver & still young, do give birth early (age gap close also no prob) while u still have the energy

steph, wish a boy
u r really scaring babe! hehe.... but i understand wat u mean, tat's y goto plan carefully lor. i think i wil b really stressed out too if my girl is younger, she's now 2 so at least can explain to her.

babe,
dun worry too much too! in my opinion, 2nd one wil b easier, not just coz i know wat to do now, but more coz i know wat i can't do! so i wun stress myself out lik i was for the 1st one, wanting to do everything myself n breaking down when i can't manage. lik steph said every baby is different, even the same baby grows up n become a different toddler. mine was a really really cranky baby, she cried and cried all day n nite, wanting to b carried all the time, but now she's very independent n play quietly by herself. so u never know!

Not only babe, i tink i been scare by steph and wish a boy also. Sound very scary leh, dunno if i can cope with 2 or not.

not to scare u all , got mother or MIL to help out then ok . no helper , then have to think and plan properly as not easy for as having kids is for lifetime commitment ... looking after them , provide them etc ..

have u considered getting a cl from tmc? i read an article yesterday on the rising demand of cl in singapore. comparing local, malaysian and even China-chinese.

kome,
can! can! hee.... when my no.1 was born, i kept telling my hsbd, cannot tahan liao, i din know it's so hard. then his reply was "so wat do u wan to do? stuff her back in tummy? or give her away?" :p so we will manage no matter wat!

hey mummies...
after reading.....my only problem here is i am of age le...in my 35 now and only my 1st baby...thinking of chiong and have another if can and have the energy is also a thought and much consideration for me now...
perhaps...might jut end up settling on 01 baby...coz by then hubby and myself will be old and no energy to play with baby....worst have to worry about DS as i have gone through the worries before my OSCAR test....lucky the result is that i am in low risk...
so lucky for you ladies who are still young...can still delay the thoughts till yrs later when the 1st is older....

guest....

CL from TMC...??? part time kinda??? like those retired nurse who works part-time and help the mom look after baby for couple of hours in the day for a mth kinda???
i read some where in the papers..my hubby cut out the article i think....
do you have more info...??
coz i am considering not employing a CL from malaysia...

Crosailo
My neighbour also gave birth to her #1 at around 35 yrs old and her #2 at the age of 37 ba.... so just try for another one.

Daphne
dont worry. My sis now 37 just gave birth to the second one. first one coming 4 years old. however, you have to think carefully too cos late birth beside energy and worrying abt the health of the bb, your retirement is affected too. the later you have bb the later your retirement. go for the second one if you are really prepared for it.

daphne
in fact i m still comtemplating too. getting a cl fr tmc is definitely more exp. i need to find the brochure at home. they have part time, day time, night time and stay in, i think. and cost can goes up to S$3k. however, i think they will be more experience and hygiene than those from malaysia as the cl are trained fr tmc i think. and i dont think tmc wanna ruin their name. i heard my sis telling me her exp fr both cl she engaged for her two bb.
first one cooked better. second one more caring. she can use cotton wool and damp with warm water to clean bb back side then nvr wash and do other bb stuff etc. i m not sure tmc standard will it be better.
i check out the brochure n update u.

daphne,
if u n hsbd r both healthy, then dun worry too much. DS risk is only a statistic at the end of the day, so if u really like kids, then do consider having more. i think older parents bring different perspective to parenting, the kids also tend to b more mature at a young age, which is great! there's always other things to do with kids, not just running around with them, u can read or take walks together. u will feel younger too!

sharon,
u make me laugh le...there was one day, the rack & bone man was sounding his horn & shout, "Garung Gunie" & say anything to sell away? My hubby told me to ask the uncle, "How much is our son?!?"haha...but of course he bu she de to sell his precious son la!

Steph
My Hb always say he wanna sell our son away coz my son is quite mischevious and he cannot stand it.

Oppsgal
Not sure what is honeysuckle but i know dang gui is fine. Coz last time i also gt drink the soup

crosailo,
Me also mah, tried 4yrs than have my #1 by the time I gave birth I already 35yrs old liao. Now my gal turning 2 yrs old in Nov. Is super xiong like what steph says, 1st few month we will all have panda eyes for sure. Think when times come we will manage to cope with it ba.

Kome,
Last night I try to check on the website for breast pump hor, realised is not that cheap leh. Coz base on Avent Duo coz is cheaper than Medela PIS, Avent is US$245, but haven't include tax and shipping and like asura say the package is not light weight around 6kg, I did a calculation it will come up to almost $400 plus singapore dollars with shipping cost. And most of the website I checked they only ship within states. Now I really considering whether should we get it from there if we have to pay the shipping cost and tax??

sharon, guest, kome and jasmine...

thank you for your encouragements...it really make me feel that this thread helps alot in solving women's thoughts...can't tell to family members sometimes..

yes....will see how the #1 comes and how everything goes 1st..if possible..health is doing well and let nature take it's course..

thanks alot again..

Wah... I am really drooling now...
So many mummies already know the bb gender...
Hope i can see this saturday scan...
I am going thru the OSCAR test this sat.
OMG... I hate needles...
Aaarrrggghhhh...

Hope to provide good news sat afternoon to Kome...

Guest...

yes please spare me more info if you have them...regarding the nurse CL..
i read in the papers about mainland doctors are also coming in as CL...it coz alot..coz they provide medical check up for the baby...
but i have my reserves....no offends though..

having those retired nurse to be part time CL..i will rest assure that baby will be well traken care of and also they can teach some old folks superstitions..hehehee..i quite pantang kinda of person..although i am a catholic...better belief then ignore right...hehhee