(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

st, ya my PD say dun need to worry. imagine if they say "pls start panicking", all the parents will tear down Glaxo's office loh. but i feel it was very irresponsible for Glaxo not to check the vaccine / clean their equipment before mass producing for the consumers.

ya and they are big compaines some more sigh

Crayola crayons
Toysrus r have promo on it till 3rd May..some on 20% some will be buy 2 get 1 free

St, dr lim said he gotta take 2 jabs for pneumoccal leh, scratching head now. If can take one only then good. Its not so much about the money but more of side effect like fever. Actually she just told me both combined 15% chance fever, not sure if both will cause fever. In fact its not the 1st time my boy 2 vacination at a go. He took rota and another jab together b4 and ok. But rota is not jab la, its orally given. Seems like poly clinic gives better and more conservative advise about spacing out the jabs. Wish i had hear this b4. It was really a painful experience. Nearly cried when we had to ice him as his fever hit 39. 4 n he was struggling when we try to hold him down..

teddy.
that is why i took the 5-in-1 instead of 6-in-1 cos 5-in-1 has less chance to get fever but means he need to take extra jab.
yes can understand my boi recently fever until 40 deg twice and 40.4 deg all on the same night..and he doesnt want us to sponge him leh..he will cry until his tears drop..and got one time hit 40deg cos my mum leh say let him sleep lor cos he has not been sleeping and get very cranky so dun give med(but pls lor he still fever but i gave in cos it's only 38.5 so just let him sleep) wow after 1hr later shot to 40deg i told my mum cannot sleep liao leh must let him take med..

actually the GP we see also leh (cos it's sunday PD not open) thi GP say if bb is sleeping dun wake him up for med if he has high fever he will wake up and cry...pls lor my boy so high fever he was still sleeping leh luckly i got check his temp

st
my boi oso took 5-in-1... actually wat's the diff btw 6 n 5 huh?

rotarix
my boi already completed tis... any issue?

got my 3rd BP up.. please kindly support..

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/3818972.html?1270693296

Cheap Huggies for Sale

Huggies ultra - $14.50 per pkt
Huggies pullups - $14.50 per pkt
Huggies comfort (red) - $15 per pkt
Huggies dry (blue) - $15 per pkt

Collection at Punggol/ Toa payoh (fri evenings & sun mornings) / Amk (prearranged) / Pasir Ris ( prearranged) / Science Centre (prearranged)/ IMM (prearranged)

piggy
I dnt want touch CDA as hubby n my intention is to use it 4 education. Thus, had been keeping her CDA till now. All the while had been using cash to pay 4 all jabs. But I dnt give rotavirus. only 5in1. thus still not too x. last year brought my gal go polyclinic 2 have pneumoccocal jab using medisave. So I tink i dnt spent as much as u.

chocolate
welcome! Actually I'm not going to let my gal take chicken pox. As per said by dox, I would rather she had the outbreak and clear out all the toxic in her body rather than let her take the jab then in e end e outbreak is little n didnt clear out all e toxic.

Re Fever after jab
Actually 4 my gal, since born till now, whenever she had her jab, she dnt have fever (TOUCHWOOD) caused after each jab, i will fed her immediately wit e panadol syrup & lots of lots of water. Tat's my mum logic. She said she had been doing tat 2 her kids since birth and never had any fever! Thus, I follow her method n tried. Maybe true or not, my gal till now never had fever after any jabs.

sun 6-in-1 is has the hepB in it..it's 5-in-1 the Hep B will be separate jab
Don has given the link regarding the rota u can go and have a look.

Sharlin,
My PD is Thomson Paediatric Centre. Ryker had 6-in-1 + Rotavirus (2 doses) + Pneumococcus(3 does) last yr under the package price. Like you we don't wan to touch CDA which is meant for his education. Since now I can use medisave for Pneumococcus which save my extra $$, I will use it this jab. Will check with PD can I use medisave for other jabs ... heehee...

I'm still thinking let my boy take MMRV or chicken pox & MMR separately. Any advise ???

Sung,
I think you've to keep putting baby oil even don't have cradle cap. My boy till now still putting either baby oil of coconut oil, no harm, besides, notice that coconut oil is better than baby oil, hair colour is getting darker

but do we hv to worry here in spore regarding rota jab?
my gal at IFC so no choice I gt to give her, so if ur LOs nt in IFC or childcare, dun need t ogive rota jab

actually hor I am reluctant to give my gal MMR jab :p

re fever... my personal experience is the temp ALWAYS shots up at night (when we are most tired!). keep up with the meds and sponging and if your guts tells you something is really not right, go A&E. imo it is better to be safe.

mangogal
my PD told me for rota if taken it can last them for life leh..
and yes PD say singapore also effected ...they are still investigating but they were told to put on hold for this rota first

i also heard my colleague say, her bb took rotavirus 2dose already but then last mth went for 3rd dose then doc say temporary stop bcos they found virus...will start all over again for this rotavirus with another new medicine..

Jo's mummy, huh start all over again? so does that means the previous 2 doses not effective and not counted??
I dun want my gal take so many vacine leh

mangogal
hmm not sure abt the restarting thingy leh..my PD never say abt it. so it's like taken already then no choice kind

hmm btw rota is oral med not poke poke..

re: vaccine
hmm... depend on individual parent la... as long as u feel comfortable w tat, jus go ahead... ^_^

mangogal, ya start all over again..previous oral medicine taken not counted..im not sure how many dose..bcos bb Jo nvr took..

best person to consult will be ur PD or GP... dont feel shy to bombard them with questions.. afterall u are paying them =P if u're afraid u will forget, do write down a list of ur queries n concerns, attach it to the heath booklet so u wont forget to bring it! end of the day, it will be ur baby who be benefit/suffer.. heh heh heh...

Re: fever post vaccination at night

Why not just give medication at bedtime? If u know they had a jab and may get a fever after that, might as well give it before the night. That way dun need to keep waking up fearing for temp spike liao. And feed them loads of water before bed too. Better than needing to wake them up at like 3am and force them to have meds/sponging when they are tired and seriously just wanna sleep? Think if anyone did that to u esp when u are alrdy having a temp that adds to ur tiredness u will also kick and scream. Poor thing.

Re: actual vaccination

Can't yet comment abt switz as just got here but in uk certain vaccines are high on priority list cos of high rate of mortality (death rate) at certain ages, eg pneumococcal meningitis, measles, mumps and rubella especially. Worldwide the diphtheria/tetanus/polio etc what u get in your 5-in-1s these days cause a very high mortality so generally they are compulsory everywhere. Bearing in mind that healthcare is free there in uk, govt will only implement the vaccines that are really neccesarry. What isn't compulsory there are rotavirus and chickenpox, or hep b in infancy. If any of these 3 are indeed compulsory in sg obviously because of the high mortality caused by them in sg (and we all know for a fact hep b is one of them) then its worth taking. Otherwise its a matter of choice depending on your own circumstance.

every since having the baby, social calendar packed...
nothing on also face her 24/7 .. lolx!!! not say dont wanna face her la... hurhurhur... but admire those mummies who have 2,3,4 or more kids!!!

Missycandy, i know what is the feeling like of facing my kids the whole day. Generally it's enough to drive me crazy, so it's a good thing that i'm working. At least when i go home after work, i'll be so happy to see them and play with them!

pneumoccal - My boy took one at 7th month and one at 8th month. The last one will be at 15th month. Just reminded me to call PD to fix an appt.

sooo fast if Friday, break from work but not babysit :p

Agreed with Missy, every since have a baby, I've lost all my social time.... long time didn't go for movie & holidays
How I wish to

northvirgo - hats off to u... 3 at home... i wil go kuku.. lolx! 1 i already bth becos she is tooo active -_-"

piggy - try to get parents or inlaws to help? so far managed to catch night movies with hb twice... plus our birthdays alone.. heh heh heh

hello mommies..
can i ask u 2 questions..
1. what vitamins we need to give to bb?
is scott's necessary? i think there are 2 types right? which one is better?

2. when will u start teach bb 123 and abc?
so far only teach him flashcards animals and things around the house only..

Just back from my boy's chickenpox jab. He's 78cm, 9.6kg.

He's still so active after the jab. I can't even rest on my CCL. lolx. Talking abt social life, totally lost it. Have to rush back home from work everyday to pick him up & wkends are 24/7 on him.

miss83
i oso plan to give scott's... i love the original flavour, so mostly probably will give the original one.... ^_^

jasmin/jennifer
same lor... even go for facial/hair trtment... no time manz... =(

me too plan to give bb Jo scotts but prefer the orange 1..cos not too fishy smell..hee..

ya..no time for facial, hair treatment, massage, shopping..cant imagine if i have #2..messy hair, oily face with lotsa breakouts, big tummy..sob sob...terrible..

Scotts fish oil: I too have given Ethan the original 1. It really smell fish but he take so we just gave him daily in the morning after his shower. Make it a habit, if not they dont take, they will never want to take when they are bigger like my gal.
Once have kids, we all will not have free time, even have also very limited... Movies... I think I worse havent been to any movies for 5 long years

jasmine, 5yrs??? omg!!! now always watching the pirated DVD..hubby say cheaper n more comfortable to watch at home wor..last night just watch the "future cops - by andy lau" after Jo slept..