(2009/02) February 2009 MTBs

hi gals! happy leh!

Han finally called ba ba and ma ma.
MIL has been telling us he knows how to call, but he never calls us.

today, he decided to call us!
haha... sounds like so fair... call us on the same day.
but then my friend just reminded me... it was a perfect father's day gift. so not so fair after all. :p still happy! :p

pai seh... han a bit slower than the rest... so let me be excited about this delayed happiness.

Hi Grace, I share ur happiness! My boy called me MA MA, not the ma ma but ma (1st tone), ma (3rd tone), sounds so nice yesterday, hee hee, and in front of my jealous MIL! But not pa pa. My MIL only teaches my boy to say pa pa and ah ma, but never once ma ma, so mean right? I am used to it le, but thank god my loving son called me ma ma a few times in my mum's house too, so happy! He did call pa pa in the past 1st but I think he did not know what it meant at that time as he just call and not looking at Daddy, but when he called me, he was next to me and trying to get me to carry him, so I think he knows that Ma MA means Mummy. (I self-console myself la) Coz he also cannot talk yet, kept complaining and scolding us but in his baby language, so we din understand.

Really envy those bb here who can speak already and of course envy Sandy!

This morning, we went kopitiam for breakfast. No gd seat so we decided to share a table with a lady whose finishing up her food. She winked at my boy and he winked back! I did not see it but the lady commented that my boy is quite cheeky. Even strangers notice that! She said normally, babies will smile or cry when strangers wink or smile at them, but my boy winked at her! And then he started crying (showing the unjustified face - bu gan yan face) when he saw her talking about him. He even stared at her as she walked away! This boy nowadays also like this, when I say I am angry or say no to certain things he is doing, he will show me he is angry too by using his hands to hit his thighs and show angry face, then start to cry if i continue.

He also tried to snatch away other children's things at the playground this morning.

I dun noe how to discipline him, scared he will become ba wang (unreasonable terror) in future. Anyone got any advice?

Whitegalz, same here, I used to go to Dr Koh too when he was with AMK SBCC. Din know he went to Mt A until I called up the AMK SBCC last Monday.

My PD at Sembawang Kidslink is now at AMK SBCC, also called Dr Goh, She is Goh Siok Ying. Quite nice lady, always smiling and answers all questions patiently.

sandy,
yes it has nursey kindergarten with primary school.

lonerunner,
not ACS but slightly near by that area too hehe. actu i tried to sign up for the nursery 3 mos ago, they told me i should hv done so in jan 2010. sigh.... so i quickly called the primary sch to ask, thank god hubby from alumni (yes, i'm not from any of these schools unfortunately, neighbourhood all the way, sigh). feel a bit sad i cant help my son much. oso felt useless for not enrolling him early, din know nd to be so kiasu. in e end, MIL questioned y i nvr enrol, i told her i home school, can? then she nvr say anything. aiyaya, long story....it's like prince not in a rush but eunuch in a rush - direct translation from cantonese proverb.

pri sch
tis is a big prob for me! my house not near to any pri schs at all, not to mention gd 1s! then my hb from boys sch, so my gal how? i from neighbourhood pri sch, think oreidi closed down... so which pri sch to enrol, a big qn mark! i actually dun mind any neighbourhood sch leh, as long as it's near and convenient... at tis rate, i wonder abt even e chances of getting into 1 tat is considerably near...

starbright,

i dont think you are useless...its just that some schools are more in demand and hence need to be more competitive. just think of it this way, your boy will not have transition issues when it comes to P1
he will already be familiar with his school environment. this is also why i decided to enrol my girl in a nursery+kinder+ primary so by P1, she will be already familiar with their teaching style etc
im quite surprised in fact because i didnt know there is such system in spore..prep school to primary. dont think so much

sheepish, sigh...thats indeed a big headache since the registration method is by phases and distance is one of them...like that u need to go by balloting? but its better than having to take entrance exam right?? whenever i think of that, i feel so stress..i told hb that we have to shortlist a few schools because what if she fails??

LiTing: I know what u mean… My MIL is very nice, but she is also v glad that Han is daddy’s fan. She kept telling us Han will call out Ba ba loud.

Today we went out, daddy went to get something, so left me and Han. Then Han saw daddy walking back and started pointing at daddy. Then I said to him daddy don’t know where we are… have to shout out loud to let him know. And Han really shouted Ba ba loud and clear. Haha I’m jealous though I am the one asking him to shout out. V “mao2 dun4”. :p Then my hubby come and “hao4 lian4” to me… so sian.

Sheepish: me too. I’m from a girls’ school and hubby’s pri school also closed down.
But we are targeting for temasek primary, which is just within walking distance. Getting ready to do PV (parent volunteer), hopefully within 1 km plus PV can get Han in.

Sandy: wah… have to take entrance exam!!! V stressful, but when I saw the TVB shows, HK popular schools even need entrance interview! don’t know real life is like that also or not.

this little chi mun starts to spin in circles after watching the high5's Move It segment. after a few rounds of spinnings, she started walking like a drunked person while giggling to herself. It's now her favourite show. Each time I turn on my PC to express milk, she die die must sit on my lap and demand to watch the segment in youtube. baytahan this girl. Oh I passed my parents inspection. They din notice the sctaches! (luckily the scratches fade quite fast!)

gracechua:
hey dun worry. Han's not slow. Chi mun still cannot speak many words apart from "ma-ma" "mum-mum" and "zai zai" (her cousin). Last time she still can say more words but suddenly stopped for a few mths already. Today is father's day n the best she can do is to call her daddy "die-die", which is still a long way from "papa"! haha!

sandy:
oh dun worry abt naomi lah. given her abilities, she'll be the last kid to fail exam leh! :p steady!

starbright:
I also duno there is such system in spore too. at worst, if can afford, can consider move hse to near a good school! :p there is no way to enrol or be on waiting list? the dateline for enrollment is so strict one!

sheepish:
dun worry abt no vacancies. luckily our girls are born in year of ox! Imagine if we have a dragon kid! there are quite a number of schools near ur hse lah, but think definately need a schoolbus lor.

Hi Lonerunner, my boy also starts to spin in circles since yesterday! But he never watch the video that Chi Mun watches leh. Your descriptions on Chi Mun saying 'die die' so funny leh. Ha ha ha.

Wah, Sandy, din know Philippines so competitive!

Starbright, u stress me leh, now I also thinking where to put my boy when he Primary 1. I thinking of transferring to a better school if the school wants me, then can enrol him in. Ya, worse come to worse, may need to move house to enrol him.

What is ur school? So popular?

spinning:
cas is also doing this! started 2 weeks ago and she is very amused and keeps doing this til she is very "drunken" looking and about to fall!

hitting:
one thing i recently noticed is that if she doesn't want somebody carrying her, she will hit them in the face! i dunno if it's just a phase but i hope it will pass! i tell her "that's bad" or "no" but she wouldn't listen to me! yesterday, she hit daddy and got reprimanded

kindermusik:
went to trial yesterday and i think cas got a little "bored" and doesn't want to do the activities like walking around. she just enjoyed playing with the drums, shakers and the parachute. and then she will move around trying to reach things at the table or opening the box full of toys! lol

Ginn>
I am thinking of a pri school (my previous pri sch) but is at bukit timah area. Haha. So I have a 7 years plan for my hubby to teach ard that area to send her there every morning

SY, then it's easy if ur hubby teach ard the area.. keke.. is ur pri sch the popular co-ed sch there.. If it is then same as my hubby keke..

Sandy, i'm sure Naomi will do well in exam... keke dont stress..

Stunt: My gal is also doing stunt. She'll bend her upper body all the way down, with head touching the floor and looking at things upside down.. aiyo, think she enjoys doing it.. faints.

ginn:
wait til ur gal learns to push with her feet (when she's all bent that way)...and do a tumbling! cas has mastered this a bit and loves to do this in our bed! *faint*

Hallo mummies~!

Wah... looks like everyone's talking abt pri sch liao leh...so stress la!

I also hv no idea where to send Mer for pri sch when its her turn. Sigh. Both HB n I are from neighborhood schools...

But a small tiny voice inside me says I shdn't hv to worry too much. End of the day, as long as they are in a stable and decent environment, normal schools will do bah? Afterall, hb and I also from v normal schools and we also did pretty well. At least by my own standards la... HAHAHA...

Think I will be more worried at the Secondary and above stage, when the hormones set in, when the individualistic expressions start rearing their heads... then I think I will ship Mer to an island to protect her from bad people and boys. HAHA...

On stunts, Mer is also twirling around leh! Is this a milestone achievement? Cuz she suddenly one day decided to twirl and twirl... so funny... like a bui bui ballerina... LOL.

Grace, Mer also loves to call her daddy... she will go Papa all day long if she can... but her daddy thinks its becos Mer thinks the sound of Papa is v nice to the ears, so keep repeating... cuz she is still sticky as glue to me!

Teach Han to say Mummy la... Mer calls me Mummy but pronounce as MeeMee... LOL...

our little ones are so full of surprises and sweet stuff nowadays hor... haha... so happy to see them grow and learn and love!

sandy:
i think naomi will do juz fine leh, so no worries! but yah, i guess it's worse wif entrance exams... it's like haven't even start sch, need to take exam liao...

pri sch
sandy, sg is so competitive... do u noe even if u fulfill e distance criteria (and tat is oreidi many phases later), balloting is still needed if there are more children than vacancies? so i can foresee tat my gal probably will only be enrolled in e last phase and hopefully by then, there are still vacancies in e nearby schs...

lonerunner... there may be schs nearby my place, but not near enuff to meet e criteria... tat means by e time my gal is eligible to ballot, e vacancies would have been filled by e other children staying nearby e sch liao... if tat's e case, will there still be a nearby sch for her?

grace... yah, was juz telling hb u all buy e rite place... so near temasek, which happens to be a gd sch... haiz... we hope my gal can get in there too, but i really wonder... see how bah... if can, then my next child guaranteed a place too leh!

wah, u gonna pv ah? very on leh... i wonder if i'll have to do tat, though i find it a bit extreme leh... but never say never...

dj_mama, i agree wif u lor... but i juz wan a sch nearby!

DJ: I observe that the pri school will lead to the sec school. so at least not too much negative influence pri school will do.

Stunts: Han also has stunts. he will purposely walk backwards, sidewards, etc. cannot walk forward properly still want to "chu4" pattern.

hehe... have been teaching han to say mummy, but the most he manage is ma ma. then i also dont know it means mummy or ah ma. i will just pretend that it is ma mah.

yap, i agree it is full of surprises and fun!

actually when i bought the place, i din know temasek pri is good school until my friends whom is looking for pri school tells me. am so glad. :D i heard it is not easy to get into temasek as there are too many HDBs surrounding it. yah lor, planning to volunteer my hubby for the PV. :p

DJ, so cute the way u describe mer as bui bui ballerina.. keke.. actually normal pri sch can liao but guess spore too competitive, so somehow will be stressful.

Mibebe, wah that's wat i'm afraid my gal will start doing sommersault by accident and hurt herself.. then i better watch more closely..

Sheepish, ya lots of parents do volunteer these days.. actually even if nearby may have to ballot if the sch is popular leh, very competitive i feel.

Grace, my gal sometimes walk backwards too. I read it's a milestone, they'll have to know how to do this someday too.

SY, keke yeah my hubby nyp.. me from girl's sch from pri to sec. Actually dont mind co-ed, then next time if got boy, no need headache anymore and best if they have affiliated sec sch then easier to get in provided results ok then no need headache too much also.. haha

Cant imagine we're already thinking abt 6years down the road.. haha..

ginn: hehe... it's always good to be early. by the way, if want to shift near school also have minimum period prior to registration or something like that. and hor time flies.
we can then take time to find a place we like instead of having some hard deadline, which will be another source of stress. :p

hoho ... juz now duno how I wash my pumps until water went into the sterliser's plug n the entire hse went pitch dark. luckily din get too much grambles from hb for causing him to miss part of his world cup match. heehee ... will try to see if the sterliser still works after the world cup match ends :p

djmama:
yeah actually I share same opinion as u. for me, primary school not as impt as secondary school. when they are in primary school, at least we still can control and influence them to a certain degree but once they reach secondary school, teenagers think their parents are a nag. Friends' opinion has a higher rank than parents. If the school is no good, very easy to be mislead. Anyway I like ur idea of shipping ur girl to an island to protect her from bad ppl and boys. hahaha!
but anyway I think we mummies are doomed to worry abt them from the moment our bb are born. :p

mibebe:
cas is smart to do rolls on the bed instead of the floor! steady girl!

SY:
haha .. 7yrs plan! :p I think teachers can enrol their kids under an earlier phase? Ur hb a primary school teacher?

sheepish:
fret not .... check out kiasuparents.com for histories of balloting for schools in singapore! :p then u can plan to be a PV to increase chances of getting into a particular school!
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/singapore-primary-1-registration-school-balloting-history

Anyway if ur girl cant get a place in a nearby school, can complain to MP that govt asked us to give birth to more kids and yet there is no place in a nearby school :p hahahhaa! sure will get in one :p my hb is planning to use this method if we fail to get our girl in the primary school right infront of our hse when the time comes. How he came up with this method leh? It's becos that is his alumni and todate he still cant find his primary school report book to show that he was an ex student and he wasnt planning to (lazy dad). "Sure got space one lah!" he kept telling me. I told him "Yeah rite. Even kiasuparents forum got ppl spectulating that this year might have balloting cos last year the school produced 260/250s points students and that changed ppl's mind. Why u wan to register in the phase2C when we are already eligible under phase 2A1 for alumni?!" So ... tats why lor.

ginn:
my girl also loves to see the world upside down! then I'll play peep-a-boo with her! She loves it!

gracechua:
hahaa ... u planning to volunteer ur hb to be a PV instead? hahaa! Is he aware of it ah? :p

Morning mummies...

Ya, the SG education system can get stressful for parents like us... wonder if it is the same chaos for those looking to enrol into international schools?

Parent volunteer... yes, I remember writing a letter for an ex-colleague of mine... her girl was 3 yrs old when she asked me to help write the letter to inform the school that her girl was a bright and diligent child, and etc etc and they want to ensure that her future remains in good hands by doing PV work at their school to get their girl a spot when she can attend Pri school.... the funniest thing was, when I wrote the letter I had trouble describing the girl's positive traits that I thought a pri sch child shd hv and went to ask my ex-coll for some descriptions on what her girl can do.... and thats when I found out the little one was only 3 yrs old la! Hahaha... I remember exclaiming that it is abit early to do such things right?! And how to describe a 3 yr old as a bright, diligent child that loves sports, reading and helping out at home? She is barely a child!

but I wrote the letter for her anyway... haha... I remember she asked me to keep the template for my own use in future and I still scoffed at her saying I deleted it loh, wun be so kiasu as her de la... LOL.... dunno when Mer turns 3, who will get the last laugh hor... LOL.

But I think in the end, might be my mum that panic... haha... cuz my dad was classic.... can you imagine he forgot to enrol me for my pri sch? And on the day one for all the kids in SGP, I was just bustled off to the second nearest school on a temp basis until the one that is just next to my block called to say they hv a spot for me. LOL. I was so traumatised. Wearing the sch uniform from another sch to attend the sch that I am supposed to attend for the next 6 yrs of my life. Really stood out like a sore thumb lor.

My bro also, did not get a kindergarten spot until ppl start sch for months liao... hahaha....to this day my mum still grumbles abt these 2 incidents....lol... so for all we know, she may force my dad to go do something for Mer's entry to pri sch! Kekeke....

ginn and lonerunner:
yes, cas is very adventurous and would try all sort of stunts...but she always do the dangerous ones in our bed! i think she knows that when she do it on the floor it would hurt her (although her pain tolerance is also high!)

Wah… lonerunner! U are the kiasu parents expert. Thanks for the link.

But disgusting lor, for temasek primary, even stay within 1km also have to do PV to secure a seat.
Hopefully by doing the PV and securing a seat, when the time Han is a parent, temasek primary is still around and still a good school to let him has the privilege as phase 2A1! Haha, super long term investment hor.

Lonerunner: Haha… I just told him that he has been volunteered.

Mummies who want to employ a maid, please check out these links. All the 'blacklisted' maids and agencies are listed in the link. There are some other useful info such as how to select a maid, agency, sample of house rules and house duties, etc.

http://singaporemaidagencyreviews.blogspot.com/

http://singaporemaid.blogspot.com/

i want to blacklist united chanel at katong!! If i have time i will contribute my bad experience abt tis agency! i was so damn mad over their services.

primary school:
actually i dun mind neighbourhood pri school either. there r many good pri schools near my new house such as tao nan and ngee ann but i dun intend to enrol my gal to these schools. my hb and i discussed tis b4 our ger was born. we want to enrol her to maha bodhi since we r alumni sure can get a place. i dun wan to stress myself or anyone getting a plc for her at tao nao, moreover within 1-2km still need to ballot.

hi mummies.. i think most of our babies are turning into toddlers and are ready for childcare.. i'm wondering if you guys have any childcare in mind to recommend? i'm working in outram road, diagonally opposite SGH and stay at tampines. if i send him to a childcare at tampines, i would need one with extended hours till about 2000hrs, as i end off at 1830hrs. he is currently being taken care of by my MIL but you know, friction does happen and i want to minimise possible future friction and i feel like my SIL sometimes acts like she's the mother of my boy.. she's married but stays back at home.. refuses to have a child.. dont ask me why man.. weird arrangement..
please help..

or are there alternatives that i can explore?

lonerunner:
thanks for e link!

eh, i think complaining to mp may not work leh... cos hor, i dunno if u remember tis case... there was a father who was taken to task for not sending his gal to sch... then he said it's not he dun wanna send her to sch, it's cos he doesn't wan her to go to a sch too far away... it appeared in newspaper leh, still e schs he wans put him on waitlist... i think hor, we got no case leh...

aiyo, better get ur hb to find his psle cert ah... can register in earlier phase, why dun wan?!

Hi Deedee, why are u mad over their services? Although my last maid gave me problems, but the agency gave me reasonable services. I intend to still go to them if I ever need a maid again. But I went to the BT timah sc branch, not the katong one. I find them efficient in the sense they could email me at least 3 maids' biodata when I gave my requirements within 2 hours without me having to go down to the branch.

But I want to blacklist BCS maid employment Services though. Their 3 maids I took from them are horrible and each of them took the maximum no of days - 21 days to transfer them, like purposely want me to pay the levy or their reputation poor so they have very few customers.

hi gracecmx,

there are three preschools in outram area that provides full day child care services

1) The little Skool-House on the hill OUTRAM ROAD, SGH SISTERS QUARTERS, SINGAPORE 169608
www.littleskoolhouse.com

2) YWCA outram child development center 254, OUTRAM ROAD, SINGAPORE 169051
www.ywca.org.sg

3) Etonhouse preschool pte ltd
240, OUTRAM ROAD, SINGAPORE 169043
(this is beside the old institute of health building; now the building for CTRU)

i guess its better to place ur child in a child care near ur work place so that he doesnt need to be in "school" for so long..12 hours right if u send him there at 8 and pick him up at 8. moreover, im not sure if there are any centers that opens till 8pm. good luck

djmama:
hahaa ... ur story super classic leh! ur dad can actually forget to enroll his kids for school! hehehehe ...!

deedee:
maha bodhi good school lah. no need to hesitate. tat's the school to go! Somemore u can enroll under Phase2A1. Settle! :p
oh, is ur hb ur primary school classmate?

sheepish/starbright:
he lazy dad lah. wat to do. But if there is a regulation that says "without your original PSLE cert or Pri school report book, you wont be allowed to watch World Cup" I'm sure the report book will be found within a day! :p Nvm he got 5yrs+ to find otherwise I will definately bring in my mil to back me up. hahahahaa!

sheepish:
opps. ok. I will inform my lazy hb that this excuse and plan cannot work. if still dun wan to find report book, pls think of another backup plan. :p

gracecmx:
There is another CC for your consideration. Fees is about $600 after subsidy. But if u are taking MRT, Outram is abt 40min MRT ride from Tampines? In the morning peak hour, having a seat and squeeze into MRT is already quite difficult, let alone with a child. Unless u travel up to Pasir Ris MRT first to have a seat.
Or alternatively place ur child in a CC in Tampines. At 6pm, ur mil can pick him up first. Then u go mil hse and pick him up after work. The downside is that mil may complain "aiya I can take care of him all the way. Why need to go child care?" as she still take care of him for another hour or so :p But of course if you are driving, then it'll be much easier. :p

Address
Learning By The Park Pte. Ltd.
1 Pearl Bank #05-10
Singapore 169016
(behind Outram MRT Station)
Tel: 62249391
Fax: 62247137

Email : [email protected]

URL: http://www.streetdirectory.com/classifieds/singapore/parenting_and_children/childcare_and_playgroup/learning_by_the_park_for_preschool

deedee: i like maha bodhi.
my bros went there, but somehow my parents din get to enrol me there.

so now my nephew benefited and already primary 2 and my niece going to join him too.

gracecmx:
i'm thinking putting your child at CC near to your MIL will be betetr, in any case u need to do OT or wad there will be someone help u to fetch your child.. and if u put at outram.. meaning even u are on MC or leave u still have to travel down all the way to outram to put him there.. not forgetting the morning crowd which lonerunner mention..

Mummies.. i'm looking for playgroup at SK.. any recommendation.. looking at 2 to 4 hours during weekday.. the once i initiate enroll him.. only have full day CC.. if u opt for half day still need to pay full day pricing..

Authentic Coach Big C logo Shoulder bag Letting go at @$120!

Sincere buyer please quote your best price, NEGOTIABLE.

BRAND NEW condition. Comes with dust bag.
Coach1
Coach2

Please PM me. Thanks.

thanks for the opinion.
Sandy A. Pascual (sandyapascual) - heyhey, thanks for sending me the private msg too.

lonerunner (lonerunner) - ya lor.. that day i just say i'm thinking of putting him into childcare and she made a lot of noise already.. sianz.. anyway, i've tried calling that centre but no one picked up but i've left a msg already. thanks!

elicia aka MrsLim (x1a0q1an)-actually that is one of the most and main reason why i should put him there.. and even if i change job, i wouldnt need to switch him too right? thanks!

why our thread so quiet? all mummies mus be busy. me too
overwhelmed with works. haiz... shifting hse on tis sat but havent finished packing.

grace, lonerunner,
i wasnt fr maha bodhi. but my hb, sil, fil, mil are fr maha bodhi. so, 'we' r alumni. am i right?

lonerunner and mummies been visiting TCM:
can u recommend ur TCM to me?

My boy taking forever to grow molars.....even the canines are out. Pains me to see him biting his hands, wrist, putting his whole fist into the mouth.

I used Dentinox a few times, freeze his pacifiers, gave him teething biscuits... how how how? Mummies, help!!!!!

long time no post, been busy recently with endless meetings at work, sigh...

Need help pls... How many days after the MMR jab does the hives start to break out? Xavier had his MMR last Monday, and yesterday and today, we saw more hives breaking out, he had been having hives for one month already (prior to his MMR jab), worrying... anyone has same problem? In the past, I thought it was egg that caused the hives, as he has outbreak everytime after he ate cakes, then sometimes, change in temperature also causes the outbreak, these 2 days no obvious cause but he got more outbreak... worse is his usual course of zrytec dont seem to help... read that chronic hives could be due to autoimmune diseases... really scared now, cuz my mil asked me if it could be blood disorder... sigh sigh

called pd, he said most likely is caused by the MMR, so give him zrytec and continue to monitor him, if by monday still like that, may need to run blood test....

Also, anyone got better recommendations with the sippy cups? I am currently using the Pigeon mag mag, but Xavier has bit off 2 straws till date, now I worry if its safe to continue usage cuz I wonder how this boy can bite off bits of the straw, and when we tried to remove the cup from him while he is biting, he will whine and refused to let go... sigh sigh.... suddenly like so many worries...

deedee, very busy.. now school holidays, maybe most of them on holiday?

happy, kylene had hives too but not sure who at has triggered it.. maybe is due to what she eats.. did u intro any new food to ur child? have to play safe, trial and error to see which one triggers it. dont think it is a blood prob, i had hives when i was young too