(2009/02) February 2009 MTBs

SY....If possible, I will cook porridge and bring out. If not, we have to eat smth that bb can eat. For example, jap food, yoshinaya. So far he has tried these 2. Also, I have let him try Mac Donalds' eggs (from big breakfast) and Hotcakes =)

da_Bin..My boy is also taking 2 naps. He wakes up ard 7am, nap 10-11+, then again 3-4+. Last time I also have issue with his class clashing with nap time. So I change to clash with meal time. So what I do is let him eat before going for class. Adjust the meal times abit for the day he has class. i feel that lack of sleep he will be cranky... Not sure for ur twins =)

blueb
i bought the thermo thingy to bring porridge out..but is quite bulky so till date is brand new..tot of getting the fergo sth brand..seems smaller...me no car la so is abit mafan to bring a bulky bag...haizz...

ya, sarah ate hotcake too n mcdonald eggie...i guess mcdonald is quite child friendly...the thing is my hubby dun realli like jap food but i tink jap food is healtier n more suitable for bb too....

btw, i heard some mummies are reading bedtime stories b4 baby get to sleep..how do u do it? put bb on bed and read aloud while bb sees the book?...i have to carry baby to sleep most of the time..or drink milk to sleep...hmmmm

SY, i no longer prepare food to bring out..i usually dine in at restaurants that has suitable food for naomi like jap, viet or chinese

da bin,

my girl cut her nap to once a day since 13 months old, 2 hours each time. she wakes up at 9 plus, naps at 3 plus and sleeps at 9pm. according to their development milestone, they should cut down to 1 nap a day by 16 months old. as long as they get 13 hours of slp per day, it is fine.

SY, when i read bedtime stories, naomi is usually sitted on my lap when im crosslegged on the bed. after reading then off light and tug her to bed. she holds the book on her lap.u can read to her before her slp routine like drinking or carrying her.

SY:
must be due to teething. cas also like that but once a day still ok. just have her drink lotsa water
if we go out, we just let cas eat whatever we eat

da_bin:
my baby naps once a day but sometimes 2x depends on what time she wakes up and how long she sleeps. if she sleeps at 9pm, wakes up at 8am she will take 1 nap around 12pm - 2pm. so, that will be 13hrs sleep. that's all they need at this age.

sandy:
i also read bedtime stories to cas but she is not interested in listening...instead she likes to flip the pages and see the pictures...so i just make up the story as she goes flipping! hahaha!

SY,

I usually cook for xavier and bring out the food in a tiger hot food flask... so far he hasnt tried dining out yet.. so abit mafun lah... cuz always have to rush home to cook when we are outside on weekends... hmmmm but we drive so its easy for me to bring out cuz can leave in the car...

anyone use forehead thermometer here? any recommended brands? i always have difficulty taking xavier's temp because he will struggle with both armpit and ear thermometer... so i am thinking to try forehead thermometer

v buzy w works.. read archives during lunch time but no time to reply..

quick qn for tots sleep in aircon rm. is there a blanket designed for tot tat they wont kick away when sleep? or sth similar to sleeping bag to keep them warm but without the zip? my gal only wears sleepsuit or pyjamas when she sleeps in aircon. even i turn on the aircon 26C but i still feel is cold.

sheepish,
polliwog outing still on? can arrange on week May 10? im on leave 1 week...

SY,
after knowing sandy and DJmama give their tots outside food, i've no longer spent a lot times preparing her meals. every sat & sun, we dine out in restaurant. so far, we've tried sushi tei, crystal jade la mien xiao long bao, swenswen, mcdonalds' breakfast, all kind of chinese food as long as not too salty. mon-fri, my gal is having home-cook food.

dabin,
my gal is on 1 or 2 naps, depends on her mood & total nite sleep. her total nap in a day is abt 1.5 to 2.5hrs

so frustrated yesterday, my gal refused to eat and nap! So i decided to change her schedule today, she's always been napping 1 time since i think at 10mths old but lately she doesnt wanna take her late morning nap anymore, so today just made her afternoon nap instead, think now she's more excited exploring, lotsa energy. Must be developmental milestone, busy walking all over the house and learning to speak new words.

As for food, haiz she's not been eating well for 2wks, she's eating more bread rather than porridge or rice for past few days.. dunno what's wrong, can also see she lost weight liao. sad..

deedee,

thanks, is it contactless?

ginn,

hugs, maybe she is too tired... at times when they are too tired, they will have difficulty napping and sleeping. i also think their appetite can see-saw one, so maybe intro more variety of food? maybe too excited abt honing some new skills that she picked up until no mood to eat and sleep hehe, cheer up, shd be ok so long as she still looks happy...

i am also so tired lately.... sy mentioned that sarah sleeps at 11+ and is a late night owl... xavier sleeps at 1+am daily, hb & i want to bengsan liao...

Thanks Happy, i also hope this phase will pass soon. She always gives me problems of not eating once in a while one.. ya i think walking and talking that's making her too excited this time round. Somemore yday when i fed her rice, she still can be so naughty, turn her face away and say no.... so angry but quite cute lah.. hahaha

Happy
Xavier bed time is so early!! Wonder how u get the energy to work? Impressed!!!

Just recently, my friend told me I could just pour hot water together with e rice in e tiger food jar. Amazingly, after 30 mins, it's a porridge! So now, cooking porridge is so easy. Just throw e ingredients to boil, then pour to the thermal flask.

My boy still taking 2 naps. I don't know how to survive with him taking only one nap. No time to cook his porridge. Any mummy can share?

the_simz,

i am bcoming like zombie these days, keep yawning at work lor... what to do???

i have that tiger food jar.. i use that to store porridge for bringing outside... i explored the porridge cooking function before we went hk, i also tot damn good lor.... then hor, after putting the things inside for even 8hrs, its still not very very cook, like the extent of the softness we can achieve with slow cooker and it taste HORRIBLE, looks cook but taste uncook YUCKS

oh btw, xavier takes 3naps a day at times! his last nap usually at 8/9pm, those will be the days where he will only sleep at 1+am... no matter how we distract him, he just falls asleep and takes his nap... even though he last awake from his nap at 5pm, then will wake up 1hr later... really bengsan!

then even at 11+pm, he will want to wear his shoes and want us to bring him out! he will cry and whine if we dont give him, wonder where he got all the energy from!

happy,
sorry, wat do u mean by contactless?

ginn,
is jus a phase... few weeks ago i was in tears cos my gal refused to eat anything, not even her favorite corn. now, everything back to normal.

simz,
din know the tiger food jar can cook porridge wor.. i have one but jus store porridge and keep warm. btw, u said u r relocating to another country? where r u heading to? hav u tot of to survive in a foreign land?? get some feedback 1st so tat i will be more prepared when is my turn.

deedee:
my gal just wears her long sleeves, pajamas and socks when sleeping at 24C aircon room. it's been like that since she has started to kick her blanket. i don't think she feels cold coz i will check on her once in a while to feel her nose and hands

Happy

u mean u didn't boil e ingredient first? Hee.. I can imagine how raw e taste.
Your Xavier really has lots of energy. I think ur energy level also not bad leh. Haha.. And u still need to work! Sobieski think ur energy is better than Xavier!

Ginn,
ur girl already know how to express herself well leh. My boy will scream to tell u his dislike. My friend already told me next time don't meet in the restaurant if my son is coming along. Sad.

the simz,

so funny haha, i am having severe lack of energy lah...

i didnt boil, the instructions say just put hot boiling water mah, so i try lor... i put in the ingredients then put in hot boiling water, it was more for oevrseas use la where i cant cook, so i tot since i already have this food jar anyway and we use this weekly, might as well try to cook and if ok, i will use that method in hk... in the end, WOW haha, taste HORRIBLE...

funny lah, your frd hahaha, zac screams but xavier will keep shaking his head lor, shake and shake, until i abit pek chek yet he looks so cute when he is busy shaking his head.... ESP, i will say "kiss mummy pls", he will go *shake head continously*, and i will say "hug mummy pls", he will "shake head continously", then i tell him to kiss his frog frog, he goes "pzk" (kiss sound) his frog IMMEDIATELY, u say hurtful or not? haha lol

happy,
yes, need to gently touch on forehead. mine is this model http://www.cadi.com.sg/products03d.htm

i tik only infrared thermometer is without touching forehead one and is more for commerical use.

mibebe,
wow, 24degree? tat's cold!! my gal oso wear long sleeves with socks. tik my aircon is v strong.... 26 alrdy v cold. when i touch her face and forehead, quite cold. din manage to touch her tummy.

deedee,

thanks, i prefer contactless one, because dont need to disturb him when i take his temp at night in case he is having fever... *touchwood*

i think their face and hand sure cold in aircon room, but most impt is neck and tummy not cold? is that the case, not very sure though haha.... how do we tell if our tod is cold now? last time bb is touch neck and tummy...

deedee:
i search as to what's the advisable temperature of the room for bb and it says 16-20C!!! i'll freeze in that temp!

happy n saro, I am like you, cannot be SAHM. I have been working from home recently and find myself so pek chey. during my 4 mths maternity, I missed dressing up too cos at home no excuse to put makeup and look at myself also sian.

deedee, I have three maids since my boy is born and finally this one works well. My current one is filippino and the first 2 are from indo. I think the earlier 2 didnt work as we had communication problems.They dont understand me and pretend to understand and when they dont do it, I get frustrated. anyway I have a document for houserules that my friend gave me and I went thru with my maid the first day she arrived. It will be good to set certain rules initially so they understand your expectations.like for me, my priority is looking after my boy and do keep everything clean. so u have to tell them right from day1. if u want the document, let me know and i can send it to you. I went thru all these and got so sick and tired of them. good luck to you.

Hi mummies...
I have decided to be SAHM for half a yr! Asked my bosses today already and shouldnt be a problem! hurray!! If everything goes well, I will officially start my SAHM in July! =)

catmomo:
in fact, not watching tv is gd for language development leh! i was wondering if my gal is not vocalising yet too, cos i let her watch tv... haha, we opposite!

my boy dont watch tv... haha, i tot under 2 cant watch else may be hyper in the future...

blueb,

congrats!!! am so happy for u

ag_gal,

send me the list can? i am looking to change mine soon since 2 yrs coming soon....

isit sheepish, my boy loves TV too. he also cant talk. only knows how to say mama and papa.

oh my boy doesnt like to drink water recently too. how to encourage him? he also doesnt like our adult food. he will try for 1-2 spoonful and reject after that.

ginn,

so cute but dont worry, yday was pd visit and pd says its normal for kids between 1 and 2 yo to have appetite decrease and rejection of certain foods. maybe u can try small but frequent meals? btw, naomi stopped porridge altogether already..she simply refused to eat porridge so now shes on rice and dishes, mee sua, pasta, kway teow.

ermm...i dont think not vocalising is due to watching tv leh...naomi has been watching your baby can read and she can talk alot and her vocab is good..she commands me with the exact word n name objects..she can also read over 20 words (shown in the dvd) when i write them on the doodle board or paper and compared to her 2 mths younger cousin, she can sit still and not hyper at all. her cousin did not watch any tv but very hyper till the pd worry she might hv adhd

AG,
can u send me the house rules, pls? thanks. i have one fr my frenz but yours wld be quite relevant as the priority task of our maid is to look after our tot. mine is an indo maid w no exp at all! wish me gd luck!

mibebe,
thanks. i read it in the baby whisperer sleep book, recommended temp is 20-22, freezing! how to sleep w/o a blanket. my gal is not sleeping directly facing the aircon. moreover, i put a pc of arcylic under the blower to prevent the air blow directly to my gal.

blueb:
glad tat u've made up your decision. ur co is so flexible! enjoy ur sahm life.

sheepish,
i nvr stop my gal watching tv but when close to her sleeping time i'll not turn on the tv. she has picked up quite a lot of things fr watching disneychannel and dvd. hahaha....

sandy,
my gal oso watch baby can read dvd since small. the dvd and child prog r v educational. my nephew 3yo can read full set of 'shan zhi jin'!!, can do multiply, 'cheng fa biao', can say and count up to few thousands, good vocab, very talkative, good social skill. where did he learn all these? from DVDs and playhouse disney.

deedee, maybe you can start testing your girl the words on baby can read..i tested naomi at 10 months and i was amazed that she can really read...i write on the doodle board and pen paper to test her

Wow!! What is this baby can read? Probably I should hunt it down these few days!!

Sheepish
your dew call u 'mama' loud and clear! I am so jealous! Haha.. Think she's doing great!

Blueb
congrats!! You can start forming sahm club! It's fun to have activities together for mummies and the tots!

AG: Can send the house rules to me? Hehe… mayb I will have maid soon. Haha, still hoping.

Blueb: Congrats! SAHM! Really happy that your hubby and boss support u.

Watch TV: Han also watch TV and he knows what we say, but he just refuse to talk.

Sandy: Han is the negative example, watch baby can read liao, also blur blur. Keep walking here and there doing his things… until there is songs then he watched at the TV.

Thanks for ur encouragement mummies! =)

Re: reading
Have been showing Rahpael the Baby You Can Read dvd for about 2 months already. He still cant read leh... He will only respond when hearing the words, not upon seeing them...=( And he is not interested in doddle board at all...=(

blueb,

congrats in becoming a SAHM
maybe different babies have different interests?? lol and naomi started watching since 3 mths old so maybe have to give raph more time

sandy, so far she is only eating bread, biscuits without fuss... dunno how long she's gonna go on strike.

blueb, congrats on the decision, enjoy! keke

blueb:
congrats and welcome to e club! haha... it'll be fun!

ag_gal:
eh, tot i read tat somewhere lah... it's probably from e educator's pt of view... or maybe it applies to normal tv and not educational programs, i dunno leh... anyway, i tried to limit her tv watching cos of tat... and she's not been watching "bb can read" for some time now... maybe i shd put e set at my pil's place, since they always switch on e tv for her...

the_simz:
u can buy e whole set in states, no need to buy in sg... not tat much cheaper, but got quite a few additional resources... juz search for "bb can read"...

haha, now she noes "mama, bao bao"... at nite, refuse to sleep will give me tat... maybe tat's why her "mama" is very clear, cos got needs to be met... but still cannot vocalise many other words leh...

sandy:
ur naomi can appear as walking ad for "bb can read" liao! u noe, e initial part of e dvd when dr titzer shows e words to his gal?

sheepish, at least dew calls u mama...naomi still doesnt call me, she calls her daddy and all other things and animals but not meee...if she wants milk, she says b (for breast) ...sad lor..and of course my hb's ego is so bloated because her dear daughter calls him daddy so nicely...and also she calls the maids at my in laws place but still not me..i wonder why

Deedee
I have absolutely no idea how it will be like. This is my 7th yr of working life, so it's considered a good break for me. Hee.. I heard from friends that should pack lots of sauces, and most prob will miss home for e first 3 months. Thereafter u will start hoping you can stay there forever! I don't know how true. Need to check with lili. She had been out of town for a few months lo!

Sheepish
thanks for e infor! Wow, u also read alot? So resourceful!!

Reading:
my bb cant read either, but she can understand what we are saying to her. she's more proficient in cantonese than mandrain. her only word these days is "mama" before clinging to me like a koala bear! dun think she's the study type to be able to sit down and learn/watch something. I'll just have to teach her thru play

catmomo/SY:
my girl also dripping saliva like duno wat. also upset tummy 2x so far within a span of 3 days. think a tooth or 2 coming out soon.

SY:
depends on my destination. if going mil hse, I will prepare her porridge. if going shopping or outside, then I bring milk along only then let her have a bite of table food else bag will be very heavy to carry when taking public transport or walking :p

da bin:
my girl dun have a fixed nap time yet, but this past week she has been napping like 10am+ and another at 4pm+ for abt 1hr each time. bedtime is now 10.30pm and wake up at 7.30am or 8am.
I dun restrict her nap times so I wont limit the number of naps she wants to take.
Would think crash with meal time is better than nap time. a sleepy and cranky bb definately wont pay attention in class! haahaa!

deedee:
I once saw a bedtime sleeping bag (fur fur type one) at mothercare or kiddypalace before. not cheap. abt $50? the problem is that at this age, they can climb out easily. So in the end, they still might be crawling out of the sleeping bag :p I think wear a thicker long sleve pants and top plus socks will be a better idea.

ginn:
oh u poor thing. she's now at the "sleeping is a waste of my time" stage again. hope this will be over soon! my girl just got past this stage and is now making up for her loss sleep!

happy:
wah lau. 1am+. u poor things! how u guys got the energy to work the next day?!!

blueb:
hey tats great! envy envy!! :p

sandy:
oh u poor mummy! hehehee ... I sense a touch of jealousy over daddy! wahahahahaa! :p

simz,

bring the prima deli pre pack stuff lol...i also survive with them when i miss singapore food...when i visit singapore, i always buy sesame oil, instant noodles (char mee), soya bean paste and CHILLI!! most important haha

Home safe remedies for colds and flu:

http://www.babycenter.com/0_eleven-safe-home-remedies-to-soothe-your-childs-cold-and-flu_10014077.bc

1) Honey (12 months and up)
How it helps

Honey coats and soothes the throat and helps tame a cough.

In a study conducted by Pennsylvania State University's College of Medicine, parents of 105 children ages 2 to 18 rated honey helpful and better than cough syrup for treating children's nighttime coughs.

What you need:
Honey, available at any grocery store.
Honey often gets hard at room temperature. To soften it, spoon some into a container and heat it briefly in a microwave or boil some water and then set the honey jar in the very hot water for five or ten minutes.

Your child must be at least a year old to try this remedy.

How to use it

If your child is 1 to 5 years old, give him 1/2 teaspoon of honey. If he's between 6 and 11 years old, give him 1 teaspoon.

Some people mix their honey with hot water and add a squeeze of lemon, which provides a little vitamin C along with the soothing honey.

Because honey is a sticky sweet, it's important for you or your child to brush his teeth after he takes it, especially if you give it to him at bedtime.

Cautions
Don't give honey to a child before his first birthday. It can cause a rare and sometimes fatal illness called infant botulism

2) Vapor rubs (3 months and up)
3) Gargling with salt water (4 years and up)
4) Elevating the head (all ages)
5) Lots of rest (all ages)
6) Steamy air (all ages)
7) Extra fluids (6 months and up)
8) Chicken soup and other warm liquids (6 months and up)

hey deedee and grace, you pm me so I can send to you ok. deedee,I guess this document may not work for you since yours is a new indo maid,she wont know how to read. good luck to you...

sandy, your naomi is superb. that time you recommended hungry caterpillar and the moon book so I went to buy it. well my boy only had a glance of it by poking into the holes and that's it. for the new moon book, he dont even bother to look at it. I guess only your naomi can do all these haha. he does learn a lot from TV and can anticipate what is the next song coming up, etc.I am looking for educational dvd since my boy loves watching tv. any recommendations anyone?