(2009/01) January 2009 MTBs

suika...yest mi had some cramps oso in the lower abdomen....abt every 30 mins but as it stop after 1 hr or so....ignore it lor...

piyo: when contractions come, u sure will differentiate one...the feelings are "oh my god"...so not to worry...

sel: for dr ang depends leh...my friend right, dr ang didnt check her wound down there...but for me, he checked my wound down there...so its pain again!! anyway, he will scan yr tummy for any blood clots thats it...very fast one...then give another appt 8 weeks later for PAP smear

my boi comes home now refuses to take milk ley....dun noe wad happened ley....he refuses to latch
now my breast so painful sia

piyo: closer to EDD should have some contractions liao, but mild so not too umcomfortable or pain...when the real thing come...u cant even sleep...unless on epidural la...

mercsboy.....im hoping I can differentiate otherwise everyday im getting paranoid over the diff pain experienced...

anyway hw much did u pay for ur hosp bill upon discharge?

suika...isit bcos of new environment so he's adapting as well....if refuse to latch on after several tries...mayb express out to prevent engorgement...

mercs,
thanks.. have a better idea liao.. gotta prepare mentally for some pain....

gals,
any halal caterer to recc?? i used rasel the last time, they are quite good bt i'm thinking of trying out other company...

suika: ex-dtb recommend me taimaobi centre. they have a subsidary for naming baby names. For us right, Kai En is sort of translation for Kyan. So in his BC, its just written as Tan Kyan. Short and sweet!

and hor, i face the same problem as u, baby latch in hosp, go hme no wan to latch lazy, and like piyo say, u really muz pump out to stimulate more milk and also to prevent engorgement. now i can pump ard 70-80ml per session. Day 8 for me.

dazed: den when u inducing??

congrats to cheekygal and janjan~

latest update from Janjan:

Baby Shyan just arrived at 1608hrs weighing 2.88kg! and she has got free upgrade from 4 bedded to 2 bedded cos 4 bedded are fully occupied!

Congrats to Janjan! and her newborn ger!
awaiting cheekygal's newS!

my birth story :

<u>3.45am on 4jan</u>
waterbag burst while i was sleeping. whole bed was wet, floor was wet, toilet was wet. had to take a shower. felt so dirty.

<u>4.30am</u>
arrived at hospital. strapped monitor on for 10mins. asked for epidural! nurse said need to check for dilatation 1st. checked - 5cm! and nurse said baby very low. then she said if want epidural then can't give enema. huh? then wouldn't it be very messy. 'never mind, we'll just clean up for you'. i'm thinking 'eeeeee...' can't i hsve both? she called my dr. dr said wait for her to come first. i heard her tell my dr 'and she seems to be ok with the pain now plus the baby will come very soon' i'm thinking 'no no no i need the epidural!'

<u>5am</u>
nurse gave me jab and taught me to use the gas. dr came. examined me. 8cm dilated. i asked 'can i have epidural?' (very nicely and keeping my fingers crossed and hoping) she said 'no, it's too late. in just a while your baby will be out.' argh! panic! my 1st labour was excruciating waiting for the anaesthesthetist to come to administer epidural.

<u>between ~5.15-5.30am</u>
managing contractions. there were a few really bad waves. in between, used the gas. asked my hb can you tell me when the contractions are coming so i know when to start using the gas. he said he cldn't tell there's no indication. argh! 'you're not the one having contractions!' i told him just turn the thing to face me. then i saw numbers increasing when my pain went up. okay. so i sucked in as much gas as soon as i felt any pain and as the numbers went u. i finally pressed the call bell cos i thought i felt an urge. the nurse told me to press when i felt it. when nurse came apparently not so much of an urge. just being ks.

<u>5.30</u>
i think this is it. i felt urge. It was the strangest feeling. push! about 2 or 3 waves of contractions and pushing. baby popped! After that stitching - took so long. But i was just in shock after the whole thing cos i was really not prepared to go without epidural.

hi! taking another break!

piyo: yes! enjoying the part as I get used to carrying him and wrapping him up. Will try and post later in the evening, if I have the time. haiz~!

ni: no problem. I've got my names but haven't chosen any. going to ask my parents later. + convert to dialect; another headache i'm going to handover to my parents. hehe

suika: as for dialect name, can ask ur PIL or parents for help? ur hubby asked me but my dialect is hokkien (and my hokkien is cmi one) so I oso helpless.

my wife just now also complained of sore nipple. applied nipple cream so she can't pump now. i think it's because baby was latched for at least 45mins. haha. aiya, not supposed to make fun.

piyobaby
it's my 3rd. mebbe that's y it's so fast. my 1st was excruciatingly long. i will never forget. i had so planned it to be without epidural but it was just too much to bear. i was begging for it and chasing the nurse for the anaesthetist.

my 2nd was shorter than my 1st but longer than my 3rd. they kept telling me it will be quite soon, but it took forever i was feeling so numb and sick from the epidural. and my husband just arrived in singapore and strided in together with my doctor. argh! he still went home to shower after he got out from the airport when i specifically told him to come straight to the hospital! argh!

suika:bb so cute sia..hehe look like you or hb?
jaundice is ok la,mine wan also..just remember to bring him go downstair and look for 8am morning sun and shin for 15 mins will do.revmove his cloth..just let him wear pamper will do..slwoly it will go away..okie..my bb now refuse to latch too..so i only express the milk for him..

Yapiii! CF gg to finished soon..:p 2 more wks to go!so who's will be next mummy to pop?anyway all the best to those mummy gg to pop and all the best &amp; jiayou fot those mummy take care of bb now..knowing we all v tired but is worth it lor!

piyo: i see the TMC bill abit confused...coz so many deductions, then also charged so many things...haha

assisted delivery 4 bedded 2 days, no epidural (including drugs, medical supplies, doctor charges) - $2542.49

deducted medisave &amp; medishield - $2150.
balance cash - $392.50

sel: dr ang not check all wounds la...prob he want to see how my tear recover ba? anyway its pain lor when he check...funny thing, during birth can tahan the pain, after birth the pain, i little bit only ouch...haha..

when u having yr full mth celebration? me having next sat...i ordered from oh's farm catering, i used them for my housewarming and the food is nice la...i actually wanted neo's garden one...but their service so so...

ni: wow...envy leh...your milk so fast come in...my already day 18 and i can only pump 80ml only for 20 minutes...erm...i am quite sick of pumping...

cjteng: evening sun also can sun baby...

i cant upload pics here one...dunno why...

ex-dtb: your son so alert!! looking at the camera like that. is he having some jaundice??

i gave birth at 1 plus.
assisted delivery with epi.
epi no use to me, painful.
used up two tubes and had side effects from epidural. i was vommitting many times, feeling nauseous and having painful contractions.
update birth story later when i am not so shagged and tired.

cheekygal: congrats!! how come epidural no use on you?? ...many of them said its life saver. must be very shag...rest more ya...later still have to bf your baby...

my boy was 2.7kg at birth, 37 weeks.
gained 500g from last visit.

sorry if my prev post is not clear, i feel tired.
loss alot of blood.

i was sleeping when bb was suckling. hubby was around to help me make sure bb latch on correctly.

ni: i today oni my day 4 can pump 1 side 30ml liao....damn pain sia

ex-db: the problem is they dun even noes so that's y we kept asking

mercboy: wah u can tell ah, I didn't even know it until this morning when PD came in and inform us. but the jaundice only surfaced on 2nd or 3rd day (today). The above pic was taken on the first day.

All: the taimaobi can give the $8 on the spot without the $8 coupon..

cheekygal: can understand how you felt then. My wife too, blood loss quite bad. Shivered as she talked.

mercs: i took the naming, brush n cord n took photo n the footprint....heehee wat they hv i all do liao... :p

cheekygal: congrates!! finally hor... got feel the relived when bb is out??

cheekygal, EMQ, janjan, daymoon: congrats congrats! sooo happy for all of u. well done mummies.

Valc: wow your labour is very short. thanks for sharing your story. i also same as u, my #1 kid i will never forget the pain and SUPER LONG labour. #2 was ok with 5 hours labour. hope this #3 will be like your experience too.

hearing all of u pop makes me very nervous now. looking forward to the labour day, but not looking forward to the going home, confinement, crying bb etc.. oh... gotta start all over again like that.

actually ah, i was excited and prepared, but this morning my hubby said he discovered a lump inside his anus that side, cos he has this problem of piles. but he said this lump is like on the walls of the anus, so will go and see our family doc tmrw. i so scared it is something &amp; i'm letting my imagine run wild, cos i'm really not prepared if it is really something. am i being paranoid??

Hi Gwen,

So nice of you to remember me...i smiled when i saw your question as to how am i. Indeed you are right - i am so busy with my little one. Cos i have no confinement nanny. Doing it myself. So i am really tired and shagged out. Little Ethan was born prematurely (4 weeks early) an weighed only 2.49kg. He lost 200 g when we left hospital. So u can imagine how worried i am.

Doc told me to monitor closely as he is a small baby. To make matters worse, i didnt have much breast milk. I pump and latch on everyday, but milk flow is really little. So i supplement with formula. Sigh.

So when i do have the time like when pumping boobs, i read up on all you mommies nice posts and feel better. It really helps so much to know that there are other mommies going through the same thing. At least i dont feel so alone.

I am doing my confinement in PIL house, just a maid to help out.

M little boy wakes up 7-8 times every night for feed, but only suckles for 3 mins and falls asleep. I attribute it to him having no energy as he is small sized. I am so worried. When i feed him EBM, his intake is only abt 15ml per feed. Is this normal? From what i read from other mommies posts, seems like each feed is at least 70 ml already? Ethan is 7 days old....any advice? Would most appreciate it.

So afraid i will go into depression. Feling claustraphobic and sad.

samval: bring along the marriage cert for Baby's birth registration (when u have the baby's names, chinese name, dialect name). I didn't register baby because my address still reflects old addy. so my marriage cert didn't come in useful. Wife and I need to change add before we register baby.

baw: when u mentioned bb falls asleep, did you try to rub his "sideburns" and pull down his chin? my bb occasionally rests during bf and if he doesn't resume shortly, we'll do that.

sorry bb is crying, gotta run.

ex-dtb: congrats on the birth of your child. Birth cert do at ICA is cheaper $18. Do at hospital is $30 as told by other forumers.

Ni, so glad that u are off the catheter. i hate that thing! it hurts to high heavens. i couldnt control my bladder for 2 days after they removed it - and kept 'leaking' urine.

so embarrasing.

bawbaw: the nurse told me to wake him up first before start BF-ing....juz now around 5+pm way passed his feeding time he still no wan latch on...supposed to feed latest by 4pm but he no wan at all so i was thinking wait awhile more mayb he on FM earlier so now still full...but by 5.30pm he still like that i got stressed till i call back MAH hotline to seek for help....n they ask mi to keep rubbing his back n chest for long long time till he fully awake then start to latch him...dun open eyes oni then quickly latch....he not gonna suck....so eventually he did after long time of rubbing....really scare me sia coz his jaundices lvl still not low when he was discharged...

i now having problems gg toilet ley....everytime i think of gg pee oni before i reach my urine starts to leak liao...how har? lucky mi at home if not stressed sia wor

Bawbaw, it is expected for premie to sleep more until they catch up with the full term babies. Try not to worry. Also loss of birth weight in the first week is also common for all babies so its normal.

Anyway, if u see Chere in the forum, can ask her to share her experience - her bb came out at 35 weeks at 2.49 kg like yours.

hi mummies, i give birth baby bravier at 1pm today. Very very tough delivery. Got stitch for 5times due to very big tear.
cause haven dilate fully and baby head already come out.

Congrats ex-DTB, cheekygal, Suika and everyone else who have popped!!

May I know how to check if baby have jaundice? Went to see doctor when baby is 6 days old, no jaundice. But I would like to further monitor.

Pat, since our babies is born on the same day, wondering how much milk is your little one drinking &amp; how often? My baby is drinking 100ml per feed, but wakes up every 3-4 hours. Sometimes I wonder if I am over-feeding him, but he gets cranky when he doesn't get his fill..

Samval, marraige cert is needed only if you're going to register your baby at TMC. During admission, need both parents IC &amp; Gynae admission letter.

xpink_xuanx: CONGRATULATIONS but pls rest well for now... take great great care! we can wait for yr birth story...dun worry...