(2009/01) January 2009 MTBs

ni, i also dunno when, perhaps will be on 14th pm when i go for appt liao... i dun think bb wants to come out yet... no diliation, even do ve also no spotting...

samval
so you like me with #3 also. how old is your #1 & #2? i'm so scared of the time when the CL goes back on 24jan for CNY. she only comes back 6feb. initially she didn't want to come back saying tht i would have completed 1 mth by the time she's able to come back and also she has other assignments that would not all be able to fit within the 3months period that the immigration & customs allow. how am i going to cope with 2 tots and 1 newborn? what have you planned for your confinement and afer that as well. i hope your hb's ok. i know how it is... for my #2 confinement my mum had a v persistent fever right from the day i came home from hospital. having #1 at that time and having to cope with a newborn i was qt depressed then.

1. BP for medela freestyle US import at half the price of Singapore medela freestyle set (already 3 mummies interested, pls PM me for info if interested)

2. Babymall online BP first batch ordered, still have mummies interested for second batch order, some USD more to hit 180usd, pls PM for info

3. Drugstore BP - Pls PM for info and also ready stock for california calendular cream at bulk purchase price, desitin creamy 4oz and first teeth enzyme toothpaste avail

4. Capella Strollers

Since the full month celebration of our babies overlaps CNY, we will not be able to do 1st month celebration in the conventional way. Anyone know how we should celebrate baby's 1st month without breaking traditions or superstitions? I heard that we should shave the baby bald before CNY even though he is not yet full month as it is considered bad luck to keep "dirty" hair into the new year. Anyone can confirm?

SQL
i didn't know that it's not 'lucky' to celebrate 1st month during CNY. is giving cakes considered celebrating? we were initially deciding between party or giving cakes. how about visiting during CNY? can we go visiting at all?

Congrats janjan, cheekygal and xpink on ur arrival of ur little ones!! =) Hope u all rest well after losing so much blood!

Cheekygal: Ur baby not small at 2.7 kg =) Dr's estimate maybe not so accurate? How come epidural doesn't work for you?

Suika,

OIC, i too having the same issue - ok i will try your method and hope my little boy will suck more. Really so worried right? My boy also have jaundice. Thats why so far i sun him - but only for a while. Cos he really so so smal and skinny. All the newborn clothes are 2x his size. I see also wanna cry.

Sigh - really hope he will be fine. Thnaks for sharing with me - u have o idea how encoraging this is. Cos my hubby also no clue. And we are first time parents. I also wanted to look after baby all on my own - so i dun have any help. Thanks so much!

janjan, cheekygal and xpink: congrats! hope both mummies and babies are doing well. mummies do take care and get good rest ya.

sus: my edd is 28 Jan but was hoping to deliver early. but went for chk up last week and was told that baby has not engaged fully,hence most prob will deliver on full term. sigh.. cant wait any longer!!!

baw: dun worry too much k. sorry i cant be of much help at tis moment, just hope u will look at the brighter side ya, everythings gona be fine. mayb u shld ask the lactacian or gynae for help? must maintain optimistic k : ) cheer up!!!

Suika,

So the method worked for your little boy ah - i will go try when mine wakes up. But he is so sleepy all the time - u know - until now, he only started opening his eyes for 5 mins the most then he will fall asleep again. And today is my day 7 already - he is really scaring me. Like so weak like that.

Suika, when did you give birth?

Pinkie Pirate,

Oh is it? That is a releif! i thought it was just him! and i didnt wanna make the situation worse cos as it is - my inlaws and parents are already giving me enuf pressure to feed him formula cos he is small.

I did partial FM and partial BM while waiting for my bm to kick in - but they all just dun understand - they think i ill treating him and not kanchiong that he is losing weight. Gosh!

Some more when i feed him fm, i use cup. my parents and PIL all dun like it - they say the milk drip out and he is not swallowing it - want me to use bottle. Sigh....so many comments. I just the best for him.

So when i read that all u mommies are doing well and all - babies all eating well and all - i pray and pray tht my little one will be so too....

Chere also same as me? I must ask her....Chere....can share your experience with me how to encourage premie to be more awake and eat more so put on weight? Thanks lots!

Precious bb,

This is what my PD told me to look out for cos my son has jaundice:

Yellowish tinge under the eyes
Stools that have greyish color or near blackish color
Urine that has changed color , tahts is not yellow.

If any of these happens - pls go to your PD and check.

Hope this helps

ex dtb...wonder if my hb will be so involved as u when bb arrives....u definitely sound like on cloud 9, spending time wif bb...bb so chubby!

mercsboy...thanks for sharing ur hosp bill cos im realli puzzled by the huge disparity among diff patients although medisave / medishield claim supposed to be similar...even differ wif same gynae in same hosp...**shrugs**

cheekygal...congrats! have lotsa rest since ur blood loss is alot...take care of urself ya...

taimaobi...for the naming aspect...hw many sets of names are given for selection?

tis adventurous and notti mummy went to chinatown just now but din manage to walk ard much partly bcos of the crowd at certain areas....got a scare of 'false' waterbag leak and paranoid mi thot i saw some light pinkish discharge! told hb much lata and got a scolding...

anyhow was glad to be able to buy Lim Chee Yuan bah kwa and the queue wasnt very long....just munch a slice earlier....oh finally hb relent on the pineapple tarts thingy cos he heard from our couple frens that it's fine to eat cooked pineapple and anyway it's oreadi last lap so even if pop after eating oso doesnt matter....was so happi dat i finally get to eat my pineapple tarts!!! =p

Guess all mommies sound asleep at this time. I just fed my son, now pumping ,milk- so have time to check up on posts. hope i have more milk to express.

good night ladies - sleep tight!All little ones sweet dreams!

i am not allowed to celebrate CNY! cos still onfinement then. Ahhhhhh! so sad. So it's just baby and me.....nvm, at least still have him to accompany me - haha

sel: I just realised.....my hubby seems to know yr hubby!

What a small world! My hb is Jeffrey Tay...think he is on yr hb's FB =)

sel: I just realised our hb's know each other from RSAF!

Saw him comment on yr Hubby's FB....then I realised that the bb name so familiar....then realised its you =p Such a sml world !

piyo: for the taimaobi naming right, they give u 10 names for the first letter, another 10 names for 2nd letter, for u to mix and match to your choice. and all is based on baby's ba zi calculated frm time and date of birth... wau so envy u leh, can go out and can have yumm yumm food. the cf food is driving me nuts, all the vinegar + ginger!!!

but on a sidenote, i had ba chor mee today after removing the pee catherer! nottie hb bring me eat one as a mini form of celebration!! haha. of cos w/o MIL knowing lah if not she nag me till my eardrums break....

bawbaw: i also often sneak in forums during late hours like this. after my son's feed, while waiting for him to fall into slumberland!!! i think forum is a gd form of releasing stress for me, if nt gone bonkers liao, or post natal depression!!!

anyway, gd morning all beautiful mummies! its sunday!

Morning all! Now with mummies having given birth, forum is usually noisy at night too ;p

Ni: congrats that ur pee cathethar is off.. hope u get well quickly.. oh and so glad for you baby Kyan's name is back to Kai en!!

Bawbaw: dun worry too much ok.. preemies spend most of their time catching up on sleep.. how much does ur bb feed each time? autumn leaf, u said ur son was born around 2.3 kg? Perhaps u can advise or is it diff since he was born 37 weeks?

mercs:ya can.evening want also cant..but i prefer mornig sun is better.
so tired been pumping..

Now i m using pamper for bb..and it runnning off very fast leh..haiz..I dun want to use clothes nipp cos it will get wet fast and v tired of washing..haiz..

Ladies...

I just found out yesterday that CL has not been following instructions for formula feed. E.g. 3 scoops of powder for 90ml of water is the correct amount. She's been feeding baby 1.5 scoops of powder for 80ml of water. In the middle of the night when he gets hungry and she cannot put him to sleep, she'd send him over saying he wants to suckle and just wants my smell. I know it's not true cos baby really feeds. I dont really want this to keep going on, i.e. fed formula on the bottle, then latched on to feed somemore. I'm worried about overfeeding. Is there a possibility that might happen?

Can anyone advise how much baby should be consuming? Or is it really trial and error? Thinking of putting him on 90ml formula per feed or 110ml expressed breastmilk.

sus: yes my son was born at 2.3kg at 37.5wks. I was quite worried initially, however by 6-7weeks old, he caught up...and soley by BF directly....so to say, I also didnt monitor how much he took in per feed however I remember clearly me being stressed because he only suckle for 2 minutes like that but he turns out fine =)

ex-dtb: ya...now i think i know how to see whether bb got jaundice or not...erm me 19 days mummy liao ma..haha. if its not very high its ok, just sun him in the morning and evening...

suika: i very stingy...i didnt spend money taking baby photos, do those taimobi stuff everything never...hubby said dont waste those money wor...

Congratz to suika, daymoon, cheekygal, xpink xuanx, exdtb & all mommies who juz recently gave birth!!

Bawbaw
i tink your situtation now is not b'coz of bb was born in 37 wks (maybe is b'coz of weight or internal organs development bah???)
I gave birth during 36wks (gynae said is considered full term liao) as my waterbag burst, my boy was 2.87kg at birth. He was sent to NICU for monitoring during the 1st hr as the nurses said he seem to have difficulty in breathing... And during his stay in hospital, FM was 40ml per intake.. and now (21 days) he drinks around 80ml 3-4 hourly.

i think patient is veri important to infant, iia you!!

bawbaw: wake up 7-8 times per night, he is not full, hungry...in the hospital did u supplement him with FM? did you see how much he is taking from the notes the nurse wrote? mine in hospital was taking 20ml...by the 4th day he is taking about 40ml liao...
my milk supply is also not much...sometimes just enough for one feed, i pump out usually coz i be able to monitor how much my son feeds...but i do latch him on at times too...

Ni, yah man, - totally eh - if not for having the forum to read and smile atahen all u mommies chatter - i think i would have really gone off the rocker by now. Its the only thing i do in my free time these days u know. when baby sleeping and all, i come in to read. And i feel better.

Wonder when u planning another meet up - after everyone popped and finished confinement? I really look forward to it - i wanna go! haha! Wanna see all of u - cos from reading the banter - it's like i 'know' u already! Its such a comforting feeling......

for the taimaobi, i tink got free one lei...
i got a flyer and called to ask them le, they said if we bring our BB there for 1st hair cut (for free) and will receive free taimaobi (worth $38)... But to be frank la, they said $38 is the cheapest type of taimaobi, their price range is from $38 to $400...

maybe their strategy is to psycho us to spend more when we go there....

Hi Sus,

His intake is abt 15ml to max 20 ml each feed. thats the max. And cos it's cup fed - he spills alot of it. Thats why am worried.

I am waiting for his 1 mth to pass and make appt with PD to go back and weigh him and check if he is doing well.

Thanks for ur advice - U mommies are he best!

Autumn Leaf, really? That really makes me feel less worried! cos that's what my little boy does too! suckle for 2-3min then fall asleep very long!

So if u say 6-8 weeks then can see a difference - then i will persist and calm down......thanks so much!

ni: u very hardworking leh...middle of the nite still wake up to pump milk...i am a lazy mother...i sleep thru the night and leave the bb in the care of the CL...another 14 days she going back liao...

bawbaw: u gave birth during bb 37 weeks rite? its not consider preemie ma...initially i also want to try spoon fed...but i didnt...its hard...i used avent bottle to feed my son FM...he still remembers how to latch on...

sus, wed is my original appt... my aniversary ah, suika rec place is kinda small but nice, food is so-so, but i find too many waiters and waitresses standing around!hb kinda surprise got such place around...

Hi Swan, oic....understand. I gave birth at 36 weeks too! 1st day of my 36th week, my water bag burst = thats why had to go in and induce labour.Wow - ur boy's intake is good lei! 40ML when born - mine only 15ml. Now at 8 days old - his intake is 20ml per feed. But as per your advice - i will persist. Tks ah

mercsboy - yes - inthe hospital i supplemented with FM. and he FM the nurses fed him - only 15 ml per feed. And cos i had only 2-3 drops of colostrum at that point in time, so his total intake was the FM for about 5 days. On the 6 th day, i had some BM, and let him suckle also -so no idea how much he is taking. But suckling time very short - at 2-3 mins.

mercsboy,

is it? then maybe i can try the bottle for him now cos i was very afraid he will reject the boob after he gets used to the bottle. Yes - i cup feed and its hard too - he spills most of it and chokes occassionally. So heart pain.

OK....i will try using the bottle tomorrow! hehe

oh man, so sleepy. i duno how long i can tahan the night feeds. bb woke up so many times at night. first time bb woke up, wife asked me to go back sleep. then when i woke up again, it was for the 2nd night feed liao! wife say bb slept too much in the day.

ni: ICA on saturday so fast? What time did u go?

bawbaw: jia you ok!

piyo: taimaobi also provides 5 full set of names that cannot be mixed and match. Another 20 char for mix and match as mentioned by ni.

ni: wah, bah chor mee. yummy!

time for coffee fix..

bawbaw: by now he should increase his 15ml intake liao...but dont one shot add ok...add 10ml...u alternate, once bottle feed once breast feed...then he wont forget how to suckle.
baby discharged from hospital will lose some weight, coz they poo and pee after out from mummy tummy ma...so not to worry ok...
mine initially 2.7kg but when discharge was 2.58kg...but one week plus later become 2.9kg liao...
this is my case la, coz my milk supply not as much as some mummies here, so i got to supplement with FM or else i become so stress when bb cries and i have not enough for him!

swan: i definitely be wearing the maternity bottoms lor...and maybe one bigger size tshirt ba...i am wondering what to wear for CNY man...got one new dress bought during pregnancy one...everywhere is fine except at the bust there...cant zip finish...haiz...

piyo: i want to go chinatown also!! just told my hubby to take leave on the 19th, coz 17th after full month my CL said i can go out for awhile...so i want to go chinatown to get some CNY cheer man...and buy some stuff!!

ex-dtb: initially for starting 2 days no CL, my hubby also wake up in the middle of the nite to look after baby while i sleep...coz 1st few days really very tired and pain....then i feel so bad leh..coz the next day he is so tired and he is sleeping in the baby room instead of master bedroom...
his weekends suppose to be him relax and can sleep late....i make sure when weekdays i will do the waking up in the middle of the nite instead of him...
u are so involved....good hubby...

mercsboy, wow, your boob become veri big?

my milk supply not much too.. around 60-80ml each pump... b'coz i lazy to squeeze b4 i got my battery pump.. luckily my boy can latch quite well, but he is a lazy sucker too, the most 10 mins...

even though my confinement end next Sunday, my MIL and HB said i can go out if i wan to... hahaha...

maybe later will go out walk walk and look for some dress