(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

snowger,

take care of yourself. do what u need to do .. talk to someone. Sometimes, for whatever reason, we go through a period of self-doubt and depression. Being a mom is not easy ..

try doing what the gals have suggested
worth a try to lift your spirits out of the slump it's in.

jowinbaby,

wat? It's been six months?! It seemed like you just announced u were quitting your previous job... time sure flies!! .. and yes, once you're back at work, I'm sure you'll miss your days of being a SAHM with Ashlynne ..

LuthAdel,

is his nose bleeding fairly often ? Ya, maybe it could be he rubbed too hard and too long. I've never encountered nose bleeds with coughs and colds.

Need 5 More Parents to Take a Quick Survey - help a grad student

This is the last time I will bug you about my survey.
I need to have 5 more surveys completed by March 12 to be able to do my study. If you haven't taken it already, could you please take 5 minutes to respond? I really appreciate your help! The study is to learn more about couple's relationship as they take on the role of parenthood.

The following people are invited to take the 5-minute survey:
* Have you had your first (and only) child in the past six months to 24 months?
* Do you live with the co-parent?
* Is it the first child for both partners?

To start the survey, please click the link below or copy and paste it into your Internet browser.

http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm=odvEJo1BPt_2bCF3hlE7BK7g_3d_3d

Robyn Maley
University of St. Thomas
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

littlevic, the class ends at 5.30pm but i will onie pick him up before 7pm cos my work ends at 6.15pm.. if u r late for 10minutes, juz pay $10 penalty..hahaha. at first i did consider letting him take the bus but it cost an arm n a leg to go to Sengkang which is not worth it.. so, juz let him stay in school n play.

Sam, coming 6 months.. not yet... but time really flies..

Zachmommy, tats means additional $200 to his monthly cc fee
Letting Zach so young to take bus alone back to SK?? no la. Abit worry leh...

ya Zachmommy.. confused.. meaning everyday u gotto pay the penalty from 5:30pm to 7pm?
So when Zach will start to go there? 18mths?
Can share the fees per mth u paying?

littlevic, no lar. penalty is payable only if u exceeds 7pm. 5.30pm - 7pm is still within the centre's operating time.

the fees is: $1498(including gst). thr is a $300 subsidy which means i pay $1198 per mth. that also means i cannot stop working..
registration fee is $300 if u register before 1st April after that it is $500

jowin, actually alot of kids took schoolbus from 2yo so doesn't matter..furthermore, it is juz those mini van type whrby thr is a aunty sitting with the kids. pretty safe but all the way to sengkang, will take quite sometime, prob 7pm reach home, might as well i go pick him up myself..hehe

ar.. the registration fees is so expensive!
haha same same, i can't stop working if monthly cost over 1K. Ok, tomolo my turn to visit ccc.. thinking to drop by Brighton Montessori as well, so that can compare with MMI.

Thanks for the info sharing

look up for Joanne @ Brighton, Fort Road..she is good..

actually it got me worried when she told me those kids from Brighton were actually very much prepared for P1 and most of those kids parents aim their kids to go to good school..she showed me their 'homework' for k1 and k2, i m impressed!! n she gave me some example of how phonics are being taught, i once again was impressed..mabbe cos back in Malaysia, i wasn't taught that way..hahaha..so i was stressed that i couldnt sleep last nite..

the guilty part of me rose cos i hv not been teaching zach alot (esp after i seen my fren's video at FB)..most of the time, he will play on his own, mumble on his own, while i play with my compy and daddy watch tv or read his notes..is it some kind of barter trade? by not spending more time to teach him, i m spending more money to send him to a better school (not saying other schools are not good ok)

zachmommy.. haha same here 2! after seeing ppl video then will feel a bit of stress, but i oso get over it very soon,
as at this moment i just need to know he is happy.

me oso thinking why spend that much on CC, and surprisingly my hubby never object it, and he think we're only giving what we can afford, and he even ask me is there any international school can try out? he believe in good curriculum will help. As for me, i always think kids learn fastest in the first 3 years, so i just want to give him a chance. And also hoping he learn the "approach" & "interest" to study, so that in future he can learn/read by himself, then I no need to chase him here and there to study..
haha.. maybe afterall we are = kiasu parents~ :p

Gd morning ladies...

been so bz & stress recently with the 'preparation for P1' for my elder boy... should hav been more kiasu & start all these earlier... now seems like a bit late liao... *stress stress*

Jappooh,
ur elder boy also born in 2005 rite?

kath,
so the K1 & K2 programs are good at Brighton? I'm sourcing ard for better school for Darrell now, wanna transfer him out from MyFirstSkool... few of his classmates already changed school after Nursery... think the school hiring too many PRC teachers liao so standard dropped lor i think... i always hear the PRC teachers speak super broken english with those non-chinese student... *faint*... Anyway Brighton is very far from Sengkang hor... dunno got any other better school in Northeast area or not?

Btw, anyone checked with Carpe Diem b4? any feedback on this school?

jess, brighton not very far from sengkang actually cos it is accessible by KPE.. u noe, i oso saw alot of PRC teachers at Chiltern House but they only teach Chinese..so they dun converse in English. Their mandarin is really thumbs up..hahaha

i feel that K1 and K2 is to prep the kid for P1 so going to a good school with good & proven academic result is impt..actually carpe diem has many branches so it is good to visit that particular centre to judge for urself..dun limit urself to just northeast..

btw, ur hb can alr fill up the volunteer form at the school u wanna send darrell to. the primary school next to rivervale plaza seems quite good. u can go recce

kath,
yalor K1 & K2 is important tat's y wanna change to better school even thou the school fee will cost us a bomb esp im not working... so its either i come out & work FAST or my hb gotta endure for the time being lor... he said wanna go & drive taxi at nite liao :p

even can go brigton hse by KPE but my hb works in AMK & i got no 2nd car to send him there... but worse comes to worse, spend another $200 for school bus lor *shiong*... actually Darrell keeps asking us to transfer him to PAT's schoolhouse coz his best fren in nursery changed to there... -_-!

the school tat u mentioned should be Rivervale Pri school, tat's the 2nd HOT in Sengkang, 1st HOT is Nan Chiau... but too bad we dun stay within 1km... unless we're so lucky to get selected to do parent volunteer there, else dun even think of applying these 2 school if stay outside 1km coz even <1km also need to go for balloting.... me so stress now!!

kath,
opps... see wrongly, tot u mentioned Rivervale 'Mall'... think the one near rivervale Plaza is North Spring Pri... eh, not so popular ler...

i tot all school oso need balloting? u can start doing pv work so that ur chances are higher...no harm trying..

i must let zach go to a school in sengkang cos after school needs to go bbsitter house..haha.

kath,
not really... but if u're talking abt those very popular school then yes... so the safest way is do parent volunteer work, or be a member of clan/church or become community leader AND move to within 1km...

and for parent volunteer work doesnt mean u wan u sure can get it... those popular school always hav long waiting list but their vancancies are limited one... hmmm... think the 'competition' in sengkang too strong ler esp lots of young couple here &amp; everybody is aiming to send their children to good school....

Jess,

my elder boy born in 2006. So i still have 1 yr. If u wanted to do PV u need to apply this yr liao.

THe school i looking at for my boy also need to ballot within 1km. Last yr the school PV also ballot for those within 1km. So end up i might not do PV maybe just try my luck. Orr i will see this yr statics 1st.

kath,
not all school need to ballot. So it depends.

Jess,

be a PV also no confirm get in. Unless in phase 1 (sibling in school) or Phase 2A2 (Old boy or old gal). Phase 2B (PV and communnity leader etc) will depends how popular the school is. Of cos are u able to get in as PV loh.

jappooh,
i juz 'realized' of all these things few weeks ago... should hav be more kiasu earlier so i can plan ahead... now a bit late liao...

and we can only choose 2B (still hav to depend on luck) or go for 2C...

anyway i juz submitted PV form last week, but i met my boy's classmate's parent last weekend and they told us tat there is already a looooong waiting list when they went n submitted the form last year.... *faint*... so now i wanted to apply PV for my 2nd choice of school &amp; pray hard!! but i told my hb, if we managed to get PV we also must move to 1km, else very risky coz we stay outside 1km.... but if we cant get PV, then hav to say bye bye to these 2 schools le.... sigh!

Jess,

ya now apply PV some school have to go interview one. So is not easy too. I already find out all teh info last yr.. Kaisu hor.. Cos my close colleague here enrol her gal so we look at the the requirements together.

The school i looking at Phase 2c yrly ballot within 1 km loh. And is like 2.5 ppl aiming for 1 place.. Stress. My hubby say dun do PV since is not 100% get in.

jappooh,
u r not kiasu coz i ever heard tat there is parent go n view their choice of pri school for their unborn child... lol

ya do PV also not 100% can get in, but still stand better chance than 2C, rite?

actually there are only 3 schools within 1km of my hse, if i wan any of these i can juz do nothing n when for the time of registration coz these schools quite new so not so popular... but i will try my best to get better school for my kids laa, if dun get... at least we tried our best already lor....

Thanks for all the concern. Finally things are looking up... Wonder if the gym session did work wonders... Will consider seeing professionals if my condition detoriates again...

Schools:
Wah all the talk about sch!
I oso lazy mum... havent been looking actively lor...

U ladies are scaring me with the above topic.. But i agree that a good sch with good standard of teaching will give the child a better head start.

Though, i already more or less selected Ashlynne's primary sch..but not sure how to get in. Perhaps will check with my alumni.

Before that.. K1, K2 and nursery sound scary with all the costing of sending them there.

So far, only decided to send her for weekend playgroup.. 2yrs old onwards, HAIZ.. shd do some homework. My cousins children whom the same age as Ashlynne already got their kids queue up for St. James.

East side resident, any good sch to recommend??

jappooh, they are quite good and super cheap...phyl's using them...i like it cause it feel like its didn't hv a lot chemical in them...cause cidney's skin is rather sensitive..

jowin,

if the school u are looking at is yours or your hubby pri school then sure can go in. Then u have no worries.

Jess,
For me i have 3 school within 1km as well. 1 of it is so Hot at my area. The other 2 usually will be full by Phase 2C. So if wait till 2C supp then my boy have to go to the school that is more than 1km away. So i might or might not apply for that Hot school. Depends ba..

jappooh, sure, i just ordered. will msg u when they arrive...its $4.8 x 2 nia..eric won't kill u lah...unless u already have tons of wipes at home???hahaha..i oso stock up a lot of wipes but left 4 paks so better order first...KS...hahaha

bur,
i have 4 more pkts at hm. haha..he keep saying i buy alot of those kids stuff and stock up during sale. baby wipes, diaper, fm and patches. Recently just order 8tins of 1.8kg fm.. He see liao wan to faint already.. haha..

Hi Jappooh
The sch is my primary sch, Red Swastika. Its a SAP sch.. not sure if can get in so easily , even though i go n join the alumni. Must really call n check. I dun think my HB willing to go n be volunteer too if require..

My sch Haig Girls'... Too far from my current home liao. Unless I get 1 million from 4D can buy a private house near katong...

Haven really given thot abt which Pri sch to send my dotter. Cos still need to gao teem her playgroup, nursery, kindergarten before coming to primary sch...

Aiayh Echo went KL right? Wanna ask her which CC she sending Emma to...

jowin, i like that school. in fact all those buddhist sch i like...cause i think children in there wld be taught to be very moral....hahaha...my hubby is frm one of them...

Jappooh, i jus bought 16tins of old friso3 last wk...hahaha..6 is for phyl...

Jowin,

if u are a old gals then Ashlynne will be under Phase 2A2. U will get a place in the school. Cos volunteer come under Phase 2B which is after the Phase 2A2 intake. If u join the school alumni then will be Phase 2A1. usually dun need to join alumni one.

bur,

my hubby comment my hse only have bb stuff. haha..

at least your hubby have old school ard. My hubby old school close down. Mine was very very far from me.. So i will mostly send to a school near my hm.. Easier loh..i am a bad mummy..

jappooh, i think i better go sign up as a RC volunteer..then can get to chose a gd sch for cidney...hahaha..frm the forum post...seems very stressful to get kids into good sch...

jappooh, dun know whr's he's sch now, think its in the east side, but i stay north leh...hubby say cidney go to the sch jus down my blk can liao...my old sch i yishun primary sch, near to my mom's plc...hahaha

bur,

i think RC member is more difficult cos u have to be 2 yrs active members and then need the MP to write letter. U have to ensure that wihtin this 2 yrs your area dun change cos u knw sometime those is your hse is at the edge and then it become other area u wont get to the school also.

Bur, i like this sch not bcos its Buddhist sch.. just attach to this sch N its not so easy to study there. Everything seem tougher there.. Higher Chinese etc etc...

Actually my HB dun like.. he said why can't she study at a normal sch than those famous sch and get herself stress, parents also stress at her studies???? what if she cannot handle and lose confidence in studying etc???....But my point is.. we never let her try who knows she cannot handle???

Sigh....contradicting...

Jappooh, in Phrase 2A2 eh? what about those 1km one?? in phrase what?

jowin,
ya if u r ex-gal then should be quite safe to get a place for Ash already... well but if u hav plenty of $$ dunno here to contribute, then join alumni lor... lolx (joking laa)

bur,
being community leader is same phase as being parent volunteer too which under phase 2B, both equal chance... but if u stay within 1km of the school &amp; under phase 2B then more or less safe liao...

jowinbaby,
I have ur hb's rationale... I prefer to send my dotter to a sch which is average. i.e. it can be neighbourhood but must make sure th sch students are not potential drop outs or come from families which bo chap and whole day dun want to study type. Less stressful leh. And if ur child is really clever and can learn in class being in the top few of the class will motivate her and give her confidence lor. Rather than being in gd sch, stress n still be in the bottom ten. ;p

For me I am a late developer, in pri sch of class of 40, I am usually ranked 28 to 30-ish. During sch, nothing goes into my brain. I dunno what I am studying oso (prob y I got C6 for O lvl english). I only started to pick up in Sec 2 (wake up call aft I was push to go to the last class in sch with all the dun wan to study kiddos).

Jess,
I oso v curious, so I did a bit of kapoh ard...

The Special Assistance Plan (SAP) Schools are government, government-aided or Independent Schools. These schools were well-established Chinese-medium schools in the past. The ethos and environment of SAP schools enable the pupils to be effectively bilingual in both English and Chinese and also inculcate in them traditional values in a Chinese school environment.

Pupils who are in the top 10% of the PSLE cohort may offer Higher Chinese in SAP schools. Pupils who are in the top 11% - 30% of the PSLE cohort and meet the language criteria may offer Higher Chinese in SAP schools as well. The language criteria are:

an A* grade in Chinese
or at least a Merit in the Higher Chinese
Schools will also have the flexibility to allow pupils who do not meet the above criteria to offer Higher Chinese, if they are assessed to have exceptional ability in Chinese and are able to do Higher Chinese without affecting their performance in other subjects.

GEP is referring to Gifted Education Program. Only some schs offer tis program. THe kid will be identified and send for the GEP exam (refer to tis link: http://www.moe.gov.sg/education/programmes/gifted-education-programme/faq/gep-pupils/)
Schs offering GEP: http://www.moe.gov.sg/education/programmes/gifted-education-programme/faq/gep-schools/

jowin,

those within 1km only start to apply at Phase 2B, Phase 2C and Phase 2C supp.

Phase 2B is RC member, PV.

Phase 2C is those open to public then the within 1km very important.

Phase 2C supp is those kids ballot but cant get into the school. so have to go other school that still available.

Snowger,

i ahev very bad result too lar..Last time parent dun care i also dun care so end up very bad result. My hubby result are very good. we are 1 end to another.. haha..

Bur,
the risk to be RC member is make sure the shcool dun change contientency. If not all your work will be down the drain.

Jess,
PV within 1km is not 100% safe. U have to check the past history. Some PV within 1km also need balloting. So it depends on school.

snowger,
so chim... thanks for the info, will go n look thru &amp; digest :p

jappooh,
ya i know but still safer than staying outside 1km mah... haiya very headache laa... even thou we wan to move also cannot coz the current property price too high liao... if buy house now super rugi...

Jess,

ya true.. the chances are higher lar.. For me i only targeting those school within 1km of my hse. So i dun have to move hse and it easier for my MIL to fetch my boy.

haiya... so stress being a parent in SG... during my times where got playgroup, nursery this kind of thing... and i only studied one yr of kindergarten... and no tuition or enrichment class until sec school... hehe!

btw, any baby still taking Nestle Cereal? i hav one tin each for white rice &amp; brown rice, anybody wan?