(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

zachmummy,
If it's on the slope. you should stop and pull up your hand breaks when you are trying to put the cash card, etc. In that manner won't roll back. Cos half clutch while trying to insert cash card is difficult. Aft you done with cash card then you do half clutch, release hand break n move off...

I drove manual car for about 3 years... Quite like it compared to auto car... :p

Santorini,
At least ur ger sits on the high chair. Mayb suay lor, the more I dun wan the nightmare to come true, the more it bcame a fact. *Sobs*

zachmommy,

lol !! .. short arm .. hahahaha!!! .. ya, must pull handbrake for that kind of situation like what snowger said.

snowger,

I drove manual for awhile cos our first 2 cars were manual .. then after that auto ... auto easier la .. the lazy way of driving :p

er, if your girl doesn't want to sit high chair .. then those cloth type also might not work .. she just doesn't want to be confined lor. Does she yell forever when you put her in? Calista cries but for a short while then she gives up and starts eating her dinner. THANK GOD.

snower,

u know what you can try? DON'T give her ANYTHING to eat UNLESS she sits in the high chair .. snacks included.

Then after a while she will associate the high chair with food then she will sit there. IF you give her snacks and such while she's on the floor playing, then she figures ... why cant u feed her her lunch while she's on the floor too? so make it a point to only give her snacks when she's seated at the high chair lor. show her the biscuit then point at the high chair. If she wants the snack, she will bo pian sit there.

I did that with my 2nd girl who was quite stubborn about sitting on the high chair.

Kristalangel,
Manual is fun to play when you are not stuck in a traffic jam cos can go all the way up to Gear 5 and you can move off faster. :p My cheapo car's pick up for the 1st 2 gears is slow...

I think it's true, she might have associated biscuits and snacks off the chair = lunch + dinner off the chair.

As for not feeding if she is off the chair... She will really not want to eat... Partly bcos my cooking sucks?

What usually happens is: She will eat the first 2 -3 mouthful on the chair, after that she will climb out. Not sure if because the strap is not v good or is it cos it does not have a tray. Aft she manages to climb out, she will stand on the seat... then start to reach for things on the table, (Try to) climb on top of the dining table. If I forcefully, bring her down to sit, she will scream v loud and the above will repeat again... :'( My MIL is not consistent in enforcing her to sit down so it makes things even worse...

I am desperate so I would like to try anything that will make her sit on the chair... *Sigh*

Echo,
Do you have any idea if that Sparkletots got space?

santorini
yeah my girl is interested to feed herself. sometimes, that's the only way to get through a meal, to allow her to feed herself. usually she will just grab at the food with her hands, making a mess everywhere. if we spear a piece of fruit with her fork, she can bring the fork to her mouth and eat the fruit. but she cannot spear the fruit herself. spoon is also tough to figure out, cos she always turns it to the wrong side - and all the food will fall out! ultimately, i think it's good to let our children learn to feed themselves, even if they make a mess. it's all part of learning. just dress them in a big coverall bib (i bought 2 from mothercare which came with sleeves! almost like an arts & crafts smock) and put some newspaper under their high chair, and let them go at it. will be good learning fun for them.

snowger
i think there are still vacancies. when i called them last year, to enrol this June, they were not in any hurry to meet me. said that we can meet in Jan. you should call if you are interested, or maybe just go down and take a look at the place.

snowger

what i did previously was to put some of her smaller toys on the high chair's tray...so she can play while eating....and when she tries to break away especially when she's not seated in a high chair....I will stop feeding her....

Maybe you can try to put some toys for her to play on the high chair while feeding her....then she wont be bored.

2nd bb, if go forum I can go shop shop aft tat. Furthermore Evans dun hv weekend class so it's definitely out for me. Hmmm.. Means claryce n zach cannot meet liao.

Eh.. Zach so far still ok wif bb chair provided he get his needs
like food n my iPhone!! But tat lazy boy will nvr try to feed himself. Drink milk alr need me to hold his bottle halfway. Terrible n horrible.. He'll drink half then take out the bottle n pass it to me n say 'eh' meaning ask me to hold for him. If I scold him he'll hold for a while more but in the end I'll still gotta hold for him or risk
milk all over the couch or floor!!

huh.. coz i think its a bit too far n eventhough i get the subsidy not worth it if i take a cab to and from there..

Any mummies uses mothercare maternity pad and breastpad?
Is it good,I need to buy but they have so many types of maternity pads,
One more month to my estimated delivery date!!

Ivy,
I heard bad comments about mothercare's breastpad just bfore I wanted to buy them during a sale. Having tried a few brands (e.g. medela), I prefer pigeon's one. Cos it's v comfy... doesn't have the poking effect...

Santorini,
I got try giving her toys... I gave her a container containing sweets, she play for a while, throw all the sweets on the floor then she started to climb out of the chair...

Ivy
I bought a few kinds of maternity pads then and the best still Kotex. The ones from mothercare cannot make it and very uncomfortable.

Long time never post liao. :p

Ivy, mothercare breastpads are not good at absorbing breastmilk leakage. Many occasions i woke up with my pyjamas wet with breastmilk. Pigeon brand is good and comfy.

Oh Ivy,
If you are looking for those LONG pads for the locha, I agree with Luthadel.. Kotex is SUPER comfortable. Aft the first one week can just use normal sanitary pad liao...

Hello mummies, back in action again....hee hee
What's JG??? I'm totally blank.

I think I can't persist not to send bb to CC now unless I REALLY Need to get a maid...need the advice from mummies here, does CC have those trial period? what r de factors to consider?

Ivy, for breast pads: Pigeon is the best. Tollyjoy also works very well and I dn't find it scratchy. Cheaper than pigeon too. Mothercare is the WORST. The other 2 pads hv some kind of polymer that turns the fluid to gel. Mothercare is just like wearing cotton wool and its HOT.

Maternity pads: I used Kotex and Sofy (unicharm, same parent company as mamy poko my fav diaper)

Just had a diaper emergency today. I swear i had at least 3-4pcs of diapers lying around the house but just before bedtime at 10:15pm, I realised we had no more L size diapers left!!! Only 2pc trial M size pull ups which were too small! My hb had to drive out to sheng siong to buy 1packet emergency diaper! Thought that my diaper stash was enough to last until the nepia delivery man comes tomorrow. Gosh never thought it'd happen to me so embarrassing.

Tamms,
I am sure you freaked out... You change to using Nepia? Me still sticking to Mamy Poko. I bought 2 packs of M size NTUC diaper and my ger's high class backside broke out in rashes! *YIKES!*

I think I will go NTUC to grab a few more packs for her... Like got offer... *SIGH!* I think I'll have to sell them or try to get them refunded at NTUC?

Ivy,
Yar like wat tamms say, the breastbad will turn into gell after they absorb the leak... guess wat there were a few times I accidentally soaked the pad in water... And it bloated like implants. keke

Tamms, I had those kind of experience wif zach last year at kl's budget airport!! He pooped before leaving home so tot 45mins flight shuldnt be a prob. Then he decided to poop again on our way to airport n I was alr super late.
I was alone having to push his stroller here n thr to find diaper. Haha.. N worse, the check in counter closed n luckily I can chk in at other non-sg flight counter. Hahah..
Also found a shop selling 2-pc diaper per pack. Heng ah..
Aft tat, I always hv emergency diaper stashed everywhere. Just in case

tamms,
I still have 2 pkts of L size nepia pull ups as Bryan has outgrown the size. If you're keeen let me know.

Diapers,
I'm crazy over diapers now and since Bryan change to Huggies, I've been eyeing for promotion etc and will grab loads until my hb said we hv no more storage.hahahaha.. Just hope he won't outgrow the L size Huggies too fast :p

Morning, chk with any gd PD can recommend. My boi having high fever n flu for a few day. Bring him to see alot of doctor. But the medicine no use. Haiz....

Taking about airport then remind me to find out from u all that whether airline allows us to bring those baby's stuff like milk power, hot water thermos flask, water bottle, milk bottle… carry by hand board in the plane?

little rabbit
usual liquid restrictions don't apply to baby food and other baby related things, e.g. water for FM, water in sippy cup, etc. just hand carry and declare when you are boarding the plane. but to be sure, just double check on the website of the airline that you are flying with.

luthadel
which type of huggies do you use? I find that Cold Storage usually has promotion for Huggies Ultra, selling for $14.xx instead of $16.xx. SO whenever I go to CS, I will stock up on 1-2 packs.

tara
I put her in high chair and you know what she do?? she STAND! faints.. scold her she still do that.. sometimes stil will "qiao jiao" she will put her leg out like ah peh auntie like that. haha

My gal usually want to feed herself. so i let her hold while im holding then put in her mouth. I cannot stand her being messy leh. i will scream one hahahaha.

echt
SAME!! wahhaaha eat outside guai guai let people SEE only.. then at home siao one.. walk here and there.. faints..

Luthadel,
Which Huggies you using? Huggies Ultra? Cos I found out the price for Huggies Ultra is more ex than Mamy Poko... If you wan to buy cheap cheap can try the BP thread... :p

Paulyn,
I find my PD good lar. At least the diagnosis she gave my dotter n my nehpew are accurate. Now I dare not recommend cos there is a thread that seems to hate my PD lol!

Calling Yogi,
Do you know if Dr Ang has also moved over to Nouvena Medical Centre? Cos I recieved a mailer... v confused...

fabbie,
My ger same as urs... If outside, she not eating but we eating, she will oso stand up. Sometimes, she stand up cos she want to touch our food... So while we pull the crockery far far from her, she's trying to reach them... I am thinking if I should buy some non-toxic crayons and BIG drawing board for her to doodle while we eat. Wat u gals think?

snowger
if i buy for my gal.. i think is no use.. she's a greedy pig haha always want mum mum.. even outside her porridge finish liao she still wants to eat my food lol.

Fabbie,
But at least outside, she sits in her chair lar... Come to think of it, it's true... She'll still wan food from my plate! :p

Little Rabbit,
For your reference... Refer to Part V for the part on the baby food/milk.

http://www.changiairport.com/changi/en/airport_guide/departure/safety_n_security/travel_advisory_faq.html

Q3.What are the exemptions for baby food in liquids, aerosols and gels form?

Baby foods in liquids, aerosols and gels form, such as milk, juice and porridge, will be exempted from the restrictions, if there is a baby travelling with the adult passenger. Such items should be taken in quantities that are sufficient for the flight.

If the baby food is in containers with a maximum capacity of not more than 100ml, passengers are encouraged to place these containers in the 1-litre transparent re-sealable plastic bag. If this is not possible or if the baby food is in containers larger than 100ml, the baby food will be subjected to further checks at the security screening point. The baby must also be present at the security screening point. Passengers may also be asked to taste the baby food.

Q4.Is there a restriction on the amount of baby milk powder that can be carried in hand-carried luggage?

No. Milk powder is not considered a liquids, aerosols and gels item.

Q5. Can I carry hot water in a flask to prepare baby food?

Yes. Hot water will be allowed for carriage in a flask if there is a baby travelling with the adult passenger, even though hot water should be available from the airline onboard the flight. The hot water should be taken in quantities that are sufficient for the flight. It will also be subjected to further checks at the security screening point.

Little Rabbit,
Do check out the restrictions at the other airports that you may be transiting... I rem during my trip to NZ, we transit at Australia. A fellow passenger who did not check in the liqs although the liqs (liquour) was sealed in those non-tamper bags, the officers forced the passenger to "throw" them into the "dustbin"... So wasted right?

Snow
ya! hahahah they see u eat till so shiok they will still aim ya food.. my gal always see my food she will bend down near to my food n shout mum mum mum! lol as if she's talking to my food.. faints.. nt only me lor. my in laws also kana. haha

Hehe.. We oso planning a short trip in march/apr to prep zach for the longer flight to oz in may/June. Tot of going Macau but abit wasted if go thr n din stop by hk.

Fabbie,
YA! Yesterday my ger oso... we were eating @ the coffee table. Then she came and peek at us (i.e. bend her head down to the side) curiously and then look at the food. Then when I look at her, she open her mouth (to indicate she wants to try oso). Then when I was eating fruit... it was different, she really buay paiseh, immediately open her mouth and came in the direction of the fruit. If I keep it from her reach, she'll try to grab my hand/wrist and pull towards her...

Cute lar... But if it's near her milk time, I very fan nao cos if she eat too much, she will refuse her milk... *hehe*

LOL.. so funny hor.. they now are so cute.. but its so hard so take care. cus they know how to walk here and there.. backside like got ants like that.lol

zachmummy,
Actually hor, I went Macau before (for work lar). Only the Casinos are 24/7 and there are no night places to hang out. No food streets oso...

Unless you are going casinos, else you'll be travelling to HK every other day. Maybe you can cosider stay in HK for 2 days and then last day in Macau then fly back. Cos the "speed boat" trip from HK to Macau takes abt 2-3 hrs (including waiting time) AND there are free shuttle buses to the casinos!!! ;p If I am not wrong, the boat trip service is 24 hrs (just tat nite trips are less frequent)...

fabbie
my girl not interested in her porridge liao.. she want our food.. Then one day, i decided to feed her rice and grill fish for dinner.. She dun wan leh... HAIZ...

snow
ya i kinda freaked a bit, luckily my in laws are ok and didn't mind, otherwise I would have gotten the evil eye!

I use mamy poko/ nepia/ pampers active. wh one I buy depends on who has promo, but my fav is MP, always waiting for the Jumbo packet to go on sale for $21.45. damn worth it. so aunty hor

kath
wow super stressed man... running around the airport looking for diaper! luckily you knew where your gate otherwise lagi worse. I've had a few races before at the airport, once in BKK at the new airport I had to run from 1 end to the other and its a really long run. Another time at Dubai airport. And don't know why when you're late, your gate is always the LAST one and always right at the end!

Adel
I'm still on diapers, haven't started potty training yet so I'm not sure if I should be getting the pants from you. How heavy is Bryan? Is the Nepia pants cutting small? I want to start potty training soon but quite lazy and don't quite know how to start.

Sitting on high chair:
We feed my girl only when she is seated, so even if she struggles initially she calms down very quickly when she sees us preparing her meal. She loves to eat, even after she is full and tummy is distended, she will continue asking for more. We're lucky that she loves her food enough to be motivated to sit still! oh we also feed her at about the same time as when we have dinner, and she sits in her chair while everyone is eating together. Maybe can try that? She is more inclined to sit for longer when everyone is also seated.

Tamms,
I saw yesterday NTUC got promo... So quickly GRAB! Me oso like to buy MP only when there is promo lar... The lowest for jumbo was at Giant $19.99 but always OOS. So I always look out for NTUC offer... :p

Actually I do hope someday my ger will sit in a chair to eat. Will try every suggestion the mothers posted here... *keeps fingers crossed*

snow what's the ntuc promo?? I just ordered 1 carton nepia lah. I guess I can stock, she's not going to outgrow the L so soon

Snow,u mean MP jumbo pack at giant selling 19.99?so cheap?!
The cheapest so far that I bought for MP is 20.50, at CK,I went on my own and bought 2packs+huggies pull up 2packs and MP pull ups 2pack,super heavy!
Haha,that time already preg I think ppl see me carry so many packs will say I kiasu!haha

Snowger

Another thing that I noticed is that what you practise may not be reinforced by other caregivers...so your girl might be getting mixed messages....

e.g. i dont like the idea of my girl holding onto a biscuit or cracker and walking around the house eating it...but I noticed that when she is in my sil's house while she babysit her, my sil will carry her and let her hold her cracker....so my baby thinks it's alright to hold onto her cracker while she's being carried around.......

maybe you can find out how your mil feed your girl during the day...it's important to be consistent....i guess....

snow, going with Zach so dun tink will hit the casino lar. furthermore, i dun gamble so will not go into casino. Dunno y i suggested macau, juz that i nvr been there, so juz came out of my mouth.
other options are batam or bintan.

tamms, i m always late when taking flight..somehow i dun like to wait at the airport. Boring when thr is so many duty free shop n u cannot spend! :p
i oso using nepia still. I find that the L size pants is smaller than the normal L size diaper. N i ordered 2 packs of the pants and 2 packs of normal..he still hv 1.5packet of the pants left. :p
im like ordering diaper from them every mth until the delivery guy gave me his acct# to trf money to him when i m not home to receive the goods..haha