(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

USA Grad Student Research with Singapore Parents - Quick Survey

Thank you to those who have completed my survey - I have already received 12 responses!! I am hoping to get 18 more in the next week so I can do my comparison study. Can you share this with other parents you know? I really appreciate the help and am so excited about studying in your country! Here are the details...

I am a graduate student at the University of St. Thomas in the United States (Minnesota), currently participating in a study abroad course in Singapore at the National Institute of Education.

* Have you had your first (and only) child in the past six months to 24 months?
* Do you live with the co-parent?
* Is it the first child for both partners?
* Do you want to share information that could help other couples transition into parenthood?

If you answered YES to these questions, and are 18 years of age or older, you are eligible to participate in this parenting research study. It only takes 5-10 minutes to complete. To start the survey, please click the link below or copy and paste it into your Internet browser.

http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm=odvEJo1BPt_2bCF3hlE7BK7g_3d_3d

Participation in this survey is completely voluntary, anonymous, and confidential.

Robyn Maley

i do hair clip for passion, would like to share.
Pls PM me if interested

hi mommies, long time nvr drop by the thread...
how's everyone? we should arrange for another gathering some time???

ivy, can go TMC, they got 2nd hand with 6 mos warranty selling at 300, cause that's wat mrs wong told me whn i bought mine thr, my opinion: PISA is good but rather heavy. i wld buy freestyle if i hv a 2nd kid and jus dump me PISA in the office... oso because i used so often, my PISA haversack is so torn & tattered..

bur, i am not delivering at TMC...don think can get there.

maybe i will wait till after i deliver then decide during that confinement month, if my supply is good this time round will then buy a dual pump.

Long time never post here, now started to look for child care centre and just earolled my boy in the waiting list. Need to send my boy to child care once he reachs 18 mths.
There are three centres around my place but all full and got to Q in the long waiting list.
1) My First skool = get no.21 in the waiting list.
2) Cherie heart = get no.7 in the waiitng list.
3) Zion = Request to pay deposit to enrol in the waiting list.

May I know any mummies here enrol your little one in the child care?

Little rabbit, u're enrolling in full time playgroup or half day?
I'm still considering playgroup or Julia Gabriel or little neuro tree.
Anyway will onie send him thr when he can communicate better.
One of my fren send his boy to LSH n the teacher din feed his son water. They xpect the kids to Noe how to ask for water.

Little Rabbit,
I went around the schools near my work place to enrol my girl. They are unable to advise abt the queue situation since she is only registering in June this year. So by April they'll call me if they have space. *Oh well...* Got one sch even ask me to only let her go sch next year (2011).

Anyway she is going for a full day Childcare...

zachmummy,
when there are too many kids, it's lidat one lar... those who are too quiet and dunno how to ask may get forgotten... BUT! If the kid is so adorable, the teacher will still give special attention to the child lor.

Little Rabbit,

i will be sending Ervin to childcare this sept or oct. Should be sending full day. Going to the same cc as my elder boy.

Zachmommy,

my elder boy childcare have timing for all the kids to seat down and all drink water together.

I think all depends on the school practise.

i'm also planning to send my girl to childcare when she turns 18 months. minimise friction with my MIL, who is looking after her now. so far, still looking around. considering kinderland maxwell, which is near my husband's office, but also open to other places.

snowger - where are you planning to send your girl? i know you live quite near me, so thought i can get some ideas from you..

Echo,
There are a few near us... some cheap some SUPER expensive. There is Oddessy (spelling something lidat, it's along the main road all the way down from Ikea... nearer to behind tiong bahru), Moral (which is super cheap no a/c), then there is one inside the CC near my place (tat one I find the kids v rowdy).

The schools I applied for are (and hoping my ger can get a slot):
1) Learning Vision@ Subarna 1 (Bukit Merah HDB building)
2) LSH @ SGH sister's quarters
3) LSH @ Pearl Bank
was thinking if I should oso put down my ger's name for
4) Eton House (near the CTE highway, road leading towards Outram MRT) - damn atas havent go n check out the sch enviornment yet
5) Cherie Hearts @ habourfront

Where you registered? I think difficult for our kids to register in the middle of the year so we can quickly go register at ard Oct/Nov this year.

Mine will be "auto" move up to CC fm IFC at 18mths.

Echo,
u mean Kinderland @ MND building issit? Do register early cos I hear a lot of my colleagues mention the waiting list is very long for CC (like wat lilrabbit mention).

Snow, shd register early if possible. U applied for ALL those above?? or jus shortlist them?
Yah heard The Odyssey is ex...something like ETON hse kind rite..

Zachmummy, ya, like wat jappooh says, may depends on Sch's practise.
anyway, his IFC tells me he koes how to keep his own blanket & bloster back in the cupboard after he wakes up from nap...i was like "real or not"...keep things back..alamak at home he only koes how to Bring EVERYthing out from the cupboards...;p

Snow, eton damn expensive leh.. U got check out the price first or not??
I tink I'll either go for Cherie Hearts @ Cecil or pat's schoolhouse. Definitely no LSH for me. Heard enuf of bad things abt their co-curriculum.

Pas,
I registered for the first 3 listed in my list already... They say they will call me in Apr to let me know vacancy. So thinking if I should be kia su and also register for Eton House and Cherie. :p

For the 4 and 5 listed, I haven register yet lor... I think Odyssey is super ex but heard it's good lar... Monthly fee is abt $1500? I noe it's like above $1k lar. Eton House is low $1k and is suppose to be an international sch. :p

Zachmummy,
The Little Skool House I went to see has a time table and they have "transition" times where kids will go wash hands and drink water leh. So v strange why he nvr get to drink? Unless he run n do other things while teacher is giving out waterbottles?

Hmm.. I nvr trust wat is being put down in time table. Zach was thr before n I read tat they hv story telling time in English n Mandarin but for the 7 mths he's thr I nvr seen it being done, not even to those older bbs. Wat gym time, singing time r all put in time table to impress parents. When u question them they'll say 'oh, those activities will only be conducted if the kids mood r good.. N if they're not sleeping etc'. So all these time table things juz take it with a pinch of salt unless for older kids then yes, they hv time table.

Zachmummy,
Of cos I check and think I can afford lar. Anyway only got 1 kiddo so expenses still manageable...

I have also heard pretty much bad things abt Cherie Hearts. So if you ask me every sch has pple complaining... Just tat u might not have heard...

zachmummy,
u refer to which sch? LSH?

If what u say is true, then no matter how good the sch say their ciriculum is, in the end it won't benefit our kids lor. But like Echo, I am sending her there to reduce friction and also bcos I wan her to learn independence (and not whinny-ness) in CC.

Hehe.. Good for Nic then. Eton is international school n I tink their teaching style is diff. But fee of 5 figure per year is definitely not my league.
Of course all pre school hv ups n downs but must find one tat is truthful n not full of excuses when being questioned.

I am sending my boy to those void cc. So far so good for my elder one. He learn phonics, mandrain, math and sicence in school. So far i am quite alrigth with the school. any the school fee is $300 per mth. That why i am thinking to send my younger in sept (by then 21 mths liao). Cos my MIL keep complainting lar that why i decide to send him loh

I'm considering which cc to put my gal in as well. My sis sends her daughter to Sunflower schoolhouse at Turf city, their curriculum is quite good, once a week they hv kindermizik + positive baby enrichment classes, fee I think is 1200 before subsidy.
Dn't hv a good impression of Little Skool House. Went there during TMC's childbirth classes and I noticed that the words used on the wall charts had grammatical error!

hello gals,
long time never post here, more on FB now, hope everyone's doing well..

pas,
120ml abit too little? Aydan still loves milk, taking 240ml now 3 times a day + 2 solids.. hmm.. or i shd be giving more solids now?

wanna ask mummies with kids already in cc, really beneficial for them to start young at 18mths? i dun hv MIL issues, just wanna let him hv some exposure to some fun with other kids etc, so cant decide to go JG playgrp, or halfday CC.. any advice?

Snowger,
feel that facility at Eton Outram abit old leh, fees wise sama as Odyessy coz this branch charges by term, not semester.. & their cirriculum not super impressive.. heh, i still like Odyessy better! lolx

i juz called Pat's Schoolhouse..alr in waiting list. Fee is abt $1.8K per mth before subsidy.. abit steep! even if i consider 1/2 day, still need to fork out abt $900 after subsidy n on top of that still need to pay babysitter..
echt, Zach oso loves milk very much. Now drinking 240ml 3x a day and he has 3 solids per day.. in between still snack. Anytime of the day u feed him, he will still eat. Hahaha.. but i m ok wif feeding him alot cos now that he is more mobile, he tends to burn more..still so skinny after so much food. Hahaha

tamms,
by colleague's gal goes to sunflower BB @ Turf city. She doesnt stay near there but still puts her gal there, every day after work got to rush to pick up before 7pm. Reason being she like the curriculum too!

snow: u register for all 3, i.e place deposit?

Echt, its good u dun hv MIL issue. Then u might want to jus consider playgp those 1/2 day sessions instead of full time CC. Its to increase their exposure.
who knows later he might like 1/2 CC playgp so much & ask u to convert to full time for him?? tt's wat my niece did...she went for those 1/2 CC playgp & like it then ask her mummy (my cousin) to let her stay full day;p

ya i think he's drinking too little per feed..but he takes abt 5 feeds...& @ IFC he can drink 150ml per feed.
think he jus like to play while drinking

oo.. Aydan only likes those bb biscuits which i thk is too heaty coz he doesnt drink water. haha.. we dun hv time to squeeze in a 3rd solids in his schedule leh.. otherwise he'll be like eating the whole time!

pas,
5 feeds ah.. like tt daily intake still alot
yeap, only gg for 1/2half day if gg to CC coz i wanna let in-laws have e time for him too. but halfday fees wise bo hua one.. sian

wah.. talking about school already?

I am also considering JG playgroup or LNT on weekends.. Then weekdays go for playgroup. Maybe cherie Hearts or by the govt. Talentplus. Most impt must fit my parents convenience as they fetch her to and forth on weekdays.

Wah.. those highclass one, cannot afford.

how much is JG playgroup??
aiyah! i havent even got chance to go for their trial yet....begining of new year, maybe shd email them ask if got any trial...

echt, yup yup lucikly he still drinks frequently, thou small intake.
solids wise, yes, think they really can eat n eat non-stop;p

pas
yup i'm referring to kinderland MND. ooh i didn't know it's long queue. Thanks for telling me! I'd better chase my husband to go and enquire about the place.

snow
the schools i've looked at so far are:
- Cambridge CDC @ Tanglin: i went for a tour of the school but it is expensive and didn't really impress me.
- Seedlings Montessori @ Dawson Place: i'm considering this one because it's very near my place, easy for us to travel there and for MIL to pick up. but it's all indoor with no outdoor play area, so i'm less keen.
- kinderland MND: only saw the website but haven't made a formal enquiry yet. must chase hubby!

thanks for sharing your list. i think i will add cherie hearts at harbourfront to my list of CCCs to check out.

Zachmommy
I wish now Bryan has Zach's appetite for MILK!!! He totally reject milk when he is awake and this morning he woke up at 4am and refused to drink his milk. Change bottle= No, add milo = No use spoon to feed = only take 5 spoonfuls.

So worried even though PD said it is normal for toddler to stop milk at around 1yr+. *Sigh*

echo,
np , jus sharing wat my colleagues told me. Mine's oso there. the principal & vp are both v nice.
just fyi since u looking at those ard Maxwell Tanjong pagar area: there a LV @ Cecil st & also 1 more sunflower CC opening soon @ cecil st.

jappooh, i might hv. i go hm tonite n check...

Just to share! There will be a Fun in the Sun Bazaar this weekend Jan 16 - 17, 2010 at East Coast Park Big Splash area. There will be over 70 stalls ranging from baby/ kid items to face painting. There will be new and preloved items for sale. The bazaar starts at 10 am on both days !

jappooh
void deck one eg PAP also have good & not good one. have to look around also.

LuthAdel
maybe you can try giving Bryan milk bottle & a toy to distract him. My girl with a toy at hand will finish her bottle of milk if not she will want to get up & play.

winnie,

my boy go to the void deck one but not PAP. BTW they are not call PCF. Yes now PCH have different range as well. Some took in 3yrs old but mostly took in 4yrs old onwards. Usually ppl send 3 yrs old to Apple Tree run at RC centre.

My elder boy when to a private cc at void deck call sheffield kidsworld. They have current 3 branches. CCK, woodland and sengkang (newly open). I will send my younger one to the same cc as his elder brother

zachmummy,
Eton House & ur Pat's sch is in sama league, EXPENSIVE. In fact ur pat sch is more expensive than Eton House wor... Anyway, I din register my ger for tat cos havent seen the sch and cirriculum.

Jappooh/Jowinbb,
What's more impt is whether the kid can learn or not. Expensive not equals to good lor... Tat's why I only register her for the first 3. Eton Hse is in the pending/maybe list.

Echt,
I went to LSH and the cirriculum is okay lor. Not WOW type. Havent gone to Learning Vision nor Eton to let them explain to me... U went to see Eton before? But I thought the person I spoke to over the phone is quite professional...

Pas,
They allow you to "register" first. No need deposit. Got space, they will call u down to do the official enrollment.
Partly cos we are not sending the kid in on 4th Jan...

I dun really have MIL issue lar. But I feel she is getting more and more spoilt by her. SO... I'm just going to put her in CC lor.

Echo,
Is this - Seedlings Montessori @ Dawson Place good? Cos it's not that far from my house oso... I wanted something near house (like the one at old HDB Bukit Merah) cos in case I dun go to work can still send her there before doing my own stuff...

Luthadel,
My ger's milk intake is quite terrible after her mild LS sessions recently. She's acting like a spoilt brat, if you dun give her what she wants she will cry like crazy. Slip and fall oso cry (she was not like tat one lor). Wonder if she's teething again... :p

Jappooh/Winnie,
You gals are lucky to work/stay at places where there are many CCs to choose from... The redhill/tiong bahru/commonwealth area has a pathetic selection of infant care + CC. Even if you can find a good one, it's either ALWAYS FULL or super EXPENSIVE! Haiz... SIAN SIAN SIAN...

Near my workplace only got LSH... Then one station away is Cherie Hearts lor...

Pas,
The Kinderland at MND is it v far from Maxwell market? I may consider there if desperate enuf. Cos I heard pretty good feedback abt Kinderland. Another one I can consider is the Kinderland @ MOM, but both are the "so near yet quite far" CCs.

Snowger,
ya my elder one go cc for 1yr 3 mths liao. So far his learning is good. He can speak quite well too. Yesterday he correct my SIL. My sil told him is late already then MRT go hm liao. Then he say:"gu gu that is not call hm, MRT is going into station not hm".

1 thing good abt the school cos is just 2 blks away from my hse so evrn raining days dun have to take unmbrella is easy for my MIL to send and fetch him hm with the younger one ard.

I guess for the price i pay i am consider quite happy with his learning.

Jappooh,
Yar lor, that's why sometimes I v envy those mummies who can find good CCs for their kids... If got cheap and not bad one, I oso rather send my ger there.

My sis used to go St Hilda's Kindergarten which is private and expensive. My dad says after 1/2 year she still learn nothing while in PAP I learn things everyday and it's cheap sch fees. So if I tell him I send N to Eton at that kind of price, I might get tongue lashing from him.

Snowger,
Ervin also he will cry so loud and angry face when my elder one refuse to give him the toys. But i will not give it to him. I let him cry. Yesterday my elder one hold Ervin hand and wat to beat him cos he naughty lar. (in fact is so light that u wont feel it). Ervin hor face like wan to cry and look so poor thing. When i look at him then he start to cry till so kelian. But when i tell him so light it not painful and he immed stop crying liao. I think kids are good in acting..haha

Jappooh,
Yesterday my ger oso one kind. She wan to play with the water in a cup at ikea. Hb took cup away from her then she cry... then refuse to stop... CRY until the whole restaurant look at her and want to crawl out of the Ikea chair. This evil mummy hold her inside the chair n see her cry lor. Damn irritated. Think at this pt they are just trying their luck n yes... they are damn good in acting...

So any gals, saw a wailing toodler wearing all pink yesterday at Ikea. Tat's my dotter...

Snowger,

within walking distance only 1 cc near me. Others need to take bus. I hear very bad comments of kinderland for CCK branch. Actaully i do not have much choice too cos i need one near to my hse so my MIL can send and fetch my kids. Lucky the school so far so good. Not super good but for that price i consider not bad. He is learning things. Can write and read quite a no of works. 2 day ago he look at menu when we are in a resturant and order a Fish & chips for himself. Can tell me he why there is no apple juice onyl have orange juice. Hee..

I understand your situation cos my MIL hse at commonwealth. Really no much school there.

Winnie,
Try that already. The moment he tasted milk, he will let his tongue drop out and allow the milk to free flow out of his mouth!

Snowger,
Ya, everytime Bryan goes thru bad illnesses like bad flu when he was about 3mths old and the recent stomach flu, the milk intake will be affected very drastically. The moment he sees me with a bottle, he starts to run away and turn his head away from the milk bottle. Usually we managed to get him to drink after his zzzz at night and before he wakes up in the morning. During his zzzzz he can easily down 240ml. Today he woke up sooo early that we did not get the chance to feed him at all. Saw my bottle and started crying :S

I think it could also be teething 'cos I found 2 new teeths on the lower gum and many white spot on the upper gum.

Anyone knows how much cheese we can give per day? Cos he loves cheese and will ask for more but I'm just afraid of over giving since cheese is high in sodium.

Echt
hahahahahaha... you funny lah.
Now I've to think of ways to sneak milk/cheese etc into his food. Headache.

Snowger,

yes now they are trying their luck. Yesterday i bring Ervin to sleep he also cry and refuse to go into my rm. I just let him cry. When my hubby go outside the rm the sleep within 5 mins. I told my hubby cos when Ervin saw someone in the rm he is trying to get help. With me he knw i wont let him get his way so no choice he sleep loh.

Kids are very smart nowadays. I am always the bad person.

Jappooh,
Good for u lor... I was joking to hb that shld open one good n affordable CC at redhill road there (cos got lots of preggy mothers in e area). LOL!

Tamms,
I was quite concerned abt the teacher I met when I went to see one of the LSH sch. My half-pass-six english is even btr than hers lor. I told my hb then he said doesn't matter one lar... 8(