(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

snowger
seedlings @ dawson is okay, i think. i called the school before and the person who picked up the phone (i assume is the principal) could speak quite good English. i also went and took a tour of the premises and it was ok. not great cos no outdoor play area, but it wasn't very cramped. felt more spacious than Cambridge @ Tanglin. they have a dedicated room for montessori learning and some of these little tikes stuff in the free play area.

kinderland @ MND is walking distance from maxwell market and walking distance from tanjong pagar MRT.

Snowger,

actually when i send my elder one to cc i dunno the cc is good or bad cos that time giving birth in few mths time so need to settle my elder one loh as my MIL unable to look after 2. Lucky it turn out fine. I do knw searching for school is a headache cos i did that loh. End up we settle with the one nearest to us. Other all need to take bus. I visit kinderland and LV at CCK to. but i heard quite bad comments on both school and for me is if i am paying more i will be expecting more. So i guess with those comments they wont be able to meet my requirements loh.

Luthadel,
Just when I tot she's having decent milk feeds, she falls sick... *sobs* Haiz... U got try giving yoghurt? Cos it's also diary mah (calcium! for healthy bones)...

Jappooh,
^5! I am the super bad person. I say DO, she had btr do it!!! No concessions...

Echo,
Really uh??? Wooohoo.. another sch to add to my list. But my hb start sch liao. So must find a chance to go visit the sch lor. ;p

Pas,
Was thinking if it's near my office at Outram. If yes, can consider oso. Then u say got sheltered walkway all the way sounds good. Cos for those I registered, all no shelter one. So if rains, DIE...

Snowger, at least u still have 5 options to choose.. I have to choose around my mum's house vicinity.. Which i only saw cherie hearts, talentplus and one which is going to open opposite my block called " sparkletots".. dun even know what its is...

jappooh
ya la.. recently they began to have many patterns.. Mine keep pulling me to the shoe cabinet and ask me to wear shoes for her.. she wanna go out!!! Stand at the gate and gesture me to open!!! HONG SIM CHA BOR KIA.. dun open, she grumble n grumble...

Luthadel
Ashlynne recovered from her LS and now into slight flu.. I am sian as i caught it from her. Then, her appetite drop.. dun wan much solid and milk.. all take half and dun wan..
spit it out..

Snowger,
yes have sheltered walkway is a very good pt. It really helps alot when it rain. If without the sheltered walkway from my blk to my boy cc then my MIL will have problem bringing my elder one to school if it rain. Cos she need to carry my younger one too.

Jowinbaby
hahaha....Ashlynne can go pak tor with Bryan. He also has the same action, take his shoes, tries to wear it & scream when he can't put it on properly and point to the door.hahahahah

My pd said after taking meds, very common for kids to go off milk 'cos sometimes the milk will alter their taste. So i've to be persistent and keep on trying until he accepts. Going to try milkshake etc and see if it works

jowinbaby,
Although there are 5, they are "bo-bian" choices... out of the 5, only 1 is near my home and 4 got no shelter (except Cherie). And a/c to the lady I met at Choice 1 sch, she told me the sch is full as at todate. They will not have a space for 18mths onwards group unless a toddler upgrades to the next class/stage. And she told me tat kids at their schs seldom drop out. So chances of going there is slim.

Sparkletots I heard before leh. It's one of the CC chains tat open below HDBs one.

Jappooh,
LSH at Pearl Hill, I need to jog up a hill with my ger... if rain, confirm DIE. LSH at sis quarters, is a long strech of no shelter. If rain, I will be strolling in the rain with my ger. :p -haha-

Now tat I think hor, mayb i shld register the Kinderland. At least I take MRT from Redhill to Tanjong Pagar, drop her off then at most I walk to office... *sounds good eh?*

Snowger,
wow then u have to seriously consider. Cos i already sending my elder one to school so i knw how difficult it is if it rain and there is no shelter.

Find out the kinderland cos not all are good. I do CCK one no good and ex. so u find out 1st.

Sparkletots are those below HDB block and the price cheap also..

jowin
sparkletots is basically PAP/PCF, but re-branded

snow
there is a sparkletots at queenstown CC, if you are interested. it's one of my 2nd tier choices, meaning will only consider if all of my first tier choices are not available.

school fees
you can check out www.childcarelink.gov.sg to find out what their school fees are. this site is run by MCYS so should be quite accurate.

jowin,

take your time slowly search. That time for me is no choice cos is either send my elder one to cc or get a maid then send my elder one to 3hrs playgroup. End up choose cc loh.

Jappooh,
Yar lor. Really got to see how...

Echo,
I din know PAP/PCF can morph into so many different names. Hehe. Will you send Emma to PAP in future? Cos near my house there got one PAP.

If I send her to Queenstown CC, it's really out of the way. Wrong direction for me... Tat's why u notice the CC i choose are all "on the way" to Outram one.. Hehe...

Hb can't send her to CC cos he will leave home way before 7am.

Jowinbaby,
If it's 1/2 day why dun you try JG those type? Think theirs more fun than the CC type of enviornment. No matter wat, CC is meant to take care of the child while parents work... Education is considered second piority to them lor... More to pass time and keep the kids entertained n to substaintate the price they make parents pay...

JG is for weekends type..once per week..Considering JG or LNT...

I am looking for weekdays half day session, for her to go social, play and learn something

snow
i had a discussion with hb tonight about whether we would want to send emma to PCF/sparkletots. at this age, i'm ok to be less particular about the curriculum in daycare. after all, they are really still just babies. like someone said earlier, maybe schedules get disrupted cos of naps and all that, so don't expect too much. if she can come out of the daycare experience learning some life skills like feeding/dressing herself, that would be great. i don't really need her to start reading and writing at age 2. so yah, for now, we are open to PCF. maybe when she's in N2, we'll move her to a proper kindergarten. we are interested in church kindergartens (cos we are Christian) like Damien Centre Kindergarten or Maris Stella Kindergarten.

jowin
i think i'm like you, just sending emma there to socialise, play a bit and learn a bit, so PCF is also ok.

jowin n pas, i called JG todae..their playclub (18mth n above) is under wait list..so if want,must put the names in ASAP..classes is every weekend either 9.30, 11.30, 2.30 and 4.30 at both Forum n Evans.
I m still considering shoudl I send Zach to their playnest first cos left last term (starting March) and then he will hv priority to upgrade to playclub without going through the wait list.

Let me know if you guys keen then we can all go together but I must discuss wif my boss to take 1/2 day or work 4 day week for the next 2.5mths..hahah :p

if i enrol zach to JG, i will not send him to playgroup until much later..

any feedback about YWCA CC??there is one just right opposite my block....but have not decide if should let jake go for half day first...

morning ladies...

wah everyone talking abt school, and seems like most of mommies here going to send their child to playgroup/cc once they hit 18mths... hmm, last time i only sent my elder boy to playgroup (those 3hrs type) only when he was 3YO... anyway i think it's good to send them to school earlier so they can learn independent & mix ard with other kids...

so i wanna send daniell to playgroup too once he turns 18mths... thinking to send him to those 2-3hrs one so i can hav time off everyday... at 1st want to send him to my elder boy's school too which is juz opp but too bad they only hav full day, now got to look ard...

and i realized that the price for half day & full day not much different hor, super boh hua if enrol him to half day, but i definitely not going to enrol him for full day until i go back to work...

kath,
the JG playnest is for child under 18mths & only in weekday? and the fee of $500++ is monthly or per term? the class is once a week only?

Jess, playnest is for under 18mths n it's twice a week. Sunday n Monday. When the teacher finds them ready to go nxt level it'll b playclub n it's once a week on weekend. Playnest is $740 per term which means for 10 weeks. Playclub is $520 per term.

I also want to send BB to CC when she is 18mths, n there is 1 Sparkletots just next blk from my hse......but, no vacancy le, now on waiting list....sigh

Went to another 3 CC near my house, but all full le, all on waiting list...sigh

Kath, Claryce will be attending JG classes this March. Twice weekly.

Jappooh, I given away the tins of gainIQ liao. Didnt kw u are looking for it if not can give u.

2ndbaby,

it ok. i post at the WTB thread. Hope someone have 1 400g for sale. Need it by next wk.

NTUC now is selling the new version. Ervin didnt try the new version b4 therefore i dun dare to buy that yet.

Any mummies,
have 1 tin of 400g Gian IQ for sale?

Kath
I see. But i m all prepared to go back to workforce soon although no one hire me yet. So twice a week for her at JG seem tough for me to bring her leh. My mum joined me at the holiday camp at Dec, she wouldn't be interested to bring her and sit in class if i asked her to take over a weekday for me...

Perhaps put her on queue for the waitlist for 18m??

2nd Baby,
tot the term starts liao.. how come Claryce only starting in March? Which branch?

Kath,
u gg JG? Hubby decided on JG wor.. said CC go later when Aydan 2-3yrs old so wont fall sick easily.. So i'll be signing up for JG Forum (while waitlist for Evans). prob will cya there! keke

Eh if like tat I'll call jg n register for march class. I'll hv to ask my boss abt every Monday though. Haha.. To n fro forum is abt 3 hrs at least means I hv to take 1/2 day every Monday for 10 weeks or more.

Jowin, so u'll register for playclub?? It's every weekend so still ok.

2nd bb, u're at forum or Evans?? I'll go to forum.. Easier to park.

kath,
hmm... since the fee is per term basis so still affordable hor... keke, i'm quite interested but parking at forum easier meh? i tot evan's one easier since there is carpark area next to the building?

Did ya babies is like mine??
My gal when comes to food, Usually she will eat alot.. sit there guai guai and eat.. now keep running here and there. is like i feed her one mouth she can walk one round of the table or went in to my room and come out and get her another bite of food. and i realize she dun finish her food liao.. sometimes finish liao she can cry like hell. lol why like that ah.. is it playful or what? but thank god outside she dun run here and there.

Another thing. she hates to bath! once i bring her to bath tub. she will keep crying.. and now even worst. HATES to wash hair de.. and not only that hates to wash up.. clean face.. change to her pyjames.. faints..

fabbie,

my boy is crawl here and there. I think cos now they are more mobile they wanted to explore more.

As for bath my boy love it. Once he hear the running water he auto go into the bathroom. And cant wait to get into the tub.

I think for sure he hates it when we try to put on his clothing..

hi Fabbie

My gal she like to bath v much, enjoy her x inside w her duck duck....hee hee, but when come to wear cloths, she will make some noise.....
She also like to eat la, we dun allow her to run, cos MIL feed her while she standing inside the play pen, so tt she wont hv habbit to running ard when eating.......

Echo,
I agree with you and your hb. Learning stuff is secondary but good to have lor. I'm looking more at indepedence and social skills. Cos my MIL will spoil her to bits and intro her to computers and TV... I noe some CC let kids watch TV but limited exposure. My MIL's TV is on most of the day...

Fabbie,
My ger DOES NOT sit on the chair to eat. It's driving me crazy but if I force her to sit on chair she will just cry and not eat her dinner lor. So I bo bian, my nightmare of chasing her with food is so coming true.

As for bathing, she's now ok with washing hair etc. But I cannot sit her down to wash. So what I do is I let her stand with a stool and shower her just like how adults bathe... u can try...

xiaohua,
we use to put Ervin in the walker and put it in a stationary position so he can move to elsewhere. But now he can climb out of it so we cant do that anymore

Fabbie, ocean used to sit in his exersaucer to finish all porridge, now half way he wanna come out, and I’ll shift him to high chair so he can finish the other half.
He dun know how to walk by himself yet, but he always wanted to hold our finger to walk, become a habit now, never want to walk by himself. He will be very angry if I hide all my fingers in my pocket… ekeke. He love to bath, but now change pattern oso, he will not want to sit in the tub, sit on floor and the end I’ll showering him direct thru shower and he love it… :p

Jappooh,
Me too. I use to confine her inside the walker and feed her cos she always climb out of the highchair. But aft she start walking, she crys everytime i put her in walker. So no walker + no play yard = run around during dinner... Really really hate this... Maybe i shld really get a play yard?

JG PlayClub will be on Satuday or Sunday? How many hours for the session? How many week per term? Per term $520? If we miss for 1 week, is there any replacement? =>

Snowger,

my boy will climb our of high chair, exersaucer or walker. So now choice end up chasing him all ard the hse. Usually we took some toys to distract him so he can sit and eat. Now he only walk afew steps so cant run too far away. He just manage to stand up on his own without any support.

Fabbie

you have to put ZY in a high chair when you feed her...so it will keep her still while eating. I think it is important in order to get her used to sitting still while eating....

Emma has been wanting to feed herself for some weeks now....Any of the babies here starting to do that? Is it the right time to let them start feeding themselves already??

Though I would like her to explore feeding herself...I hate it at the same time because she makes such a big mess..... i just have to force myself to close one eye.....

Jappooh,
At least ur boi can only walk a few steps. My ger can walk so well, I am practically chasing her. Sometimes, she will spit out food (lazy eating all thanks to someone). And she might "spit" it out in bedroom or corridor or balcony area or anywhere she happens to be... *SIGH*

Santorini,

Ervin too wanted to self feed but end up in a mess. he wanted to feed us too. My elder one use to be like that but when they are older start to wan ppl feed again. My elder one is like that at hm still need us to feed him but outside or in school he self feed.

If u can take the mess no harm let her try.

fabbie,
aydan will also crawl ard n come back for food.. take ages to finish at home, plus he likes to 'gam' the food in mouth. but he will guai guai finish everythg when outside. hmm.. he used to dislike bathing for a while such tt i gotta bath TOG with him.. keke.. then i throw in alot of toys in e bathtub, blow bubbles etc & he's back to enjoying his bath. now cant wait to enter bathtub when he hears the water running.. u can try =)

littlevic,
sama! always hold his hands to walk such tt e moment we let go, he will sit down. dun wanna walk on his own.. sigh.. still waiting..

Santorini,
You mean she snatch spoon from u? For my ger, she will put her hands into the bowl and dig up some food to put in her mouth. Usually it will end up all over the floor, clothes n stuff.

I tried SO v hard to put her in the chair to finish her food but fail. Thinking if I should invest in those bag/cloth style of "high chair" to see if she'll stay put...

Snowger,

i understand cos my elder boy is like that. At hm he dun sit at 1 place to eat he run ard the hse.. Outside he is ok.

Ervin same as your gal lar.. The difference is he crawl away and dunno where he spilt the food. So we always follow him loh..

Snowger

yes, she will snatch the spoon from me....Most times, when she tries to snatch the spoon from me, the food on the spoon will end up everywhere but in her mouth....

Also, she likes to spit up the food that's in her mouth and then use her hand and feed herself again....

jappooh....
Most times when she finishes her meal, it such a mess that she needs a bath and i need to mop the floor......feel like putting a mat or something on the floor when she's eating.....haha....

Jess, shopping mall mah. Tat time I went to evans road, I bang the side mirror against the cash ard gantry cos the slope is so steep n my short hand cannot reach to insert the card. N summore hv to juggle the car not to let it roll back-wards. Wonder how those manual car driver do it. Haha