(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

FYI, NTUC having BB Fair from now till 5 Aug. Got some good discounts on diapers, thou not so much for FM (discount only for Stage 3 & 4 FM). But if got time, still can go see see look look, i lug 4 pkts of Huggies diapers home ytd. Their promo for MP and Pampers seem quite good too. If i can remeber correctly, the prices roughly as below:

MP-$21.90 for Jumbo packs
Pamper-$abt 30 for 2 packs...

Sori, getting old, memory not good. I went to AMK NTUC Xtra outlet.

Wow... once i log in i read abt the freaky toys... i bought a number of battery operated toys for Kasia leh... but Phew! thank god so far no such extraordinary experience.

im guilty, veri guilty now.. i have yet to start Kasia on porridge leh.. in fact, i intend to start only next week.. me lor, bought too many boxed of HT cereal last time, so now need to clear stocks ;p

seems to me many mummies are extremely hardworking leh, always trying new recipes. i dun cook, so think i will cook very repetitive porridge oni! oops! *blink blink eyes*

Chantelle,

u so funny .. ur bb got fishy smell ... hahahah

I think its better to add to the porridge instead of feeding it as puree .. u can always mix with the fish ..

Yes.. cayenne really stink! I am trying to buy her nice bath gel to mask her fishy odour.. what are you mummies using? I saw the organic earth series chamomile bath gel, smells very citrus, wanted to buy but small bottle costs $17, feel very ex.

Ok i will add the brocoli into her porridge and let her try. Thanks!

carmen, keke.. kasia can have hayden's porridge!! i usually cook for him every other day. He bring's porridge to school when they serve chicken or weird stuff (like mee sua)..

my latest porridge is nice.. carrot, corn, egg yolk fish porridge..

pureed carrot
steamed corn, pureed n sieved
half hard boil egg yolk
1/4 cod
and vege stock porridge

jo, i read that u dun wanna give ashlynne "zhong kou wei" hmm.. i guess when its natural flavours should be ok la.. hayden's school's porridge use water to cook, the dump the vege and fish inside, but he hungry also eat.. but the teacher told me that he prefer's my porridge..

someone ask me abt why i give hayden egg rite.. coz his darling Dr Foo say must let him eat egg yolk no allergy then can let him take flu jab. and Dr Foo says that egg yolk is good!! keke

chantalle, u know why the head stink? Hayden also like that.. and the reason is when i feeding him, he will put his fingers in his mouth.. then he will touch his head, dig his neck and pull his ears... so thats why the head smell fishy lor.. even i end up fishy coz he will Koouu his saliva on his hands and touch my face and pull my hair.. keke

Snowger,

putting your baby in the walker isn't bad lar ... it won't impede their walking :p .. I love the walker .. lets them explore on their own and it gives us some free time ... I can finally eat my food in peace and not in a rush. hahaha.

evanmummy,
i've a boi instead, oso big size like evan.
Can I ask what size is evan wearing now? hv u buy 2T before? will it be too big?
p/s: I saw u in last week little gym la~

chantalle,
My bb too. AIyoh, I cannot take the smell myself. Horrible.
My hubby always smells his head and will ask me "he eats fish" whenever Joshua had fish. After his nap, I need to wash his pillow and pillow cases, becos it's so fishy smell.

phy,
how did you start with the egg yolk? serve it plain or mix with something?
I'm thinking to give Joshua but I worry too early.

He had an allergy outbreak 3 weeks ago. Not sure if it's the little biscuit "xiao man tou" becos it contains egg in it.

Snowger,

Once bb knows how to sit can let them sit in walker liao, slowly drag the time inside longer, now Faye can zoom here and there the whole house, except the kitchen. Sometimes she just stop near to the door and kpo outside, c ppl walking pass by etc...

Eating fish:
mommies with experience, u all mean after eating fish, BBs heads will have fishy smell too??? oh no... i intend to start my porridge with fish leh, dat means no good? im following my MIL routine as this is wat my niece started with... if not, can mommies advise wat is the best meat to start with?

Ivy,
when I started, I normally crushed it inside his mouth for him. But now i put the whole thing in and he will bite...with his 4 teeth. so funny when he bite.
he got so much saliva.,,,,it melt very quickly inside his mouth..so i not so worried now..

Phyl:
thanks! but i think Hayden wont like the idea of sharing his fav porridge with another BB! hahaha... think it makes more sense for me to learn how to make nice BB porridge from u... btw, your fish + corn porridge posted very ma fan leh... got to puree, boil and sieve... anything simplier dat i can dump all into the slow cooker? hee.. must understand, i dun cook one leh... ;p

Jlow:
wow... u mean Joshua can melt 1 whole xiao man tou with his saliva? hehe! power sia.. and he got 4 full teeth? hmm.. Kasia oni got 2 miserable half-teeth. think teething is making her uncomfy, she woke up and cry abt 4-5times this mth, after which she cannot sleep in her own cot and has to be pat to sleep on my bed. lucky my HB is doing the nite shift this mth... hahaha...

marcar: Phyl is the wrong person to approach for porridge tips. U duno she part time at the zi zha stall one meh?? hahahaha.. Just kidding la, no offence Phyl, but really applause your hard efforts to make such nurtitional porridge for Hayden.

Hmm Marcar, i also dun cook at all. Mt mum came to my house with a mini cutie slow cooker and gave me a crash course on cooking porridge for my gal. Hmm, the easy method is just to dump the meat into the porridge and let the slow cooker do the job. You only give baby the porridge and not the meat mah. Depends what u wanna use la, if fish then ok, just mash it, they can take.

i damm no mood now..I just went for my medical appt..the specialist want me to go for a day surgery.. what happen, he scan and he saw that my lining is too thick..10mm..he say it should not be that thick as i am still mensing. Worse, i will be put to sleep for that surgery..sian..somemore, my boi roll down the floor last nite..cos my hb was hugging him to sleep..and he nvr take notice and let go..

Chantelle:
thanks for the tip, dat means beside fish (got to mash), we dun give the meat to BB lar, juz only feed the porridge.. dat sound easy ;p

Joc:
oh no.. but the day surgery is for the doc to check the reason of the thick lining or to cure it? if it's to cure it, it's okie gal.. women nowadays alot of small surgery (i had 2 myself for the past 5 years), so bo bian, so long can recover fast after dat sud be okie.

Gerrad okie now? your master bed is the platform type rite? juz take note dat he dun hv any viomitting or lethargic reaction these few days, if nt sud be okie one. think i read many BBs here oso got similar experience... relax and dun be sad okie?

*sayang Gerrad and Joc*

Chantelle
U mean bb cannot take the meat? I cooked pork porridge with carrots porridge last week for Jordan and he loves it leh?

I merely cook the porridge till it's almost done, then dump everything into the blender..the end result is puree-like...

BBPearl, wat u mean by lining is thick? Care to share more? When is the surgery?? Where u doing it? Faintz.. I am having brown discahrge and getting worried too, Haiz.. Hope ur boy is ok now. That is so careless of your hubby.

Eh Rachel: Caaaan.. nvr say cannot.. but I never give the meat to Cayenne lei.

For porkie porridge - Coz I usually just slice the pork and dump into the porridge to cook. I dun blend the porridge in the blender coz I think it will have "wind" and caused the porridge to be watery also. Hmm.. not sure if mincing the meat will help, but guess baby duno how to swallow the meat, so i just give the porridge. I am a lazy mum also. Haaaha..

Ok, i told doc that my mense come in heavily in may and it prolong for a month..and after that it rest 1 week and come back again..then i go see doc Normal, he given me some hormono pills to take 6 weeks, what happen is i miss 1 day and my mense is back..so i go see my company doc to refer me to Dr Douglas Ong ( cos i see him before for some infection). He say my lining is about 10mm thick and it should not be happening as I have bleed for more than 1 month..and he ask me how come my mense come in May when i stop BF early..there maybe a possibility that i have miscarriage.

Carmen..no, not plaform..

Chantelle,
OIC... Scared me...

Oh i had a deja wu abt me typing to u guys asking this: Can i use Japanese scallops to cook porridge? Can bb take scallops now? I hope it adds to the flavor of the porridge and jordan will love it even more!

Bubble_pearl,

Oh my...menses for one whole month? It's definitely very tiring for you.. But dun worry abt the surgery ok? Like what marcher pointed out, as long as you recover fast after that then it's ok...after all, we have all gone thru the labor right? Jiayou!!

haha.. yes.. my corn carrot porridge a bit mafan.. but its very sweet. i cook everything seperately, meaning i will not put the fish in the porridge to cook, i will steam it with ginger seperately then mash it n stir into his porridge when i'm serving.

Carmen.. kasia is always welcomed to have porridge with hayden..

the egg yolk i just throw an egg into the rice cooker when i cook rice for dinner then half for dinner half for next day lunch. (i cook dinner everynite!)

hayden is bo geh.. n he eats xiao man tou.. keke.. very funny coz he will crush it will his gums. the auntie in the shop say can pinch it when u put into their mouths. DO NOT GIVE THEM LAU HONG ones... those dun melt as fast.

jlow, since u suspect got egg allergy then dun give egg first lor.. hayden loves egg yolk!

chantalle, i use my hand held blender to blend 3 times.. eh.. meaning i press 3 times.. so his porridge still got texture.

i'm not going to start hayden on meats yet.. only when he passes 1yr. any of you given toufu? i feel like trying that! =)

bubblepearl
miscarriage? but doc normal see nothing inside ya womb right? and did you 3 months go and see him bo?? then after that 6 months? u got? and why must u go for a OP?? sighz.. you take care. so when is ya surgery?

phy
is better not to give meat within a yr is it?

been lazy to post recently.. keep watching my series. haha anyway. have submit the cups order liao. just waiting for her to quote me. then okai liao.

Sam/Redates,
I am seeing the advantage of walker more n more. And my MIL (who dun noe I bot a walker) commented to my HB that my ger like suddendly can walk very well... *AHAHA*

jlow,
For egg, the allergy is caused mostly by egg white. So the best method of cooking is to hard boil. Then u peel n give only the egg yolk. If u do it the porridge style like in kopitiam, u risk giving the egg white as well...

Phyl,
I wanted to try tofu. then old pple say tofu got the "joi ko". Something that causes the soya to coagulate... So I will wait till she's older bah.

My girl will usually smell like porridge, cos sometimes she will grab the spoon which has porridge the rub her eyes, her hair, grab her ears... And sometimes she will use me as a tissue paper... So I end up having porridge mask too...

Meat to intro:
According to my PD's chart for allergy, the best meat to intro is actually PORK. Chicken has mild allergy risk. Beef and fish both has higher allergy risk.

Chantalle,
So far I still puree the porridge. I dun blend it too long. As long as the porkie inside is not in big bits, I will stop. SO far so good lar...

Rach,
I started cooking porridge using scallops (those big round ones) cos this mummy lazy to cook stock. So the next best method is to use scallop. I will puree the scallop bits so she eat them too.

Dun use too much scallops cos the taste will be overpowering. My ger hated the porridge initially so I had to adjust...

bubble,
Oh dear... U mean u had a misscarriage unknowingly? Is it a D&C type of surgery? Any alternative to surgery? Like taking med to clear the lining asap?

fabbie, i also dunno leh..it may miscarriage but he also cannot be sure cos it has taken to long liao

snowger, the doc say that not really D&C, cos there maybe nothing inside..anyway he has to do this surgery to clear what is block inside..no leh..i also hope there is med to clear the lining, but he say the hormone med dun work for me so i have go for surgery.

Snow,
Thanks hor..It means i did it correctly (unknowingly) by giving Jordan pork lor...

How much porridge is ur gal eating now? How many scallops did u put in?

Do u still have the allergy chart?

i stop giving zach scallops and anchovies alr cos i suspect he is allergic to them as well.
My mom oso ask me to stop giving him porridge with vege stock cos apparently wong bok n celery is not very good to take daily..got 'wind'. So she boil pork, huai shan, wolfberries stock for me to make porridge! Zach loves it and he will take 1.5 bowl..n worse thing is he dun like ot share his food. Even when i say, can mummy eat some, he will go 'eh eh eh' and open his mouth big big to eat..haha

i oso wanna try egg yolk! Supposed to be very good for bb..once they turn 8mths, can take egg yolk liao. I even fed zach with bread..n he loves it as well. The xiao man tou u gals talking abt is the one by Pigeon? he oso like tat one..can eat the whole piece and see him munch like old man with no teeth..hiak hiak hiak

Jes,
If u wan the soup to be more sweet, pork meat is btr. But damn ex and damn wasted to use to cook stock.

My grandma last time use pork ribs to cook in the porridge (but she dun give us the meat). In the alternative, use the big pork bones. But choose those that got a bit of meat attached one... :p

jess, i use pork chop to make the stock. Is Daniell taking solid well now? U can try the stock that my mom made. Zach loves it leh.. she use fresh huai shan which can be bought from the market.
We are abit too much lar, for a 3 litre pot of stock, we use 3 big piece of pork to cook but guarantee the soup turns out nice!

Since Daniell oso got eczema, better dun give scallop or ikan bilis first cos Zach tried and till now his eczema yet to recover..

snow,
u mean 'yao rou'? if yes then ya very wasted lor somemore so ex!

kath,
no, as of today...7mth 3wks 3days old Daniell still taking 100% milk, no way to replace milk with solid at all coz he kept rejecting solid food... been trying to giv him porridge for the past 2 weeks but most of the times he dun wan to eat, or at most he took 2 small spoon only...

i tried using veg stock b4, he dun like... these few days at my mum plc i din cook stock so i juz cook by using pork meat, carrot & potato & he still dun wan to eat... maybe this weekend i will try to make pork stock & see but i guess the chances ofvgetting him to eat also very slim...

however, there is one thing he likes to eat & will always open his mouth wide when everytime i giv it to him... which is BREAD, but this is not baby's main food rite?

haizz... 7 more days he's turning 8mths old already, how can i make him accept his food & eat more??

jes,

some babies are just not keen on baby type food ... just wait till he's bigger then he might go straight for table food ... told u my 3rd girl wasn't all that keen on eating baby food ... Calista isn't into eating baby cereal and pureed food AT ALL too ... I give her those Heinz bottled food meant for 10-15 months old .. like cheesy pasta bolognaise etc. more chunky and closer to our food than baby food.

I JUST gave Calista bread for the first time too .. just now at macs I was having a burger .. she looked so bored and hungry .. i started putting tiny pieces of bun in her mouth .. hahaha. I brought her baby puffs but she din want.

sam,
i was once tempted to buy that heinz cheesy pasta bolognaise to daniell too, looks yummy rite?

anyway i boh chap & already started to giv him a little bit of our table food, hate to prepare all those baby foods then end up throwing in the waste bin... there was one time i went chinese restaurant & i gav him a pc of papaya tat cooked with pork rib soup, surprisingly... he finished all but hor when next day i gav him pureed papaya he dun wan... dunno wat's wrong, maybe it is the chef's problem (which is me)... hahaha!

my boy dunno y started having some red spots on body/hands/legs. it just appear out of nowhere, then disappear, then can come out again. PD says maybe allergy.. but he din eat anythg new!

wat's wrong?? =(

whoa. lots of post todae abt porridge. hehe.

im so tired out now. went to my mummy workplace n took pics. hard to handle my 2 bois during photo shoot. its either kayson sleepy or jayzon refusing to take family pic n juz wana roam abt d whole studio + disturbing kayson. haiz. hope d pics turn out well.

jes, I agree with you totally !! I hate to specially prepare baby food and then end up throwing away. If my baby will CONFIRM eat, then maybe I think about it .. but if not confirm, I dowan to waste my time ... lol.

ya, table food is fine as long as no salt, msg etc.

eh that cheesy pasta bolognaise jar food is nice leh .. I tried it myself .. quite tasty :p ..

bubble...take care!!!must take some "pu"...

porridge: last sat, we bought pork & cook with nini's porridge with the veg stock, after the meat was cook, i use the u-blender & blend, the pork became pork floss!!! then i add some into the porridge to let nini eat...
on sun, she had scallop porridge...

echt, David had those too! His PD said he's got sensitive skin, so his recent bout of fever brought out the rashes. The rashes went away entirely after applying some cream. I was so scared it was formula milk because I started introducing some...

But got rashes, still better to bring to PD for assessment?

Bubblepearl: take care!!