(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

Ya girl80,
lets jiayou together k..

sam,
okie..i will update all after my gynae's appt..not sure if i will be admitted in straight for induction..will try to update all k..

2nd Baby,

U will be having your confinement in Dec, so weather quite cooling. I hardly sweat cause Oct weather still not so hot. My friend who did her confinement in June said it is like hell for her.

Who doing your confinement for you? My mum doing for me. She allow me to shower. Everyday, she will ask me if I want shower. But I trying to tahan so every 2 or 3 days then I shower once. She buy those herb for me to shower. So quite ok.

I hate confinement cause my mum dun allow me eat fruit. I am those who love fruits.

ypg, my confinement two yrs back was in Dec-Jan. Felt so hot still. My mum was doing confinement for me last time and I showered everydy after the 5th day. Of cos, she wil nag and nag. Even after shower, I stil sweat alot!

Cant eat fruits? Come to think of it, I didnt reali take fruits too.

Gerry: thanks for the advise.. will drop the idea of bikini top then.. hehe.. i dun wanna get sagging breasts..

I still haven got a confinement lady yet.. anyone have extra contacts for one? Mine put me aeroplane.. now gotta find new one.. sianz

louisa: my mother is helping out with my confinement but my colleagues used the service from PEM confinement, they actually have a pkg that provides the daily herbs for the confinement mth including the red date tea plus herbs for bathing, maybe you can check them out =)

its like a recycled bag to mi coz its those kind of material u c NTUC selling or Msphosis giving kind. lolx.

lavendery
hav to bring everyting. tink they onli give one short sleve romper, toiletries for mummy, some booklets n samples. veri cheapo in fact. =p

i was juz sitting at the study table finishing my presentation slides and bb is hiccuping away! Hahaha.. I realise everytime i eat sumthing sweet (i juz ate a gummi) or cold, he will get hiccup..haha

Xiao Pooh
actually I dun actually know how does contraction feels like.. for me is my tum very tight and going to 'explode' that kind.. when I told my gynae she put me on CTG machine and it show contraction.

gynae say to be on the safe side ask me to rest for 2 weeks and dun walk too much, dun carry heavy stuff..

ya loh, the MC came so sudden and I so peisey as work is so busy

2nd Baby,

Think you are those heaty body (TCM term) so you tend to feel hot. I am those cooling body. I try to listen to my mum cause start to feel backache liao. I never bedrest in my 1st week so now suffering.

So ladies, try to rest as much as possible during your confinement.

Louisa,

Be extra careful in looking for confinement lady. I heard of too many cases that the confinement lady "bully" the new mothers. I heard that the cost of confinement lady is higher if your confinement is close to Chinese New Year. Check out the market rate 1st with those companies specilised in confinement lady or helper. Good luck in your search.

2nd Baby,

ya it's bathtub if I'm not wrong .. my fren gave birth there a few months back .. in sept i think.

ya iemik0 is rite .. the toiletries bag they give with teh toiletries .. very cheapo products ... u won't use them trust me. In the end, for those of us giving birth in KK, best to bring everything u think you'll need. I'm thinking of bringing my portable dvd player too so can watch at nite ... and if I'm not wrong, according to the wireless @sg website, the only coverage at KK is ont he first floor at the delifrance or foodcourrt ... not in our rooms .. unless u have your own paid mobile broadband plan ...

SIAN .. how to survive 2 nites without internet access???????????

emeraldbride,
Ya, for now we better dont do anything extraordinary. Better be safe than sorry.

Fabbie,
Even as i was typing hor i felt weird. Hope i hadnt scare anyone. jus wanna share what i heard so that we can all be extremely careful with what we are going to for the sake of babies.

kkh bag
When i was there last year, it was the same 'recycle bag' material lor. dont think got zip also. in it has those dont knw what sample lotion la, sample diapers la, a wyeth kkh romper, brochures, a bear etc.. aiYa, i find them all useless la.

During my sister time, she has this vouchers to claim carry bags from NTUC Fairprice, and pack of Fairprice diapers.. all Fairprice items. The Fairprice bag is yellow and green with stripes one.
Then during my time i thot i might be getting vouchers for those also. Who knows, when i went to the office to claim my free gift, i was given a board story book. So disappointing.

jasmine,
really?
that's what my tummy is feeling.. it goes tight for that few seconds and it gets pretty hard..

me seeing gynae tomorrow for routine checkup..

is this your 1st preg?

mine's a second one.. dunno if there's any difference..

sam,
have you started getting this kinda contraction?
is it normal ah?

ikeike..

Wah dun stress her up lah... hahah!!! =) But good news is that breastfeeding babies tend to be leaner... Are u intending to breasfeed for a while?? Good size can already.. Dun wan ur ger to be malnourished either... Eat healthily..

Juz..
My hb got his MBBS already.. that's the basic medical degree u get from NUS.. then after that work as HO then MO until u pass ur post-grad exams lor.. Still alot of blood, sweat and tears to tahan!! haha!!

I very worried about breast milk supply.. All my colleagues who tried to breastfeed said that they dun have enough milk to feed their bb... and in the end they needed to supplement with formula... which of course defeats the purpose of breastfeeding.. I really hope I can exclusively breastfeed bb till 6 months.. Dunno whether can or not... Any experience mom can advise??

dee,

no I've never encountered Braxton hicks for any of my pregnancies including this one .. mine once it happens ... it's the REAL thing .. lol.

Gerry,

you can exclusively breastfeed till baby is 6 months old .. shouldn't be a problem .. my friends and I all did it ... once baby is past 6 months and is taking solids still can continue to breastfeed .. just that the solids will fill him up more ..

you'll feel hungry all the time initially .. just eat healthy and drink loads of water

would like to check.. we are taking 16weeks of ML right. does it include public holidays? Since we are all due in Dec, we will have Xmas, New Year and CNY which adds up to 4days.. will companies deduct still from the ML or they will allow us to have additional 4 days on top of the 16weeks?

sorry if i sound confusing.. hope you understand what i am trying to put across here.

xiaopooh,

girl80,
My sis never chose a gynae but had a senior spec tagged to her througout her 2nd & 3rd tri cos she was having gestational diabetes. You might want to share your concerns about bill size with your gynae and he might still deliver for you. General policy is not to let baby leave hosp till they weigh 2kg and up so your smaller daughter might have a longer stay than the bigger girl.. Just to share (hope i didn't scare you).
But you must be excited. I'm excited for you!!

braxton hicks,
Am really confuse now.
Jo, you also get like a lot of times within an hour rite? Me too.. Loveangel's BH turned out to be real contractions lei..

llig,

ya I don't blame u for getting confused .. worried mah .. u think it's just BH .. then sekali it's not ..? How are WE supposed to know? Even when the real contractions come, I hesitate cos I don't want to rush down to the hospital in case it's not ... lol.

ya, not like KK is a hop, jump skip away ... drive all the way there ...sekali it's just BH and hte nurses give you this "you are paranoid" look .. CHE !!!

sam
can surf from ward. now upgraded liao. hehe. all wards got wireless access. if not, i would hav died of boredom. hehe.

gerry
can bf exclusively. drink more papaya n fish soup or take fenugreek capsules. i bf for 3mths den had to stop as my previous working area not 'veri supportive' la. kinda wasted sia. haiz.

Hi There,

I have a confinement woman avail in DEC, Reason why I am letting her go is simply becoz I am hiring a maid and my mum wants to look after me.
She is real good , Did not even take a deposit when I kiasu book her in April, so now becoz of her niceness i feel i need to do this for her, 28 days @ 2k. call me at 90181896 for more details

iemik0,

you mean at kkh we can just surf from ward.. no need the wireless@sg thingy liao? if so, will definitely be easier.

i remember that before we set up the wireless@sg thingy, my hubby had to bring his laptop to MAC for internet access.

Thereafter i survived my 5 days stay at kkh in the room with wireless@sg. The nurses couldnt stop laughing when they saw 3 laptops in the room. mine, sister's and hubby's.. as if we are there on holiday.

iemiko,

really? so it's free wireless access? no need to log onto the wireless at sg network?

i'm not sure what's nice .. have yet to try ... llig says the brownies are good

Sam +iemik0

Thanks alot!! Good to know that it is possible.. Out of all my frens, I only know 1 who successfully breastfed her 2 kids.. Even my mom didn't breastfeed me.. =)

2nd baby: i went to GP.. she said I strain my tendon.. then gave me this cream which got no effect on me leh.. wanna go tui na but kena rejected by the tcm coz i'm pregnant... haiz

ypg: thanks! will keep that in mind.. =)

kristine: your colleagues got good feedbacks on PEM? I scared they anyhow send one aunty who dunno anything over.. then I sure die... I got no experience with babies at all.. haha can help me find out who what's the name of the confinement lady your colleague used?

hi ladies.. i got the vodaphone thingy so no prob in the ward rite?

wah.. sam.. 10 sprees ah.. i know i'm in one thats same as you.. keke.. and i got one same as spaghetti.. hmm.. i think i have 4 sprees nia..

unfortunately my portable DVD player died on tuesday.. coz i watched the whole of sat, sun and monday.. so i think burnt!!! sad case.. dun think hubby will buy me another one..

i still dunno wat to put in my diaper bag.. still very headache..

Xiao Pooh...my amniotic fluid also low.
Dr say I'm slightly below borderline now...about 7 now...not very usual at 34 weeks. Low amniotic means lower oxygen level for baby, and that is not good. Last visit he told me my placenta is starting to age a little. I asked him if there's anything I can do...drink water, less stress, no coffee...but he said there's nothing I can do. Feel so helpless. *sobs*

On the brighter side, saw baby sticking tongue out and practising his sucking mechanism. So cute.

Then even worse. On my way home from the clinic, encountered this mad bus driver. I wasn't carrying my transit link card, so I paid in cash. The bus driver asked how much I paid, I said a dollar, and told him I'm going two stops down. He went on and said "within Punggol ah?" and looked at me suspiciously. I repeated again two stops down and spent another few minutes convincing him I'm only going two stops down. Finally he ended the conversation with "I'll be looking ah".

Kaoz... I'm 8 months pregnant loh! He make me stand there and convince him that I'm not trying to cheat him of how many cents???!! This is worse than people not giving up their seats for me on public transport can? That crazy driver!

Terrible evening.

Jasmine,
with my #1, they did CTG just to monitor and check if got contraction and i had.. BUT i couldn't recall when.. sigh!
i hope it's not due to me carrying #1.. coz i still do..

anyone still love-making in 3rd tri?

i've been having this pelvic ache since 2nd tri and worsening especially when lying down..

Spaghetti,
ya..guess there's nothing much we can do with the amniotic fluid..but since bb not doin too good inside our tummy..best to deliver them early ya..

Me already prepared for the induction tis sat liao..hee..

Thanks for all the assurance from all mummies here..feel so at ease now..

Jowin,
Go home la. Me hungry too..hoping husband will buy something home cos ate but don't really fancy tonight's dinner.

Spaghetti,
Poor thing..so suai! Such an idiotic bus driver! I hope you scolded him...

Sam,
King's!!!!! When/Where???? Can't view the flyer...

Iemik0,
Must try the double chocolate chip brownies from melvados. To die for!! I always try to make my box last by cutting the pieces into small almost bite-sized but so far, hasn't worked! hahaha..

Gerry,
Me already had one child and STILL clueless about breastfeeding. Really want to be able to BF this time around so i foresee that i'll probably be bugging Sam till she change her email/HP no.. kekeke..

Spaghetti ..

ya lor .. IDIOTIC bus driver ... write a letter of COMPLAINT and make sure you stress that you are heavily pregnant !!

llig,

ya the stupid flyer was more than the 50kb allowed to be attached to my post .. I will email it to you ...

no prob .. u can bug me about breastfeeding anytime ..
glad to be able to help and morally support a fren

dee,

unless your doctor specifically says that you can't .. it should be ok to have sexual relations with your hubby till the day you give birth .. hubby and I are still quite "on" about having sex even though must manouver a bit here and there .. lol ... but if u think about it, AFTER you deliver, at least 4-6 weeks of "no sex" so better have your fun now ... lol.

phyl .. ya the Babymallonline spree .. I only ordered a few items from there .. so heng ah, quite cheap for that one. lol.

I can't help spreeing .. I love stuff from the states too much after living there for 2 years .. their stuff so much better quality and cheaper too at times, especially sale time. The kiddy clothes from Gap, Old Navy and Disney Online ... *sigh* all so nice.