(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

Thks for all yr valuable feedback rgd diapers.

Hmm online order for order is 4pkg @ $15/each seem cheaper than ntuc $17.90 ( saw M & L size) is this pricing.I got this infor from forum mummies.

Not sure NB size pack from Meidi-ya or Isetan supermarket selling how much? Anyone care to share?

Here is the link to order nepia diapers
http://www.nepia.com.sg/english/order/index.html

Snowger: I tried many different things last night -- i poked my hub, i shifted his pillow...i jabbed his ribs & even kicked his leg. HE CONTINUED sleeping!!! Then this morning, he still dare to ask why i kept disturbing him when he was asleep!!! *faints*

Luthadel: Ignore your MIL!!! I'm beginning to get very irritated with mine too...cos my SIL is preg now & she keeps comparing the both of us. Argh.

Ivy: I think Gerry's suggestion of a maxi dress is a good one. I also bought a tube maxi dress to wear for my friend's wedding last month.
The good thing is i can still wear the dress after giving birth....and it's not too expensive. I think if you have flat ballet pumps, wear them cos birkies are too casual for a dinner.

Llig: Oh dear, are you ok?? Rest well & avoid sudden movements if you have giddy spells.

I think wat Sam said is correct...

The drug probably makes ur contractions more intense and faster... and I guess since it is induced... ur body may not be producing enough hormones/chemicals that may help u deal better with the pain... Delayed in communication as I would put it... There must be some sort of signals that will tell ur body before hand that natural contractions are coming... and ur body preps up for it...

Summer: Nepia NB size is selling for about $18++ at Meidi-Ya or Isetan supermarkets. Normally NB diapers are more expensive than the other sizes.

It's cheaper to order online if you can get friends to share cos the minimum is 4 packs. I didn't want to order so many just in case the diapers are not suitable for my boy so i just bought one pack from the supermarket to try. If it works, then i'll order online!

morning all. anyone knows or can help me find out. after 1 month confinement can we go DYE/Highlight/Breach Hair??! Thanks

Pris & LuthAdel
AIya.. Ignore ya MIL ba.. your stage is getting near.. thats why they will worried. and at this stage. you will be more n more sensitive till little things will flare up and stress up. Im having these things too. so stress and exhausted like want to scold everybody lolx

Embride
can open eyes ah? i didnt know leh. lolx. so envy.. now im wondering how my gal looks like

Btw i realise when im walking. once i use my left leg to step on the ground. my below damn pain.. -__- so i always try to walk on my right leg now. =( anyone having swollen legs? I dun have that. But i hope i wont have it! =X

Ivy

Your dr can deliver in TMC?

As far as I know KKH drs dun deliver in private hospitals...best to check with your dr.

of course, if your dr can deliver in TMC and you find TMC cheaper...you should switch .....but you must understand that KKH has the best neo-natal care in the country....

Fabbie: I intend to go highlight my hair ASAP after confinement month! Don't care!!! Cannot stand the ugly roots showing...plus CNY is in late Jan. :p I'm vain...

Fabbie/Loveangel

I also intend to go to highlight my hair after confinement...but as far as i know, we will experience hair loss due to hormonal changes after delivery....dunno if all these treatments will stress out our hair further and cause more hair loss????!!!!!!

Ade, induced labour not painful for me. Maybe I am on epidural so thats the difference.

My hair is also in terrible shape. Wanna rebond and highlite but din dare to take the risk so I guess have to wait mths after delivery.

Tara: If i'm not wrong, the hair loss should be ok. Cos right now, we're losing less hair than we should (thanks to hormones)...so the hair loss that we experience after giving birth is ok.

Hmm, maybe can get some treatments before highlighting?

Phy: I feel like rebonding my hair too...but i think i'll wait...highlight more important! Haha...

Lol gals.. YA.. man. im thinking i need a new hair cut before my gal turn to 1 month. if not everyone will be looking at me so ugly! still need to take photo. I cannot take it lor! and yes.. CNY is near. and 2009 is near too! thats why hope to be a pretty mummy by then! lolx

tara i heard even you even dye or highlight you also will lose your hair wor.. and duno need to wait for how many months then it will stop.

I want to trim.. highlight and dye my hair!! cant wait!! yes..

Juzyounme,

if your doc WANTS to induce, I think nothing you can do. The last time my doc wanted me to be induced cos the last appt I had .. just 2 days before my edd, my bp was high so she decided no point waiting and wanted to induce. I just went along with her idea cos it's safer mah .. for both mother and baby.

Ya la, Luthadel, just ignore the old woman .. I know it's easier said than done but TAHAN!!! you're just nearing the end and probably more iritable when people are annoying u. I get annoyed with strangers easily now too .. I have become those ahbeng drivers on the road, easily irritated and likely to horn and flash people . hahahahaha ... my friends think it's funny cos I'm a pregnant aunty .. driving a family MPV getting all annoyed with other drivers .. hahahaha.

I'm not waiting till I give birth to colour my hair .. I can't tahan already .. there is no medical proof that there is anything wrong with colouring your hair NOW that will harm the baby st this late stage .. I don't want to be in the delivery suite and the nurses thinking I'm 45 !! (I have a lot of white hair) ... so I'm definitely dyeing within this week or next.

Eh, that's just me .. pls don't feel follow my eg if you're not comfortable with it .. lol
I'm just vain.

llig, ya I had what you had years ago .. it was awful. it's an inner ear infection that affects your sense of balance ... it's a terrible feeling. rest mroe ok?

Sam, Gerry & 2nd Baby
Thanks for your comforting words. I'm just up to my neck with her for constantly reminding me that induction is VERY PAINFUL. As if i wanted to be induced!!! For me, it won't be a matter of preference but more for medical reasons. So if my gynae tells me I've to be induced due to low water level or placenta aging etc, for the sake of my bb, I won't have a choice but if really have to be induced, i'll sure opt for Epidural.

I've just reminded my HB today not to tell my MIL after our checkup on Friday if I've to be induced 'cos the last thing I want is to be scared shit on the pain etc by her overly expressive version of PAIN (just imagine a scrunched up face in torture)...ya, thats how she described it....*sigh*

LuthAdel - i don't understand ur MIL, even if more painful, what has it got to do with her? (sorry, i got attitude prob) anyway, epidural can give a "painless" delivery, so i think u can ignore her.

LuthAdel, ya good move not telling her .. no point la .. if she's going to cause u more worry and distress then keep her out of the loop lor.

Ya la, as if we purposely want to be induced!! If it's painful, but it HAS to be done, then have to lor.

Juzyouandme, I think if it has to be done, then have to lor - ex or not. Just hope for the best that your gynae don't ask u to go for an induction lor

ivy, i paid $1.3K yesterday as deposit for gynae's charges. Total gynae's charges is $1.8K. The remaining $500 will be billed by the hospital

For hospital, we only submitted the pre-admission form but upon admission, will need to pay $1.2K as deposit.

There are other charges as well, like paeditrician charges, etc etc all depending on whether urs is an assisted birth or not.

However, it is claimable by Medisave but not the full amt though.

As on what TMC provides, i really not sure but the nurses at my clinic says no need to bring any baby stuff as all will be provided for - bring only if u dun wanna wear the bb clothes provided by the hospital.

Loveangel, yeah, i still go for my facial every 4 weeks but since delivering soon, I hv change it to once every 3 weeks. To me, lying on my back is still ok cos that's how i hv been sleeping at night as well. My baby dun like me sleeping on my side..

Phyl, i also wanna rebond my hair. So UGLY!!!! Sometimes feel so sian that I dun feel like going out cos the hair is so unmanageable.

Juyounme
haha, she is like that lah, like a piece of broken record that loves to repeat over and over again. I feel bad that my HB is feeling shitting now as he realised that he should hv just zipped the information from his mum when we first found out from our gynae 2 wks ago that I may hv to be induced if my water continues to decrease.

But my tolerance is wearing thin.

sam - some pple want to be induced to meet some dates, eg. christmas... anyway, i think induction still better than c-section which i dread a lot. if my gynae said c-section, i will start crying.

Sam: I've read in some websites & books that it's relatively safe to colour your hair after your 1st trimester. You can opt for highlights cos the dyes supposedly do not touch your scalp.

LuthAdel: Don't worry...even if you have to be induced, you're doing your best to ensure the safety of baby Bryan. Ignore your MIL's remarks & overdramatic expressions. Keep us updated ok?

actually when i went to cut my hair at shunji, the stylist also says that rebonding is okay for pregnant lady juz tat some preggy cant stand sitting for 3-4hrs with the chemical smell.

Now my hair is short, wonder can I rebond and will look nice or not..sigh!!! If i noe, i dun wanna cut my hair..sob!!

Ade, dun stress over what ur MIL says..it will cause ur water level to go further..now should not be stress...stay happy, think happy thoughts!

LuthAdel - my hb said when i grow old, i will be a broken record too. but if i'm a MIL, if DIL is going to be induced or c-section, i don't find any reason to make noise.

Luthadel,
Was wondering if ur appt is over liao. All the best for the appt tis Fri! Hope ur dreams of an all-natural birth will come true!
In the meantime, do what I do - ignore ur MIL (esp non-constructive comments on things we dun hv much choice on...)! I stick to my hb like glue n try not to give her so much contact least she keep asking me tis n tat. :p

2nd bb/sam/other mtbs wanting to dye hair:
I read (in several mags) and watched sm online program (where they got a Dr) to ans some common FAQs for preggy. Hair Dye is safe aft 1st trim. Though highlight is more recommended cos less contact with ur scalp.

Fabbie,
I think I oso want to go do hair & facial before my bb's 1st mth! Want to b pretty mama! I personally dun like bleach cos will make hair v v dry lah.

Now when I walk, got a lot of "sensation". Sometimes feel like peeing or like leg suddenly wan to cramp or a bit of pain fr pelvic area. So no choice but to walk even slower. My MIL scared me tat day - say my legs look swollen!

Emeraldbride,
Actually they say that the chemical fumes is bad for baby especially in 1st trim - may kena structure deforms. So 3rd trim, most stuff will be safe liao.

Juzyounme, that's true .. some people have their reasons for wanting to be induced .. but if you don't .. not medically anyway, then it's ok. BUT if gynae wants to .. like for LuthAdel, then no choice ..

Ya, I'm definitely colouring my hair before I give birth .. and going to pluck my eyebrows too .. I don't want ugly pictures of me holding my newborn .. I even put on makeup .. before directing my hubby to take pics ... lol. He says I'm too much .. I say, WHATEVER LOR .. I don't want to have ugly pics ..

lol.

my doc cant deliver in other hospitals...so i am going to change have to change doc also...hmm..since KKH have the best neonatal care...then i think just have to stick with KKH.

so eager...i wanna buy the tickets to philippines now...but my mother still think that it is bad for baby to travel...but the tickets now having promotion...so cheap!!!only total 310 for the 3 of us to travel!!!so tempting....how to convince my mum?

Emeraldbride, my gynae is also Yvonne soong, find her fee of 1.8k a lil on the exp side. Just wondering if we can claim that from medisave or only the hospital bill part? I would most probably have to pay the deposit on my next visit.

Ivy: How old will baby be when you intend to travel? If you're comfy with your gynae, don't have to change hosp...

Sam: I'm bringing makeup to the hosp...i also don't want ugly pictures of me carrying Preston!!! Or maybe i can do weave some photoshop magic! haha...

Snowger: I want to get a facial done too but i can't lie down flat w/o feeling giddy. Sigh...will definitely schedule one in early Jan though! I think that facial session will be painful cos lots of pores will be clogged!!!

sam - just seen the web. let me know when got more. yest hb n me was talking abt what will happen when the kid can crawl, walk n run... and if only 1 of us at home and need to be away from watching the kid (eg. toilet, kitchen, bathrm), then should throw kid somewhere... i don't know how parents do it nowadays. long time ago did see parents build some "fence or barrier" at a space in living rm, etc. have no idea where to get such, so was thinking playpen to dump kid in... don't know if it works that way.

the difference between a playpen and fencing an area .. is that unless your floor is carpeted, it can be dangerous for a crawling baby who may hit her/his head on the floor. The playpen would be padded at the bottom. so yes, a playpen is better idea.

juzyounme,
i'm using a playyard (or perhaps you can call it a fencing area) at home for my #1.. our floor is not carpetted but we use the ABC mat to place on the floor where the playyard is.. so far ok..

we didn't get a playpen coz the inside area can be too small for the child to play around and the bottom isn't even.. eventually they will detest going inside.. no fun anymore..

JMO..

sam - well, my hb said baby usually learn thru hard way. kena head knock on floor or corner then they will behave themselves. even when we send the kid to infant care or babysitter, may not have carpeted area too...

dee - play yard n ABC mat? where to get them n r they x? i don't know how they look like.

sam
Agree with you.. now this stage we easily get annoy.. even in work i also duno why cannot get things done properly.. and keep angry here and there.

Snowger
Yeah.. before bb's 1st month.. must go dye and highlight for me. then meet people 1 month birthday will be better looking... take photo also nice mah hehe.. huh your leg look swollen? Do you think so mah?? if you dun think your leg is swollen dun care abt her lor.. infact some people will say things that we dun like de.. hehe

juzyounme,

The mat is the Alphabet Floor mat.. it's not very expensive to get.. they have different sizes.. depending which one you want.. sometimes there could be mommies who are selling away theirs at WTS area too..

The playyard that i got is from kidzloft.. can even fit 2 adults & a child inside.. so it's very spacious and it's expandable..
actually you can check out their webbie.. they seemed to have quite alot of things for clearance..

Hippo, I cant answer you at this moment cos the nurse actually gave me a detailed calculations, so I need to refer to the paper tonite. I post it up tonite ok?

I do agree Dr. Soong's charges are on the high side, but what to do..alr with her, n i m lazy to find another cheaper alternative.

dee - i know what's ABC mat liao. the play yard of 2 panels cab fit 2 adults n 1 kid? i can't figure out what's 18.5 Square Feet X 26" tall... what is the material? metal? plastic?

juzyounme,
the pix on the web is the original size..
the square feet is the size area of the yard which can be of any shape and the 26" is the height.. i'm 5feet tall and i could go over the yard in and out w/o problem tho it almost reached my thigh..

it's made of plastic but very sturdy.. i was about to buy from another mommy but decided to get a new one coz the price diff isn't that great.. apparently, she had used it for about 4 years and the condition still looks very good.. so, i suppose the material can last pretty long..

Let's all just hope that we dun have to go through c-section... It'll definitely be more costly...

My mom's gynae had to induce her when she was carrying me... Water level low... and then after induction, meconium was released!! So had emergency c-section... Doc's said cannot wait... So yup I was a big trouble for my mom!!! =)Really appreciate what she's gone through for me...

IF doc says must induce for whatever reasons.. then no choice... usually if u have high bp, GD or water level too low, placenta cannot support bb anymore.. then wat to do...

My fren also had to have oxytocin injected into her even though she had a show the previous day... The contractions weren't coming at all...

Just have to trust that ur doc knows what is best for u and bb...

loveangel...bb will be around 2mths old....

those that PM me regarding the free hair cut...i have replied already...please reply back...thanks!!

fabbie, my hb will be taking for us..he bought a digital SLR camera during the last IT show. He's been practising taking photos since..now onie need to buy a good flash then good to go. Can take during or 8 1/2 mth ..