(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

eh.. coz they estimated the bill to be abt 3.8.. so after minus 1.8k medisave, got to upfront pay the balance estimated bill..

well.. if i take B1.. i also gotta pay $1280!! and all these doesnt incl the + + + + + and GST.. also dun incl baby's stay and also Dr's fees!!!!

emeraldbride
you must be very very excited huh! cool. ya. robinson today start sales right?

Pris ah
I yday apply strechmark lotion yday. =X hehe Oh why water retention so weird de.. i still dun understand.. anyway my hospital is TMC.

Phy, dep for TPS so ex ah.

emeraldbride, just called ocbc bank. They have mailed out my card liao so shd be receiving by end this wk. Looking forward to the 25% disc. U mean we still can use the old card to sign for the 25% disc?

phyl...u deposit already?so for A1 ward is $2030!!!my cousin paid deposit $870 for B1 ward...in April...

Tml will be going for my check up...

Phyl..our EDD is around the same right? Irene Chua say she will induce me before she leave,so my bb still can be delivered by her. think should not have problems...you can actually email her, if she is ok then your next appointment can just see her and not Hendricks.

gals,
I went to Robinson centrepoint last month to get some baby stuff. As the big "20% storewide" posters were hanging everywhere, i just happily grab 3 boxes of breastpad, 1 box of milk storage bag, and 1 box of baby detergent, all under pigeon. when i proceeding for payment, the cashier told me that the breastpads n some other pigeon stuffs r not covered under the 20%. I ask her, "Y? i thought it's STOREWIDE???" and she reply, " yes, but not for these items, these pigeon all along no disc.." xian men, feel like cheated men. if those particular item not under storewide, they just put a sign on the shelf right? end up bought them cos i no strength to put them back liao. PIAN ZI!

mum2ndx...i also encountered the same problem! but i just rejected the stuff that does not come with the 20% off and the staff just placed it aside for me..

going for my checkup later during my lunch-time, so afraid of taking my weight now..

Phyl,
I think she was involved in an accident or sthin la..When the nurse first called to re-schedule my appt, she kept apologising sayin unforeseen circumstance... Stitches and rash? Perhaps those are scratch marks.. Nvm, i try to kpo kpo on fri.

CSC no need to queue? Which point?? No one has ever mentioned this to me!

Reddates,
i haven't packed bag yet. 8wks to go but probably gonna come out early. Did make a list though of the things to put into the bag. So if i don't get around to it and end up delivering, husband will just plonk everything on the list
He's quite a pro with the hospital bag after my numerous visits to KK for 1st preg. Even bought me undies etc...

I have a question regarding strollers, i am contemplating on a buying a Quinny Zapp, but i just found out that the Quinny Zapp seat cannot recline at all...so baby will sit about 45 deg angle all the time.... My question is if the baby is more than 1 year old, when they are sleeping on the stroller, would it be better to have a reclined seat? For mommies with experience, hope you can advise if you usually recline the seat for baby (older than 1 year old) when they are sleeping....thanks

errr fabbie and 2ndbaby, the 25% is only valid with vouchers so not sure if currently robinsons having sale or not.. i was thr yesterday, no sale. i also din receive any promotional flyers on them having sale leh..

normal card only entitled to 5% rebate (u can see the rebate when u receive the monthly card statement).

Hi Reddates,
Thank for your info. Employing maids really make me headache. My main concern is that the maid can look after BB after my leave.

Btw can anyone advise what thing muz we bring for the hosp bag

phyl
kkh so ex could be due to d fact tt hb can stay in A1 room wif u w/o additional charges. got small sofa bed.

for tmc n east shore, gotta pay extra (bed n meals). kkh don include meals one. unless u req for relative diet.

btw, kopitiam will be on reno when all of us deliver so left mac n delifrace to eat.

RE: CL RATE

Hi Xuelyn,

I gave a $28 welcome ang pow to my CL when she helped with my boy last Nov. I arrived at this amount as I dont know her style and if i can really tahan for the coming month. So i think to make things pleasant, at least a welcome ang pow but not too much. On her day of arrival, my hubby couldnt make it to fetch her from Tampines (her sister's place in singapore). I had to book a cab for her to fetch her from Tampines to Bukit Batok which we bear the costs. Otherwise, i think it's normal practice to go fetch CL.

Upon completion of her 28days service, i gave her $188 becos i find her good during her 1 month stay with us. My friend whom used her gave her $100. In return, she gave my boy $50 ang pow.

In fact i find her so good that i retained her for 2.5months. couldnt be any longer as it's cny soon. else i will definitely want her to stay to help longer.. and for the final 2 weeks, she said she do it foc (meaning i only need to pay for 2 months service) for me if i dont mind her presence. I guess she was too modest as of course I would love to have her around.

In return for the 2 weeks foc service, i bought her something in equivalent for the 2 weeks cost. Didnt want to 'benefit' from her as she's really nice. she will be doing my confinement for me come this december.

Deposit with KKH (TPS)

I was at TPS last evening and did the paperwork for admission. The nurse whom briefed me told me that there are no changes to any thing except for increase in price. *faint..

I remember paying $1600-$1700 as initial payment for A1 last Nov. This round, the initial payment is $2030 for A1.

And ironically, while government want us to hve more kids, the estimated bill size and initial payment amount gets bigger should we have more than 3 kids.

hi 2ndmum
its like tat at robinson lor.. Must ask abt the pigeon.. not all brands have discount..

Now, i see there wrote big big 20% off ( pigeon) then buy....

hi iemiko
Hope baby can turn..see how the every appointments.

When does we need to go for bi-weekly appointment than monthly now? After 32 weeks?

iemiko.. hehe.. then i eat Mac then hubby eat my food lor.. kekekeekekeke...

i havent pay the deposit yet.. i spend too much money this month liao and today is 16th only... sob sob.. let me go home and read carefully the terms and conditions first..

those delivering in KKH.. its good to take up the package and book the bed... coz according to the officer there.. she says that if i deliver b4 i book.. it will cost more coz everything will be ala carte n not package price.. well.. money money money la...

pigeon and avent sometimes not incl in storewode 20%.. so must ask first if not quite paiseh.. keke..

gill.. unforeseen circumstances.. hmm.. maybe lor.. her neck i see like i also itchy.. then her ear looks scary too.. i tried not to look.. she kept asking me if i have any questions to ask her but i was not very focused.. then when scanning i even forgot to check if my boy's bird is still there or not..

pig07,

ermmmmmm .. eh, how come your initial payment more than mine? MIne is the 4th baby ... A1 too .. my initial payment was $1900 .. ya lor, I kena "penalized" becos I'm having my 4th baby!!

pig07.. u sign liao ah.. the clauses very funny leh..

she was telling me that 2030 does not incl dr's fee- 930 (assc cons) and also baby's nursery fee.. it doesnt incl alot of things lor.. all it incl is the room, bed and delivery room charge.. the delivery room also got a list of things not incl..

must scrutinize the list more b4 can make any decision la.. dun want later bill end up higher than the BB Bonus.. keke

later got talk on enhance marriage n parenthood for my company.. hehe.. they will kena from me if they come up with funnie clauses!!

ya jowinbaby .. I saw my doc at 33 weeks yesterday .. she scheduled the next appt 3 weeks later .. at 36 weeks .. then it'll be every 2 weeks ..

So exciting .. all of us are nearing the end of our pregnancies !!!!

phyl .. no, pig07 is right ... the bill size increases with more kids .. i remember looking at it and asking the nurse "HOW COME AH?" ...

I did the paperwork a month back or so ..

Hi Sam,

from my list, it says 4th child intial payment is $2490 for A1 lei.

I am trying to scan the list. but file seems to big.

Hi phyl,

Ya lor. there was a whole list of breakdown. still got doctor's fee etc la.. Senior con at $977..
then what 8hours use of labour room included in package, thereafter at 0.53cents per minute upto max of 4hours..then there is epi, instrument etc...

Last year i paid like $2.5k cash and $5k medisave for 4-5 days stay normal birth (assisted with forcep) and 16hours labour. i think my bill size will rocket this year.

Hi Sam,

Maybe you still fall under the 'before price increment' date lei. i noticed the file name at foot of the paper says Sept08... Maybe the price increase after Sept? Really !@#$%^&*()_+

iemik0,
u meant the A1 ward in KKH has got sofa bed inside already? Or do I have to specially ask the nurse to prepare for my hb? I have booked for the A1 package..so am thinking it would be nice with a sofa bed in for my hb to sleep while he stay with me..hee

pig07,

Ya, I guess I must have .. I signed up like a month ago ...

HENG AH. I wanted to delay it cos I wanted my hubby to be there .. If I had signed up yesterday ... KENA pay that $590 more !!!

Xiao Pooh, don't have sofa bed there la .. just an arm chair .. I don't recall the arm chair was a sofa bed ... we opted to NOT have hubby stay with me cos we have kids at home so he went back at nite.

Think you must request and pay for that additional adult stay overnite with you. right,
iemik0?

Hi Xiao Pooh,

The sofa bed in the room hor is not so comfy lor. its a arm chair already in the room, then can make it flat like a bed. And it isnt so comfortable. I think our own make shift olden type of canvas bed is more comfortable. hahahaha..

I asked the nurse if this round they had renovated the room boh, she said no. Act the standard of the room is so-so nia.

And i remember that last year, there was once i asked for a spare maternity dress as mine was stained, the nurse can actually tell me they ran out of it and gotta wait.

Oh Ya, must credit them for one thing.
Upon signing up, they gave me an envelope of things. 1 huggies NB, and 1 huggies Small sample diapers..and a free newmom magazine.. and some vouchers and brochures. this are the only things i got his year and not last..
Very 'good' hor?

juz got back from Perfect Mum, how come u gals say their nursing bra is nice ah?? Hahaha, i find them so aunty looking. Nevertheless, it is a necessity, so must buy. Sigh..

Bought 3 pc of day nursing bra (with underwire) and 4 pc of night nursing bra (without underwire). Don't understand y must buy so many but since it is all promotion package, juz buy lar..spend $230 on bra alone..siao!

Pig07, yr CL is reali nice. Still give yr boy ang bao.

emeraldbride, the one i bot is half cup one, material also soft soft. Nice design leh.

Hi 2nd Baby,

Me was initially thinking if becos she saw tat i gave her $188 hence she returned a token? Then i realised tat $188 was like not 'extraordinary alot' during then. So probably its her practise bah.

xiao pooh
its like a arm chair den can open up to make it into a bed. hehe. all A1 bed got d arm chair inside. no need to ask nurse one. don hav to pay extra as well.

sam
no additional charges if hb stay wif u. my hb stay 1wk wif mi. hehe.

Regarding CL

Xuelyn: My CL told me i have to pay for her taxi fare from de checkpoint to my place. I think it's reasonable...and it's considered good luck to give a welcome ang-bao to your CL.

Luthadel: Good luck and keep us posted about Bryan! I hope your gynae doesn't have to induce too.

snowger,
I don't have pic anywhere, no blog. Will PM you my pic. Paiseh to upload my pic here..keke..
will try to spot you this Saturday!!

Hmm...KKH so ex? I rem paying about $600+ cash for deposit with I was admitted to TMC in 2005 for 2 bedder(Auto upgrade) Then when discharge I din top up any $, all by medisave but of coz they deduct my $450 prenatal medisave claim. So ttl $$ abt $1100+

Xuelyn!
My bb's weight is about the same as urs at 27 weeks 2 days (1004grms). So no worries lah, as long as bb is healthy being petite is ok.
Me quite small size lah so if bb too big oso not too good!

2nd baby,
I also received e 25% disc Robinson mailer. Was supe excited until i read the "fine prints" (cap purchase at $200 and excludes cosmetic n electronics purchase - i.e. medela pump will be excluded I guess). Hv to charge ur purchase to e new card Feel the $200 max purchase is a bit low lor...

Reddates,
Ur CL so good? Might as well let her bcom ur full time stay in maid (but a bit pricey la). Haha... :p

Luthadel,
U got tell Bryan to be kuai kuai? Hope u dun need to induce too!

Tonnies,
Paiseyh, me just enabled PM!(been putting it off lah)... :p hehe u can try again?

Jowin,
ur place so good. just recently me kena climb stairs leh for fire drill, walk up a long long steep slope n stand for 15 minutes! I rather be "fire-proof"... *hehe*

Fire-proof? me the 'fire officer' at my place so got the easiest job...arrow people to do things, activate the alarm and take timings. hehe..

I'm running out of clothes to wear

Tried to convince husband to take leave to go shopping today but haiz....he can only offer me fri evening. Sien..

Jowin & Snowger
mine also just have fire drill recently. preg lady not fire-proof somemore I am the Asst Fire Warden.

preg still have to run for life mah. haa...ha

jo, u so cute..preggers are fire-proof!!! kekeke

Snowger, Medela pump is not considered electronics bah..hahaha. I tink electronics should be electrical goods like rice cooker, airpot, etc etc..those type. Pumps are always placed at Kids section, so shuld not be considered electronics!! I will argue it tat way :p

$200 is too low? or you mean too high? Actually i have a $50 voucher as well but also with minimum spending of $200.. it is the same with 25% disc lar. If anyone wants the $50 voucher, let me know.

oh, thanks iemik0 ... I din noe that ... anyway, hubby can't stay with me or else my girls at home will be worried if both mummy and daddy don't come home .. sigh.

winnie,
Me oso bo bian got to "run" away from fire. Actually my colleagues told me to go downstairs (i.e. take lift) before the fire drill start. :p

emeraldbride,
Medela PIS is damn ex leh (about $500 to $600)... The spending is cap at $200 so if u buy stuff abv $200 (reads: no 25% disc?). Knowing Robinson's pattern, they would categorise those (even the avent steriliser, etc) as electronics. You going soon? Mayb can help me ask...

I am Oct 08 mum. Just gave birth to my BB gal on 8 Oct. Feel like sharing my experience with you all.

Actually I dun think it is necessary for HB to stay with you after birth since most of the time you spend sleeping in the night time and he will be with you during daytime. My HB got his own business so actually he still busy working when I am staying at the ward after delivery. I dun feel his absence as I am sleeping most of the time. I feel A1 very expensive to pay just to have your hubby staying with you. But of course I know it is great to have their support during this period of time.

My HB was with me throughout the 12 hours delivery I have. I am glad he is there. When I am sent to the ward, I feel upset he is leaving but I am too tired and sleep instantly. The next day, my mum told me my HB very tired. Then I realise that he is also very exhausted by the delivery also and I am glad he can have his rest at the comfort of our home instead of sleeping at the hospital.

Also for A1 patients, u got to pay more if your BB need special care, like my daughter. Though at KKH, they will help you to downgrade your BB class if there is such need. I dunno about other hospitals. But downgrading is subjected to term and conditions. I can onli downgrade to B2 class, cant get C class.

Hence, I would suggest B1 class (4 bedded) is good enough. Now BB is borned, lot of expenses to consider so better think thrice. Ladies, I am just speaking from my experience. Hope I din offence any1. Paiseh if I do so.