(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

2nd Baby & Emeraldbride
I got the orange sofa bed from Ikea too. Will be using that for my CL and after that will serve as a chair for feeding baby etc

Red Raspberry Leaf Tea
I've been drinking that since 2nd Trimester. During this stage it actually helps to strengthen the uterus. Closer to delivery, it will help with the contraction.

Do get the organic Red Raspberry Leaf Tea if possible.
There is a shop in Tanglin Mall that sell this organic tea. Located at the new wing behind Mothers at work boutique on level 1.

yup...yesterday also back ache...after work went home straight and was lying down on bed to rest....
Luthadel..how much is the raspberry leaf tea?

Luthadel,
How much the Tanglin Mall shop selling the tea? Yesterday i bought from MIM, 50g for $5.40... totally have no feel on whats the market price...

Mimi,
I was told to start drinking 1 cup a day now... only when nearer EDD then increase to 3 cups...

Aching back - Kept waking up last nite coz sleep until left side pain. Then very diff to turn around coz tummy getting bigger. Even getting up from bed also becoming diff liao... can't imagine how life will be like at 30+ wks..

oh, then got go to go buy the raspberry tea this weekend.

i also wake up a few times at nite, go toilet and trying to find a good position to sleep, keep tossing left and right...

Anyone here drink "Shi San Tai Bao"? I've started to drink liao, once a mth till delivery.

2ndbb,
Can give me the contact as well of your massage lady?

Morning everyone.. such a gd weather to zzzz.

Reddates, I am experiencing pelvic pain whenever I get up from bed. Have Pm u the contact.

Adel, do u find that the tummy will become a little crampy after drinking the raspberry tea? i tried once and my bb seems more active suddenly and felt some cramps.

Then I read some articles online that states that its better to start drinking at around 34 weeks. Dunno whether its ok to start now.

morning all. haiz.. duno why today getting a heart burn. so hard to breathe! i was in the mrt. trying to breathe very very hard. sighz. and i can feel my body like steaming. till my head till wana faint. sighz. but thank god i reach to my god safetly.

hope will be better later..

reddates
thanx =)

ivy
at kkh, usually we feed babies wif pre-mixed formula milk tt is supplied tt mth by agent. every mth different brand. d glass bottle u can bring back. juz inform d nurse there. unless u wan feed baby another formula den they will use normal milk bottles which u cant bring home.

iemik0,
Can i check whether does the nurse warm up the pre-mix milk before offering to the baby? if not the milk will be cold right? But mine is Mount A so dunno all hospital practise this?

Hi iemik0,

I'm currently in my 6mths. Next Mon morning, i'll be having for my usual check-up at KKH at Clinic B. Up till now, i only received the sms telling me to go to Clinic B. How come there's no sms telling me to go to ADC for the usual ultra-scan? Do u have any idea?

reddates - i managed to get a spray dry shampoo at Guardian yest about $14.90. I asked the pharmacy assistant, she like never heard before... in the end happened that one of promoter for the particular brand of products was happy to show me her powder & spray version of dry shampoo. btw, how much do i need to spray? Let me know the brand u bought... and what's "Shi San Tai Bao" for?

pastillies - why cannot massage legs? my lower legs n feet also aching... ok, i won't let her touch my tummy.

iemik0 - u buy one bottle of dry shampoo & try on ur hair 1st lor... ;P

AdelChia - i still don't feel secure to drink at this stage, coz UK studies show that supposed to drink 6-8weeks before due date, or else may get pre-term baby...

LuthAdel - wah, it's a task for me to go tanglin mall. how much it costs? anywhere else to buy from?

lavendery....ADC is for the detail scanning...other then that..all scans will be done in the clinic right? i always have my normal scanning in TPS. you have a fixed gynae?

juzyounme..how much is your prenatal massage at where?

mumslove!!
When is your next appt with Dr Koh? mine 8th. the day he comes back form holiday. abt the milk, I din check wif them las time. can we request them to warm up? drinking cold milk, ai yo so poor thing...

lavendery, the gynae needs to give u a request form for you to do a ultrasound at ADC ... have u done your detailed scan yet? It's usually done before 24 weeks .. around 20-22 weeks I think.

If you've already done your detailed scan at ADC, then that's it .. no more scans I think until the gynae wants u to have another one.

That's why I prefer The Private Suite .. the scanning machine is in the gynae's office and she can scan each time you visit ...

I woke up with leg cramp this morning.. sianz.. but good alarm clock la.

rain rain pls go away...

TPS each gynae has a scan machine, but ADC has the better, clearer ones.. hehe..

i havent even seen moon cakes yet!!!!!

i only went to ADC for my detail scan...the rest of the scanning always at TPS-my gynae's room.

the clinic doesn't have the machine?they dont scan you everytime you visit?

Red Raspberry Leaf Tea
You are not supposed to drink more than 1 cup per day when you're not in the last league. After that you can drink 2 cups per day.

So far the taste is very pleasant and nicer than many other tea that i've tried
I dun hv the price not but will let you know after i check tonight

yup. phyl is rite .. the scanning machine at ADC is obviously a "better" one ... compared to the one in the gynae's office in the TPS .. but u only get to do the scan at ADC for the detailed scan ..

I'm also craving for mooncakes ...

at least u woke up with leg cramps .. i woke up with a bad headache and sore throat and slight running nose ... tink I'm fallin ill ...

*Sob*

Iemik0 - then most probably i will get the disposable sheet cos i'm not sure if GlenE will give. I dun wan to stain the mattress!

Mimi - I can't remember wat's the price of the disposable sheet. :p

I realise of late i've been burping after every meal.. hated it.. dun tell me it's heartburn?

ooo.. sam.. take care ya.. go see a doc.. if not your will feel more miserable..

Its not reallie craving.. its the need to have quality mooncake this time of the year.. hehe.. but very sweet.. so i cannot eat also.. sob sob..

echo...yup have to tell the nurses. but normally they will ask you if you want bf/bf&formula/formula...this is part of the birth plan...you can set a birth plan...

i have been getting heart burn also.....eat small meals...it helps..

Adelchia: How did you find the class with MIM? Useful?

Luthadel: I can't seem to read your blog. Is it restricted access now? Can't see anything except for the sidebars & main headings...

Phy: How? Have you settled on your gynae?

2nd baby: Thanks! I got the contact of your massage lady.

I'm going on the Flyer later! FOC for teachers this week...and 25% off for your other guests.

2ndbb,

Thanks , rec'd the contact.

Juzyounme,

Great that u got the spray type. I've remember the price per can is less than $10, normally I spray alternate day. Dunno whether the price increases anot.

"Shi San tai bao" is "An Tai" tonic, good for bb and mummy, so tat can have easier birth and general health for mummy after the birth. For my first born, I drank from the 4th mth onwards, this time round later at 6th mth. Can feel that after drinking , u will feel "lighter" my backache oso lessen liao.

Loveangel,

I went to the flyer last Sun oso, well, very slow, but for the experience. My son loves it.

Loveangel,
Yah, found the session at MIM qte good. Pat (the teacher) will tell you the pros and cons of the various things to take note of. At least now i can make an informed decision on how i wan my labour to be like. And dun feel so blur now. For example, i din know can request for bb to stay w u thru-out your hospital stay. I was still wondering how to bf if the bb is in the nursery, was so worried tt the nurses give him formula to keep him quiet.

But the class was qte rush, coz Pat was trying to cover as much as she could within the 3 hrs. Good thing is 1-on-1, so can ask questions. I'll also be sending her more questions via email and asking her to see if my birthplan is ok...

I personally felt its $$ well spend. =)

iemik0/Jasmine- i saw the glass bottles before when i visited a fren who delivered at KKH. just wondering why need the glass bottles for? meant to re-use at home? apart from glass bottles, the caps & teats also can bring bk?

2nd baby...i still have not received the contact of your massage lady...

adelchia...you set your birthplan already??
not sure how to set one...care to share?

Ivy,
Haven't do birthplan yet ... just went for class yesterday, not so fast work =) Most prob will work on it this weekend, scared the longer i wait, the more i forget what i learnt... yesterday was info overload...

Think my birthplan will be qte simple, just a list of Do's and Don'ts.

Ivy - the massage lady will come my house. from newspaper ad. $50 for a session. i don't dare to recommend until i try her or perhaps also try 2ndbaby's contact then make a comparision.

lavendery - eh, i see my gynae at KK clinic at AMK and the mini scan machine is inside Dr's room. i don't expect myself to go ADC again...

reddates - but i think i got the K brand dry shampoo which u said not v gd eh... maybe i should spray some on my hair and see how... but on the other hand, i haven't convinced myself not to wash hair yet coz i'm v used to washing daily. "Shi San tai bao" buy from chinese medical hall? how to consume it? pills, liquid, or brew? and how much?

thanks phyl .. so tiring being ill ..

yeah, echo .. u need to let the nurses know you want to bf your baby exclusively then they won't feed your baby formula .. I usually have my baby in my room after they bathe her .. then she's in my room for the whole stay I'm there ... I change her diaper and bf her as and when .. it's a bit leceh if you keep sending her back to the nursery ... they have to keep wheeling her in and out ... and of course, the baby will cry and they might not have the time to pick her up when she's in the nursery .. so though it's tiring, I prefer my baby with me all the time ... they only took her away when they had to for tests, injection etc.

Of course, some moms are really too tired so they send their baby to the nursery .. esp if the baby is on formula .. then anyone can feed, mah ..

It's an individual thing

kristalangel did you prepare a birth plan?? do you have a sample?

anyone knows what is the taste of "Si San Tai Bao"??

You know .. I never had to prepare a birth plan .. my gynae and I are on the same page when it comes to epidural (no for me) and episiotomy (also no for me) .. and I just let the nurses know that I want to breastfeed exclusively and that I want her straight in my room after they've cleaned/bathed her .. and that's it.

You can do a search on Yahoo! for sample birth plans and make adjustements to the samples ..
hth

Ivy - I submitted my birthplan to my gynae at 20 weeks. He said my birthplan like no birthplan, their usual practice like that.

Below is mine...

Birth Plan

During Labor

1) Do you prefer to ambulate or do you wish to be confined to a bed?
- No idea.

2) Do you prefer an intravenous drip, intravenous access, or none at all?
- Dr’s decision.

3) Do you prefer to wear your own clothing?
- No.

4) Do you prefer to be able to have some drinks and small snacks during labor?
- try not to. If necessary, to be minimum.

5) Do you prefer to listen to music?
- No.

6) Do you prefer to use the birth pool or have a shower?
- have a shower.

7) Do you prefer pain relief or do you want to avoid them?
- pain relief. Epidural.

8) Do you have any preferences for which pain medications you want?
- No.

9) Would you prefer a certain position in which to give birth – semi-sitting/standing/kneeling?
- No standing or kneeling.

10) Would you prefer an episotomy? Or are there certain measures to avoid one?
- try not to, unless going to have multiple or big tear.

11) If you need a cesarean section, do you have any special requests?
- try not to. If necessary, pfannenstiel skin incision (bikini line)

After delivery

12) Would you like your partner to cut the cord?
- Yes.

13) Would you like to claim the placenta?
- No.

14) Would you like to store the cord blood?
- Go to Public Cord Blood Banking.

15) Would you like to hold onto the baby immediately after giving birth?
- No.

16) Would you like to breast feed immediately?
- After back in ward.

Juzyounme,

I'm not very sure abt the K brand, not me who says is not very good :p

Mimi/Juzyounme,

I bought my Shi san tai bao at Chinese med shop, $10/pkt, drink once a mth. Herbal taste, not very nice 1, but for bb and my sake, I just drink. Have to brew it using those brew medicine clap pot.

Glass btls:
TMC do provide , I got a few btls of milk from them when discharge, they will give one. The teats not reusable, can buy ur own teat.

Mat:
I brought back the mat,not used one from hospital as well, but did not used it coz my flow not heavy at all. Since it's charge, might as well bring back