(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

2nd baby - i have contacted your massage lady. Her rates seem different from what you posted. Seems that all living expenses on the rise. Her prenatal massage is $45. Post natal package 7 days $370 & 10 days $510. She said she can teach me how to massage baby when born.

Reddates, i heard 'shi san tai bao' very bitter, Is it true?

Anyone have good suggestions (eg food intake, massage etc) for good milk supply after birth. i am having problem with my milk supply after my 1st birth.. ended up i oni BF for 2 weeks... so quilty...

singapore hospitals you can choose to have music??
what they can provide??anyone give birth at KKH before??what can we request during our labour?

lilee,

To me is slight bitter taste, just wait for it to cool down abit, gulp down, tat's it

To increase BM:
Ppl says can take fenugreek, kinda herb. For me take more 5 grains oatmilk drink and fish soup and really have to pump and pump.

Ivy,
Depends on which hospital. MAH has a CD player in there. So I'll bring my own CDs. Will bring food and drink also in case long labour (can't imagine going w/o food for 10+ hrs). If you need special stuff like gym balls to position during labour or aromotheraphy, most prob have to bring yourself...

Ivy - i got this birthplan from the book published by KKH Drs. Music? Just bring your portable MP3 player with speakers? ;P

have anyone seen the guide book published by kkh?

last time i saw it once at ESSO petrol kiosk..the book was damaged so i didnt buy...now cant find it in any book stores...

Ivy
I saw it at Toa Payoh popular..

Hi mummies / mummies-to-be

I have the following items up for sale...

1) 2 pkts of disposable maternity panties
2) Palmer Stretch mark cream
3) Palmer Nursing cream
4) 3 pcs Pyjamas dress (easy for breastfeeding)

Please email me at [email protected] for details...

anybody know preggy can do accupuncture or not har? my hand numb numb leh.. xian.. feel like going to "tong yi tong" the "jing mai". hahah

Date: 4th Oct 08
Venue: Swensons
Timing: Lunch
1. Snowger (2 pax)
2. LuthAdel(2 pax)
3. iemik0 (2 + 1 pax)
4. Meilik (2+1 pax)
5. Phyl
6. bubblepearl
7. Jowinbaby
8. Loveangel/Pris
9. Mimi
10. Ikeike/Christine
11. emeraldbride (2pax)
12. Ivy
13. Carmen (2pax)

Jazlyn, u reallie cannot make it again ah.. have a short lunchie with us lor.. well ladies, pls continue adding your names.. date wise lets do it based on majority can?

Ivy, u dun accept PM so cant PM u leh.

Jusyounme, the rates are correct. 5 days and 7 days rate.

Reddates, me also took fenugreek. But din dare to take daily cos scared of side effects. So ended up waste bottle and threw away. I took oatmilk and papaya fish soup to increase supply. The most effective method for me is to pump and pump and pump. 8 times a day. My life was all abt pumping since then. Haha.

lilee ..

u must just latch on whenever your baby wants. Even at nite, don pump, just latch on .. it's a demand/supply thing .. the more you breastfeed, the more you'll produce ... if baby is not awake to bf after 2 hours, I try to express manually to relieve any engorgement and also to fool my body into thinking that milk is being drunk so that it won't reduce production the next time ..

some people supplement with formula at nite ... personally, I think it's a bad idea UNLESS you also get up to pump every 2 hours .. if not, definitely your milk production will drop if u dont pump/bf the whole nite.

Went to chinatown to cc look look, lanterns not tat fantastic. Went OG though, 20% off for alot of bb things. Bought 1 box Pigeon Breast pad @$11.90, 2 Pigeon pacifier, 20 % off, Medela 15% off, Avent oso 20% off.

Kristalangel: Yep, i also heard you must latch on your baby frequently. I read the Gina Ford bb book and she recommends latching on bb every 3 hours to stimulate your milk production.

2nd baby: I didn't go on the flyer today in the end. My friend's son was scared! In the end, went to Centrepoint & bought some stuff from Robinsons & Mothercare. :p

Mommies, just to share...i bought these from Mothercare today --
~ Maternity pads (with wings): 12 for $6
~ Breast pads (pink box): 100 for $18
~ Avent: 20% discount

At Robinsons (Centrepoint) --
~ NUK glass bottles (3 sizes): $79 for a pack
~ Impressions disposable undies (cotton material): $4 per pack of 5, + 10% discount

Have a great weekend ahead!

Reddates: The pigeon breast pads are expensive at OG! I bought a box at the AMK neighbourhood bb shop.. a box of 36+6 pads for $7.90!!!

Loveangel,

Wah, lucky only buy 1 box. This AMK bb shop sell alot of cheap bb stuffs? If yes, let me noe I will go to c.

Date: 4th Oct 08
Venue: Swensons
Timing: Lunch
1. Snowger (2 pax)
2. LuthAdel(2 pax)
3. iemik0 (2 + 1 pax)
4. Meilik (2+1 pax)
5. Phyl
6. bubblepearl
7. Jowinbaby
8. Loveangel/Pris
9. Mimi
10. Ikeike/Christine
11. emeraldbride (2pax)
12. Ivy
13. Carmen (2pax)
14. Meredith (2pax)

Count me in
My gynae did not tell me to submit birth plan leh. Is it that every gynae will ask us to submit the birthplan?

Btw anyone giving birth at Gleneagles?

Ivy: I'm not from TPS category, though i'm also a private patient with KKH as i wanted fixed gynae. Initially I was very confused about TPS and Private Patient. Later i was told TPS was more expensive therefore hubby did not want me to upgrade to TPS, although i heard its a few dollars difference only -_-!!

kristalangel and juzyounme: As i belong to Clinic B, my gynae consultation room did not have the scanning machine. She only had a patient bed and a machine (something like a speaker) to hear the baby heart beat, but she will only use it unless u have complications or any discomfort. Everytime i visited her, its just purely a very short consultation (~5mins) only.

I had my Detail scan done 1mth ago (Aug) at ADC.

Everyone seemed to know their baby's weight during Detail scaning. But when i asked my gynae whats was my baby weight during my Detail Scan review with her, my gynae said they did not do such test in KKH cos its inaccurate as the baby was still inside our stomach.

She mentioned weight should only be measured after the baby was born out. I was quite dissapointed though with the reply. Its just human's nature, when people know their baby's weight, i would also naturally like to know mine also, esp this is my first time pregnant

And now, there's seems no more scanning subsequently till birth? I wonder how will the gynae know when my baby head will start turning down when there's no more subsequent scanning?? Feel like changing to TPS, but i'm already 6mth+ now, seems too late le

Lavendery - Have u checked ur detailed scan report if there's any indication of ur bb's estimated weight? There shld be another detailed scan to be done in our 3rd trimester. I was told by my gynae that i'll hv to go for another detailed scan fr 32 weeks onwards. This is to determine the bb's position etc. Btw, i feel u shld ask if u can change to TPS. Who knows if u r able to change now? No harm asking right? ;)

The Spray dry shampoo brand tat I used b4 is "Batiste" cost $7.50/can. The cover in green col and the "body" very light green.

Birthplan:
My gynae did not asked me anything abt it and I did not asked him as well. Guess mine is C-section, thus not relevant bah.

mummies, can i ask you, what is receiving blanket used for? If we buy hooded towel already, do we still need to buy receiving blanket?
Thanks i'm rather stupid, see the blanket also don't know what's that used for.ha ha..

Birthplan:
I think this is a guide for you to discuss with your gynae how you want your birth process to be like. i.e. to strike a common understanding between patient and gynae.

Meredith, my gynae oso nvr ask me leh. I will ask him during my nxt appt.
During tat appt they will oso be collecting deposit fr me for either the hospital bed or the gynae. *wallet bleed liaos*

loveangel, the maternity pad with wings u bought from mothercare is slim type? i went PS and see yesterday, think they have slim type with wings, slim type will leak or not?

jus went for my check up this morning, my boy is 860grams as at 24w6d, heart beat is 148bpm. gynae say it's normal. oh ya, my weight is down by 1kg.

mum2ndx
we juz serve room temp milk. no warming up of d milk one.

lavendery
usually go ADC for detailed scanning onli. if juz normal routine check-up, juz go to d usual clinic can le. i usually c my dr at TPS. waiting time at clinic B is a killer. hehe. who's ur gynae? mine is dr kt tan. she oso din tell mi baby wt. usually 7 mths onwards den she will inform mi when she measure head circumference. =)

lavendery, i also dunno my bb's weight until today.. my gynae say after 3rd trimester then she measure the tummy.. i just roll my eyes at her lor.. coz i know all the mummies here know also mah..

when i did the detailed scan the sonographer tell me not impt to see how many fingers baby have.. i was like.. Zzzzzz...

well, no sad la.. change to TPS is only see dr faster nia.. TPS is EX but ok lor..i dun like to wait ma.. so that extra little bit still ok la..

Sian..this morning went to collect playpen+mattress which i purchase online..who knows bring home liao..the playpen cannot be open properly..lucky the seller already to refund back to us cos she also nvr open and use before..now v tired after trying to fixed that playpen..think we are gog to get a new playpen from dept..and can be easily assemble..after learning from this lesson..

Lucky another purchase of the confinement bath herbs is a successful one..

Btw, ladies..my hb just gotten the Civil Service card for me..what is the use of it?

I have 2 BNIB Pigeon items for sale:
- Newborn starter kit (pic)
- Wide-necked bottles (twin pack) with Peristaltic Nipple (pic)

They were given when I bought the Pigeon steriliser package from the Taka baby fair, but I have no use for them. Selling both together for $30. Anyone interested? Pls PM me.

Bubblepearl: The civil service means you go see private GP/clinics, there's a rebate. If you go to polyclinic, the rebate amount even more.

Phy: It's true that the weight is just an estimate so don't worry too much about it ok? My gynae said it's not an important indicator.

Mimi: I don't know if mine is slim or not. There're 2 types of maternity pads available at Mothercare. One is in a grey box & that's clearly stated SLIM with wings. I bought the wing ones in the pink & white plastic packaging. Don't think it's slim type.

Reddates: Where to get this Batiste brand of dry shampoo?

Just now, my hub & i went to AMK Hub NTUC to buy the Toyogo 5-tier drawers. It cost us $82.90 & my poor hub had to carry it all the way home. Haha...luckily only a short distance to walk.

Pris: oh...how abt delivery in KKH? Now then he give me the card..after we sign package with private gyna..if got rebate in KKH, i will choose there liao..

Hi Lavendry,

i am a KKH TPS patient. With JOhn Tee for my last and current pregnancy. I find TPS 'cheaper' (based on my last year's comparison with my friend whom saw her gynae at the specialist clinic) as they provide U/S every time we go for checkup vs paying separately for U/S at the specialist clinic or by sonographer. Plus the U/S is performed by my gynae. My gynae will either measure the length of baby at initial stage, and weigth at the later stage till the final week before i deliver.

i pay like $80plus every checkup which already includes the routine urine and bp test. My gynae is a senior consultant and i see him in the evening whereby charges will be slightly higher.

The only thing about seeeing gynae at TPS is that we can only select A1(single bedded) or B1 ward (4 bedded). If you wanted a fix gynae and already have the intention to take either of the ward, then you should be fine. Its not late to switch to TPS

pig07 is right, lavendery ... KKH doesn't have antenatal packages anyway so you're paying per visit .. as long as you already seeing the same gynae each time u visit, and you intend to stay in A1 ward (I dunno about B1) .. then just change to TPS. You should still be able to see the same gynae and at least you can see your baby each time u visit .. the wait is more comfortable anyway .. and environment is much nicer then Clinic B ...

just my opinion

Rasberry Leaf Tea:
Gals, I asked teacher at class today. She told all her students not to take the tea at all. Not even during last trimester. This is because you may end up bleeding more than usual...

birthplan:
Hmm..maybe should ask my gynae abt it.
Curious. What to do with the placenta when we request to keep? Is it to bake it and eat it?
I scared I see it too disgusting to eat it.

Hi Snowger,
Yah ..pay and pay..Remember to keep the receipt so that can claim back from the medisave maternity package after birth.

Hi Fong,
Any idea what will they provide for us at Gleneagles? Like do we need to bring baby blanket, cap, baby clothes and if their patient wear is breastfeeding friendly hehe. Planning what i should buy for the hospital bag keke.

morning ladies

bright sunny dae todae. hehe. wana go shopping for make-up stuff. lolx. how r u ladies gettin on wif ur pregnancy? =)

loveangel, i will go mothercare and take a look again cos i remember i saw there are 2 types. 1 is the normal thickness but without wings. the other one is slim type but with wings. went to supermarket and see kotex maternity pads, 1 is adhesive, the other 1 is loop. my friend advise me to get the adhesive ones but that is only 28cm and without wings. there is another brand, think it's soft, which is 40.5cm with wings, dun know is it soft or not.

snowger, cannot drink the tea har? wat abt other fruit tea?

Meredith - I'm a first time mum-to-be. So i hv no idea what Gleneagles will provide and wat to bring. I only know it's best to bring ur own pyjamas those with button in front. For me, i won't be buying any bag, so long as the bag is big enuff for me to stuff all the things inside will do. :p

Loveangel,

I bought the spray shampoo at a chinese medical shop in Bukit Panjang.

2ndbb,

My son dun 1 2 latch on , so tat time, I was pumping and pumping, have to wake up 2 times during the nite to pump, if not the engorgement very pain. I only bf for a mth, coz during the bb shower I did not pump at all and funny my milk just "gone" like tat, no pain or wat. Hope that I can bf longer this time round.

Hi Meredith/mimi,
I asked specifically abt the Raspberry Leaf Tea cos it's known to help in shorter n smoother delivery. No mention that Raspberry fruit can't eat.

During class there was mention to be careful about the amount and type of herbal tea that we take during pregnancy. (I found e same advice on various websites. This is bcos there are few conclusive test being conducted on the effect of herbal teas on pregnancy.)

No mention of fruit tea leh...

Reddates, my gal prefers to drink expressed milk fr bottle as whenever she latches on, she wil fall asleep. I bf for a yr.