(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

I try my best to sleep on the left side but it always leave me with shoulder ache by the end of the next day..very tired!

I had such bad dream last nite..dreamt that I was bleeding and I din realise it and then one aunty push me down and drag me to the toilet to show me.. :'(

My baby also toss and turn most of the time during night time, usually in the morning, he will curl on the left side of my tummy - u can actually feel the tummy portruding out. I alr feel that he can hear me talking to him..so cute!!

phyl, how come ur doc dun give u calcium tablets, so weird one.. U need calcium so that baby's bone can grow stronger. It also helps to replenish the calcium absorbed by the baby fr mommy. so what vits did ur doc give u?

Hello...is the tangs bazaar good for us preggy to shop?

Feel so sleepy and tired today...but cant leave the office...

Does every office have HL?

Sleep on tummy: this morning dunno how come i was sleeping on tummy and when i wake up..tummy feel funny..like tight tight...think my bb got numb due to that sleeping posture..better dun try that again..

Calcium: I also dun have tablets for calcuim from my gyna..but i do take extra nowsdays..when i see my admin staff broke her tooth...even though she took a lot of calcium.

Just finish my postnatal sessions with malay heritage jamu massage after 2 mth b4 my edd lookout for massage ladies till my few office fren who've use their service comments is gd. Yes I really enjoy my sessions everyday and lots of advise and tips I learnt. As a 1st time mums, I think we should have experience massage lady to help us with advise and care that we need to know during our confinement. visit their website malayheritagejamumassage.blogspot.com for their promotion offer.

Thanks, Reddates and LuthAdel.

Feel better after reading your reply.

By the way does anyone knows the maternity shop in Toa Payoh which sells quite cheap maternity clothings? Whats the name of the shop?

bur.. im 25 weeks le.. and its really abit tiring. tummy getting bigger. cannot sleep properly liao. T___T

winnie but they say left side is better leh. so i keep trying very hard to sleep there. but damn so aching de. and really hard to sleep =S

emeraldbride same lor.. left side always ache here and there. wah. cannot take it. pengz. i did dreamt before i bleed alot. haha i think we think too much liao. ah.. so cute he could hear u.. mine i duno leh. i didnt talk much to her. cus i feel that she understand what im talking meh?! lolx

fabbie, i tink baby may not understand but at least he can recognise the voice mah..It is juz like before I go to bed, I will say good nite, hubby will kiss him, morning will say good morning. Whatever I am doing I will tell him. Even what happen in the office, i will also tell him during shower time..hahaha. When applying stretch mark cream, will tell him too "mummy massaging tummy so that mummy will not get stretch mark..baby can also relax, etc.." hehe

yawn. juz waki from my nap. hehe. feel so pig. now feeling much beta n can go walk walk awhile. hehe.

for mummies intenging to use pigeon breast pads, amk has a shop opp d polyclinic selling it real cheap. forgot if i bought it for $7 or $8 per box. it sells baby clothes as well. those 4 for $10 baby wear. hehe. i bought those for my boi to wear at home coz veri comfy and airy. good for our weather.

bubblepearl, any idea which part of bedok central is carrano located? can pop by afta i pick my boi up. mil staying in bedok. hehe.

Hi all, went for my scan ytd, me now at week 24 .. but my gyane told me most probably i have to be on Caesarean cos my placenta is still very low.. =( sadded..

Anyone taking similac mum milk powder? Ytd, I tried the first time, din like the taste. Anyone wants? Jus opened ytd.

Any of u ladies started swimming or have been swimming? Me cant find maternity swimwear leh. So ex too. Prego brand costs $150-$160 fr maternity exchange. Ytd went taka, dun have the right size, costs $129.

2ndbaby, that time i try to give away my enfamama also no takers.. in the end i gave it to my grandma.. she says it taste much much better compared to her anmum for old people..

Phy, yr granny so cute. She drinks ah.

I prefer anmum milk powder when mixed with the choc flavour. Vomitted out after drinking a few sips of Similac mum milk powder.

emeraldbride, i told my gynae i dun want DHA and Obimin.. she din say she wanted to give me calcium pills though.. i was so happy i saw my baby's bird bird that i forgot to ask for fybogel thing..

2ndbaby, eh.. she like can liao lor.. i see the can of powder also wanna vomit liao! hehe..

Shirley, did your gynae say your placenta might still move up or confirm c-sect liao?

Jolynash & iemik0:

dunno which part leh..that time i buy my clothings from TPY, the plastic bag have print those places leh..i think bugis also have..

I'm having a very itchy throat for the past 2 days.. how I wish I can put my fingers in and scratch!!! almost coughing my lungs out already..

Anyone knows of a good and effective medicine to take?

the loz from GP are so useless.. after awhile itch again.. so irritating...

phyl, u din take dha or calcium, then whr did ur bb get his source of nutrients leh?? dha is for the baby's brain development which is impt fr 2nd tri onwards.. calcium is for bones, etc.. nottie lar u!! U dun like to eat also must eat ah, for the sake of ur bb.. ;)

fabbie,
i sleep at all position one.. Not really to the left. I like to sleep on my back when i on my bed cos i sleep on waterbed so no pressure on my backbone. But for my boy bed i need to turn to either side cos my back will be pain.

went for my detail scan yesterday. Everything went well and bb very cooperative and the scanwas done within 20mins.

Mine cofirm is a boy and he weighs 354g at 20wks 4 days.

My sotong hubby ask me a question after the scan. How come the baby is 354 so big? I thought our 1st boy born only 2.87kg? I laugh at him and tell him that the baby is now 345g and not 3.54kg. If now 3.54kg how am i gg to give birth.. Such a sotong 2nd time father..haha

i m so so so so busy these few days until work late at nite.. even after reached home..

No time to post..N super super angry with the designer. Hell he goes. Angry until my face all red n HOT

Can anyone advise me, wat time does the bugis shop close?

THanks

Phyl.. I also never take calcium pills.. gynae never give leh.. u never take dha and multi-vits? wah.. then your meals must really be good wor.. no need the supplements liaoz.. haha

Congrats Jappooh on your baby boy =)

2nd Baby, isit the original flavour? If it is, I dun mind to take over
Swimming ah? I'm thinking of it too!! Been feeling so lazy no exercise for the last 5mths!!! Can we wear bikini? Last time I can barely fill up the top 2 triangles, now I can alas!!! Hahaha.... How? wud u wear bikini to swim? Then dun hv to fan abt maternity swimwear hehehe.....

emerald your hubby damn cute lar. kiss your tummy when say good morning?! my tummy dun even do that. he only rub and hear my tummy didn't kiss before lolx. he only kiss me in the morning whether he go work and sometimes will rub my tummy and say "gerger daddy going to work le" thats all. Maybe i should try to my baby ger ba. lolx cus i feel so werid talking alone. I think i only sad then i say mummy so sad............. =X

Jappooh so shiok! waterbed sia!! and congrats having a baby boy!

fabbie,
ya teh waterbed is my favourite place to rest now.. I find that i have better sleep after having the waterbed..hee..

emeraldbride, louisa.. my darling son likes french fries. hehe.. i dun like to take pills ma.. 1 got 2 boxes of DHA still sitting in my fridge and 2 bottles of Obimin too.. see la..

Shirley, my placenta also low. last time i saw gynae was detailed scan at 20wks.. so next time i see her is 24wks.. if your gynae say need miracle.. then i hope i get a miracle lor.. someone once told me that have to bed rest to let placenta move up

Santorini,
Ya I agree it's quite ma fan. Will ur confinement lady refund u the levy u pay to MOM?

2nd baby/Phyl,
Similac called me the other day to ask me to buy the newly introduced mother-milk. They even gave me discount coupons. Looks like I will stick to my Annmum.

ikeike, Wonder if the Philips sale will hv cheap deals for steriliser/etc. Or should I get from Taka fair??? *Aiyo aiyo*

Calcium:
I didn't ask my gynae abt calcium. But bcos I take tea every morning, decided to start taking Caltrate 600 calcium supplements (just in case). I oso hate BIG pills but for the sake of baby n my future (bones), btr take xtra.

Sleeping on left side:
Heh, I feel breathless sleeping on my right. So aft sleeping on right a few mins, I will flip to e left again. If I lie flat, my head must b supported high high!

PRIME MINISTER'S NATIONAL DAY MESSAGE 2008

My fellow Singaporeans,

We celebrate National Day this year in a somewhat guarded mood. The last twelve months have been a period of economic uncertainty worldwide. Considering the external challenges, Singapore’s economic results are good. For the first half of the year, growth was 4.5%. For the whole year, we expect growth to be between 4 and 5%. We added 144,000 jobs in the first half, and unemployment remains low, at 2.3%.

EXTERNAL CHALLENGES

2 The US economy is still facing serious problems. The housing crisis is adding further stress to its financial system. US consumers are spending less, and that is affecting the whole global economy. The difficulties will probably drag on well into next year before getting better.

3 Singapore’s economy has so far been partly buffered, because we have been carried along by the vibrancy of the Asian region. But Asian economies are starting to feel the impact of America’s problems, and so are we. We must therefore prepare ourselves for a bumpy year ahead.

4 In Southeast Asia, ASEAN has become less prominent on the radar screen of investors, who are more focussed on opportunities in China and India. Several ASEAN countries are pre-occupied with domestic economic and political problems. However, all ASEAN countries know that we must work together resolutely as a group. Singapore will do our part. But we must also maintain our reputation in a turbulent region as an economy that is competitive, a society that is cohesive, and a government that is honest and competent.

5 Against this backdrop we have the problem of inflation, which I am sure is at the top of your minds. We are paying more for the food we eat, the electricity we use, the fuel for our cars, taxis and buses, and many other things too. We cannot prevent these prices from going up, when prices are rising worldwide, and we import all our energy and food. But we are lightening the burden on Singaporeans, through the Growth Dividends, U-Save, Workfare, Medifund and ComCare. These measures are aimed especially at the poor, the elderly, and the sick, but middle-income Singaporeans are getting something too, to help tide over this period.

6 Some government policies do raise the cost of living, like the GST and ERP increases. But they are essential; otherwise we would not do them: the GST allows us to finance Workfare and other schemes to help lower-income Singaporeans over the long term, and the ERP keeps our roads free flowing. Also please remember that the Government has given GST rebates and road tax reductions, which more than offset the cost increases for most citizens, especially the poor.

7 I know that Singaporeans wish that prices did not have to rise, or that these policies were not necessary. Unfortunately this is not possible. But we are doing the next best thing: to put in place effective relief measures, and provide the poor and needy with the help they need.

BUILDING FOR THE LONG-TERM

8 We must look beyond immediate problems like the cost of living, to understand what is happening in the world around us, discover new opportunities and tackle our longer-term challenges. Then we will strengthen ourselves and be more ready to deal with future crises. In particular, we need to develop our economy, reproduce our population and keep evolving our system to stay abreast of the changing world.

9 To achieve our aspirations, we must develop and grow. Unless we can create wealth, we will not have the resources to do anything else. Because we have pushed hard over the last few years when conditions were favourable, we can now look forward to many major projects: the Formula One Grand Prix, the integrated resorts, and huge manufacturing investments like the world’s largest solar cell plant. These projects will create many good jobs, and keep our momentum up despite the uncertainties ahead.

10 To upgrade our economy, we must invest in our people, especially through education. We are improving our polytechnics and ITEs, where most of our students go. We are also expanding university places. The Government has approved plans for a new publicly-funded university. Its campus will be in Changi, with good bus and train access from around the island. It will admit its first intake in 2011. This new university will open up more opportunities for Singaporeans to develop themselves and to advance.

11 To secure our long-term future, we also need enough babies to replace ourselves. Year by year, fewer Singaporeans are getting married, and those who do are having fewer children. We have implemented one measure after another over the years, but we have not succeeded in reversing the trend.

12 We have to take this very seriously. Marriage and parenthood are personal decisions. But we can create an environment where Singaporeans see them as a natural and important part of life, and where young couples get support in starting families. We have looked at this comprehensively and will take further steps to address the practical problems which couples face. I hope more Singaporeans will find fulfilment in bringing up children and setting up a happy family. Let us make Singapore a good home where citizens lead full, meaningful lives, and experience the joys of bringing up a new generation.

13 This new generation will grow up in a digital world. The Internet is transforming societies and economies everywhere. It will change the way we work, learn and live our lives. We must adapt ourselves to it, and use it to educate and engage our cyber-citizens. We will evolve our policies and rules, our economy and society, to take full advantage. We will continue to open up our system progressively. This is the right way to go. But we must also be careful to avoid the dangers that lurk in cyberspace, and learn to protect ourselves from them.

14 All these are long-term issues. Not many countries tackle such issues well. Sometimes, the politics forces the government to focus on fire-fighting, and ignore what happens after the next election. In other countries, “money politics” corrupts the whole system. Singapore is unique in having a clean and stable, responsible and responsive government. We have avoided the political turbulence that has engulfed several countries around us. We have not had strident protests from minority communities who feel unfairly treated. Nor have we had unruly demonstrations for all kinds of reasons real or imagined. Instead we choose leaders on merit, build trust between leaders and the people, and work together for the good of all Singaporeans. This is how Singapore has outperformed other countries.

15 As we open up, we must preserve these strengths. Please understand that all freedoms come with responsibilities to uphold social stability and security. Then Singapore will stay attractive to investors, our economy will keep growing, and we can continue achieving the best for our nation.

CONCLUSION

16 Despite the uncertainties in our region, and in the world economy, Singapore is in a strong position. In good times and bad, we have stayed united, looked over the horizon, and moved carefully but resolutely forward.

17 On this anniversary of our independence, let us take pride in our achievements, tackle the challenges together and continue to build an even better and more vibrant Singapore.

18 I wish all Singaporeans a Happy National Day.

no lar..this is not the national day rally. This is his national day message..

Rally is this Sunday.. not sure what is the time though. But he will be speaking in 3 languages.hehe

My dear girls,
that is the message so suppose to be short short one lah.

MediaCorp to broadcast PM Lee's Nat'l Day Rally Speech "live" this Sunday
By May Wong, Channel NewsAsia

SINGAPORE: MediaCorp will broadcast Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong's National Day Rally Speech "live" on August 17 from 6.45pm.

Mr Lee will deliver the first part of his speech in Malay, followed by Mandarin. His two-hour long speech in English will begin at 8pm.

Mr Lee's speech will be broadcast in four official languages on MediaCorp's TV and radio stations.

For the English version, you can watch Channel 5, TVMobile and Channel NewsAsia or tune in to 938LIVE.

Channel 8 and U and MediaCorp Radio's Capital 95.8FM will carry the speech in Mandarin. Those interested to catch the speech in Malay and Tamil can tune in to Suria and Warna 92.4FM or Vasantham Central and Oli 96.8FM.

The Prime Minister's National Day Rally speech will also be available online at www.channelnewsasia.com/nationalday after it has been delivered.

Highlights of the speech will be telecast on Channel 5 at 10pm on August 23, Channel 8 at 10.35pm on August 21, Suria at 10.30pm on August 21 and 7pm on August 22 on Vasantham Central.

rally is saturaday.. starts 6.45pm

christine, fabbie, adel, jowin and whoever i missed out... i decided to give up talking on MSN liao.. keep hanging!! hehe.. have fun!

welcome lilee...

Snowger

I dont know if i can get the levy back from my CL.
Are you getting yours back from your CL?

I calculate already CL's pay plus levy plus 2 ang paos...exceed $2k already....

phyl ... wa .. you can sleep covered up like that in a non air-con room? I think I'll die of heat stroke. Actually, I have never been able to sleep with teh fan blowing at me ... it causes my legs to hurt ... pregnant or not.

reddates .. ya, every nite, I'll eat something .. or I try to sleep earlier before the hunger pangs strike .. cos once it's strikes, HAVE to eat or else can't sleep ..

I just got back from tcc Centrepoint after having lunch and jalan jalan with my friend who's also preggers ... so shiok walk around window shopping on a weekday afternoon .. met her at 11.15am, came home by 3pm then lay down with my youngest girl on the bed who was napping ...

orh.. sunday ah.. good good.. sat i got wedding dinner.. me wanna know what goodies ah gong wanna give daddies to make more babies.. hehe

sam.. i'm very lucky to have an unblocked unit with a large piece of land that i hope the gahmen wont develop. The wind is so strong that i can literally freeze sitting in the living room watching TV.. thats why we hide under the blankie everynite..

ooo.. today no mood to work at all coz not enuff sleep + too much nonsense work + hormones + leg pain!!! it would have been so nice if i was window shopping!! sam.. envy envy...

hehehe ... that's nice! save money on air con !!

ya, it's one of the perks of being a SAHM ... can meet frens for lunch or tea and window shop. even if later on, you have ONE baby, can still lug around .. just that for me, a bit hard to bring my whole gang along ... so they stay at home if I arrange to meet my frens for tea etc. If I'm not meeting anyone, then I bring my kids and maid to jalan jalan and eat lunch outside ...

My hubby so farnee ... sms-ed me and asked me how come I'm not bringing everyone along (he's worried I'm meeting some guy outside ... HAHAHAHA) told my maid that sir is weird ... which giy would want to have an affair with a PREGNANT woman??!!!!!!

hahahahahahahah

phyl ah gong give daddies more goodies ah? not for us also mah?

Sam yah.. my hubbie also crazy one also. still think that people like me. i already say im so fat. nobody wants also lar! haha they are like that ba. hehe

fabbie/sam,
When hb get suspicious, it means they find u extremely attractive (preggy or not)! My hb dun say one leh. Always me suspecting him! During my first trim, I even dreamt him at home with the "other" woman. :'(

Emeraldbride,
Talking abt dreams hor. Did I share tat I dreamt abt bleeding heavily? To make things worse, I had this dream one nite aft e "other woman" dream. *double sob* I did tell my hb abt e "other woman" dream but not e bleeding one (cos I think he will freak out more than me).

haiyo ... snowger .. no la .. not all men will express their suspicion ... some just more trusting la .. like your hubby ... secure in your love for him.

fabbie ... hahaha .. so I'm not the only one !! At least your hubby got good reason .. you're still YOUNG and this is your 1st baby ... Me, I'm like 34 and this is my FOURTH baby leh ... which GUY would want to take on another guy's FOUR kids? Nobody wants la ... haiyo ...

Phyl, last time Bio class, teacher said drink too much water before bed can cause cramps at night leh. U drink a lot of water before sleeping? I sit up in bed after showering every night and prop my legs up with pillows. No cramps, no varicose veins so far leh. But my legs very thick now, like pig trotters

I told my hubby, hopefully Saturday rally will give hubbies more paternal leave, like one month! Then he can stay at home and help with baby too. He looked so shocked "how can I take one month off work???" I also looked very shocked "Then why u think it is ok for me to take 3 months off???"

Yeah...Philips sale!! I want to go see the baby monitor! Dunno if have or not.

Recently we implemented the "no cat on bed" policy at home. Slowly adjusting the cat to staying in certain areas. My cat is currently very angry with me. *Sad*