(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

lavendery,
S26 milk powder is in spore for many many yrs already. My hubby use to take that milk powder (according to my MIL). Cos last time my MIL ask me why i didnt give my boy S26 milk powder cos at her time it is the most popular (brand) milk powder and most kids on this milk powder is fat and chubby.

Sam - i still got lots of things yet to buy and also clueless what i should get. at least i can recall i need to get:
- the thing to suck baby's nose mucus
- container w puff to powder baby
- milk powder container
- syroform bag to put 1 or 2 milk & keep warm in
- bag which can pack diapers, milk bottles, clothes to bring along to babysitter or outing.
- baby sarong sling
- play mat
- toys & music to hang at baby cot or for playing
- very good condition play mat
- bibs
- big safety pins to clip cloth diapers
- v good condition cot mattress, cot sheet, etc... (but i don't know the size yet coz still haven't received the hand-me-down)
- potty
- plastic seat that can put on the floor to let baby sit up
- thermometer

what other things you may want to sell? understand u stay at woodlands, i stay at marsiling. if you are holding a garage sale, i can drop over.

Ohh S26 so popular and branded ah? Err keke, maybe becos they never advertised on TV, thats why i don't know about this brand.

Juzyounme: Yups, i just called in to ask for the free bath thermometer. They also ask for your particulars like when is your EDD, how many kids, home add (cos they need to send u by post).

juzyoume, welcome ^____^

some of the things no need to buy.. like play mat or erm.. some stuffs ba.. u can wait for your baby 1 month people will give you dde.. ehhehe

Anyone whoever used Petit Terraillon Products please let me know is it good anot. cus im thinking to buy. thanks.

Hi Juzyonme
Potty, plastic seat, play mat can wait...
If you are fully on breast feeding, no need syroform bag for milk to keep warm...

As for bag which can pack diaper etc.. just find a nice bigger bag that you have now

infact, other things such as bath tub, anti bath slip mat, nappy cream, nappy wipes are the things that you may need for 1st month

lavendery - i just called to ask for the free thermometer. thanks for contact.

fabbie - hmm. i kind of unsure what will be given. i see how, won't purposely buy them 1st hand, if got cheap and good 2nd hand i will consider. but seems that the relatives will give ang bao...

juzyounme, i tink for now, u need only the necessity.. since most baby will be breastfed, u dun need to buy the milk container first.

U buy:
1. Napkins (more economical only let ur bb use diapers at nite)
2. Safety pins
3. Napkin liner
4. nappy cream
5. Bath tub and other baby bath necessity (u can buy top to toe type of wash)
6. Baby cot, mattress, bedsheet
7. Baby clothes (buy those buttons or ribbon type) - go to the one in Bugis. To maximise ur dollar worth, purchase bigger size so that baby can wear till at least 6mths..u noe how fast baby grow, esp boys..
8. Baby bottles
9. Big pot - to boil herbs for u to bathe during confinement
10. Pot to boil ur baby bottle - tink u not buying steriliser rite?

U hv msn?? Add us in lar..then we can share more..

juzyouandme, yeah i live in woodlands ... no, I'm not having a garage sale
just that I have ALOT of baby stuff that I think I can get rid off .. you having a boy or girl? boy right? I will start taking pics and will put them up on my website or something and you can have a look ... won't be aiming to earn money la .. just to clear so prob selling cheap ... hopefully someone can use. will get right on it this weekend ... will let u know

juzyounme, write in ya blog your wishlist can le. Sometimes relatives will give you vochuers. Yup same as me! i would buy 2nd hand hahah. My boss saw my bloggie told me WHY YOU GO AND PLAY THE PLAYPEN! i say cheap mah. 40 Bucks! he say Let our company buy for u mah! Lolx. he so funny sia. hahah just post what you have buy and wanted to buy then they will know what to give u too! heehehe

emeraldbirde thanks for the list! hehehe i shall get some of it on weekends! =)

Sam you got what 2nd hand stuffs? post and let us see lor. hehe

yes yes, fabbie .. i will start to do that this weekend ... must go take everything out ... I have too many la ... my maid also got headache trying to find space to keep. poor thing.

jowinbaby, work is like that one lah. Some people really one kind...think the world of themselves just because they are paying money. We must stay zen and calm. Today got into an unpleasant argument with a colleague over some work. Later overheard her good friend saying "maybe she will have difficult delivery". Wah the mouth so poisonous. Sure got retribution one. I zen. Dun degrade myself to her bitchy level.

Spag, wow yr colleague reali has a bad mouth. Very mean of her.

I jus called my CL to cfrm again in case she took up any assignment. Worried that she will play me out.

I also called my CL to confirm liao.. she say juz call her on the day I admit to hospital then she will buy bus ticket to SG.. She never mention abt WP leh.. i tink nowadays govt will give 30days entry to SG leh, so no need to apply for permit one lar..

Hi spaghetti
Tats is bad.. so poison mouth.... haiz...
Ya.. wat to do.. work is like tat.. i must learn to relax.. if not my poor baby suffer with mummy

Morning.. so tired.. my ger yday keep kicking me till i cant even sleep -____- i felt like a electric shock like that at my tummy, always the sudden kick and the kicks were more n more stronger. ahhh like that how to sleep. faints..

spaghetti you should scold the person or do a obvious bang behind them letting them know that u heard and its so rude of them. I think they will feel peiseh if they know u heard them. Must do that so they will be scare of u de. But really they are too much lar! cus they didn't know meh? pregnant woman get affected easily de..

Hey fabbie...my little girl also keeps kicking me alot. It's really getting stronger...funny thing when my hubby touch the stomach she becomes shy and doesn't kick hahaha...wat a naughty girl :p

Spaghetti, no need to reason out with those kind of unreasonable and unsympathetic people. They will have their own retributions somehow.

I guess perhaps they are not pregnant before, hence they do not share the same level of sensitivity as we do. Not worth at all making yourself blood-boiled becos of such people.

emeraldbride - regards to the list of stuff...

since most baby will be breastfed, u dun need to buy the milk container first. - don't know eh, just worried if no breast milk, still have formula milk.

1. Napkins (more economical only let ur bb use diapers at nite) - my husband's cousin is offering to pass us 2 pack of cloth napkins, so won't buy this. btw, how to fold cloth napkins? ;P i only roughly know, but can't remember well...

2. Safety pins - ya, this one i will buy

3. Napkin liner - huh, what's that?

4. nappy cream - ya, will buy.

5. Bath tub and other baby bath necessity (u can buy top to toe type of wash) - bath tub got a donated one, which my husband was unhappy w quality. soap, shampoo, lotion, baby towel (thinking of using cheaper brands than J&J, any suggestion?). need to get more bath towel.

6. Baby cot, mattress, bedsheet - someone will donate baby cot, mattress & bedsheet will wait for babycot to arrive, want to do some measuring.

7. Baby clothes (buy those buttons or ribbon type) - go to the one in Bugis. To maximise ur dollar worth, purchase bigger size so that baby can wear till at least 6mths..u noe how fast baby grow, esp boys.. - actually i don't know how fast boys will grow. ;P but no worries about clothes at moment, i got some passed downs & my in-laws bought some.

8. Baby bottles - bought a box of 3 Avent 4oz bottles which comes with new born teats & additional 1 mth old teats. bought cleaning brush too.

9. Big pot - to boil herbs for u to bathe during confinement - ah, need to boil eh... cannot use same pot used for cooking right?

10. Pot to boil ur baby bottle - tink u not buying steriliser rite? - i'm getting a 2nd hand tollyjoy sterilizer at $40, which can fit 6 bottles, caps, teats. i think should do the job?

U hv msn?? Add us in lar..then we can share more.. - ya, my msn is [email protected]. anyone here are welcome to add me in? pls let me know who you are.

Sam - yes, boy. ok, you post, we see.

fabbie - the problem is my blog got no visitor. there's only 1 faithful reader. :`( post also only 1 pax will know. even my husband doesn't bother to visit my blog. honestly, i will tell all who wants to give to contribute $$$ to baby welfare fund. well, i'm more concern to offset hospital bills, CL pay, buffet, full mth gifts.

Spaghetti - i don't get into any dispute, also out of nowhere hear some unpleasant stuff from my boss' mother on my baby.

Phyl,
Yes, can only tell through scan. But generally, if your gynae never order bed rest, then should still be ok. Just don't exert yourself. Oh, if you husband rides bike, make sure you don't pillon anymore also ok.

2ndbaby,
Yup, my massage lady is malay (she has 9 kids but is still so small sized!) She massaged me before when back/leg ache.. felt very good.

Sam,
since this is your last preg, pamper yourself la..Go for the massage.

Lavendry,
Every time after my massage, i would have alot alot of lochia expelled from body. Massage helps to expedite the clearing of all the unwanted stuff plus push womb back to correct position and helps to kinda flatten tummy faster.

Fabbie,
i added you. Me.. [email protected]

Jusyounme,
I have the thing to suck mucus out of baby nose. Used once or twice only. I'm also clearing up all my baby barang2 cos flat too small. But think you wait for Sam's list of things first. Not worth it to meet up for just one item..me work around yishun,stay toapayoh

Juzyounme, a nappy liner is like a piece of liner to put on top of your nappy cloth... good that when baby poo poo, can remove with the liner quickly & help to keep skin dry

Yesterday went Taka BabyFair. Bought quite a couple of items. Already spent $102.60 just on these items. Still got lots of items not yet buy.

1) 2x Pigeon PPSU milk bottles (150ml)
2) 2x Pigeon PPSU milk bottles (240ml)
3) 1x Pigeon Peristaltic Nipple (S)
4) 1x Pigeon Peristaltic Nipple (M)
5) 2x Pigeon Disposable Breast Pad
6) Pigeon Baby Wipes (82 x 3 wipes)
7) Anakku air-filled cotsheet

Sam,
What was the username of the person organising the BP for quinny? (i spied you there!) Wanted to get a jogger-stroller but thread closed liao and i can't seem to find it anywhere now..

hello ladies!
mi back from my checkup todae. dr given mi 4 daes of hl to rest at home n one big fat injection of hydroxyprogestrone. hurts alot sia. din expect it to be so painful. nearly burst out in tears but lucky did not coz i in uniform. veri pai seh. hehe.

fabbie, sam, llig n juzyounme
added u ladies to msn. hehe. others can add mi at [email protected] =)

milk powder:
S26 is a veri popular brand when i was a baby. grew up drinking tt formula. babies guranteed to be chubby n cute. lolx.

maid:
need help from mummies wif maid. wat questions to ask d maid when interviewing them? gonna start source for a maid soon. need extra help at home b4 my hubby collapse from doing all d chores. hehe.

Good morning gals !!! Yes, I am UP !!! Woke up at 10.30 today .. so tired .. the whole week I have to get up early to drive my 2nd girl to school ... Even Sundays, we get up super early for church .. so Sats are the ONLY day to wake up late

Yes, Llig, I am seriously thinking about the massage thing .. but so ex leh .. and my body doesn't really hurt or feel that tired after giving birth .. Of course, initially I am tired .. but recover quite ok leh .. so I am reluctant to pay for massages ... lol .. I'd rather BUY things .. hahahaha ..

Ya la, you spied me on that stroller BP .. I have so many strollers ok?! Still can BUY some more ... my hubby is going to KILL me .. I have to hide the new ones liao ...

THe lady organizing the BP has closed it already dear .. she's not accepting anymore orders .. think they've already ordered the stuff with their supplier ...

Anyway, if the BP is successful, I'm definitely getting rid of my infant car seat which comes with the base .. it's a Graco I think .. and my MacLaren Quest stroller .. which is in very good condition considering I drive everywhere so my strollers don't get it too rough ... I am also selling 2 baby mobiles ... errrr .. I have 2 steam strellizers ... one big one and one small one ... one of those Kiddopotamos zip around blankets .. and numerous other things ... still haven't finished taking everything out ...

I've been a silent reader n I'd like to join in to learn more from the experience mum here

it's my first bb: boy
EDD: 10 dec
Gynea Dr kek @ Mt E

iemik0,

even if you give them an EXTENSIVE interview, there is really no guarantee .. I suggest u get your maid asap so you can start training her now ... or if she is bad, then change ... cos once you deliver you will be too frazzled and tired to do it ... initially.

I got mine when I was pregnant with my 3rd daughter ... (yes, before that I was doing everything on my own ... sigh) ... and luckily she turned out to be a gem and has been with me since ... more than 2 years now .. THANK GOODNESS. Very rare indeed to get a good maid first time trying I'm told by friends.

She is going back on her home trip for 2 weeks in Sept .. I WILL DIE LOR. Pregnant with 3 kids and 2 dogs ...

sigh

iemik0,
Okie! I added you to my blog list. Come read.. www.llig.blogspot.com
Where you working? Me also a uniformed personnel.

Maid,
- Find out if any experience taking care of kids. If yes, how old and what she did for the kid.. Bathe the kid? Prepare meals, etc..
- If got prior experience working as maid, what was that household's routine/schedule for her? Then can see if you wanna stick to it, what you ok with, what you would want to change.
- Whether she can fulfil your requirements. Eg, can she cook..?
- Family background. Eg, if she have small kid at home, is she sure she can concentrate on working here for 2yrs?
- Language. Easy to tell during interview whether you wld have any communication problems.
- Intentions after completion of contract. Most likely would consider extending or have plans back home like going to get married. Can get a rough feel of how committed she is going to be.

That's all i can think of now.

My 1st maid will be returning in half a yr and husband came up with incentive/feedback scheme for next one.. Give feedback to her during 'payday' and small bonuses ($10-20?) whenever we're particularly happy with her work. Figured this will be good motivation.

Sam,
Kiddopotamos zip around blankets? mmm.. and all those strollers! no wonder your husband wants to kill you! My husband thinks that you ladies here are a bad influence..keep tempting me to get more baby stuff. But can't help it la.
Will look out for the pics/price of your goodies. Kiddopotamos zip around blankets in particular.

Go for massage la! She'll come to your place and pamper you for 1-2h for 7-10days, depending. Quite shiok. And not that painful.

Llig,
it's not just the MacLaren stroller that I have .. I have an Aprica (that was an ex one) and a Chicco and another stroller ...

Now I have a Quinny Buzz bought a few months back... and if the BP is successful, I'll have another MacLAren and I'm thinking about getting a Phil and Ted's double stroller ... (hubby has specifically WARNED me not to get that one ... lol) I won't know where to hide that one anyway ...

lol.

eh, I also have a blog, well, 2 ..

http://aboutme-kristalangel.blogspot.com
http://kristalangel.blogspot.com

Yup..been reading yours religiously.keke.. You can check out www.karencheng.com.au as well.. She writes extensively about raising her 2 boys too. Like the way she writes.

Based on what i've read so far, your husband and i are in the same org. Different vocation of course! He flies?

oh your hubby is in the sir force too?
Ya, he's an F16 pilot ..

jollycow,
I'm a BADDDDD person to ask about strollers and prams .. why do u think I have so many? .. I just like buying them .. and they always have new models out ... hahaha ...

ok, generally, you need one that specifically mentions it's from NEWBORN ... meaning the seating area reclines FLAT .. that's when you know it's meant for newborn babies .. most of the prams have 3-5 incline positions ... like Combi, Aprica ... etc.

MacLarens are usually for when the baby is about 6 months and older ... The Chicco stroller I have goes flat down so it can be used from newborn ...

ask the Sales Assistants before you buy a stroller ...

hehehe ya .. i have 3 tabs open on my explorer ... surfing 3 pages at once ... yes, I saw your pics in your facebook .. you're in the air force too. my hubby is now at HQ at Gombak ...

sam n llig
thanx for d info. hehe. discussing wif hubby. mayb gg maid shopping next wk when tummy feels beta. hehe.

llig
mi working as nurse at kkh. =)

Welcome Jlow ^____^ Jolly if you wan to save money dun need to buy strollers for newborn. cus normallly new born u will be at home. and they grow very fast. so i would buy normally big one and not new born lor. cus once big liao the stroller is useless. Is better to buy one can lie down and one can sit straight so no need to buy so many strollers or keep changing lor, sometimes u also must see the size of ya baby too. Like my boss his baby boy was 2 yrs old and he looks like 5yrs old build! so he bo pian got to change stroller lor. =)

Hey gals okai have added you in msn. hehe wah.. you all dare to put ya blog like that ah. i dare not put, hehe For me is only those in msn then know my blog. hehe

Sam i like your DOGS! hahaha and u got your got 3 kids? so this is your forth? so the forth one is boy or gal?

fabbie,

how many ppl actually read blogs? Not many la ... won't have stalker one ... trust me. there are more interesting blogs out with naked photos and such ... hahaha I'm sure.

I give u my dogs, you want?? hahaha. Isabel is from the States leh .. I got her from a farm there while we were living there. She's HUGE though .. Kimmy I got her when I cam eback from the States cos I wanted Isabel to have a fren ...

fabbie, you can get a stroller that can recline flat and can last till the baby is 20 kg or so la ... Chicco has very large strollers that can recline flat and can take up to 20 kg or more. that's like until 4 years old. UNLESS you have a little sumo wrestler then that's another story ...

My Chicco stroller is awesome .. very spacious yet reclines all the way down ... good even when baby isn't a newborn ... cos it's just more comfy to nap when it's flat down all the way what. ONLY thing is it's a bit heavy so unless you are taking an MRT all the way from home to your destination or taking a cab, then it's quite siong to lug around. Definitely can't lug up a bus la. unless hubby ard.

Any idea when should i start looking for breast pump? Some said should be after delivery cos need to see how much is the milk flow. But now got Taka Baby Fair / Philip Carnival. By Dec, i scare no more promotion liao.

hey iemik0,

lavendery, from what I can tell when I window shop .. the prices of breast pumps are generally the same everywhere leh .. even if there is a discount, it's the usual 10-15 % ..

If you've decided on the brand and model already .. just get first lor ...

went for my detail scan yesterday. baby very good, "Guai Guai" all the time. Maybe because she's a girl girl...Ha ha Now she's 440g at 21 weeks, is it consider too heavy? Now have to prepare money for all the beautiful clothes already.

Wa Sam, you got so many strollers!!! You really generous in buying things for your dralings. I am a very stingy mummy, see the price only will think twice now even thinking of whether to get second hand things for baby or not..

fabbie,

ya .. 3 girls and another girl on the way .. my hubby says we're fated to have all girls ... lol. we've always planned for 4 kids .. so this is our last .. after this can RELAX. in a way la. Can plan to go for holidays with our girls once this last baby is bigger !! yay!!

mummymummy,

ya, some people (like my hubby) call it being wasteful ... lol.

Actually, I think some things can get second hand la ... like cots and strollers and playpens and such (only after 3 kids, then I realize this btw) ... cos sometimes you're really not guaranteed the baby will even enjoy being in it ... like those exersaucers ... not all babies like it .. and they're ex some more .. I have never had the intention of buying one of those cos I think it takes up so much space and seriously, after a while, the baby will want OUT of it.

Sam - If i have the time i will read people's blog lor. if no time i will see pictures only hehehee Really got naked photos in blogs? Haha Im not comfortbale for putting blogs here cus at here things spread so big just like the stomp.com and those famous blogger. so scary. so i dare not. only those that i know in msn. and if those in msn i also kana wah than im damn sway lor hahah Im just playing to be safe hehee.

I cannot have your dogs~! cus my house i have 4 dogs and my in-law house have 1 dog. And me and my HB have our own dog. We dun have our own house so our dog been running to my house and my in-law house whether we go. Lolx.

wah sianz. buy stroller also got to think here and there. and i know. canont find too big stroller unless your HB is always with you when ya out. unless i everyday take cab lor. thats madness! lolx

Wah liew.. 4 Gals?! can you please try another one next year. im hoping for u to get a boy! heheheh.

Lavendery - for me i think i will be buying it after delivery to see how much is the milk flow lor. Skali no milk you pump also no use Hahaha. =X

first time mummy - who say girl very guai.. my ger so naughty and active, dun let me sleep at night!.. lolx. wah.. 440g quite heavy! but i think is alright lar, as long doc didnt say is bad, I duno the normal weight actually, mine is like 380g at 20wks hehe Dun worry ya not stingy mummy lar is just that we all are quite tight with our pockets so we buy things got to think twice. hehe thats why i always target some 2nd hand stuffs. but some stuffs which is impt for baby dun save those money ya! hehe

fabbie ... I think I can keep having babies since I'm still 34 .. but sekali all girls then pointless what ... to keep trying like that !! I love my girls and we have decided to stick with our original plan of 4 ... lol .. or else must DOWNGRADE and buy those ugly minibuses that childcare centres use to ferry kids around ... hahaha.

so you have more than ONE dog running around your house ... so funny!! ... I originally wanted cats but my hubby not keen on that so dogs lor ...

sigh

NO la ... so far I haven't come across any blog with naked pics on them .. but I think most people won't be bothered to read blogs about everyday people with their kids ... BORING what. hahahha