(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

tealeaf2580, i have already told my immediate boss when i 1st tested positive. the reason is bcos i need to go for site walk regularly so i ask him to excuse me for site walk.

tealeaf2580, i told my boss cos my bb will be due in early dec and i am IC for budget exercise which will be during year-end period.

tealeaf,

dun worry so much. just tell ur boss bout the pregnancy. if they do discriminate u, u can go to MOM. but i praying that u got a good boss just like mine

Carmen ... hahahah ya, I alredy have 3 wonderful girls ... I don't mind another girl for my 4th ... I'm ok with either la ... of course, hubby says SIAN of seeing girls ... there are 7 females in my house ... myself, my 3 girls, my maid and my 2 dogs .. he's VASTLY outnumbered .. lol.

u can see my 3 girls here :-

http://kristalangel.blogspot.com

Your HB and mine will gang up against us I tell you .. hahaha .. I love shopping for kiddy stuff .. my girls have tons of clothes cos I can't stop myself from buying. lol.

samantha, agree that a lot of pretty girls clothings to buy. whenever i go shopping, i sure buy something for my niece, nothing for my nephew.

i wan a gal too... can doll up

gals,
I bought the Medela Swing during the robinson GST waived-off sale + 5% member. So kiasu hor but worried i might miss this offer. hee....

Hi Ladies...

jowin, adel, sorry abt yesterday.. my comp died on me la.. so no chance to say bye also..

i wanna join spree for the bottles too.. but i also wanna check the avent BPA free ones.. coz i intend to get whole set of avent products.. hehe.. diapers also can spree ah.. wow.. impressive..

tealeaf2580, i just told my big boss last friday that i'm pregnant.. he never say much just say i dun look big yet.. Zzzz.. he is a scary man.. as long when u give birth u have more than 180 days of service then they have to give u maternity leave.. and if they sack u now.. they will get in trouble.. so no worries k..

Date of gathering: 5th July 2008 (Saturday)
Time: lunch
Venue: marche vivo

Attendees:
1. Jazlyn - Jazlyn or Jaz ok!
2. Bubblepearl-Jojo okie
3. raven_1313- Mabel (okie!)
4. mum2ndx
5. llig - Gill (not attending)
6. jowinbaby - Jo - Marche ok!
7. LuthAdel- Adeline - Marche ok!
8. Meilik & Hubby & Son (3pax) - Marche ok!
9. iemik0
10. mummy30- Angie - ok!
11. phylicia - ok!
12. mummyhamster
13. Cherbie
14. santorini - o.k
15. firstbaby - ok!
16. Snowger - OK (dunno if my hubby wan 2 come)
17. Jacqueline
18. Pris -- OK!
19. Carmen - Ok!

i just told my boss about it! He was abit shocked initially, but shortly recovered from it and even give me pointers on arrangement on who to take care of bb.. Phew! Thanks for your assurance! =)

Jazlyn: do you have the name of the shop at Bencoolen? I might drop by have a look..

Hi gals, ate so much durians tat I kena bad bad headache. So on MC today. Early tmr morning, my hubby finally comes back from his long trip (yeah!). So me takes a day leave tmr to pick him from airport.

Juzyounme, I already got a confinement lady liaos - she is my MIL's sister.
But not for free though, I will still be paying her market rate I think ($1800).

llig, yes I will ask my MIL and post here once I get the recipe. Maybe will call her tmr and ask her for it.

For MTBs who have constipation, just like to summarise what I have been trying.
So far so good! I ate:
1. Prunes (sometimes work sometimes doesn't, other MTBs swear by Prune juice);
2. Yakult (I kept taking this after I kena mild food poisoning);
3. Fresh Milk (Meiji - sometimes I get "lao sai" immediately);
4. Guava (erhmm, I think this has the BEST effect on me thus far. Eat once, evening confirm make it to toilet. But my colleague say Guava is cooling leh)

I find that eating fruits is effective especially when I dun really like to eat green leafy vegetables after my pregnancy. So I tried some all-natural methods to try to go toilet... :p Hope it helps.

jowinbaby,
seems like now only showing on SAT.. so sad!
think channel U smart now.. coz 24 episodes can end very fast since they show 2 epi at one go?

guess what, i found that u can also watch online .. but broken into may parts for 1 episode.. a bit troublesome but at least can catch episodes that i missed.. so far i can tahan my urge to finish watching all at once! hee..

i see.. so no more on Sunday..

ya...although i watched b4.. yesterday nite i still sian... happily wanna watch again but not showing.. so i went into youtube to watch lor..

that day at KKH i also order guava to eat.. but blind so put salt instead of suan mei fen.. hehe..

i also wonder where all my poo poo go.. the input not equals to output..

guava is alright to b consumed. eat more food in high fibre like green leaf veges, fruits and oats, they will help to ease the constipation.

n drinking overnight water the moment u wake up will help to move the bowel oso.

below is the latest list of attendees for our gathering on 5th july. can i proceed to make the reservation????

Date of gathering: 5th July 2008 (Saturday)
Time: lunch
Venue: marche vivo

Attendees:
1. Jazlyn - Jazlyn or Jaz ok!
2. Bubblepearl-Jojo okie
3. raven_1313- Mabel (okie!)
4. mum2ndx
5. llig - Gill (not attending)
6. jowinbaby - Jo - Marche ok!
7. LuthAdel- Adeline - Marche ok!
8. Meilik & Hubby & Son (3pax) - Marche ok!
9. iemik0
10. mummy30- Angie - ok!
11. phylicia - ok!
12. mummyhamster
13. Cherbie
14. santorini - o.k
15. firstbaby - ok!
16. Snowger - OK (dunno if my hubby wan 2 come)
17. Jacqueline
18. Pris -- OK!
19. Carmen - Ok!

LuthAdel, i see. my MIL said she will fry some ikan kurau for me to try try. i also don't know how well i can take it.

tealeaf2580, good that ur boss didn't react drastically. i think my boss should be ok w my pregnancy news, i told her when i was about 6wks pregnant coz i'm always unwell. afterall she has given birth to 3 boys. just that she still expect me to stay back n no reduction in work load.

Snowger, i see, i think it's good that u get CL whom u know her. for me, i haven't talked or seen her coz MIL's arrangement. so I'm not sure what to expect. I think payaya & prune juice works for me for constipation.

Juzyounme
Here is a favourite reciepe of mine for Ikan Kurau but it is steamed :p I can't take fried stuff now as it will make my tummy queasy.

1 piece of Ikan Kura (can be the section or fillet)
2 tablespoons of light soya sauce
a thumb of ginger, finely sliced (add more if you love ginger)
2 cloves of garlic (minced)

1. Put the fish in a deep dish (there will be sauce)
2. Fry ginger & garlic until fragrant, once ginger is golden, turn off the heat and pour the ginger/garlic mixture onto the fish.
3. Add 2 tablespoons of light soya sauce to the fish and place it in the steamer
4. Steam for 20mins

Hope you like it, not fishy at all.

Ikan Kurau also know as "Ngoh He" in hokkien or Threadfin in English terms.

me a vegetarian. no ikan kurau for me... any of u gals know any formula soup for vege to increase BM later???

tealeaf,

the shop is at the corner of the bencoolen building. opposite OG. lotsa clothes, n they got 2 outlets.

Hi all..

I am super busy from morning till now!
Work is getting so stressed! I dun think i can manage any more with the little one growing day by day. By the way, I have also not inform my boss about my pregnancy. Words just cannot get out of my mouth, esp i am still not officially married yet. Sighzz..with work and wedding stuff piling on and to manage the changes in my body , it is so traumatising! I think i am in depression Heeelp...

Oh BTW, i feel weird after eating som Hum (shellfish??) from the Katong laksa last sun. Is it actually ok to eat those? A friend told me baby will be poisoned? i am scared stiff..

chantalle.. u will be married when u deliver rite? coz got diff maternity benefits if not married by then..

Yup Phyl, my wedding will take place in aug this year. Btw, my family still duno abt the little one yet. I am afraid they cannot accept that.. sighzz

great! at least i knw who to look for to spree ard for BB staff now! hahaa...

Samantha, Adel, Mimi: do let me know when u gals starting to buy stuff ok?

toking abt CL, im still hunting for 1! Ah! cos my MIL busy with 1 grand-daughter now, expecting 1 more in Jul, so dun think she will be free to do confinement for me. Ah!

wah.. ur family dunno ah.. ooo.. better tell them soon.. u showing yet?

hum is not good.. dun eat.. unless u took your hep jabs.. i love hums, fresh oysters.. yum yum.. that day i go visit grandma.. they eating hum.. i so sian.. hehe..

jazlyn: i dun really cook, so i eat alot of papaya, heard it good for producing BM.

Chantelle: i can imagine the stress level ur going thru... but looking on the bright side, UR already planning for yr wedding, not as if u wan to marry becos of yr preg. so position the "news" to yr family and colleagues/boss as "double happiness", not every couple who wish for a kid will have their wish granted. so stay positive Gal, we are a lucky bunch! ;)

i oso have a tough and still adjusting to preg status, but do talk to yr trusted frens or us more, do anything to make yrself feel better. more imptantly, let yr HB knw how u feel. i realise HB can be a good source of support too =)

Jia You!

Hi Chantelle
U be marrying soon.. not a big problem..Its not that u prepare wedding asap bcos of ur pregnancy.. I am sure your parents will accept
So good to have a grandchild soon right??

Dun be stress over work..perhaps if u can, u can announce your pregnancy after wedding lor

Shell fish all these better avoid as they are not fully cook n contain high bacteria... Eat laksa withou Hums...

Chantalle, ur parents still dun know? u dun intend to tell them? it's good news so dun worry.

Carmen, papaya can produce more BM? i heard ppl say eating fish is good.

btw, i can save some $ cos my sis is passing me her manual pump. dun know if i can really BF my baby, relatives and friends around me only BF for a few days and cannot tahan liao. scare i cannot preserve.

Mimi: Jazlyn is a veg mah, so she is asking for veg recipe which helps in producing BM. i heard fish is of cos one of the best sources, but honestly, i have prob eating fish nowadays =(

BM supply
for BM, it's usually supply & demand.. must really latch baby more frequent so that the brain can be triggered to produce more milk..

to increase BM
some advocate eating oats in the morning, and also ensure that the body is well hydrated.. BM is from actually made from our blood but it also requires H20..
to some, u can take fenugreek supplement.. milk thistle.. can't recall the name of some other supplement.. but these supplements CANNOT be taken if still preg coz it can contract the uterus..

more info here.. http://www.kellymom.com/bf/supply/index.html

Hi Chantalle

my GP also advised me against hum or any shellfish in case of Heps. So try as much as possible to avoid ok?

Think you should inform your parents soon, i'm sure they would be happy for you esp you are getting married real soon. WIth their support, you will feel better. Don't be too stressed if not bb will be stressed too.

chantalle,

i think it's better to inform ur parents. so they cana help u out with ur wedding planning. dun worry... ur wedding is adi being planned, not becoz u r preggie!!!

carmen,

eating papaya? okok, will take note. will ask tcm if there's any vege formula.

chantalle, i agree with tealeaf and the other gals.. its good to tell them.. it wont be good if other relatives "gossip" abt it then your parents will feel "no face" but if u tell them.. they happy happy ma.. so when ppl "gossip" they can tell them its a good thing..

i decided to get married in sept 06.. but decided only in jun 06.. so the whole world tot i shot gun.. haha.. then chop chop wanna get married.. even the bridal company keep hinting need to alter the gown not!! faint!

Carmen, thanks
Yeah, that's Lauren .. my middle child ... she's the only one with curly hair (like me - although mine is rebonded .. lol) ...

Mimi, don't worry ... just stick to it and keep latching your baby on ... sure can BF. Truthfully, at first, you'll feel like a COW ... but knowing you're giving your baby the best ... will keep you going. I didn't BF my eldest girl all those years ago because she was a preemie and was in hosptal for a long time ... I regretted not sticking to expressing my milk and bottle feeding her ... For my next 2 girls, I breastfed one for 14 months .. and my youngest at 22 months, still loves being breastfed although she does take formula too ...

Chantalle
You are ROM already right and anyway your wedding is just months away. You should tell your parents.

Anyone know how to choose good durian? those cheap & good kind?

winnie.. durian heaty and very high in sugar.. i usually flash a big smile to the uncle and say i want fleshy and sweet!! hehe.. then smile smile blink blink tell him must choose good one!! haha

samantha, i will try to BF. hope i can succeed.

for durians, i look bitter ones. dun like sweet ones. i already ate durian twice. i dun wan to eat too much now cos scare of sugar level. think it's better to eat at later stage.

sorry to intrude. I am from April thread.
I'm odering Desitin creamy from drugstore.
Any mummies interested pls email me at [email protected]

No payment no order. POSB savings 032-29853-2
Pls indicate ur nick/ trans no.

Nick:
Qty:
Price in USD: 5.79
Price in SGD: 5.79* 1.45
Collection method: Cityhall/ Tanah Merah Mrt or by post. Buyer to bear postage.

Hey gals..
Thanks so much for your kind words! The forum really do help in giving me support and drive to move on..I know I cannot keep things from my family anymore because they keep questioning why I seems to put on weight so quickly! I really cannot help it, i am hungry all the time! Any remedy? I will probably break the news soon, hopefully no big reaction from them. Keeping my fingers crossed.

On a side note, i heard durain contains some alcohol content?? So preggie mummies cannot take too much, harmful for baby. Duno how true, can anyone verify this?

hey jowinbaby.. sometimes its hunger, sometimes its craving. My goodness... I cannot tell the diff! Haa.. ALrighty.. good suggestion: 5-6 small meals a day. But how to do it? Means take small small bites here and there? Say bite half the sandwich, then keep it aside. 2 hours later bite the other half? hehe

Winnie, according to my dad (the durian eating expert) - make sure that the durian is not "opened" already. i.e. check the bottom before the uncle hacks his knife into the durian - these durians are usually overipe or rejected by others already. Allow them to let you check e inside first before u take it. Dun be paiseh, must like aunty like that - Press on the durian meat, if it depresses with creases next to the dent, likely to b soft & creamy (yum yum). If it is hard - reject cos not ripe yet. If it is too watery (i.e the meat looks very very wet), also not too nice.

Chantalle, I dun think durians have alcohol lah (dun scare me cos I have been eating quite a bit). Are your refering to the XO durians? *winks* Anyway, docs usually dun recommend cos they are very sweet fruits and they dun wan preggy mums to get diabetic.

As for breaking the news, you are already an "accepted" daughter in law and your huuby an "accepted" son in law. So no worries lah. If you paiseh, just get your hubby to break the news to his parents and you do so for your parents.

Re Constipation: I think it's quite jia lat for me if I dun do it. I land up feeling bloated and not hungry when it comes to meal time. :p

Re Hums (shell fish): My parents took my bowl of laksa when the aunty forgot to not put it in! But they bought me a fresh bowl. Apparently, raw shell fish has bacteria. And eating shell fish increases chances of Hep B. Anyway, one time only, no more next time ok?