(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

saw it..but not sure what design to get...considering getting from mums fairy also.

need some advice, what should i be looking at if i wanna get a second hand dual breastpump. i have a Medela Swing but am thinking of getting dual pump so i can express when i go back to school...

snowger,

all these clinics all damn one kind one lar. Just like those stores/restaurants that don't tell you which credit cards having a tie up promo with them -- I always have to ask.

Anyway, for those of you who have the CSC card (civil servant or Singapore Armed Forces personnel).. stoopid KKH ... actually can use leh ... NOT for the jab, that one I use CDA, but for the doc's consultation can use my CSC card .... nurses there always tell me can't. Finally, recently, ONE nurse told me CAN ... not the jab .. but for the doc fees. dammit. After I went for dunno how many appts already. so irritated.

ya, it was in the news sometime ago - now can use Medisave for baby's vaccinations.

kristalangel
so for pneumo I can just apply medisave when I'm paying at the clinic after the jab right? Just need to fill in form? Cos I'm bring my gal in sometime next week. Otherwise medisave also never use

tamms, I think u better call the clinic up first to find out the procedure. Usually, that's how it is rite? .. even like hospital stay .. u fill in form and sign only what.

ya lor .. other than giving birth, hubby and I haven't used his medisave ... got tons of money there.

ivy
i was using a medela PISA but i heard that ameda lactaline is quite a good pump to get. and it is also much cheaper than medela.

i am thinking should i just get another medela electric then when i go school i will just bring my medela swing and electric. but is it better to just get a second hand dual pump? anyone uses medela electric plus?how is it?

hi echo
if u are used to Medela PISA, i think ameda might not be that suitable as both pump works differently.

I used Medela Freestyle which is similar to PISA.. but i tried to use ameda.. no milk out.. the let down is different..

hi jowin,so if i have a medela swing now, if i wanna get a dual pump i should get medela??

anyone knows if medela electric plus is noisy?

hi Ivy
I am not sure. just felt that if u initially using well with medela swing.. so perhaps u shd not change.. Or if you does, try to use back the machine with same function.

Example, Medela PISA n Freestyle do have the same 2-Phase Expression® technology which help to let down. Although different machine but same technology..

Just my opinion
I am not sure how medela swing works cos i tried using many different pump machines.. in the end, used back the one i m using daily.

i highly recommend my stroller if u want something sturdy, but not huge, easy to fold.. large canopy, big wheels and not shaky like the japanese. it can also lie up to 170degrees.. the only thing is it doesnt stand on its own very well.

My stroller is 400+ and its the 7th that i've been thru.. i've been on the free one,maxi cosi,zapp, graco, combi, buzz and now finally the jogger..

i can carry hayden, carry my bag and lug his stroller unto a bus and tap my card.. kekeke.. my personal achievement.. for a most of the time single mom!

today i finally understand why its so difficult to be a single mom.. hayden BOMBED on the high chair today at the food court and its was dripping from the chair.. then luckily i got bur n her hubby to help.. if not i seriously will just sit there and cry..

made me so angry coz my hubby is NEVER there for me lor.. all he thinks abt in his puny brain is SEX.. n i dun want he dun wanna talk to me and dunno angry for what! so sad lor.. well.. wat to do.. block of wood..that gotta work weekends.. sometimes i wonder if ppl laugh at me.. coz i go everywhere myself.. machiam no hubby.. so jealous to see at parties all the daddies, mommies and babies.. at malls, daddies n mommies bring their babys out for shopping.. and daddies and mommies bring their kids to places to play.. n hayden always only have me.. so sad hor..sobz

phyl,i in same situation as you!!hubby also have to work weekends,thats why quite sad like weekend have to go out with friends etc and attend babies gathering also without hubby,like no hubby like that lor.so sad...

really not sure what dual pump to get!!!!swing is also a 2-phase pump,but i think electric is not right?hmmm...i only planning to get a cheap one,actually thinking of getting ameda, but so far all second hand still 200!!

snow/tamms,
yes pneumococcal can use CPF, but just started only last few mths. Previously for the last 3 pneumococcal jabs i also hv jus been paying w CDA.
But got to beforehand inform clinic so they can fill up form to apply for withdrawal.
I also forgot pneumococcal can use CPF, n was the doc that reminded me. he said to take HepA yesterday, then meanwhile apply to use CPF for last pneumococcal jab. but if i choose not to take Hep A yesterday & just take pneumococcal ,then cannot use CPF (cos havn apply) ,can only carry on use CDA.

sam,erm i'm not sure if all vaccinations can use CPF leh, cos for the Hep A i still pay with CDA leh..

Ivy / echo,
i was using ameda lactaline. found it good enuff for me...like wat jowin says, think its really up to individual...

SWING, is not dual rite??

swing is not dual thats why i have to get a dual pump so that when i am going back to school after my confinement it will be easier.but now i am not sure which to get....

Ivy,
dont need to get a dual pump right? Cos when I was pumping, as long as you have a let down, milk on both sides will flow, so even if you use a manual pump to express on the other side it works the same doesn't it? Know what I mean? Electric on 1 side, manual/electric pump on the other works the same.

cos i will be bringing to school...so thought of just getting a second hand dual pump then just bring one motors to school,manual will be too slow then i will miss my lesson.....

Hey gals,

Ask you all a quick qn. Any of your babies bang their head against the wall or cupboard or hard object?

Cos I realise my ger always do it. After reading from baby centre, I got a bit worried leh. Wonder who she learn it from... SIGH...

Snowger, Ashlynne did it purposely to gain attention... and she will laugh and look at me... and bang again.. thats how cheeky my girl is..

Pas,
Like tat if i go next appt to take P jab, then can't apply for CPF already cos too late?

Phyl,
Sometimes hor, having ur hubby next to you and baby does not mean a thing... Cos if his heart is elsewhere. Or when at home, the hb does not help with the kid (only do show when outside) or the hb ignores the wife when at home. So take heart lar, sometimes we go thru the rough batch aft we get babies. Problems which u nvr think will have will appear for some reason... *SIGH* we can only try hard to resolve them. If cannot, then ignore lor... At least u got good friends...

jowinbaby,
Same leh... my ger oso... she will bang...once, then i look at her, she will bang again, then smile at me or laugh cheekily... Really nothing to worry about hor?

Cos I read the baby centre, suppose to be 18mths onwards... so early start banging head... *haiz* and it's some early symptom for autism n behavoiral problems/developmental problem...

snowger,sometimes jake will also bang his head....its ok de as long as not always.

think i might try the ameda dual pump cos Medela PIS is too expensice and the medela electric plus is very noisy, is it?

anyone use medela electric before?any advice?

jowin
that's true what you said, that some pumps may work well for you but not others. that is a good tip for me to stick with my medela in the future.

ivy
the medela swing has 2-phase expression to help let down, same as PISA and freestyle, but electric does not have the same system. if you already have 1 swing, how about getting another one? will it cost less than buying another double pump? i heard that the swing is quite light to carry around, whereas the medela PISA is very heavy.

if you want to be sure about your pump before you try, you can go to the Breastfeeding Mothers Support Group to try out the different pumps to see which one you like. But of course, better to wait until after delivery to try la. http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/

tamms.. ya.. city mini..

snowger.. ya.. i understand la.. i so envy alot of the mummies here lor.. got their own taxi driver to shuttle them everywhere then got daddies to go into the gym areas to play at lessons.. etc lor..

just not my day la.. feeling very down n frustrated. just wanna blame the whole world.. non existent family, incompetent and far in laws, wooden hubby that works.. notti son.. useless IFC.. life is so difficult.. sigh..

phly,
i am like u. No own taxi driver. Most of the time i bring my kid with me alone too. Actually my hubby also dun help much loh.

Only after 2nd one arrive then start to help abit. When i only have my 1st kid i bring him everywhere with me.

phyl, dun fret ok. Like wat Snow said, having a hb beside u doesn't mean that it is help. I dun even wanna talk abt what went on behind closed door. I alr learn to let go and not to expect too much. Now, as long as I live happily, earn enuf moolah for myself and Zach, able to sleep, eat, work, shit, buy n buy n buy, i m happy alr!
Husbands, when they are around and helpful, they are good and deserve a pat on the back. But when they are around and do nothing, then juz ignore them..haha

Snowger,

My baby also likes to knock her head on hard surfaces. The more you tell her not to, the more she wants. So looks like at this age it's quite common hor?

Phyl,
Ya, I oso will have those days where I feel the world has forsaken me. Everything is just not going my way, etc. Maybe too much grivances and we have no outlet and solution...

Ivy,
Like wat some of the gers said... Some pumps are more suited for you than others. A friend of mine using Amelda and she says it's good. Another friend who tried said it didn't work for her. So depends on u.

Regarding Medela Electric, u refering to single electric? It's ok but no 2 phase. And the suction is either high or low... I used it during my early days of BFing. Aft tat I used Medela PISA, which worked really great for me (other than the weight of the pump when carrying ard). If you found a pump that can help you in expressing milk efficently, then just stick to it lar...

phyl,

yeap .. I can tell you now .. there are very very few fathers who are truly really HELPFUL. My hubby will play with his kids ... but other than that, not really helpful lar. I still need my maid.

I always joke that if I had to choose between my hubby and my maid if I were on a desert island ... guess who I'll choose? LOL !!!

I just tell him .. u give me the car and money .. can aldy. U here or not, not really an issue. LOL !!! ..

So don't feel alone ... all of us in the same boat to varying degrees ..

Come on, all of us ... let's say it together now ... "MEN ARE USELESS when it comes to child rearing ... " ...

ivy
if u got alot of milk buy Medela PISA confirm good! not noisy.. please buy dual..

phy
*pats pats* i guess all husbands or fathers will change everything once they have the "lord of the ring" on his finger haha all become another person. have you flare or talk to him before? btw i quite peifu u that u can bring hayden out always alone. so.. dun think anyone will laff at u lar.. they will admire you actually. ^^

Gals wana ask you ah.. my gal now drinking FRiso 3.. and i saw it say.. recommend 2 glasses (6cap 180ml) per day.. so meaning 1 day 2 glasses? can i give 3 glasses per day? so confuse leh. haha

phyl

*pat*pat*......I fully understand how it feels like to bring bb out all alone everywhere......hiaz...at least now that they have started walking, they are a little more independent ...very soon, can bring them take the MRT or bus...and they can board the bus or MRT by themselves......no need to be a supermommy and carry baby and barang all by ourselves....

kristalangel,
I agree with u!!! And I think the server is male... cos it bar us from posting for hours! LOL!

Fabbie,
Lord of the ring is a good way to describe. :p

The milk tins will usually give you the recommended amounts your ger need to take at certain age. If you give 3 is still ok. As long as she is taking her solids lor... :p I think the milk intake requirement will drop as they grow older.

Phyl,
I oso pei fu mothers who bring their babies out on their own! How do you manage to go toilet??? The last time I bring her to supermarket, the aunties at the q were going "You alone? how you going to manage the goceries with your baby?". I had about 4 bags full of stuff lar. In their eyes, I could see admiration and the "tsk tsk, the husband damn useless, how come never come along to help. And make this girl buy groceries with the daughter!". Eh, tat was the last time I bring her out alone to buy groceries. I almost die from exhaustation...

Snowger

Once I wheeled the stroller into the handicapped toilet to use it....haha!! That's one of the most annoying thing about going out alone with baby....so difficult to use the toilet...

Singapore should have those baby friendly toilets, where there are seats for babies built into the cubicles...so we can park babies in those seats while we do our business....just like in japan....

but now that they can stand and walk.....no problem for us already.....

yeah snowger, when i go out alone with ashlynne.. i also find the handicapped toilet.. If not,she will go in same cubicle as me, stand infront of me. I will forbid her to sit and touch anything.. haha.. so quickly chop chop settle small business..

Santorini,
u mean like bumbo seat type of thing to tie them in? Hmmm...mayb jap ladies tend to bring kids out without hubbies v frequently.

If u bring stroller, then need to use the handicap toilet right? I tried once going toilet with my ger... she sit on my lap while I settle my small biz, then another time i put her on the floor, she keep wanting to touch this and that, make me very bo eng...

santorini,

the problem with them standing and walking is that while you're trying to PEE .. they are trying to touch EVERYTHING in the cubicle .. wa lau !! ..

With all my girls .. before i had a maid, when it was ME taking them to loo ... I'm like this mad woman screeching "Don't TOUCH ANYTHING!!!" REPEATEDLY. sound damn paranoid ... ppl hear also think I'm mad. hahahaha! ..

snowger/santorini
orchard central has such 'holders' for babies. but not sure if it can fit a toddler, though. looks quite small. usually i just let emma stand in the toilet. i will hold her armpit while i wee. it doesn't really stop her from moving around, but at least it limits her movement.

Sam,

Yeah those seats are so useful....it confines them so that they won't touch anything.....

hmm....so even though they can stand and walk it still doesnt solve our problems huh?

I can imagine how they will be like in the toilet cubicles....The other day, Emma was peeping into some lady's handbag which was slung onto the chair in a restaurant....I swear she was going to put her hand in there if I didnt stop her in time.....

phyl,
*pat pat* ! i personally think u have been a great supermummy to Hayden. dun be too tough on urself. like wat sam says,at some point or the other, all of us are in the sameboat, just varyin degree.

sam,Snow/echo, Raffles city, Basement toilet also have that kind of bumbo seat in the toilet. It's meant to "put" ur child in there while we quickly do our "biz"

How much milk in total are ur bb drinking nowdays? as they grow older they really cut down on milk?? mine hv dropped fm 180ml to 150ml now 120ml. but even 120ml still sometimes dun wan to finish! must keep "knocking" the bottle..argh!

snowger,
i can't imagine having a daughter.. if 'strike' another baby boy i will stil be happy.

pas,
ya. my boy is also cutting back on milk. its that stage where they're trying to trim down so they can get more mobile..

Ivy,
You can try the WTS section lar... :p If you giving birth at TMC can go to parent craft to see if they have 2nd hand sets selling at cheaper price. I understand if you buy from parent craft at TMC can sell them back aft you dun need it...