(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

jowinbaby

I regret getting 游龙子. The choice of names he gave not nice, but my mum like the name he chose for my brother daughter. So no choice, pay him $100. End up I only use 1 word he chose, 愷(kai3) and I choose the second word 瞳(tong2) for my BB gal. Almost every1 praise my second word more than the 1st one. Haha...

U dun need to pay Shifu for that. You want to try this website to get the 笔画 for your BB? http://www.ab131.com.cn/ Though it is not as detailed as getting a shifu to do la.

No way to get it 1 lump sum. But my uncle's son got it 1 lump sum cause he applies only when the child is 18 months old liao. He born on end jul 2004 but EDD is aug 04. They thought they not entitled so never applied. I try for them and end up MCYS still give it to them. But I think you all want the amount to be given to u asap so wun wait till the child 18 months then apply right. Haha... Besides getting 1k in this year and next yr is different amount actually, due to inflation.

Take 7% inflation for next year. That mean 1k next year is only $930 of this year.

ikeike, ya.. my leave also split between calendar days and work weeks.. so calculate the weekends n public holidays.. well.. gahmen ma.. no choice.. they follow protocol like nobody's business..

i worked out my ML liao! will be on leave from 1 dec!! but i still thinking should take so early not.. coz take early means i rot at home earlier also..

loveangel, oh u also must rest more. no more shopping.

gerry, ya i know it's serious that's why my doc dun allow me to go home now even though my contraction and bleeding stops liao. he worries that it might come back again. dun know why i kena this also.

carmen, i have confident in dr chen, now got to listen to him. after i go home this fri, complete bedrest for me until i deliver.

Mimi:
jia you! hopefully we can all tahan till at least 37W to deliver...

honestly, im all excited abt the pending arrival of BB Kasia. I oreadi doll up her BB cot, prepare the "milk" station (with sterilizer, food warmer and milk bottles & acc) in my room... looking at her stuff everyday makes me so happy!

Phyl:
then it means u will have abt 3-4 weeks less time with Hayden? i initially oso wan to take ML from1 Dec, but i wan to spend as much time as possible with Kasia, so i think i will try to tahan till i deliver lor. hee... but my tummy really a bit heavy and painful (at times) nowadays. but dat gives me plenty of excuses to get my HB to do chores for me! keke... ;D

Merydith
yeah same same. i got 11 days leave. so i clear then straight away ML.. Im a designer.. theres this campaign abt blood de.. (sorry cant tell u what is it) but something to do blood de lar. haiz. sianz topid is the dead line got to out on thursday. which is my last day! they plan damn swee swee sia! faints.. nvm. just bear for 4 more das. but i totally no mood or brain to think abt designing liao. haiz. feel like just hacking care and take unpaid leave lolx. but nah.. just bear for 4 days nia.. ahhhh

You got how many annual leave? when start clear?

Hi ypg
I see, names for the website. So far i have been going thru www.gemei.com, to count the strokes of the chinese character..

Ya.. cannot get 1 lump sump also troublesome.. haha!! interest in bank add up slowly only. keke!!!

So whats ur bb chinese name? 瞳愷?

Hi adelchia
preciously, no one to cover me.. expect me to finish till jan 2009 event...so tat they can just see see look look for me...

carmen,
for me most likely c-sect on 1st Dec..coz baby still seems breech lor. Btw 1st Dec is a public holiday..dunno if I can put 2nd Dec as the start of ML if I deliver on the 1st hor.

juzyounme,
din worry alot leh. I think my dream is because of the fact that he is moving alot at night which is quite painful so end up with this dream

AdelChia,
think very hard to work till pop with all the tiredness and aches..I think take leave to rest abit also good so in event you gg into labour can quickly bath at home..Hope your gynae give you the rest!

I am clearing my annual leave starting nxt week. So I can have rest if my c-sec is on 1st Dec. Next week will be the checkup to determine my faith ...whether c-sec or natural liao..

fabbie,
wah designer..cool~ yah think you delivering soon since your EDD is in Nov..btw for your HR did you check if your leave happen to overlap ur ML, they will cancel your leave so that you won't be applying double?
For me they will cancel and bring forward to next year. I still got 15 days left so clearing before I start my ML too!

I will not be clearing my annual leave, wanna leave it till next year. I will most prob take up my gynae's offer of giving me HL from 10th Dec 2008.. since my boss officially announces to everyone that she will be working from home (the remote access application was approved!)

Good to stay home too, at first when gynae told me to get rest, i push her suggestion aside, as that time i was still in my 2nd tri, still very active and can move alot..but now in my 3rd tri, i start to feel the aches and pains and the tiredness all coming at one time!! Hence, i tink the rest is needed since after birth, we hv to get up religiously to pump and latch bb.. tat time if we can clock 3 hrs of sleep is consider lucky liao.. now i wanna clock 5hrs also difficult..

Jowinbaby,
So bad one, must be wanna save $$ then dun hire ppl to cover u. Should at least give u a partner or someone to work with u during this period mah. How can expect preggie mum to run ard? Must take care of yourself k? Try to get as much rest as u can and dun overwork.

Merydith,
Yeah, i also hope my gynae will give me the leave. Going to see him this Sat so keeping fingers crossed. Lucky you, can start clearing leave liao =) Hope your checkup is ok. Update us after your doc visit =)

Emeraldbride,
I think our bb is training us to survive with little sleep now... =) i also having sleepless nites

yeah...is 5.52pm liao!! Can't wait for 6.30pm. Can feel my fever coming back liao.. tonite must sleep early again..else tmr will be another difficult day! Jia you jia you!

Tonite must talk nicely to Zach so that he will let mummy hv a good nite sleep..haha

Adelchia,
U seeing Dr Tseng this sat? Me just saw him and I forgot to bring my card (n got nagged by all the nurses *hehe*). Din do ultrasound during last visit... Did you share ur birth plan with him already? Me always blur blur forget wan to ask what qn...

jowinbaby,

My BB gal name is 愷瞳(Kai3 Tong2) in chinese.

fabbie,

Dun worry too much about delivery, your gynae will help you. Also, your hubby will be there to give you support.

My birth story if you interested to know:

7 Oct Went see my gynae. He checked my cervix, open about 1.5cm. After that, I got bleeding cause I got a polyp near to my vagina. Gynae said bleeding is normal and should be getting lesser and lesser. He said I will deliver in 2 weeks time. By this time, I experience a tingling feeling at my vagina there. Mense-like cramp at lower abdominal. More frequent poo poo. So I guess these are symptoms that our bodies are about to go into labour.

8 Oct morning, wake up find my bleeding getting more. Panic, rushed down to see gynae with my mum n hubby.

1030 Gynae arrived at KKH delivery suite to check on me. Cervix still 1.5cm dilated. Doc say BB fine, I fine. But need to monitor. I asked if can induce BB cause I got bad omen about delaying the delivery. He said can but if cervix cannot dilate fast enough, BB may be in distress so got to do emergency C-section. I said ok.
1100 Gynae put something inside my vagina to dilate my cervix.
1300 Cant tahan pain, injection given.
1600 Gynae come on and off, cervix only open till 3cm. So they put me on drip with another medicine to induce me faster.
1700 Pain-killer effect start to end. Am in pain again. Ask for laughing gas. Mid-wive said the pain later will be 100 times worst. I panic liao, ask for epidural.
1730 Anethesist came in and admin epidural. Am told not to move at all. Vagina damn pain. I keep moving about but got to endure or else will have problem in putting in the needle.
1750 Epidural effect kick in super fast. I no longer feel pain but numb in my lower body. Cant control my legs very well.
1900 Cervix dilate fast fast, already 7cm
2030 Cervix fully dilated. Gynae asked me to try pushing. No strength to push, dunno is it epidural effect cause I feel numb in my lower body.
2100 Still cant push out BB. Gynae too hungry, went for a bite. Mid-wive take over, teach me how to push properly. I feel like giving up. Mid-wive threaten me if dun push, got to use forseps (She show me the forseps) I so scared, motivated to start pushing. Haha...
2230 Gynae came in, I still cant push. Doc used vacuum to help me. 5 persons in labour now. My hubby support my back, doctor controlling the push. Midwive assist doc. Another doctor, doc on duty press down hard on my tummy to push my BB down to my vagina. I push with their help.
2247 Feel like passing motion. But actually it is BB that is passing out. Haha.. BB Clarissa born after 12 hours of labour. I cried after gynae put my daughter on top of my tummy straight after birth. Feel so touched. Sob sob sob...
After 2247 Doctor stitch me up after placenta came out. Feel so lucky that dun have to do emergency C-section.

Frankly speaking, though painful, giving birth is quite a good experience. So dun worry, gals. U sure can handle well. No problem getting anxious about it now. U only end up stressing yourself.

Merydith
I dun quite understand leh.. meaning if i give birth before 24th nov.. meaning my annual leave will be wasted is it? Cus my ML will be start from 24 nov. My annual leave cannot bring forward de leh.. thats why i got to clear now lor.

Ypg
Mayb i dun have confidence that my hubbie will at there support me.. i felt he will be like me.. blur blur also.. hahah

wow clarissamum, seems that you have a long labor leh!! U tried all type of pain killer? Epi, laughing gas?? From all mummies describe, looks like the pain is unbearable hor.. mabbe I shuld consider taking epidural liao. At first i do not want leh.. but but..hahaha

U also had episiotomy? Was it painful?

MeiLik: My baby also 32 week+, and was estimated at 2.3kg today during growth scan. I think i need to cut down even alot more than u now, haha Thinking of cutting down my food intake by 50% :p

Juz: The growth scan was $28.90 (before GST) Its around a 20mins scan.

Loveangel: Hmm same as u, all along i thought mine was also Braxton Hicks, end up its abnormal womb contractions after hooked up to the CTG scan for 30mins. Was given 2 weeks HL leaves wef from today but i will take 1 week cos i really got too many projects on hand now. Was prescribed Nifedipine capsule.

fabbie,

Have faith in your hubby la.

emeraldbride,

I got injection, some kind of pain-killer. Forgot the name liao. Also EPIDURAL. Never try laughing gas but I think if without epidural, I cant tahan.

Episiotomy? Dunno wat is it. My doctor got cut open my vagina n anus in-between there. Is it wat u mean? Not painful at all cause got epidural mah. I can talk to my hubby while my doc is stitching me up.

Spaghetti,

My gynae had a long day. That day he got 2 other deliveries also. C-section so super tiring for him. He needs to eat to prepare himself for the long night ahead.

lavendery,

Growth scan? How is it different from the scan we usually do? My gynae will show me how big my BB is, her head, her body during scan. What else covered in the growth scan?

hi juz,
mine is not the thailand kind leh..not the brown one..the brown one i bot once @ shengsiong, not so sweet.
mine's the white one, 2 for $1.70 from NTUC...sweet & refreshing

Eh how come u all pee so little times at nite?? on an average I can pee at least 6 to 7 times a nite..is this alright?? it's so disturbing to my sleep! on top of that baby keeps doing somersault almost whole nite..

i'm so tired with backaches! anyone koe if can massage back? wan to ask HB to use counterpain to rub my back...wont trigger any contractions rite? this wkend seeing gynae..half a mind hoping will get MC to rest more, but at the same time also worried as office's pretty down on manpower now..alot of ppl taking leave..got to stagger out our leave esp since dec i'm definately going on leave, so now a lot of colleagues taking leave...haiz..

yeah..tat's called episiotomy!! I was also asking my gynae can dun cut..cos abit scary hor.. hehe must be very painful esp if make love after tat..

Hi guys..

I'm going to ask for epidural straight away.. no point waiting till I cannot tahan...=) I very scared pain.. All my doc frens told me about all the cranky pregnant woment story... And they told me no point trying natural (unless u are a firm believer) cos at some point u'll be screaming ur heads off at all doctors who walk by... and telling them how slow they are in administering epidural...

My HR told me that my ML will only start wheh bb is born.. then I'll have 2 months of ML.. Cannot break the 1st 2 months up .. then the other 2 months will constitute 40 working days in total.. So will not include PH and weekends.. but cos I give birth in Dec.. Super lots of holidays (X'mas, New Year and CNY!!!!!) So will lose out those days!! Sigh...

Ypg..
Thanks for sharing ur birth story... Sometimes, when I think about it.. I get very excited cos now I have 5 weeks or less before I can hold my bb girl!!! =) it has also daunt on my hb too...

Ypg: Its actually looks like a normal black-white usual routine ultra-scan to me. Except that it checked the baby overall body, making sure all the inner and outer parts are growing normally during the 3rd trimester. Checked for baby positioning, placenta position and also the water level of your amniotic water. It also measured the length of the limbs and hands, head and adominal. Then it will plot a graph and see which percentile your baby falls under. Its resembles like abit like detailed scan.

When u know that your gynae is stitching u up, aren't u scare? I think i would have freak out. You're cool and courageous!! :p

Ivy: I did not request for any such scan. All along, scanning was all pre-arranged by my gynae. Mine was done at KKH. So far this is my 3rd scan. 1st was done during my 1st Trimester, 2nd scan was detailed scan during my 2nd Trimester and this is my 3rd scan (3rd Trimester). I'm not sure if u can request for such scan like that. Perhaps u try check with your gynae first see if he/she provides such scanning too before u consider going to KKH

emeraldbride..

no lah.. the wound will heal.. Hahah!! Then after that will be ok.. Even if u dun tear, that whole area will hurt for a while cos of all the stretching.. very traumatising... sometimes doc will see situation.. my fren said if skin cannot tahan and rupture.. can be more painful.. then after that not nice anymore... ur down there won't look as nice if it ruptures.. heheh!! nice straight cut will look better.. But who will be looking anyway.. =)

I have 8 bottles of rice wine for sale, for confinement cooking, selling at $15 each, please email me at bladers <at> hotmail.com if keen.

Adelchia,
you asking for any leave to take to rest at home?

ypg,
ur birth story v cute leh... I heard some nurses like to scare patients into taking epidurial. My mum told me some woman will really scream their heads off when in pain (means lesser energy left for pushing).

I did hear tat there is a higher possibility of c-sec when you use epidural (dunno true or not). Any idea?

been up super early today!! Still having churning stomach - resorted to drinking ginger tea with added ginger. Feeling nauseated, wanna vomit but do not want to vomit - hate tat feeling!

actually hor, if u notice other threads, alot of mummies also gave birth naturally without epidural - those must be really fast labor. My colleague also went in without epidural, when i ask her, she say she dun feel pain! Salute her..n she is so skinny..haha

morning ladies
hungry so waki earli. hehe.

ivy
ur dr at kkh rite? can request for growth scan on ur own. hehe. i request for 3D n growth scan myself one. den juz get my dr to interpret my growth scan results when i c her. haha.

pastillies
6-7times waki to pee is alot wor. try not to drink too much fluids b4 bed time. mi on average waki 1-2 times to pee.

snowger
not necessary. some mummies require c-sect due to emergency or they totally hav no strength to push le. usually once epidural is inserted, u will not feel pain. but when connected to CTG, u able to c ur contractions. when nurses find ur contractions more frequent n longer duration, they will decrease d dose of epidural or turn it off so tt u can feel abit of pain n push baby out.

Snowger,
I showed Dr the birth plan the last time i went to see him. He chop chop went thru and on the spot signed liao then he say the clinic will send to Mt A for processing, dunno what tt means thou.
I'll ask him whether can gimme HL coz the sides of my tummy getting very stretched and painful. Think it's either the bb head tt is growing and causing the pain, or the buttocks, coz i can feel a hard round thing pushing against my tummy the whole day. If i use my annual leave, my HR will treat it as ML so very bo hua. Only way is to get HL...

You intending to ask Dr for leave? I hope he dun insist tt HL is only for staying in hospital...

Birth Stories are so fun!! keke..

some ppl actually poo at the table.. most ppl will scream at their hubbies and some will even say dun wanna give birth.. keke.. very drama but well.. its a once in a lifetime experience..

i still very confused over wat i want.. many ppl told me if planned induction then miss out alot of fun! she told me its very fun to feel water bag bursting la, rushing to hospital la.. this and that.. and also baby will not be stressed out.. baby born in singapore will be very stressed out in life liao.. so i thinking of not stressing baby and see lor.. when he feel like meeting mummy and daddy then come out lor..

1Dec not Holiday.. 8Dec then holiday..

Carmen.. i also wanted to just sit ard n do nothing until i give birth.. but i'm PA also so my boss needs a solid plan.. next week i'm going to do the interviews liao.. so my boss wants me to hand over mei mei.. but i was rolling my eyes coz i dun do much to start with then why need to so wayang the handover..

lavendery, ur dr gave u 2 weeks HL for a reason la.. dun be ti ki (stubborn) la... YOUR COMPANY WILL NOT CLOSE DOWN WITHOUT U!! ok.. be a good girl n rest well at home.. knowing your situation, dun pull stunts k.. later if got prob how? u wont want to spend the next few years of your life paying installments to KKH ya! (sorry if i sound harsh hor.. sayang sayang.. keke... rest well, need anything can ask hor!)

morning!!

my next check up is on the 18nov...still so long...cant wait to see baby...think next check up will be painful as doc will be checking...
i also don wan to have epidural...but don noe if can tahan the pain till what point...

feel so sleepy...getting more and more difficult to wake up so early in the morning and coming to work!!my boss is giving me more stress...!!!!even before i go for my ML, i haven even hand over my work and now rushing for closing and they still wanna add on my stress by adding work load-that is out of my job scope!what should i do?already exhausted all my MC...if take MC then will be unpaid!!

morning ladies. my doc jus came and told me i got no more contractions. yeah! so happy but will be taking another jab again tmr then fri i can go home.

i thought ML starts only on that day when we deliver?

mimi
tt's good news. =)

diff comp hav diff policy. if we take HL when we'r 36wks onwards, its considered ML (antenatal leave).

my manager wori tt i hav to take ML from now but my dr calculated nicely for mi le. hehe. tis wk HL den next wk die die i muz work.

Pastillies,

I also wake up many times in my 2nd and last trimester. My hubby very funny. He will wake up and stay awake until I go back to bed. Perhaps he scare I deliver the baby into the toilet bowl lor. Haha...

Gerry,

Dun think doctor will admin epidural so early. They will try other methods of pain-killers first. Besides if your labour is long and even if u can admin epidural from the start, u may end up using alot of epidural. I dun think they will allow cause too much epidural not good for us or baby. Too much of anything is no good.

Dun worry, I cant tahan pain also but I survive through. U sure can pull through. Remember mind power is really important. Believe in yourself that you can do it, U sure can do it.

Lavendery,

When doc cut me up, I din feel it cause the contraction pain is worse. When doc stitch me up, I din feel it also cause epidural effect still on. I dun even know when is my waterbag broke. I think should be broken by my gynae but I dun feel it. Haha... I think my downstairs super numb liao. Everything no feel.

I agree with Gerry, better for gynae to cut it nicely rather than it got tear when BB is coming out. Also, the stitching up and healing will be easier and faster.

iemik0,

My midwive say labour contraction pain cant be eliminated by epidural. Cause this is nature way of helping the mothers to push out the BB. Tummy contract, we push easier.

I got tell midwive that I got no strength to push cause my legs are numb. She said she may have to turn down the epidural administration. I got scared off so start pushing again. I guess mind power again.

Snowger,

I dunno if epidural will cause emergency C-section. But if you cant push, BB in distress, BB heartbeat drop so no choice got to C-section liao.

ypg
once feel numb, they will turn down epidural one. if not, u wun feel urge to push. coz muz push when contractions coming ma. tt's wat i learn as a nurse la. coz mi c-sect laz min. lolx.

Ypg
Whats forseps??? sound scary leh.. tell me leh.. Ya.. if its me i also will cry when baby on my tummy. will feel very touch! i think i will keep cry n cry n cry.. cus i cannot believe it that i have did it! =P

Btw is epidural and drip painful? =X

Mimi,
Congrats on the good news!
Treatment of ML depends on individual company policy. For my company, all MC and AL taken 1 mth before giving birth is considered ML. Tts why i refuse to take leave now, in case give birth early then they will deplete my ML. Only HL is not considered ML.

imeki0,
Uh, i see... So can reduce the epi to feel e contraction pain. Cos I heard if over numb, difficult to push cos no feeling there lah. :p

ypg,
Ya, i got a few friends/colleague's wife who had e-c-sec. Me keeping toes crossed I dun need one...

Lavendry,
Think they will inject anethesia for u b4 stiching so no pain. :p

Adelchia,
I think I will ask him the nxt time if need birthplan... I asking my hb if he wans to cut bb's umbilical cord. :p I dunno if I shld ask for leave cos dun wan to zho-bo @ home (but dun wan to work oso). Asking for too much hor? I wan to be active till birth-day (heard will hv easier labor lah).

adelchia
ur company n mine same policy. but mine inclusive of HL as well. sianz. as long as not at work will be counted ML le.

ypg...

thanks for the encouragement.. my hb thinks it is better for me to get epidural.. cos last time as soon as my period comes (whether got cramps or not)I'll take medicine already.. dun wait for pain to kick in cos I have very bad cramps... the sort that will make me break into cold sweat and vomit whatever I eat even the medicine...

Some pple believe that epidural may not be too good for bb but cos it goes straight to the spinal fluid, very little will end up in ur blood stream unlike general anaesthesia... My MIL used epidural for all her 3 kids.. and they are all fine.. doing great!!

Snowger...

Epidural does not increase the chance of c-section but may lengthen labour...
Check this article out.. Might answer ur qns
http://www.nichd.nih.gov/news/releases/epidural.cfm

Merydith - i c. anyway, dreams may not turn out real.

ypg - thanks for sharing ur birth story. seems difficult to push w epidural eh and midwife sure "fierce". at how many weeks our daughter is born, sorry i think u mentioned b4, but i can't recall.

lavendery - then why price of that growth scan seems 1/4 of detailed scan? :-( why will freak out with Dr stitched up? with epidural supposed to be painless process? I got stitches at forehead, toe and wisdom teeth area b4.

pastillies - mine also white one... it's those with green parts shaved off, not those "botak" round coconut. the barcode label for the coconut said "thailand coconut" but v sure it's those green type kena outer layer shaved off. erm, i know of someone who gets up every hr to pee, she asked the Dr for medication so that she can have better urine control &amp; better zzz.

iemik0

The mid-wive know I cant tahan pain so she ask me to try pushing instead of turning down the epidural. She use harsh words, threaten me to turn down the epidural to make me push more. But this works well for me. Really appreciate her efforts to help me.

Why u that time emer C-section? I heard emer C-section very expensive right?

fabbie

If mother cant push BB out, doc may use forseps or vacuum to pull out BB. If still cant, got to emer C-section liao. Forseps is quite like the tongs, to hold on to the BB head i think and pull BB out. Dun worry about it. Most mothers have a smooth natural labour.

Thanks Gerry! I think epi is safe for bb cos the medication is directed in spine. There is one oral medication for pain tat will make both mum n bb drowsy... So pple may hv confuse it with that oral medication. :p

ypg
failed induced delivery. no contractions plus cervix totally nv dilate. laz resort is c-sect.

emergency c-sect is more expensive dan planned c-sect. =(