(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

Aynone apply subsequent Born Incentive? Jus wondering if oscar fees are discounted.

I find the 3 bks by Mrs Wong very useful too. Local context and relevant.

Din have a chance to do 3D scan. Shall do it this time round. Sounds so interesting with the video clips.

Lynn & Pris - Indeed it's exciting to see 3D scan. Maybe u can ask your gynae if can show u 3D scan.
I'm looking forward to my next appointment on 24/5. By then bb shld be around 11weeks+.

Lynn - somemore u having twins, shld be more exciting to see 2 bbs in 3D scan. How many weeks r u now? My fren also had a pair of twins and when she was at 2 months+ her tummy was already showing like 4 months' preg.

most likely i am preg for around 5 weeks. I tested positive using pregnancy kit.

how soon shall I go for gynae check up?

1st time MTB, quite loss

Daymoon/Babe,
Welcome.

Daymoon:
Choice of gynae depend on individual as well as your budget. Going to polyclinic would mean cheaper but in term of waiting time, it should be longer.

Babe:
The best time to visit a gynae would be in your 8 weeks, that is when a baby's heartbeat is traced. At the same time, the gynae should be able to let you know when is your edd (estimated due date of delivery)

Hi Fong
Thanks. shall ask gynae if he as 3D scan. i din check this out b4.

Haiz these weekend is bad as i m down with slight flu.. runny nose and coughing.. sigh.. still abit drowsy over the med ate...

Feeling very bloated these days tho going 9wks+.

Scarletgal - i just found out 29 Apr & even Dr Thong so surprised to find the two heartbeats. thought the second twin did't happen s 1/3 size. m seeing her next tue evening. so looking forward.

Fong2 - this is my 9th wk for 1st twin & 8th wk for 2nd twin. yes it's really exciting. Wow, our babies same EDD. Is 24/5 your third appointment already?

I believe i need to see my gynae every 2 wks.

Babe/daymoon - would recommend to see gynae s polyclinic won't have the facilities to do ultrascan. I only found out that i was pregnant at the gynae when m 7wks+ conceived. In fact, my second twin who's 1 wk younger was diagnosed with heartbeat at that time already. So, u may wish to see a gynae in 1-2 wks time. This is my 1st pregnancy so more kan-cheong.

Snowy - where did u get the baby journal? is it with library only?

Lynn - 24/5 will be my 6th appointment. I've been seeing my gynae since i was in my 5th week. I had blighted ovum for my first pregnancy last dec. So once my gynae knows that i'm pregnant again, he wants to see me every week to monitor my condition. On top of that I'm given a jab every week. But since my last appointment last friday, he feels that my condition quite stable. So i'm requested to see him fortnightly instead. But still hv to jab weekly until 1st trimester is over.

Snowy: Ya i heard good things bout Clarins products too. I tend to use those dermatological or cosmeceutical brands (Vichy, Avene, TDF etc) cos i have sensitive acne-prone skin.

ScarletGal: Thanks, i'll call Usante up soon!

Oh ya, does this mean eating sharksfin soup is out too?

Babe: Do you have friends who have given birth? You may want to ask them for any recommendations. If you want to give birth at TMC or Mt Al, you'll have to check whether the gynae does deliveries at those hospitals. Some gynaes may just stick to one or 2 hospitals.

For me, i'm seeing Dr Chia Yee Tien who has a private practice at Mt E. I've decided to give birth at Mt Al.

Jowin: Take care & rest more. Drink more water & take more vit c to boost your immunity. Hope you get well soon.

Hope everyone will have a great week ahead...it's back to work tomorrow. Sigh.

Hi Echo,

The title of the book is 'The new art and science of pregnancy and childbirth'..

it covers topics like pre-pregnancy care, all about your pregnancy, concerns about your delivery, postnatal and baby care. This are the 4 main major topics.

it costs like $30++ for paperback and i think $80++ for hard cover. I got my copy from KKH Pharmacy though i know major bookstores like Popular, Times, MPH may have it too.

The cover is green in colour.

Morning Ladies.. MS is bad this morning.. puked 3 times already.. when is this going to stop!! haha.. bad way to start morning and to make it worse.. my company email is down!! i bought an organic stretch mark oil from mums essential yesterday..20++ for small small bottle.. this thurs got private isetan sale.. my friend going to get the clarins one for me.. yippee!!

Have a great day Ladies!!

How's your weekend? This morning, I almost puked in my hubby's car... The chest feels so uncomfortable, and I don't usually feel this way during this time...

Nonetheless, looking forward to the PH that is coming! Yippee!

Hi Lynn & Scarletgal: The baby journal can be collected at Jurong, Woodland, Tampines and Main Library.
I collected mine at Main Lib. Too bad the vouchers at the back had expired in Dec 2007. Thanks to Jowinbaby, otherwise this thread won't know there is such a cute & free item for us!

Pris: I like Clarin products cos I have used other brands and they give me pimples. Their products are in general more expensive (aft I compare with Lancome, etc.). But I've stuck to Clarins after I found their products suitable for my skin. :p I haven't bought the strechmark cream from them but its definetly a pdt I wanna keep in mind.

I think taking sharkfin is out too (cos it's still part of the fish). I read that humans actually cannot digest sharkfin due to the complexity of the nutrients. So eating more to get better complexion/better health is not exactly true... I rather stick to bird nest. *winks*

Hi Ladies, Guten morgen...may this be a wonderful day for you all.

Fong2 - thx 4 sharing. hope that your pregnancy has stabilised and baby healthy & strong. Proud of u to sound so calm & managing it well. I wd have gone bogus due to worry.

Snowy - thx. probably pop down to main library since m at RH tomorrow evening.

Raven - hmm m getting some chest discomfort too...esp...i felt that m choked and couldn't breathe. hav been getting hubby to treat me like baby...he tried to make me burp to feel better.

Yeah! M looking forward to the PH too. I so need a break.

Morning Ladies

Welcome to all new mummies

I had a very tiring and bloated weekend which we even had to postpone Mother's day celebration for my MIL. I'm already in my 11th week+ and the symptoms are still strong. Can't wait for 2nd trimester to start and crossing my fingers that the symptoms will subside as most describe.

Going to try the clarins strecthmark cream since there are so many good reviews on it.

Feeling a little nervous now as my OSCAR test is booked on the 20th. Looking forward to the PH too!

Reddates - it should be fine if it's in small portion. main reason would be deep sea fish may be filled with mercury which causes down- symdrome. this includes tuna, mackeral etc. too.
it was all over newspaper last week.

Ladies, what is an OSCAR test? M curious. it seems need to take on 12th weeks, isn't it (like LuthAdel's appointment)? Is it scary?

one more ladies...are you following any specific dietary plans on first trimester?

e.g. eat 3 pcs os steak per week
drink 3 glasses of milk per day
eat 1 egg per day?

My gynae recommended and i haven't really started.

Just want to ask, if you are a little sick, like if you have the flu, would you go to GP or gynae? I was having some back pain a couple of weeks ago, and went to my GP, who prescribed me a gel for the pain. But when I showed the gel to my gynae, she said that there's actually a small risk if used by pregnant women. So now I'm not sure if I can trust my GP.

Then today I'm having quite a serious cough. Coughing with a lot of phlegm for the last few days. I'm not sure if I should go and see my GP or if I should just wait for the cough to clear. Because I'm coughing really badly now and it's really very xin ku when I get a coughing fit. But I feel it would be very expensive if I see my gynae for a cough. What do you girls think?

BTW, has anyone experienced any pain in the pelvic floor muscles (the muscles you use for Kegel exercises)? I've been feeling a bit of pain on and off for the last few days, especially when I bear down (when I push on the muscles that I would use if I want to pass urine). Anyone else feel the same? Is it anything to be concerned about?

Morning ladies...

Went to see gynea on Sat...can see and hear bb heartbeat. Very happy.

EDD is delay till 26 Dec. LOL my Xmas gift.

My MS is neither subsiding nor increasing. Still Nausea throughout and vomitting in the morning when i awake. It has become a morning ritual
. If Singapore Merlion needs to be under maintenance, i can go and operate as merlion on its behalf. LOL

Hope all goes well for all mommies and a Happy Mothers Day to all.

HI Snowy,
Bu ke qi la.. good things must share ma

HI Prisangel
Thanks.. me MC at home today. still runny nose n bad cough..
This cough makes me even bloated..n wanna puke...

Hi echo
Its ok to see a GP. i seen one for my runny nose n cough... BUT must tell GP tat we are pregnant n must prescribe med. that is safe for pregnancy... this is impt...I think the presciption are so mild that usually my runny nose can take 1-2 days to recover.. Now 4 days liao.. still not yet fully cover.. sigh!!

Lynn - I do worry at times, more so especially when nearing my appointment date. Just that i'm trying to stay positive and leave my worries to God. So u shld also stay positive as too much worries is not good for bb.

Re: specific diet plans
I dun really hv one but trying to eat more healthy but at times i do succumb to my cravings for fried carrot cake etc. :p

I drink 1 cup of enfamama everyday although it is recommended to drink 2x per day. Usually at nite i will get porridge, vege, meat and egg from the chai fan stall. I love eggs so i think almost every day i sure will eat eggs. But we can't take those soft boil eggs right? Must be cooked ones.

Jowinbaby - do rest more and drink more warm water.

Echo - I didn't experience such pain but i do experience mild pain on the sides of the V of my bikini area last week.

meilik: hehe, really admire your spirit, still can joke around. I wish i am so positive like u.

I been feeling very moody and grumpy all day long as my morning sickness is a whole day and night thing. Just want to hit my 2nd trimester soon. Very terrible day by day

hey lavendery,

I know what you mean. My MS is also a whole day thing ... it gets worse in the evening till night ... usually, if I puke, it's at nite. I'm just living day to day .. suffering.

My MS usually lasts till the 14th week .. I'll hit 11 weeks this Friday ... still got so many weeks of suffering to go ..

I keep drinking chin chow. I can't help it. Can't seem to drink plain water. I keep buying the sweetened chin chow from NTUC and then ask my maid to chop it up and mix with water and sugar in a big jug ...

I still can't stomach vegetables.

thanks for your advice, think i will head for a a private gynae. GP seems to have a longer waiting time and only can scan the baby after 20th weeks. A bit too long right?

Anyway, i just seen a doctor for cough and flu. so worried about eating all those medicine. =(

And yes, MS begins when i brush my teeth and whenever i drink plain water.. think baby doesnt like water? haha..

Samantha: Glad u also know my suffering. Some people get it particularly morning/evening/night. But mine is whole day, hence i kept feeling frustrating why so unfair. keke. I know i just too childish at times :p

Actually try not to drink Chin Chow too much. Its consider "cooling". Just like i crave for ice kachang like that, haha.

lavendery:
i try not to think and keep myself busy at work or at home, watch tv or surf the internet. I know having MS is good.

You will be amazed that you will breeze thru your 2nd tri/3rd tri soon.

But the MS/nausea feeling won;t ease off so soon. Depend on individual. Some 13 weeks, some 17 weeks. Take it easy.

Best way is, if you wanna puke, puke it out then you will feel better.

hi Fong2 - thx. guess we have to eat healthy. I had my 1st craving...had a mcspicy without myo...keep thinking about it after reading thread.

take care ladies (daymoon, raven, echo & jowinbaby) on your health. now's critical. see GP whenever not well to ensure the flu doesn't affect the baby.

Samantha - heard that chin chow is too cooling. not good for baby. suggest change to other sweet drinks.

2ndbaby - u can get the ginger tea sachets from any supermarkets. i don't like the taste so m making myself lime juice with a squash of ginger. taste alot better. it's an angmoh recipe...suits me well. Can boil the lime juice with the ginger & sugar and afterwards have in chill in a jug if u prefer it cold. yummy!

re: ginger tea
There are 2 types of ginger drinks in the supermarket: those that are ginger/sugar, and those that are ginger/tea/sugar (like teh halia). I heard that we shouldn't take tea of any kind cos it's too cooling (Lipton, Chinese or green tea), so you might want to check which type you are getting before you buy.

i drank a lime juice with ginger drink at prata place.. its nice.. but.. OMG.. the lime not clean then got spots.. eeewww.. haha.. so that was the first and last for me.

an indian friend recommended me to use fresh ginger and infuse with hot water and sugar.. squeeze lime juice in if you like..

thanks all, I also heard that from my other friends .. that chin chow is too cooling. Will stop drinking it. Think I will switch to soft drinks (decaffeinated) ...

when will our suffering end???!!!

ya lor, lavendery ... I also ask myself how come I hear of friends who have NO ms at all. I have had it all 4 pregnancies. really feel miserable. Funny thing is my mom didn't have MS when she had us.

Unfair, man. lol.

For me, the only teruk thing about pregnancy is hte MS. I don't have ANY other symptoms all through my pregnancies - no backache, no water retention ... NOTHING. so after this 1st trimester, then can start relaxing.

Now, I feel ill ... think I need to puke ..

Phylicia: This thurs there's Isetan private sale?!? OOh...soo tempted!

Snowy: Then i better not take sharksfin when i attend wedding dinners. I like it but for the sake of my bb, shall abstain.

Tulle: I just eat what i like (of course not those forbidden foods) daily. I drink 2 glasses of milk daily (fresh milk in de morning & Anmum at night). Chicken essence every other day & birds nest once a week.

Jowin: I don't have MS but yesterday cos of a cough, i almost puked. Luckily managed to control. Are you feeling better today?

Samantha: Better don't drink chin chow anymore. It's VERY cooling...try some other cold drinks? The weather is so hot so i also can't help but reach for cold drinks. Just finished a glass of ribena & i added 2 cubes of ice. :p

Today, i almost fainted during flag-raising ceremony in school. (I'm a teacher.) Luckily, i sat down quickly but it was scary! Should i make an appt to see my gynae?

Samantha - gynae say u need to get something for pregnancy. luckily no other symtoms. For me tho no MS, m suffering from rashes and it's really unbearable...now m so ugly because of all the scratching...can't stop it esp when m asleep.

hopefully no other symtoms.

Phylicia - your ginger tea recipe doable too. so much easier - squeeze the lime...hmmmm

btw, do u ladies feel so restless at work? I have so much to do but felt so restless at the same time.

Hi babe,
I went at 6+ weeks & can already detect baby’s heartbeat from ultrasound scan. Gynae is also able to tell EDD

Pris,
I would avoid sharkfin soup to play safe.

Lynn,
Me too feel bloated, but no vomiting. In fact I think I may feel better after vomiting, to let out the air inside my stomach, but there’s nothing to throw out. Sometimes I’ll sit on the toilet bowl hoping that I can pass out some air to relief the bloatedness.

Hi 2nd baby,
Can get ginger tea from supermarket, those individual tea-bags in big pack. I’m drinking the Lemon & Ginger tea from Twinings brand. The ginger taste is not too strong.

Hi Tulle,
My gynae also mentioned abt eating eggs & milk, but I didn’t follow strictly.. hee… disobedient patient.
Sometimes I even forgot to take my multi-vit, folic & fish oil supplements! Forgetful me..

Echo,
I think GP should be ok, but must must mention that you’re pregnant, so that the doc gives you medicine safe for preggies.

Echo,

I see my gynae when I'm having my flu, coz they will b the best healthcare pro to prescribe the med. Mine comes with the package so I dun have to pay extra or what when I see my gynae for common sickness and my gynae gave me MC oso which is acceptable for my company.

Me can't help it oso, drink some soft drink w/o ice, coz feel so bloated that I want to burp out all the gas. Hmm..haven't try the ginger tea recipe, sounds good.

Hey Sam,

Chin chow is a big nos nos to preggie, stop drinking it.

scarletgal - i shall get the twinnings brand. m afraid of ginger taste.

tell me about forgetting taking supplements. i forgot to take my duphaston again today. sigh!

reddates - u mean your anenatal package? so it covers usual healthcare issues during pregnancy? That's good to know.

Sam - really admire u having 4 babies. r u a SAHM? Or are u working? how did you manage to take care of the other 3 kids? does your hubby help out?

gee, thanks for the sympathy, Phylicia .. lol. WE ALL NEED IT.

Hey Tulle, yes, I am a SAHM. Hubby got me a helper when I was preggers with No.3 ... so it's s BIG help. She's very competent and my girls love her .. been with us 1.5 yrs already.

No, my hubby doesn't help out .. he's too busy at work and then when he's home, he's very tired - he plays with the girls etc but he doens't help with the housework etc. He leaves me the car though so it's easier for me to get around with my girls and my helper - to send them to school, ballet etc. I think I'd die if kena send them using public transport .. lol.

My eldest is 9 years old, no.2 is 3.5 years old and my youngest is 20 months old.

Where do you get your rashes ie on which part of your body? Will it subside after the 1st trimester?

Lynn,

My antenatal package is $550, cover all visits, vits, folic acid and some blood test as well as common sickness medicine and consultation.

My gynae is Doc Adrian B Woodworth at CCK Thomson Woman Clinic.

samantha: Soft drink got contain caffine?
I also rarely drink soft drink since my stomach has been getting really bloated, too many air inside.

Mei Lik: Hehe, thanks. I've also been looking forward day by day. Hoping i will hit 2nd trimester soon. How i hope its end of June now, keke. I feel like puking, everytime already got the reflex action to puke out but everytime nothing came out, and its just so terrible.

I tried eating but no appetite, only can eat very little. Feel so guilty toward my little baby inside.

hey lavendery,

Yes, Coke contains caffeine .. but if you drink MUGS rootbeer ... it says there that it's caffeine free.

Wa lau ... evening time .. my MS is getting worse ... I gagged a couple of times too like you ... but manage to control ... *SOB* I hate puking too ...

Don't feel guilty, lavendery .. my gynae told me many times that our bodies have reserves to nourish the baby during this time ... when your MS goes away, then can eat happily for your baby!

Hi Prisangel
Today ok la.. as usuall bloated after meals n wanna puke...
I hope this will gets better

So fast eat birdnest, ok?? i thought its better to take from 2nd trim onwards??

Wah.. dun get heatstroke.. must take care wor.. drink more water..not feeling well, dun do any flag raising.. rest more.

Samantha
everyday take Chin chow ah...cannot take wor.. its too cooling.. barley, chrysanthemum shd be alright..

Tulle
haha.. same lor, me also forget to take supplements forget to take duphaston. so guilty leh.. already not taking in much food liao.. Recently i got rejection in taking pills.. take already feel like puking... GOSH!!

Jowin,

My physician advise me not to take barley oso as it's very cooling oso, during my 2nd preg I dunno abt it and I drank alot, in the end miscarriage, so I dunno is it becoz of drinking too much barley. Better b safe than sorry.

Lynn,
To me quite worth it, so for my all my preg and delivery is by the same gynae. But he's very busy, got alot of patients, although quite chop chop, but if u got any problems can just ask him.

Hi Reddates
oh.. sorry to hear tat.. i guess i have to drink in moderate la.. i drink soya bean, honey water, ribena more..
Barley n chrysanthemum once week once.. i m afraid of overheaty as i keep getting nose bleeding...