(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

yeah, half day more to go..super happy tat its weekend tomorrow..

Juzyounme,
Dont worry so much k..i believe when u eventually deliver ur bb, u will never bear to part with ur bb..the feeling & bonding will be so over-whelmed that you will never want to part with him/her..Now u may be saying all these cos u feel frustrated..but there's always a way out k..Have a serious talk with ur hubby & get in involved in ur pregnancy..

Did he follow u each time u go for gynae appts? Let him see the scan and he will feel more for the bb..

Last but not least, must cheer up no matter what k..dun ever let ur current state develop into pre-natal blues..control ur emotion k..

Forgot to add on another 2 points:

- my husband is willing to pay for gynae consultation for next mth, so i have change the appt fr 1st wk of Nov or 2nd wk of Oct. He spend his entire pay within 1wk plus after getting it, so I will be missing appt this mth. i think my gynae may scold or ask. ;P

- i got a thread on child adoption in this forum, just that nobody answers my qns on adoption procedures. so i have no clue.

kristalangel - a boy. i thot u r posting items on ur blog to sell? don't have to purposely pass me anything. if there's sth i want fr ur items, u can always name a lower price ;P anyway, the items in my blog which is not cancelled are still pending - http://tillendofthetime.blogspot.com/

iemik0 - *faint*

Adel,
i intend to work till the last day. During my 1st preg i also work till the last day. I have slight contraction 2day b4 but didnt knw. Cos i thought is normal stomach pain.

Juzyounme,
I also dunno why they push me to delivery ward. She just mention that my gynae say go delivery ward that time my contraction abt 5 mins interval ba.

ScarletGal,
i didnt control my diet lar.. Is due to i cant eat loh. That why didnt put on much weight. Recently i crave for ice cream lei..My bb weighs nearly 800g at mid of wk24.

Carmen - if i can substain, i should be able to rush n finish my course by Nov. so i die die cannot pop by then, and i have already paid my exam fees for 2 papers in Nov. i don't think i should wait till arrival of baby to finish course, coz nobody can collect & take care of baby in evening. actually none of my closer frens are pregnant or with kids. that's why i always source for advice in forum... there are still some hand-me-overs from cousins-in-laws or i post to seek for them.

Xiao Pooh - i think i already have pre-natal blues. coz i keep crying. about 70-80% of times he does accompany me. he is more excited about baby than me, but still when it comes to $$$ issue...

Hi Juzyounme,
do stay strong.. Some of the things is good to haev dun haev to buy. Like the nipple cream if u haev sore breast use your own breast milk. It have better effect than nipple cream.

I do knw that $$ can affect your mood but do stay strong for your baby. I am sure after bb born u wont wan to send him away. cos now my boy is the No1 in my heart. Anything regarding him can make my heart jump faster. And little things he do can make me happy for the whole day. My boy just started his half day childcare last mon. Everyday i have to call my MIL for update cos i very worry abt him. This wk he already didnt cry and 2 days ago he happily walk into the childcare centre himself. I was so happy that nothing unhappy in the office can affect my mood..So motherhood is a really good experience.

juzyounme, someone passing u a cot? cos i have 1 at home which my friend passed to me but i have already bought a new one. it comes with the mattress. if u want the cot, can let me know, i can take some photos and show u. i can pass to u FOC, no worries ok? btw, i saw ur blog, looks like most of the essential stuffs u have got already. but feel free to let us know ok? i have lots of passdown clothings, mittens, booties for boys, if yours is insufficient, i can pass to u too.

btw, dun cry ok? will affect your baby. stay happy, dun think too much.

i intend to take 4mths ML if my company allow.
So far havent talk to my boss abt it.. Cos i feel that i still have AL abd childcare leave to clear next yr as well. so must well use my 4mths ML at 1 shot. This yr i will bring forward my 21 days to next yr. So next yr i have 42day AL + 10day childcare leave.

This yr i still have 10.5day AL to clear (that is my last yr leave) and 1 day childcare leave. I have to clear these by end of the yr loh.

ivy
a few of us gg for talk tmr. meilik, santorini, bubblepearl n mi.

juzyounme
jiayou. let mi know if u need any boi clothes. my boi has quite alot of clothes. =X

Adel: same..my company also take HL or MC as ML if it taken during the one month before EDD...

Meilik & Iemik0, gotten ur numbers liao..

Meilik, confirm the ML is different from HL and MC? okok i will check w my company HR again..

Juzyounme, i dun think ur hb is that heartless after all..since he object the option of adoption and also he is more excited about the baby than you..u have to slight 'open' his mind and thoughts on the finance problems you both will faced after bb arrived. "I see some sunlight after the days of raining"..

Adelchia: I intend to take AL 1 week b4 EDD cos i still have 7 days to clear for this yr and cannot be bring to next yr

bubblepearl.
The employment act quote: "If an employee is certified by the medical practitioner or medical officer to be ill enough to need to be hospitalised but is not hospitalised for any reason whatsoever, the employee shall be deemed to be hospitalised for the purposes of this section". Unquote.

If i interpret it correctly, i don't think you need to be hospitalised to get hospitalisation leave, more likely to be home rest/bed ridden.

bubble pearl,
thkx for the info!!!!! wil try to go down cos im interested in this too..

Juzyounme,
Good thing your hb is paying for the next round. what he usually spent on? y can spend his pay away within the 1st week he got it?

Mei Lik,
My com will take it as ML. very smelly.......I really envy those com wif good HR, that dun have to be "hantam" by MOM before they give us what we entitled.

Hey girls

Nursing Bra
I was at Mothercare yesterday and met a lady who just gave birth 1.5 mths ago. I was about to buy nursing bra when she told me it is best not to get it now. She bought some b4 delivery and after delivery, her breast got bigger due to milk production and all those she bought before could not be used anymore.

So in the end I thought I'll just wait until after birth to buy my nursing bra. Just to share the info

mum2ndx - all employee should know their right. HR are not smelly, they simply do not know the rights as well.

You can email to MOM and ask them your questions. You can forward MOM reply to your HR for their action, from then, they cannot act as "Smelly HR". Haha.

Unless u want to be firm on your rights, or else, u lugi leh

i think every company have diff policy. Cos for my company is if the HL or MC is continous follow by ML then the HL and MC will take as ML loh. so means after HL or MC at least must work 1 day then it dun consider as part of ML.

So better check with your HR.

Juzyounme,
you must really learn to relax and try not to think so much..i noe its not easy, but u may wish to get help on your pre-natal blues..at least talk to those counsellors, it helps..

For me, i oso in a super lousy mood 2-3 weeks ago..dun noe why that so long as things dont come my way, i will break down and cry..Or when my hb didnt do things that i wanted him to do, i will oso quarrel with him & cry..Then i realised how come im crying so much, so i told myself never dwell into pre-natal blues..so lately, i tends to think more abt my bb to occupy my mind, n be happy..even when im stress at work, i will oso tell myself that this shd not affect me & my bb..cos my bb is the most impt person to me now..Always must be cheerful no matter what k, maybe easy said than done, must its all in our mind, whether we want or not..

Ur hb may not be mature enough..u must tell him that he's excited abt bb, but he must also face reality..U must tell him his responsibility as a father and as man of the family..If he genuinely care for bb, tell him to start share the burden, cannot just talk but no action from him..

For me, i oso talk to my hb how we shall plan our financing..Its a two-way contribution..Must talk it out..

bubblepearl- You can calle the MOM officer. I called twice. Both officer said cannot take it as ML. If taken as ML, company can be taken to court.

Company policies only covers company rules and regulations of everday operations but cannot take Legislation as company policy.

Seek clarifications.

LuthAdel,
I have been wearing nursing bra since i was in my 1st trimester..cos my breasts got bigger and i simply cant wear my normal bras anymore..

The nursing bras i bought from Perfect Mum was super comfortable..The salesgirl gave me an extension clip so that even if my breasts or breasts line expand, i will still be able to wear..

Plus 1 good thing about nursing bras are u get the right support for your breasts, but u must get a good one..cannot be too tight or uncomfy..

I would sugguest u get now..my 2 cents thots..

Jappooh - really don't have to buy nipple cream eh? if don't need i don't buy, just scare of sore & cracked nipples. i still have plenty of doubts of motherhood is gd experience. i think i will take my whole life time to evaluate. i think too much, eg. what if the boy have his own family n don't care about me.

Mimi - i think my MIL going to collect cousin-in-law's cot for us this Sat. i think baby clothes i should have sufficient at least until 3mths... after that, i don't know how big he will grow. not experience enough to judge the hand-me-overs clothes is for which mth.

iemik0 - eh? ur current one is boy or gal? if boy u can still use the clothes...?

bubble pearl - haiz, how long he needs to open mind n thoughts? the baby is arriving fast ooo... if he needs a lifetime, i chaim liao.

mum2ndx - good qn. he doesn't want to account for his expenses, so i don't know. i always ask him if he got mistress.

LuthAdel,

Have u tried looking at the nursing bras at Marks and Spencers? They are of slightly better quality than the ones at Mothercare (I feel) .. just have a look ...

yeah, it depends with each person ... my boobs are already sizable already before pregnancy so they don't really get that much bigger when I breastfeed .. THANK GOODNESS.

But yeah, you can hold off buying nursing bras till you're actually nursing your little one then you can accurately tell the size of your boobs while nursing ..

Juzyounme,
no prob. I'm waiting for my maid to get back from her holiday then I can further dig around my stuff to see what I have to let go ... pity you aren't having a girl though .. I have lots of pink clothes ... like TONS.

Juzyounme,
for me i use my breast milk to apply on the nipple after i pump the milk. So far it works better than the nipple cream. So that can dun buy.
I also have sore nipple due to latching of my boy. after that i apply my own breast milk after every latch or pump session.

juzyounme,

diaper bag can put in lotsa things. not only diapers, can organise the bottles, changing mat, wipes, etc when u bring baby out. pretty handy n useful.

i m puzzled on how ur hb can spend all his $$ within a week after getting his pay. do u hv access to his passbook, or online banking? dat way, u can 'keep track' of his spending. if he doesn't wan to account for his expenses, i think it's a bit fishy lor. anyway, b strong ya... dun think too much.

Hi juzyounme,
if u still need to diaper bag let me knw. I have one that was give by Mt A. Inside have a changing mat as well. I am not using anyway cos i have another one as well. Do let me knw if u wan. I can send u the pic if interested.

i'm thinking of getting cheap nursing bras with slightly bigger size.

kristalangel - i don't mind bigger boobs. pink clothes? i think the rest of the mums in this thread maybe keen. ur maid still not back yet, i thot it has been 2 wks?

Jappooh - when apply breast milk, the soreness or crack will go off?

Jazlyn - no i don't access his financial records. same as he doesn't have my access. i also puzzled & have never understand that all this while.

Jazlyn/Jappooh - i'm thinking of using the big bag which my MIL passed to me, put everything in. just that i probably have to dig ard for things when open up the bag. is the changing mat to be used for home, same as outside? i got one for home used.

Juzyounme,

I'm also in the smiliar situation as u. I'm a low earner and my salary is only half of my hubby. All along, i've been paying everything (eg gynae consultation, medication, pregnancy stuffs, most of the baby things etc) mostly all my myself. I do shopping alone for baby stuffs and most of the times, i go around asking for people for handsmedowns items. As long as the stuffs are usable, old or new doesnt matter to me at all.

As for attending those free courses (breastfeeding, taking care of baby), i'm also attending alone all by myself as hubby is not interested. Initially i tot of signing up with TMC, but upon looking at the courses fees, it way beyong my budget already.

Esp this week, i've spent a few hundreds of dollars alone just three visits to KKH. Which is already half of my pay. Presently i'm still on hospitalisation leaves.

I know also that i don't have much savings at the end of this month, perhaps just eat biscuits/bread + water or watever when i'm broke now. Buying tonics (birdnest, ginseng etc etc) to build up my current health+baby is way impossible as i do not have the money to do so.

I even need to pay everything all by myself when it comes to confinement this coming Dec. Even when i lobang my hubby's car, i still need to pay him according to taxis rate. Initially my hubby wanted to abort this baby as he wanted to save money, but i don't want to be guilt-ridden forever.

Regardless of all the problems i been facing alone ever since i got pregnant till now, this did not deter me from giving up my baby for adoption.

I know life ahead will be even harder for me and my baby when the baby comes out on this Dec and most likely i'll be loosing my job too when my company is gonna sell off to another company by this Dec also. I admit this baby has chose to come out at the wrong time.

But think of it, its your own fresh and blood. Regardless of how hard life will be, i'll try to bring up this baby all with my best effort and get back to find a new fulltime job and partime jobs on weekend as well once i finish my confinement. I know its hard, but try to stay strong and positive for the sake of your baby

Kristalangel
Oh, I didn't know that M&S carries nursing bra as well! hmmm, will go and check that out.

Xiao Pooh
Where is this Perfect Mum located?

lavendery - i agree the TMC childbirth course is rather costly, esp if u choose weekend n not giving birth in TMC.

wah, ur situation sounds worse than me. reading ur post makes me teary. at least i buy chee cheong fun, packeted nasi lemak which is less than $1.50 when i'm broke. where do u work or stay? we can share food, esp fruits, since u have piles.

LuthAdel,
I went to the outlet at Kovan shopping mall, the salesgirl there is very friendly & will help u choose the right sizes..you can pop by & take a look..

Lavendery,
I must really salute you..you are a very strong mummy..To think that you fight hard to support & keep ur bb makes me feel so proud of you..

On the other hand, i feel ur hb is riddiculous..how can he expect u to pay him the taxi-fare amt when u longbang him..too much already *?!"!!

I guess my hubby is just too miser but he assured me that he will try to change. Initially i wanted to back out the wedding last year as i really cannot tolerate his stingy character, everything have to be 50-50%, however he said i have to pay for all the losses and damages costs incured if i ever back out (house, reno, wedding banquet, wedding album etc). So in the end i proceeded on.

Close collagues and friends who know my plight, they tried to help me (esp now i'm pregnant) but i do not want to want anyone's pity cos i've chose this path myself and i know i'm really paying dearly for it now.

I work in industrial area in the east, its a very remote area as bus do not goes there. Have to walk for 20mins from the nearest bus-stop.
I eat bread every morning to cut cost, bring own fruits to company to eat for lunch, and dinner, perhaps just economic rice. When colleague wanna dine at resturants, i just try to come out with some excuses i'm too busy with my work.

I try not to exceed $3 for per day. I'm trying to save every single cents for the sake of baby as when baby is coming out on Dec.

I'm not sure if hubby is gonna share any expenses with me when this baby is coming out. But for sure, i'll need to work even harder now for the sake of this baby. Sometimes i just too over emotional and angry, at times i have the thought of simply putting the baby's sirname as my sirname since hubby is not contributing anything. Meantime just tolerate and bear with everything.

lavendery:
dats so absurb gal!!! how cud a decent man/FTB treat his wife so?!!! ya... please dun stinge on food. thou i dun have any tonics or birdnest too, but i think we sud have decent meals to keep our body and BB nourished! Darling, yr HB really needs some "education" here... btw, I stay in Yishun (same as Phyl), where do u stay?

Juzyounme:
hee... i oso wanna see if i can meet up with you and Lavendery... the 3 poor MTBs who have to depend on ourselves!

Phyl: wanna join us for women's or rather MTB talk? ;)

lavendery - pple sure asked why u agree to marry him in 1st place? btw, why? sorry, pple asked me a lot of times, but i would still like to ask u... so u stay near ur workplace?

lavendery - i think u should receive help eh. how about ur family or in-laws do they help u? if not, i think u should not reject help fr colleagues & frens. esp for the baby's sake.

juzyounme
how can he charge you taxi fare. it seems that he just want to play with his kid only with no added responsibilites. Is he paying for the household items eg food, electric & water etc

I feel that most men will not know the cost incur for having a bb. That's y i got my hb to shop with me for bb stuffs. From there, he realised that we need to get certain things for bb and certain things are not cheap.

Lavendery - I feel that ur hb is too much!! How can he ask u for taxi-rate?!!! Will he charge ur bb for taxi-rate once ur bb is born?!!!

winnie - not me. it's lavendery's husband. but my husband will sometimes get me to pay for taxi fare if we are travelling together.

where to get diaper bags??i feel like getting one...but it is so expensive...have big bags but think diaper bags more organize..any advice??

As for why i marry him is becos at least he is very devoted to me. He really care and love me. But as long as money is concern, he can become a different person. Hence its really a sticky and sensitive issue between us.

He has been receiving 'talk' from my parents. Everytime the effect will be temporary, after that things go back to the same.

I stay in Tiong Bahru, work in Bedok. Its also abit far from my workplace. Can also meet up as long as i no need to stay back late

I did not really turn everyone of them down. As long as they pass me those handsmedown stuffs, i accept. But if they decided to pay for me for my meals at times, or some baby items which i need to buy, i will reject cos i'm also working now. I can still afford within my own means

Hi Juzyounme,

i am nov07 mummy and dec08 mummy. I think i have somethings that are outstanding in your blog.. if you dont mind, i can let you have them FOC.

My items are packed away at my own home. and i need to go back home to pick them up for you (i am putting up at my mum's place now)

nowadays seems to have quite some of us MTBs with financial problems....hope that our hubby will change and save for the future!!!

any advice or cheap diaper bags??where can i buy?

juzyounme
sorry, blur after reading all the post.

lavendery
sorry to say that if i will you, i will not marry him. is like those hb who hit wife but he can say he love her very much.

juzyounme n lavendery,

i m so sorry to hear dat both ur hbs r so calculative. my hb is those stingy type, but so far he's ok with paying for baby's related expenses. inclusive gynae's package, items for baby. i oni pay for those miscellanous items.

juzyounme,

u can use the bag ur MIL gave u. wat u can do is get those zipped pouches, or those tie up pouches to store ur stuffs n put into bag for easy finding. u can use those ziplock bags.

ivy,

i got mine from robinsons @ raffles city. mine is Pigeon diaper bag. i find the size just right n light weight too. n it does not exceed 50 dollars.

pig07 - just sms u.

lavendery - v strange kind of love. stingy cannot prove care & love, right? ask ur parents to talk to his parents? u like that, how to treat u meal when we meet up?

Winnie: For household stuffs and expenses, everything has to be 50-50% according to him.

Its just that baby is now still inside my tummy, he did not see the reason why he should be paying now. I believe he will change for the better when baby comes out. After all this baby is his own flesh and blood, unless he still prioritize money over us (me and baby). He's just stingy only, not heartless. So i believe he will take responsibilities in sharing the financial burden for this baby upon delivery

Fong2: Once i also got dropped him a casual qn, if next time baby longbang his car, how ah? Especially on the day when baby is discharding from hospital. Baby so small, not working leh, how to pay him cab fee? He said baby will be free of cos *phew*

juzyounme
im having a boi tis time round as well. but i tink i do hav extras. let mi go home n pack den let ya know again. mi cant resist buying clothes so end up too much clothes. hb scolding liao. hehe.

ivy
for diaper bags, i use any big bags tt i hav. hehe. don hav specifically be diaper bag. any bag will do in fact. den i bought d bag organizer from bp so juz nice all tings neat neat in d bag.

lavendery
he make u pay like taking cab? how can he treat u like tt? =(