(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

Fabbie,

those shops opposite the temple under renovation or something la. i always patronised a particualr auntie at the corner shop and she called to me they shifted to somewhere nearer to bugis mrt there.

overcome it is to burn it and get those autie to pray pray.. when i was preg with my first one, i never ask for qian la.. jus go pray at temple then to the auntie to pray for smooth delivery and safety. i tink is like $4 per set. dont kenna chop by those 'fortune tellers' outside the temple as they can charge $20++ for same service and claim can read the 'qian' for you.

i also heard that the prediction in the 'qian' is for quaterly based only.. like spring, summer, autumn, winter. normally 7th month try not to ask for qian la. if you had, then go find those auntie to pray pray.

the auntie that i frequented taught me to read 'qian'.. i even bought the book to analyse it myself.. cos got english version in it.. so easier to read..dpending on what you asked for when getting the qian.. can be lawsuit, pregnancy, safety etc.. then you zoomed into that one.. not all relates.

pig07 oh.. i didnt know this month cannot pray got qian. lolx cus im not that so chinese de. hehe nvm ba. my hubbie already buy flowers and buy "siang" and he told me after he pray for us is good. so i trust him. but then again.. i try not to think so much ba. just hope 7th month faster go.. im quite scare actually =X

is the goo.n diapers good?i also register and get the free sample, don know when will receive.

is the wet wipes good?the packing is really cute...

Hi Fabbie,

the auntie used to work for the 2nd level corner shop. she called me to say she has shifted and told me the shop's location. but i hvnt been there yet.my other fren been liao.. and said noT hard to find. seems like its somewhere along the community centre and the 2 storey shops there along bugis mrt.

not that 7th month cant ask for qian la.. is try not to ask unless necessary. but what's done is done liao.. never mind la since your hubby has prayed.

Hi juzyounme,
the ones outside the temples are usually uncles whom hold the book one boh.. then they say will 'jie' the qian for people.. then they will make the person buy xiang and incense paper and etc etc then pray. method sama sama as what the auntie at the shop opposite the temple did for my family but at cheaper costs.

every year we will go to the auntie at the shop. like for tai sui, or tiger what what during cny.. and also if tat year is fan tai sui, i will go pray for myself and hubby and whoever in family la as and when we go there.. so that work can be smooth smooth and no 'xiao ren'..

before i gave birth last year, everytime i went she will jus pray for safety for me. then she told me to go back after i delivered to thank God..

when i went to his this april, she saw my boy of 5 month old and he was tugging his feet (which most kids are doing la).. and then she told me, you will preg very soon.. *faint..

what i didnt tell her was i am already pregnant and due in dec08.

Paiseh ah, if i am too auntie when comes to tis topic.kekeke.

Fabbie ah.. aiyo gal.. *kok* you ah..!!!
For nothing, dun go Qiu Qian....Make urself worry lor....

Anyway, we just receive good news ma...

Yes, burn the qian away... if free, just go back and pray for safety

fabbie, i asked for 'S' size. my friend say we can get 'S' size cos normally we will get a pack of newborn from hospital and newborns can actually use 'S'.

ivy, they respond quite fast. i think i receive 2 days after i requested online.

the goon diapers are soft... my friend commented that it's good so i will order cos it's much cheaper. somemore got free delivery.

i also dun 'qiu qian', jus go temple pray for safety can liao... btw, i heard from my friend, preggie cannot knee down to pray also rite? that time my preggie friend kneel down and pray then kena scolding.

Fabbie,
Dun worry lah. There is usually no right or wrong time in asking for "qian". For me, it is jus 4 pyschological support. If bad, just burn it at a temple (DO NOT KEEP).

I noe sometimes if u feel "luan" (i.e. too many things on your mind), u will lend up w a "qian" that is wierd or evn bad. It happen to me before. So I went back again to ask one week later (the qian could answer what i asked btr). But then again, dun keep going back to ask the same thing every week!

So if u doing it next time, clear ur mind/heart, ask only ONE single question (make sure it is clear) then ask for "qian" ok? Me usually go to e sister temple at Joo Chiat. The one in Bugis too commercialised w those "professional" qian readers n too crowded! :p

Jappooh,
The advert says "Singapore's iconic department store, Robinson, is proud to celebrate this golden moment with 20% OFF* for all shoppers from now till 24 August."

* Terms and conditions apply. Exclusions apply, check in store for details.

Think the 20% starts today till this weekend! Not too sure if NUK bottles will be on sale.

I went to Taka Baby Fair during lunch time.. bought:
1. Pigeon Liquid Detergent
2. Pigeon Breast Pad
3. Avent 9oz baby bottle (1mth++)
4. Pigeon Nappy Liner

Total damage: $37

Pigeon baby bottle do prevent colic.. so now, baby will have 4 small bottle and 3 big bottle..I need to get 2 more glass bottle (heard from colleague, glass bottle is easier to warm up milk compared to plastic ones)..

Sorry, 4th Oct I am still tentative leh.. cos that weekend is my dad's b'day so may need to go back to Malaysia to celebrate!! Sept cannot meh??

pig07 - so it's the shop opposite the temple eh. next time if you go, can help me take note of the unit no & shop name and PM me?

Mimi - eh... i actually went to pray kneeling down to thank God for pregnancy.

Juzyounme, for me i think kneeling is ok... i also dun know why old ppl say cannot.. anyway nvm la.

lilee, u go to the website i posted jus now, they have a link for u to request for sample. but the sample is only 1 pc.

Hi Juzyounme,

i used to hve the address written on paper..but lost liao as it was always there and then i never keep the address. nevertheless, its upstairs the wholesale baby clothes shop. if you go by the stairs (by the public toilet) and reach the 2nd floor, turn left first shop is the shop liao. but hor, the auntie no more with the shop as she claimed that the stretch of shop is not under renovation, rather is kenna 'bought over' hence no more such shops there in future.

in fact i witnessed for myself many times they shifted the altar position as there are complaints that the incense burning is too smoky and hazardous. if not wrong, there are residents around tat area one. but they never need to shift until now.

as for the auntie i go, i dont hve the exact location of her relocation liao. but i hve her mobile. its still at bugis there. if you want, i can pm you.

when i went to the shop for my 1st pregnancy, the auntie also asked me not to kneel. she gave me a stool to sit when she pray. But she jus say cos i preg so better dont kneel as its tiring. but i ever heard that cos we got small one inside, so we are consider 'big'.. so no need to kneel wo..

Juzyounme...the shop opposite the temple..for wholesale baby clothes??

It is directly opposite..then there is a stretch of medical shops..walk till the end left (with your back facing the temple). the wholesale shop is behind the toilet...

pig07 - how abt next time when u look for auntie then let me know where she is...

Ivy - haha, different topic. pig07 talking about the auntie who helped her pray. but still good to know where the well-known baby wholesaler shop is.

Hi Juzyounme,

sure sure. i tink i will defintiely go before i deliver in dec bah.

plus also gotta go 4 horse road there to buy my confinement herbs etc. last year i went, the man in shop told me to buy only 2 weeks supply first as it will be fresher by time i go back for 3rd week supply.. in the end, my CL said the 2 weeks supply lasted me for whole month except for red dates and longan. this time round me going back to the same shop.. so that like last round they will not pick and choose too much for me.

winnie, u need to register. At the register page, there is a box which u need to click tick for the free sample, and the size option is after this box. Should be able to see on the registration page if you follow thru all the registration fields to fill in.

Hope it helps..

xiaohwa, that i not sure..but I tink it wont lah, else they will have ask for our preferred payment mode for the membership fee..

Anyone got any insight on this??

dear mummies,
can do a quick check how u mummies planning for ur confinement? i.e getting a CL or own mum/MIL to help or??

cos the cost of a CL oso not cheap & it's only helping out for 1 mth...HB actually thinking of being a "confinement man" for me & getting a maid as well...so that after the 1st mth , at least got maid ard to still help out.. ie he take some leave & my own mum takes some leave to help.. doable??

Also when you go back to work, who looks after the baby?? My parents are working so cant...so my options are leaving with the maid or Infant care...

then getting a good maid is another prob. Get those experienced ones, scared they got attitude problem or wun listen to wat i say. Get those new ones, also scared they inexperience dunno how to handle the baby...(brings me to the next topic of, anyone koes any good maid agency to recommend?)

advise?

hi Juz - mine been quite active. I sleeping at nite also keep kicking...i have to tell him dun disturb mummy sleep & put a hand on my tummy ...somehow the "kicks" reduces

i m so busy today .. now still working... I saw the posts above and happy.. At least we are all back to normal topics of motherhood...

So great!!

Cheers everyone

pastillies..

I engaged a CL during my 1st pregnancy. If u can get a experience one, they will be in great help during our confinement. As We need lotsa rest during confinement....

However, i have friends that had very bad experience wif those kaypoh, attitude or even doesn't cook well kinda CL... headache for them and suffered the whole confinement...

This time round, i am not going to get one as my mil and helper will be helping me to cook and do the household chores. then i can concentrate in looking after my little ones.

Infant care is always my last option.. i juz cant leave my baby with a stranger.. that's me lah... understand there's many mummies that are still happy putting their baby with infant care..

I juz reached home too Jowin..worked till 8.30pm and there goes my Sakae Sushi dinner.. hv to settle for Billy Bombers instead!!

Guess what.. i tink my belly button going to pop out liao, n got some bruises surrounding it. Sad! means cannot wear tight fitting shirt liao.

I juz received mailers for Robinsons - All brands having 20% off. It's till 14th Sept 2008 btw.. I also receive Metro's mailer but it is till this weekend only. I will go check it out on Sunday bah..

pastillies, I am engaging a CL, cost me $1.9K but having a good CL means not worrying abt ur 3 meals and ur baby for the 1st month which is critical for mummy to rest!! U need ample rest to take care of ur baby on the 2nd and 3rd mth which u will be entirely on ur own with occasional help from hubby or ur parents or his parents..but still u will be the main caregiver.

cutepig,

errr ... thing is .. bottles are pretty standard la .. BUT whatever u choose to buy don't buy ALOT first ... most times baby is picky about the bottles ... for eg, I LOVE the NUK design .. but all my girls so far HATE it and refuse to take it .. so in the end, use Avent and Pigeon ..
those are pretty safe bets ...

pastillies,
I agree with Emeraldbride on e CL part. It's good to have people to help u in the first month cos subsequently, we will be v much left on our own.

Anyway there is another option which u can consider if you're a FTWM. That is a nanny who stays near your place. My cousin-in-law actually manage to find one during her maternity leave by putting a notice near her area. She got a few calls n went for house visits to check out the "applicants".

Thanks Phyl, he's better now. Only 1 round of vomiting and watery stools before i left for work this evening.

Iemik0,
Rotarix vaccination only before 6mths? Oh dear, then i missed it liao.. My son is 14mths now

Who's going for the Philips sale tomorrow? I should be popping by in the morning (unless it rains)

Pastilles,
We stay near my MIL's place and got a maid to help with our son. When me home, son and maid with me..i look after son, maid helps with chores. When me working, son and maid at MIL's place.

Yes, its very very difficult finding the perfect helper. I've to start the search again soon as my maid would be finishing her contract. Good news is, now we have FOUR months to 'train' up the maid

Sam,
you should have told me about bottles a long time ago. My blur husband and equally blur me bought sooooo many bottles.....!!!!! What a waste of money. In the end, never even use the B-free bottles we spent close to $90 on! Me still trying to sell them off.. haiz. Hmm..any takers here?? And i'm not even starting on NUK bottles that are still in their packaging!

Hi Emeraldbride
yes.. i knock off at 8pm.. went dinner with HB at bugis.. sudden crave for ice cream at swensen n ate till now, then i reach home... tired... tomorrow shall sleep later...

i got a silly question, but i really need to ask!!!!!!!
would placenta go lower or such after a fall?
I had a fall on Wed and nothing happen immediately or the next day. But today, there was a sharp pain on the lower ab and though pain does subside, i can still feel a crampy feeling. the only assurance is bb still active and no bleeding.

Hi jlow
Oh dear.. be careful..

I think u are ok since bb is active and no bleeding.. A sharp pain or pull in the lower ab can be uterus growing as bb become bigger n bigeer OR just nice the fall, gave a pull or tug to the uterus..like a muscle pull. However, if u feel unsafe, best to see ur gynae for assurance...Do a scan on it...Alternative, give a call to ur gynae to inform and asked wat are the signs to lookout for ... No worries!

I do not know if placenta will become lower after the fall.. But i do Know if your placenta is orginally low already, avoid strenous exercise... as it cause easy bleeding too...

LLIG,

lol ... yeah, it's one of the mistakes all us parents make in the beginning .. Now, I buy ONE and try that first .. usually one of the wide neck ones, cos I find those easier to clean and also to dump formula in (especially when it's 1am and your aim isn't so good) ...

For me, like I said, all hated NUK .. I tried each time with ONE bottle ... I buy the small one .. then when confirm don't like, I try the wide neck ones which I like the best for the reasons stated above .. usually, if baby likes the wide neck bottle .. then usual standard narrow bottles also agree with them ..

Babies can also be picky about the teats .. my girls all hated the brown ones ... the rubber ones I think ... they can tell the difference u noe !! ... They prefer the standard transparent ones .. silicon? sorry, i'm also sleepy now I can't remember all the right names and terms for everything .. hahahah ...

But, yes LLIG, I can understand your heartache .. it's really no point running out and buying a bunch of bottles THAT may in the end, not be to the baby's liking no matter how hard u try ...

You're still up!
I saw your latest buy.. you're right, your hubby might just kill yoU! hahah... but its so sweet la.....

Ya man, wasted a lot of $$ as first-time gundu parents. Our poor baby..

juzyounme
rotarix is a oral vaccine. most babies like it. when bring baby for rotarix, make sure 15-30mins b4 n afta vaccine not to give milk. scare baby throw up den waste d medicine. veri ex. hehe. tt's wat we usually advise at my clinic.

llig
rotatrix onli for up to 6mths. so best is to vaccinate baby once baby reach 6 wks. coz hav to take 2 doses.

ur boi is 3mths older dan my boi. hehe. juz be careful when washing his bottles n wat he puts in his mouth. my nephew who din take d vaccine hav diarrhoea every mth till 18mths.

Pastillies, Im getting my MIL to do the confinement for me. Actually she volunteered to help me do cos my own mum passed away already. Very nice of her..

Im tinking of paying her exactly the amt we wil pay to engage a CL. Tinking of paying her $2000 so that she wont lose out. Cos she's working & will apply 1 mth no-pay leave to do the confinement for me.

I have decided to place my baby in infant-care ctr, after much consideration.

1)MIL cant look after full-time cos she's working.

2)I dun wan a maid cos I dun trust them.

3)Thot of getting a nanny, but really cant hard to find a good one. Plus u wont know what the nanny will teach or upbring your baby. There's certain risk involved unless u get a good one.

4)Infant-care - my final choice cos no matter what, its still governed by MCYS. Plus they are increasing the standards of the teacher. Given that kind of learning environment, i tink babies may be able to learn more condusively then in a home environment. But not all being perfect, we still have to risk with the Hand/Food & Mouth disease which maybe higher risk in the infant-care ctr.

My 2-cents worth of advice above..Hope it helps u..

Happy weekend to all mummies..

who is going for breastfeeding talk later? I registered for my husband & myself, and now my husband fly kite. Fong2, are u going?

cutepig - i'm trying out avent milk bottles. see if it works for baby when he is born.

pastillies - with much considerations, will be having a CL and will get a babysitter when going bk to work.

main reason of why babysitter over infant care is that the "deadline" to collect kid is 7pm sharp for infant care. and usually by time i can reach infant care centre will be easily 7.30pm.

my husband is v against maid, so no maid.

if i put my hand at tummy, the baby will move more. v tired. didn't zzz well too.

Jlow - i think u should be ok. but of coz seeing a Dr will be a good idea if you don't feel certain.

Sam - huh, babies so troublesome one? need certain brand, certain size, certain teats? i think i won't care to change anything even if my baby doesn't like. will just tell him no $$$ to buy anything else. ;P

iemik0 - i see. thanks.