(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

Xiao pooh...do you have any infant care centers in mind??

So tiring...have to work on saturdays...maybe the government can come out with some policy that preggy can rest sat half day at home during the few mths...haha...

juz, whr is the breastfeeding talk?? U mean then infant care closes at 7pm?? Little Skool House at OCBC closes at 8pm so juz nice for me to finish work at 7.30pm and then go down and pick him up then head to Tampines to meet hubby..hehehe

Now with the $600 infant care subsidy, it is more affordable to send baby to infant care - comparable to sending baby to nanny..hehe

Ivy - i'm also at work now. this morning v good to zzz eh.

this was from Fong2 some time back
"Btw, there's a talk on breastfeeding on 23 Aug fr 2:30-4pm. (Synchronised Breastfeeding starts at 4pm) Venue is at Suntec City Convention. Admission is free. It is open for all new mothers and mothers to be. The talk is by various breastfeeding experts abt breastfeeding and issues related to it. There will also be a Q & A session. Topics include :
1) Help! I don't hv enuf milk! Overcoming common problems in breastfeeding.
2) Working and breastfeeding. Is it possible?
3) The role of the father in breastfeeding.
So if u r interested, u may bring ur hb along.

the talk is organised by aLife and Anmum. They never state need to register. So i guess no need bah. Got free goodie bags worth $50 provided too. If u need further details, can contact Mary/Shan at 62588816."

anyway, i did call their line, they said registered with them and i did. they said it's at level 3. rm 3.03-3.05.

emeraldbride - the infant care centres at my area closes at 7pm. i have problem rushing in time. see my previous post on talk.

agree with u on subsidy part, but then we thot just send to nanny until 18mths then go childcare lor. haiz. hopefully by then, i have found a go-home-dot-dot job.

haiz, later i sit alone at talk again & zzz...

Ivy - i was thinking whether Fong2 will go... but don't know if she will log on here today. other wise, i think i will be alone & zzz...

morning all ^____^

thanks all for the advice.. yup i already burn the pink think in the temple.. my hub ban me for stepping in the temple haha. i feel better after he brought me eat steamboat chong qin! damn nice hehe.

btw. do you gals leg cramp? i remember was thursday night my leg cramp suddenly damn pain. till now sitll painn -_____-

Fabbie
Yes i do... twice so far.. very pain but usually dun last so long leh... example 4am cramp.. 7am woke up, when step down the bed with a little strain when walk.. then ok already...

Try to massage ur leg.. lift it up... ask ur HB to stroke ur leg from your thigh bottom to ankle.. all the way down...loosen ur calf...

juzyouandme ...

SIGH, that's what you say NOW .. but if your baby die die doesn't want the bottle and teat you get him and refuses to drink formula from it .. that's when you have no choice but to try another teat/bottle ..

same with formula btw .. not all formula can agree with kid .. sometimes, it's the taste ... sometimes it can cause constipation for your baby ...

these things all don't occur when you still breastfeeding .. it's later on, when you decide to go full formula with her/him that you initally encounter these problems with teats/bottles and formula .. or for you gals who have to go back to work after your ML and have to get your baby ready for the bottle from your nipple ... then you need to find a teat that agrees with him/her. Trial and error lor.

OF COURSE, if you're lucky and your baby is very easygoing, then any bottle you try and any formula you give will work then yay for you ...

My 2nd girl used to take Pediasure happily but then I noticed she started getting constipation .. so no choice stopped and changed her milk .. so sometimes, it's not a matter of whether they like it or not ..

Morning ladies

Haven't been sleeping well last nite. Been tossing and turning. Feel so tired. And such a nice cosy weather this morning.. Zzzzzz..

Jusyounme - I may or may not be going for the talk today. I see how first. Trying to drag my hubby along. heehee..

Sam - 2 125ml and 2 250ml bottles is it enough? So far i haven't bought any bottles yet. I got these bottles free when i bought the NUK Steam Steriliser. Actually was thinking of going to the Metro sale to get some more NUK bottles.

Fong2,

Like I said, try not to buy anymore .. the ones you have more than enough ... you may not know whether he wants the NUK type of teats .. sometimes they just don't know how to suckle from some of them ... especially the NUK type.
Don't buy anymore first ...

If baby die die doesn't want the NUK type .. then your 4 bottles go to waste oredi ... so dun buy anymore first ..

What you can do is buy at least ONE standard bottle .. the usual ones ... and keep on standby .. you can buy the small ones .. quite cheap Tollyjoy or something .. then you can try the NUK and this new one ..

Just my opinion la ..

Sam - Ok, i'll take note.

Juzyounme - I've received ur pm. Will sms u if i'm going.

I've got a bad leg cramp yesterday, my calf still so pain till now. Like exercise too much ,overstrain liao the feeling.

Me got no choice to put my bb to my current maid hands , my elder 1 in full day child care. As our CC closes at 7pm and very rush for me and HB, so have to get a maid to do the bringing & fetching, feed my boy etc..so next time bb will be taken care by her. I've got this maid in Dec'07 till now, so far I find her quite patience and not scheming type, so quite fang xin to let her take care. Still thinking whether to install camera anot, will c how. Too bad my mum/mil not able to look after for me.

Confinement: My mil is helping me with the confinement, she will show my maid how to take care of bb and cooks for me. SO should be alright.

anyone knows is the stretch mark cream of Mothercare is good..thinking of buying it...

the smell of the lotion is nice...and reasonable price too...

fabbie, I also get very bad leg cramps in e middle of the night. The calf part just becomes super pain. Get your hubby to massage for you. Apply some heat to ease the pain. Can ask hubby to rub his hands till warm then put on the affected part, will sooth pain a little.

pastillies, I'm getting a CL to help with the cooking and taking care of bb. Paying $1.8k if doesn't crossed CNY, $2.6k if crossed over CNY. After tt my mum will be helping me take care after i go back to work. But i intend to do half day work for about 3 mths so tt not such a drastic change....

i not comfy with maid staying with me. After all is a stranger and dunno if she's good or not...

AdelChia, 1.8k is cheap. Mkt rate nw is 1.9k. My CL still charges me 1.9k despite maid can help out. Cos heard tt if got maid, can less $100.

Philips Avent products are on sale @ the philips warehouse sale.. heard from my friend that the Avent Express Steriliser is going @ $99 instead of $171. Now i am rushing down to see for myself! those mummies going down... be xtra careful!

Hi Ivy
i am currently using the mothercare stretchmark for day use as it is not as sticky compared to the tummy butter from Palmer's. So far it is very comfy after applying, but you still have to get a tummy butter for better effect ;)

gosh, the thought of squeezing with the crowd in this rain has dissuaded me from going down to the Philips carnival even though I need a new blender ... u know how it is ... it'll be stuffy and crowded and wet ... dunno got anywhere near to park or not ... think about going also sian.

Tell me abt it.. it's raining since morning till now!! The thought of going out for lunch/dinner alr put me off liao..supposed to go watch firework tonite @ floating platform but wonder will it be cancelled due to the rain??

hi, has anyone got good feedback of sevices from GPLS confinement or Bliss confinement. Need to engage CL from one of them. thanks!

Hi ladies.

Popped by the Philips sale this morning open fm 0930-1800H.

Really good offers on Avent products..sterilisers, bottles, breast pumps. Didn't get anything though cos queue was quite long so will be going down again tom morning. What i remember (and am eyeing to get..):

3 x 125ml & 2 x 260ml bottles = $26 (!!!)

330ml bottles = $7/each

Washable breast pad = 6 @ $10

"Candle-light" bulb = $55 (very cool! i have one set now which we use during night time when my boy stirs, getting this one for my MIL's place)

Normal downlight bulb = 5 @ $20 (but tt was today's offer, dunno tom how much)

Iron = Fm $28

32" lcd tv = fm $799 (me not getting la but in case you ladies need to 'lure' your hubbies. haha..)

Do remember to bring cash. They accept Nets/Cards but a bit leceh.. Got to queue to get a receipt of the things you want to get, queue separately to pay, then queue again to show proof of payment to collect goods. If cash, queue one time only.. plus the queues aren't very orderly. Parking available..for the patient :p and remember your umbrella cos tomorrow's forecast most likely rain again.

thanks for the info on what's on sale, LLIG ..

hey for the candle light bulb .. what's the regular price for that outside? I thought it's about $55 as well?? but of course I can't really recall ..

Just now went to Philip sales. Still not as crowded as i expected, keke, maybe becos i went in the afternoon at around 2.30pm+ and it was raining also.

Lots of things i wanted no more already. Perhaps that really explained why no much crowd, haha.

Steriliser (Express and IQ) all no more, thermal bag also no more, baby starter kit milk bottle no more, Electronic breast pump (Uno and Duo) also no more, milk bottle teats also no more, VIA cups also no more %^#@!$# -_-!!!

Only managed to buy the Avent ISIS Breast Pump VIA storage system at $70. Shortly after that, my friend told me Mothercare only $67!! I was like .... *faint*

I also bought Epilator, felt that its better to shave that 'area' lah, since always need to do ultrasound scanning and when about to give birth, heard from my colleagues that we need to do remove all the hairs one.

Oh ya, i also bought soothers (pacifiers), 1 pack (got 2 pcs inside) at $6. Hmm thats all le. The rest all no stocks liao....

Hopefully tmr they have the Sterilisers again.. but the staffs firmly told me that any items sold out today, tmr also means no more already. In fact the staffs told me early morning lots of the items have already sold out. Then i was like, then tmr nothing to sell liao lor???

They also have those regular kitchen blenders, quite cheap ohh...

Phyl, I dun have spree lobang lah. Still waiting for my ON and Babymall stuff to arrive leh. Now checking out on breast pump lor. Still no idea what to buy yet.

AdelChia, thanks for sending him an email. I will drop him an email as well.

thanks for the info, lavendery .. i think then it's really not worth it to go down just to buy ONE blender .. *sigh* how much can I save?

What are the details of the gathering again? A bit lost cos i haven't been reading the thread for the past few days. Been very busy this week with work...

Tomorrow is the last day of the Taka Baby Fair! Anyone still going?

Hi Sam,
yup, they've blenders but i didn't check out the prices.
I bought the candle light bulb on offer at $69.90 from DIY parkway. Its going at $55 at the sale.

Lavendry,
So fast sold out? Oh dear.. Any idea if they still have the avent bottle sets? Like the one where 5 are going for $26..?? Starting to regret not queueing
haiz..

Err, just go down to buy one blender ahh? That depends on which model u targeting. However the blenders are really cheap after discount.

Actually i also targetting at one blender (can make smoothie, fruit juice etc). Original price is $142, then just now selling at $95. Just now went to Courts to see the price, its really selling at $142! Now I'm still hasitating whether to buy or not if i will to go back tomorrow :p

LLIG: Avent bottle sets ahh? That set (5 for $26) already out of stock le. I also targetting at that one, cos its really very worth it.

I kept on bugging a few of them if tmr still have stocks or not, can i reserve mah? The staffs firmly said "NO, once sold out today, means sold out. Tmr also won't have stocks anymore". They don't seemed joking to me.

They still have the Magic cup (trainer cup), see if u want or not, at $7 each. They also have milk bottles (those 2 or 3 in a pack one), price wise, not really worth if u will to compare to the promo set "5 going for $26". Actually u should queue that time. I want to queue also no chance liao by the time i reach there

Lavendery,
You're also at the Philip canival? I went early this morning at 10+ and managed to grab my long await Avent Uno electronic pump at $160 instead of the usual price $279. Wanted to get the food warmer @ $36 but was told that it was sold out early in the morning.

LLIG,
Yup, most of the items were sold out early this morning, could not even get my VIA storage cup and food warmer.

*sob sob*
What a waste! My husband was queueing already when he had a call from office so needed to leave. haiz.. Tomorrow see how la.. Now i no mood to go already
damn sian. Will check out the 330ml bottles and the other packs but like you said, the set of 5 really really worth it

snnowy: Aiya, i should have ask u to help me to buy *Banging head against the wall* (provided if i know u going and if i have your contact number, keke) I really too pig liao, overslept till 11.30am. I really underestimate the crowd response too. Never thought they will be out of stocks so fast!

Actually i wanted to buy the Duo electronic pump at $500 (usual $799), i'm very lazy type one, keke. But when i went there, Uno and Duo all sold out.

Food warmer?? Still got ahh!! A lady beside me got ask if still got stock, still have ohh! At that time around 4pm bah.

VIA storage cup u couldn't get? Errr, I managed to get the very last set of 1 pack of VIA storage cup leh (inside got 10 cups, 240ml, 80z type, btw VIA storage cups are BPA free) at $7, also around 4pm. But i forgot to buy the lids cover -_-!!

Didn't manage to go down to Philips Warehouse Sale today. By the feedback here, I'm kinda glad I missed it leh. Crowd, queue, wet day...don't go well together.

Thursday went to my gynae for visit. He said I should start applying my stretchmarks cream more diligently. Gah...I guess they're starting to show?? My little baby is 660g now! ^^

DPM Wong just announced through media that they will not be backdating the policy anymore. Now the petitioners are leaving angry messages on the Reach forum calling for government to recall the first backdate and implement the effective date of 01 Jan 09. That's kind of mean loh...

Spaghetti : Huh is it?? They requesting to backdate and implement on 1st Jan 09? Then its like everything back to square one again.