(2008/11) November 2008

Happy CNY everyone!

Haru, I just stoppd BF-ing about 2 weeks plus ago
Initially thought it was impossible to wean off but now that he has stopped, he doesn't even seem to remember it! Am sure you will have no problems weaning by 2. Just do it slowly and cut down a feed a day so she won't feel it so much! Then when you are left with one feed, maybe can do that for 2 months or so ( since you only plan to stop at 2).. so when you finally stop she probably won't even know! And the best part is cos you stop this way, there is no engorgement too! I only leaked for 2 days a little and that was it. Bad part is K officially doesn't drink any milk AT ALL! Only FM he drinks is blended wih banana into a milkshake which he has once a day. Also try and give cheese, yoghurt etc for his calcium. He rejects plain milk TOTALLY! Guess my boy is just like me! Don't enjoy drinking milk! Am planning to try sippa straws which my aunt introduced. Is like a flavoured straw which you use with normal FM or plain milk so the milk will taste of the flavour ( there are lots of flavours like banana, chocolate, strawberrry, cookies cream etc etc) and has way less sugar than regular flavoured milks. Things is my aunt gets it from Perth so I don't know if they have it here! Any mummies heard of something like that and knows where to get it? If not I will probably have to buy from overseas.

Why don't you use a straw cup instead of cup or bottle to try FM? Less mess too! The nuby straw cup is quite good and only $9.90! The munchkin ones comes a close second. Only cos the nuby one is easier to clean!

Don't feel guilty abt not bringin her to playgrps. The best time our babies have is actually quality time with mum! That's the best =) Anyway, they will probaby enjoy playgropus more when they are a few months older! You can start looking out for another place for pre nursery? I'm looking around too!

glad gal: same to u too and everyone here as well, huat ar huat ar...in all and every ways (for me is also hope to huat a baby come out!)

hello mummies... hope u all had a good CNY!

me no HUAT le, just checked the TOTO results this morn and thrown away all my tickets liao, haha...

<font color="ff0000">hihi mummies..
Happy New Year &amp; Gong Xi Fa Cai! May this year be a smooth sailing year for everyone! Stay healthy awaz all kiddos! </font>

<font color="0000ff">HFMD - My elder son, Mav caught HFMD from his classmate and the ulcers kicks in only on 2nd day of CNY, we bot him to KKH immediately &amp; now he's still having the painful sores..blisters popping out at the sores of feet &amp; palms..I was soo busy cleaning up &amp; washing up the house/toys/mattress..even more busy than spring cleaning..</font>

lilian..
Brod is getting naughtier &amp; will shout out loud (those high-pitch ones)..then will cry anytime like on water tap..somemore he's crawling up the plastic low-level chairs &amp; stand on top of it then raise up both his hands.so dangerous..there's once we cant catch him in time, he fell on his side..when u do not allow him, he will cry out loud..headache ah..

ali..
wah..so fast can tell gender liao..my 2nd one i have to wait till close to detailed scan then can tell..

Happy New Year to All!

wtan:
Hugo is same like Brod in some ways, shouting and when we dun allow him to play or take certain stuffs, he will start to make noise and even beat my helper at times. During CNY, my dh friend brought along her 8 months baby gal and sat on his car and played his toys, he immediately protest and wanted to run to his toys and took them away from the baby. So naughty! I am worried about how is he going to share with sibling in future! 真的头痛. He can even act like drama, faintz!

Oscar:
My oscar will be 1st week of Mar.

HFMD, My gal has been confirmed down with HFMD this morning... been a worrying n hectic day. Very worried abt her spreading to our newborn but luckily we separated them since 3 days ago when she was feverish.. didn't suspect HFMD at all, thought she was teething coz keep drooling and mouth appear to be in pain (teeth coming out) luckily we decided to see e PD instead of bringing her to infant care as usual, else the spread wide le.. hope she recovers fast and dun spread to anyone, esp our boy..

Lynn
umm.. patch.. need to get that from doc issit?
I tot i heard before there may b some side effects from using it, like naueseous/mood swings etc?? hahaha.. me sometimes already bad mood and black face i can't imagine wat will happen if i use it.. But a bit tempted thou.. no pill and no rubber.. And also we cannot always stick at the same place i heard? You mean for e 1st 3 mths u use it u v temperamental but now stabalize?

wah... suddenly 2 kids here down with hfmd.. hope they recover soon! tt time my gal gena v horrible.. cry and scream all day and can't eat and even drink well.. Yest while munching on something she cry and pointed at her mouth again.. nite time also din sleep well, woke up couple of times cry v cham.. i wan to sweat.. hope its not a recurrence of hfmd or our nitemare coming again!!! Haiz.. will monitor see hows she today.. hope its becos of her molar erupting.. Btw i jus noticed couple of days ago that my little gal has A LOT of teeth liao! wah.. majiam like going to b whole set soon.. those big molars sprouting out as well.. and past 2 days she having loose stools a # of time a day..

Morning! happy new year

Hope all sick kids get well soon and over with HFMD...

peanut - my gal oso had her molars out recently, suddenly she started to drool and munch fingers again, poor appetite... and still bitting spoilt the tutus given to her. and the day before oso lau sai, then y'day seemed better liao....

Jes
envy leh.. its a sudden thing ur gal drool again.. For my gal, its a usual thing. Sometimes i really pu huay seeing her saliva dripping

Oh ya... help needed.. toking abt teeth... Nini refused big time for us to clean her teeth!! Wil cry and scream when we try to clean them with a wet cloth.. bot a cute brush and the flavoured bb toothpaste she also no wan!! How ah.. wait not yet 2 yrs already whole mouth of decay teeth.. HELP!!

peanut, its ok de lah, just need to wash more bibs everyday, haha... guess eventually at some stage the drooling will stop, perhaps after the last eruption of the last few teeth bah.

same problem here with brushing teeth! started using a kiddy toothbrush after using finger brush for last few months, all no wan... using the First teeth toothpaste oso no use. most of the times very difficult to brush. even if we pretend to be brushing together with her she oso no wan, tough tough tough...

peanut, got to prevent letting them eat sweets since no wan brush teeth lor, else really will get tooth decay very soon.

Jes
its not ok la.. Nini she not teething wil also drool.. it jus seems like she has never ending saliva and she doens't bother to swallow it.. and her mouth is always in half opened style tts y e saliva drip out.. the dress or top how nice also no use cos will always be covered by the stupid bib.. if not then i'll hav to standby with a hanky to catch e dripping saliva or else her neck wil b wet in no time. Its frustrating.. esp frustrating when people ask why she stil drool so much and wearing a bib..

morning mummies..

i am working too!! back to office le..

this yr cny shag sia.. very tiring.. need to run after my lil boy.. cant tok much with my cousins and all.. sian.. hahah

SIANZ... i'm at work also lah.. busy.. only took leave for yday nia... &amp; colleague didnt help to do my things. kns..

peanut, guess its still norm tat some kids at this age still drools, and bet u when nini's drooling stop, pple will oso pass the remark "aeh, no more drooling ah?" bo liao de, haha

liv, tats the prob lor, we all run aft the kids until no interact with other relatives, then mostly oso can't stay long in a place, cos the kids get bored very quickly. haiz

Ali
aiya who not sian.. apparently others also sian so they dun bother to help u lor.. wakakakkaa.. Me also on leave yest and having a nagging headache since then.. tamade.. damn hot weather.. going for my 2nd panadol soon..

Liv
yah no work even more tiring.. these days bring my gal out she no wan to hold hands liao.. keep running around blocking people's way and wan to touch this and that.. chasing around her can help me slim down lei..

jes, nuts: ya la.. work also not so tired.. and this cny i very sian coz i didnt really enjoy the new yr.. jus going thru the motion.. when at relatives place need to prepare milk la, run aft him la, carry him la, pacify him when he cried after seeing so many pple... faint.. haha

nut
ya lor. dont bother to help den they on leave expect pple to help.. TL.. my here raining... not so hot..

duno why i am v bad tempered these days... duno izzit pregnancy hormones or wat... But i know Dog this year got v bad tempered.. haiz..

Liv
no one to help u jagger him? at least my mil + hubby and his sis can take turns to chase after my gal sometimes. Unless i'm alone with her then bobian

my CNY lagi worst leh
Kayla fell down from my bed *again* on CNY eve. This time kena big big orbakak on her left eye.

Jenn, where your girl kena HFMD? She is in infant care?

nuts, my hubby got exam yest and today.. shit right, where got exam straight aft new yr hols one.. faint.. so he got to study lor.. my mum busy toking.. hahaha got la.. my family got help out but still i am so tired.. haha no stamina..

Good morning mummies,

Hope everyone had a fruitful season.

Jenn/Wtan,
Hope both your todd recover soon. Jenn you must also be very careful cos you are still in confinment. Get your hubby to attend to her.

Liv,
I also got to chase after 2 terrors. Conversation keep interrupted when they scream.

Ali,
You've got a PM

My boy oso fell from cousin bed on da nian chu yi... i hopped him almost on time. so head hit the floor a little bit... cried til quite ke lian...

snowy, YA LOR.. can only talk here n there for a while.. ;(

my relatives told me 2 yrs later will be better, they can play with others and need not so much attention liao.. i told them 2 YRS very long leh.. hahaha..

Liv, think nxt year shd be ok liao when our kids are 2+YO they shd be able to play better with other kids and we can then relax more liao.

Thanks Mummies for your concern. Fel's Screaming and drooling seems much lesser le.. Can eat and drink her milk now..

Snnowy, ya~ my Hubby take care of Fel while i take care of Javier so minimise contact..

Lilian, I also not sure where she got from coz as of now no HFMD reported in infant care except for my gal and luckily since last friday she didn't go infant care so doubt will spread there..

USA Grad Student Research with Singapore Parents - Quick Survey

Thank you to those who have completed my survey - I have already received 25 responses!! I am hoping to get 5 more so I can do my comparison study. Can you share this with other parents you know? I really appreciate the help and am so excited about studying in your country! Here are the details...

I am a graduate student at the University of St. Thomas in the United States (Minnesota), participating in a study abroad course in Singapore at the National Institute of Education. The study is to learn more about couple's relationship as they take on the role of parenthood.

The following people are invited to take the 5-minute survey:
* Have you had your first (and only) child in the past six months to 24 months?
* Do you live with the co-parent?
* Is it the first child for both partners?

To start the survey, please click the link below or copy and paste it into your Internet browser.

http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm=odvEJo1BPt_2bCF3hlE7BK7g_3d_3d

Participation in this survey is completely voluntary and confidential. Thank you for your consideration.

Robyn Maley

Happy CHinese New Year! Hope everyone had a nice CNY! May everything smooth sailing for all of you and me too!
And tio TOTO!

Wendy,Jenn,
Hope your kiddo get well soon!

My all 3 babies r sick during CNY too! Big baby(hb) had food poisioning, elder gal down with pneumonia,had high fever, cough and running nose. Ysday jus went to KKH for Xray.Almost admitted to hosp.But lucky after some discussion among the doctors,they released her but got to monitor for the next 3 days.If still having high fever,gt to go back immediately.
My bb boy had diarrehre and dun wan to eat and drink.
Sigh... wat a CNY i have! Realli a fierce tiger year for me!

HAPPY CNY MUMMIES!

2 kiddos sleeping, so now got abit of time to come here to chat! Have not download my bb photos yet, will upload here once I have the time.

My gal jealous when I first come home with didi and she dun understand Y I cant carry her, keep whining and crying for my attention. She is now better, hopes she get used to didi soon.

BF HELP!
How to increase breastmilk! HELP HELP HELP. Im giving him partial BF/formula during the day and nite is formula cos my MIL taking care of him. Breast milk pathetic, how how how?!

ah jes,
i counted too. Wun be me or nuts for sure la.

nuts, ur n n cream did wat it promised??

happy, alamak, u also have a bad start of the tiger year.

hi all, may all ur kids who sick get well soon..!

me 2.. didnt have a good start.. even b4 tiger year.. both my kids was down with flu, cough, fever, diarrhoea... #1 recovered after on antibiotics... #2 started his bout of fever and diarrhoea after korkor gets well... and coz its didi.. so i am really scared out of my wits.. esp when he looks so listless after taking medicine.. almost wanna send him to hospital coz worried he dehydrated coz his diarrhoea was bad, more than 10 times and all watery, just like back then.. memories keep floating back of him suffering... and I didn't send him to KK, coz cfm first thing put him on drip de.. and thereafter do blood,urine test.. I can't take it again.

So at nite I had to be 'alert' coz if he diarrhoea, quite messy and need to clean him up.. we give him smaller feeds but more frequent.. it seems it does helps, the frequency cut down a bit but still watery poo.. heng he no more fever and is his active self..

So now nid to monitor, if persist or fever comes back or what, think no choice must send him back to 'hotel'.......

Happy &amp; Jenn,
Hope ur kids get well soon.

I also v busy during CNY. Lucas simply touch and try grab whatever he can reach. TIred.

Lilian
no.. n n cream no effect yet.. my n n stil small small.. and i'm starting to wonder if they really get big its becos of the massage and not the cream. So actually al these cream stuffs are jus craps..

nuts, i thought got effect... that why u say got hopes for 'accidents' hehe...

Enne, choi choi, no more go back to hotel la.

ah mosh, all the BF experts all not in today.

lilian
u never pay attention to my msg.. think now got twice a mth already good liao.. If e cream really effective mayb wil keep me busier at least once a week.. hahaha... but well.. so far see no result yet.. i'll give it another mth of chance..

Enne
wahahha... of cos... i wan my n n bigger lah! tt wil b my new year resolution!
BB - i really not thinking of having 1 more for the timebeing.. but i do agree that sometimes things/decision do change over time.

nuts, who say? i got pay attention one.
U last time say u 2 mths nvr do liao.
So now, a mth got twice is considered great improvement liao. Well, at least to me, twice a mth is good liao....

Lilian
wahahhaa.. like v cham hor.. 30plus already so inactive.. tink a few more years my entrance really officially close liao.. umm... or mayb by then i'll go for male escort.. wahahahaha...