(2008/11) November 2008

dymples!
i salute u! maid always give prob one but we still need them..wahlau...
dat day i juz found out my bathroom sink not cleaned properly so i told my maid this, "u noe ah...somehow, the sink, i duno why leh, still dirty even after u clean. duno if it's my sink got prob or wat..u think u can try to clean again? while u are at it, can clean the common toilet sink too? thanks ah..."

hahaha...im tryin to put in a nice way so she think like,"hmm..i think i nvr clean dat part leh, better go clean.."

after she clean, wah, become damn shiny lor...see, lazy bugger

Lilian,
hahah.. because I scared she feel resentful so need to bribe her with $$$ lor. *lols*

No lah.. you definately not 小气 !
Those maids all kena send back to the agent but on the condition that I will forfeit their $500 holding deposit (my own rules to prevent me from being lugi since my own govt dun protect me). If not, off they go back to their country!

Jes,
Yah lor. So drama mama hor... tat's why I hate hiring maids. But no choice leh... they're a 'evil' necessity here in SG where both parents gotta work super long hours just to make ends meet every month.

Mummy2Nia,
*Hi-5* Babe! Me too! Me too! Can't be bothered to yell at my maid now. If I see something I'm not happy, I won't hesitate to ask her to clean it again and again till I'm happy. My maid can tell me :"Mam, I clean already." Then I'll reply:" Oh really yah... but still not clean leh. So you can clean again." After she clean, I'll check. And if still not clean, I'll repeat my struction to clean again. Now my this maid super scared to do double work cos means less time for her to read newspaper and my old magazines, so she'll tend to clean better the first time round. hahahah...

dymples
Hi-5! yup...if we tell them to do over again, then they will remember...so i tot this way is better for me rather than i raise my voice and shout or whatever.

she's the type to wait for me to say one..not much initiative, unfortunately but wat to do...i can't keep changing maids. i will tell her, i will check after u have done.

lian
yah lor...but i can't believe she went to temple to receive luck..i feel sorry for her gal, kena scar sumore...but after dat article, then my parents finally understood dat changing of maids is quite a common trend. b4 dat, they keep on thinking, "why ah, why like dat etc.." so im glad the article came out even though, ahem, yah, she was kinda advertising for nation..haha

Lilian,
Actually this method is illegal hor. I make clear first. But I dun care cos it's one way for me to 'control' my maid and to re-coup back my losses.

Tink I also explain it before leh... here goes..

After the maid returns all her loan, she is supposed to get her full salary right? But instead of paying her the full amount, I will deduct $100 per each month till I have total of $500. Thereafter the maid will have her full salary paid out to her. This deposit I will hold and keep in my safe. If she fulfills her contract and decides to go back, or during her employment she falls sick (aka my maid that got TB), I'll send her back and return her the full $500. But if the maid causes trouble and wants to be send home early or I decide to send her back to agent cos cannot tahan her nonsense, Then I'll forfeit her $500 deposit. This deposit goes towards my pymt of agency fees for the next maid.

I know of many employers who will slam me for doing this, but seriously, I'm fed-up with being taken for a ride by useless maids and agencies. Since nobody protects my interests, I'll need to protect myself. Somemore it's not like I earn alot of $$$ such that everytime a stupid maid comes and goes, I'll loose good money cos I'll need to pay the damn agency fees and insurance all over again. Waste of $$$.

Oh yes... before my maid joins me, in fact during the interview, I'll tell her this condition of mine. Then on her first day of work, she actually signs a 'contract' indicating that she understands this condition. Of course, this contract is merely a scare tactic and won't hold up in court hor.

Mummy2Nia,
Yah... nowadays maid quality is bad... So we hv to change frequently. But sadly most times it's the maids who insists on changing employers instead of us employers throwing their sorry asses out of our house for their incompetencies. Besides, I feel most of them want to look for easy employment. NO kids, NO elderly, Small house type of household.

This is the type of work advertisement they looking for:

Small household with single male looking for personal domestic helper:

1) Minimal housework to be done. Lots of free time to watch TV, read newspapers, chit chat on telephone and SMS all day.
2) Full boarding facilities including use of water heater, washing machine and own personal bedroom complete with TV.
3) All meals provided inlcuding access to expensive cuisines. Beverages not limited to only water and coffee.
4) Clothing benefits fully provided for. Including and not limited to shorts, tank tops, earrings and nail polish
5) Full Medical facilities inlcuding all medical expenses related to pregnancy and birth of child.
6) Full dental facilities
7) Every Sunday and Public Holidays off. If performance is good every Saturday too.

Salary range from $600-$700 per month depnding on years of experience. Annual AWS and variable bonus every Christmas, Chinese New Year and Hari Raya.

Other perks - unlimited IDD access to call home country.

LOLxx
Dymples, your post really very funny. me laughing so hard until my colleagues thought what had happened to me..hahahha..

But true enough, maid these days are really very daring and choosy on their employers. It's really a headache when it comes to maid issues. so many patterns.

Wah cows..lol! so true..aiyo...single male ah..hahaha....

u noe, we so wanted to get rid of the previous maid but we tahan and tahan. we comply to her requests..want baju kurung for hari raya, buy, big ang pow for hari raya, want advance money, give, want chicken rice, buy..wah, eat until so fat, give everything, but yet, want to go back. say her 13 year old daughter getin married..wat rubbish. keep tokin on the phone, nvr do much work, can complain tired..

so this current maid, im very very very strict with her already..no watsoever nonsense..if dirty, clean again, unlike the previous maid, close one eye! give face too much kena step on. wah, i sound damn angry lor..

HBF Lunch Gathering
Friday: 1230 - 200
Food: Delicious Dim Sum ok?

Who
1. KiKi
2. Chilipadi & Emma
3. Mosh
4. Peanut?
5. iluvbli55?
6. Wtan?
7. Dymples?
8. Triangle?
9. Kash?
10.?

Dymples,
Wow, got such a job? This is funny. Laughing as i scroll upwards.
Best part is Annual AWS and variable bonus every Christmas, Chinese New Year and Hari Raya. I wonder if there such a co? Keke.

Kiki,
Can't join lunch. Office far far away. Thks for the invitation.

Going off for the day.

Yen, Lilian, Moomummy, Mummy2Nia,
Glad you all enjoyed my nonsense postings. Need to release maid stress.
Btw, I also looking for such a job leh... if got lobang must let me know yah...hahahahah...

Bye mommies... try to pop in again on Thursday. Cheerios... muacks! muacks!

Alibaba,
My son also same as ur niece, cough often and hv bronchitis often as well. Think ur niece has sensitive lungs. So far i find this PD quite good, he is good in Asthma and cough. See him since my boy is a baby and still seeing him now. Dr E K Ong from SBCC at TMC.

Dymples: I salute you.. actually u can be a very good maid employment trainer.. hehe.. strict enough. ur children must be very guai..

Lilian: yeah lor.. now still not walking.. refuse to walk.. i hold his hand to walk.. u know what he did? he lift up both of his legs.. haiz.. talking.. the only thing he very clever is "HMMMMM..." or if he needs help.. he goes "mama..mama..." faintz... straw.. i give him to suck.. he gives me the look as if i try to poison him..

Lilian,
Thanks. Rachelle's rashes are almost gone. Now she's having fake rosy cheeks.

Jes,
I give paracetamol only when fever is 37.8 dc. When fever is higher than 38.5 then i give ibuprofen.

Joyce,
R also see Dr Ong EK from birth to 1 yr but his queue always so long. Now lazy to go. He's good.

I really got a bad Ox year ...
First maid - accuse FIL touch her
Second maid - Filipino cant speak and understand English
Third maid - She been with us for 6 weeks. I told you all she has UTI yesterday but this is not the real problem.

Yesterday late morning she keep complain pain, MIL got no choice bring her to GP downstairs and did a urine test ... GP only say she got UTI and lower abdominal pain - cld be appendicitis ... need to refer her to Alexandra hospital straight away. I took half day send her to Alexandra hospital, she say she got menses on the 10th Jan and did a urine test. Doc say she is tested positive for pregnancy and her pain cld be due to Ectopic pregnancy. Alexandra hospital got no gynae .. so gotta send her immediately to NUH after they managed to contact an available O&G. But they dun allow us to drive and send her there ourselves .. must send thru their ambulance w no charges. Fine. From NUH A&E, she went to do a scan then back to A&E then doc told mi she need an emergency operation bcos of her Ectopic pregnancy and it was done last nite after she was warded in the evening. This morning my hb went to hospital to see see and the doc told him she got another problem .. not major but they need to do blood test to see what is the medical problem.

Bcos this is pregnancy related, maid insurance is not covering. We spoke to the agency guy and he say we are the employer and we should foot all medical bills, shirking their responsibilites. We insist he come down to hospital to meet us and discuss abt the bill but he refused.

The maid admitted she had intercourse with her hb right before she came over sg ... but pregnancy was too early to be detected during her entry medical examination. She was actually 6-7weeks pregnant.

We definitely gonna return her back to agency and insist the agency should foot her medical bills. But this is the most tricky and headache part for us. We spoke to MOM ... they say employer shld foot medical bills ... but for her case, we need to write in to MOM to appeal. Haiks

Thanks Joyce,
I shall tell my sil, see if she listen anot.

Babyzel,
fake rosy cheek? i rem Trysten got tat before.. Actually the doc said it's too dry.. asked us to apply lotion on his face.. she gave sample for us to try. & it's pretty good.. forget wat brand is tat.. if u wan i can go back & check

jo
u didnt buy the insurance that cover pregnancy? then it's really a headache for u. becos employer always be the lost end.. ev ting it's employer's responsibility..

Morning mummies.

Jo:
You really quite suay. Next maid, my suggestion is you ask the agency to facilitate a long distance call to the selected maid first and see if she speaks English, what is her motivation for coming to Singapore, etc.

As for this maid, appeal to MOM ba. Since she got pregnant back home. Get a doc to certify that the date she conceive is XXX which is before she came to Singapore. If not, you not just have to pay the medical bills but may also get blacklisted by MOM.

Jo,
Your maid super happening. But I guess like what Dymples said the govt does not really protect the employer.
When it comes to medical bill, it seems that employer are the responsible 1. Any idea how much does all her medical cost?
I think it'll be good for you to make a trip down to MOM and sent in the appeal asap.

Alibaba,
Ya hor, got insurance tt covers pregnancy??? Especially when it comes to maid's pregnancy which is not even allowed in the 1st place.

I mean back then I wanted to get myself a pregnancy insurance just in case smething happened to me but my agent told me there is no such thing.

Soho,
I'm not pregnant

What I meant was I conceived my #2(Nov 08bb) when I was still execlusively bf-ing my #1 who was 6 mths old then.
Are u aiming for a Tiger bb?

morning ladies

Jo, so suay! hope the medical bill will not be alot!

HELP!
My gal keep having running nose every 2-3weeks since Dec! I dunno what happened to her! She used to be quite healthy but keep falling sick since Dec! Is it the weather or is she weak? sighz.....

We estimate the ward charges is close to 2k already, not to say the operation charges ... total can choke up to 5-6k bah.

fifi,
Why will we get blacklisted by MOM ... shld be the maid cannot enter sg to work anymore mah ... what's got to do with us?

Last time MOM blacklist employers who let their maids get pregnant (as if we can stop them). But now lilian just remind me that the new regulations no more liao. We dun even lose the 5K bond if we report the pregnancy to MOM.

Jo,
gosh..it's really a very tiring and frustrating Ox year for you. I agree with Fifi. better go ask a doc to certify your maid got preggy before she arrived in singapore and send an appeal to MOM asap. I think they'll review your case on a case-to-case basis.

Re:pregnancy insurance
Actually hor, my company's employee's insurance got include pregnancy leh. But it's those corporate policies one lah and our company has been in it about 6 or 7 years ago. All female employees are able to reimburse all the expenses on their pregnancy issues right from the start when they got pregnant and till they give birth. this policy also covers spouses of male employees too.

I tink itz becoz our company is super pro-family and always encouraging female employees to start a family if they have not.

Yen/mummy2nia:
ok will try to organise lunch gathering near your workplace next time, but where u work btw ah? ;)

<u>HBF Lunch Gathering</u>
Friday: 1230 - 200
Food: Delicious Dim Sum ok?

Who
1. KiKi
2. Chilipadi &amp; Emma
3. Mosh
4. Peanut? - still on leave?
5. iluvbli55?
6. Wtan?
7. Dymples?
8. Triangle?
9. anyone?

morning!

Jo, wow lau, so damn sway! hopefully MOM can review yr case... i really think the agency shd bear some responsibility cos the maid got pregnant before u employed her.

moomummy, the insurance is not local right? my firm got this for all of us oso tat covers all pre and post pregnancy expenses.

jes
yes, it's from AIG coz ours is a US company.
The insurance very good hor?hehe..but I heard from my office manager that the insurance premium is pretty high too...
Even my hubby got dental coverage from our company and my boy oso covered under our insurance. :p

Lilian
our company is actually a spin-off from ST Micro and it's called Upek. We are doing biometric stuff. hmm..recently, a couple of my colleagues resigned. One in QA dept and another is a financial comptroller. You looking for a job now?

I've replied to you on the stroller liao oso..

moomummy, ours is BUPA from UK. ya very super good, imagine pregnancy they oso cover, where to find. and yes, premium very high, so usually only firms are able to purchase for staff. if buy individual, even higher premium. yr firm better still cover yr hb and boy. mine will only cover spouse and kids for higher level staff. me small fry, haha.

Hi Jo,
That sounds really a bad experience about your maid incident.
Actually my friend's maid ever found pregnant when she was with her for few months only. However, they did not report to anyone, simply informed the agency and immediately got an air ticket and sent her back. I heard from her that if pregnancy news ever spread to MOM, we as employer will be penalize. This is accordingly to her experience.

jes
our company has to be fair to all employees in terms of the employee's benefits so to shut everyone up mah.hahahah..
My hubby din appreciate his dental benefits until last month when he broke his tooth accidentally. He's a famous miser and when he went to the dental without paying anything, he kept saying good things abt the insurance.hahaha..beh tahan him.. :D

moomum,
I asked u abt t model leh.. Haven't see any reply on tat

I in engineering lay... Not v actively looking for job. But keeping my eyes open in case got good jobs ard. My current job not v secure, anytime will receive the 'R' package.

moomummy, haha, human nature i guess, when u dun need it, u dun really appreciate its benefits. actually this type of insurance really wonderful. my few colleagues who did surgery all went to famous surgeons and the insurance just paid for everything.

lilian,
oh sorli sorli..just saw your mail.hehe.
I've asked my fren to check liao. he'll let me know on the model number. Will let you know later.
What type of engineering job are you in? I can help you keep a lookout for a job in electronics/manufacturing industry.

Jes,
yah lor..but of course we hope to make use of the insurance in a good way, not when mishaps happens(*touchwood*) lah.hehe..

Jo,
aiyohz... You really sway when come to maids. Poor thing... Must be so stressed out. I agree with the mommies here.. Get doc to certify tat the maid was preggie b4 u employed her n appeal to MOM for the agency to pay the bills. No reason why the u the employer need to bear all costs for this case. Good Luck!

moomum, ok ok

My company recently stop covering us with Group Hospital/Surgery insurance liao. Made us buy t Enhanced Medishield, and then reimburse us part of the premium -_-" What kind of 'benefit' is this?

Juz now nothing to do, went into other threads to kaypo.. Felt angry after reading one thread>>
This mommy just discover her (unplanned) pregnancy. Is her #2. She complained that her family financial status may not be able to cope with 2 children. Stressed. Dunno whether shd ask her hub to go back to his old job which is paying better. To keep the child or not?
Other mummies started giving advises, helplines to call....
Guess what? Later she disclosed more about her financial status. Her pay is $3200. Her hub's earning slightly lesser. Piangz...

Finally after some thinking, she decided to keep the child.
Even worse, she is gog 2 sending her #1 to Modern Montessori CC at SK, which she admits tat it cost a bomb.
Wahlau... I dunno wat to say

The agency still refuse to bear the cost of the maid's medical bills!!! How ah?

Now my hb trying to contact FIL's fren who is a lawyer ... I also told my hb to get letter from doc on his next hospital visit to see the maid tat she is preggie before she comes over.

hv u all start potty training for ur bb? i tried to make my gal sit on potty but she refuses &amp; scream like hell. argh! got any gd suggestions? does training pants help?