(2008/11) November 2008

nut
how bout staying overnight at ur parent place so she can get used to ur family more? when she go school. u gotta be heartless enough.. tell her u be back after work to fetch her & u leave her there. out of her sight. take time for them to get use bah.. mummy with #1 can help to advise u. I guess ur gal shld not be the only one.

peanut,
Maybe u try to be abit more hard hearted and let her cry ... but keep to a short period like max. 5-10mins? Hopefully she will stop? I think Asta quite SELECTIVE in who can carry her ... Aunty Ali sure can ... Aunty Jo sure cannot.

Lucas will usually not let strangers carry him else he will also cry ... but yesterday my auntie fed him with pandan cake once... he walk ard the hse and walk back to my auntie for food again. My cousin wanted to carry him, he refused but we told him ah yi give you mum mum ... he think twice then let her carry and go eat watermelon.

re: toddler food
I'm letting Lucas try out whatever food we are having ...I believe he is already 1 yo ... shld let him taste different things but I will try to refrain giving fried food and tibits - worrying he do not drink enuff water and get sore throat.

nut, ali is rite ... try staying at ur mum place.

Lucas used to cry everytime my BIL carry him .. but since my BIL stays here, he cld carry Lucas and even go down to buy stuffs.

Nut,
Since no govt then should be relaxed mah, dun sian. Zun zun 6pm can run off liao.

Try asking ppl to temp her wif food? Mine also got separation anxiety. She not zen like my #1 who talks to almost everybody.

MummyZeal,
Oh... tats good. Janessa also started walking last month. Me too. Dun allow her to walk herself when it's crowded. So the Beco is really good. SOmemore she's nearly 10kg now. Too heavy to use hands and carry. Cannot tahan.

Besides walking, now she also starting to pull things off my shelves and opening my drawers and emptying out the contents. *faintz* My poor maid gotta clean up after her several times a day.

Hahaha... your hub must so shocked that you yelled at him since you dun do that. hahaha... Tink you feel 'shiok' after yelling cos got lots of pend-up anger? Then after let out feel much better.

For me, my hub is already used to me yelling (so sad right?). Then if I dun yell for 1-day, he asked me if I'm ok... got fever or not. Haiz... but with 3 chikdren in 1 household... how not to yell? *aarrgghh*

Lilian,
I also feel the same way. Getting impatient with other people. For example, I was at Robinsons over the weekend for the sales. Then whilst pushing the stroller with Janessa inside, keep getting people strolling slowly in front of me taking their time to look see. I know not their fault lah... cos sale must see properly. But I'm rushing to grab stuffs before baby start crying. Somemore when I use my normal tone, they also boh chap me... continue walking slowly. *aiyohz*. In end, I ended up getting more and more impatient, till I took to raising my voice and yelling at people:"Excuse me! Excuse me!".

Snnowy,
Wow.. 10 sets of clothes??
I chnage 2 sets,giv up and feed him myself.Now i change to a spill free bottles... with less mess

Re: forgetful
I guess that is normal after giving birth ba.... at times i can even forget to feed my boi or where i place him :p

Mummy2Nia,
Is it the father too shocked till dunno how to react? COs some man may look macho. But when comes to emergency situations, they are totally hopeless!

Fries,
Janessa loves eating fries. That is one thing that will keep her occupied! Actually... she loves food. As long as she can hold the food and feed herself, she's in 7th heaven. But the floor... that's another story siah. There will be ssoo much food thrown down by the end of dinner. Tink if I'm lucky, only 1/2 made it into her tummy. On her grouchy days, make that 3/4 on the floor. *faintz*

Snowy
got once i misplaced my pouch.. & i've totally forgotten that i left my pouch in the car. then i keep insisting my maid kept it cos i only rem tat i kept the pouch in the baby bag which maid usually will carry it... haha..& i keep on looking for it at home up & down.. v cham lor.. still "yuan wang" pple..

got abit of time to come in and have a peep coz server at my office is down.. :p

mummy2nia
oh dear..I think tat daddy really got too shocked liao. but hor, i tink if me and my hubby were in that scenario, i'll be the one to be 'motionless' coz i'm tat type who is very slow in reaction one.. :p

By the way mummies,my fren has a 2 month old pram to let go..
Brand: Capella
4 way swivel and 2 way facing.
Bought at $300 but letting go at $200.
I got the photo of it but too large to post it here..
anyone interested can PM me..

yah.. i agree.. the father most likely scared until dunoe how to react.. not as if he stil happily eating his fries ther rite.. then can giv him a slap..

Haiz.. tok abt choking.. tts y everytime i feed her i giv her small pieces.. my MIL and hubby always tot she adult giv her in bigger pieces.. grape also can giv her in whole.. Everytime i see liao i damn angry tell them dun do that and they'll reply she can one she can one.. I shot back Then wait until something really happen then too late liao.. haiz.. type until here i damn angry again..

noleh...the father is like sooo cool.and yes, he was still eating his fries but slowly!! urgh! then how others supposed to help wen the father took it so lightly! macam like the son always choked like dat??

nut
u better tell ur mil my story can. hopefully she noes than even eating fries can choke..wah, grape is too much lor...haiz

helooo mummies,
its been ages since i've came in here. been really busy lately...

re: food/ eating
my gal has her moods, some days she will eat lots and anything. other days she will refuse and can survive on just crackers and water. but i pretty much let her have some of our table food esp when we are outside coz she will scream for us to give her some and she loves to self feed. i would normally let her self feed hard boiled eggs, pasta, fruits, bread...it is a huge mess but she definitely has a better time than just being fed.=P

re: naps
my little one is down to 1 nap on most weekdays coz she refuses to nap at grandma's when i am at work. but come weekend, she will be sleepy by late morn and will Zzz when i nurse her. and again in the late aftern when I nurse her again. so I guess I am guilty of letting her get used to falling asleep at my boob! but thankfully she can still fall asleep at night after nursing even if she is still awake after her feed.

Lilian: my boy also still don know how to suck the straw.. haiz..

peanut: my boy also got this separation anxiety problem.. he don want any one except me.. i go away for toilet can scream until don know what.. my hb keeps telling him " I am DADDY lei" haha.. so funny.. i always say he only recognize mummy.. haiz.. but is reali tiring loi.

food: i like to let brandon try new food. but i also agreed fried food i not ready to let him try nor outside food.. got MSG.. but ice cream i alr let him try.. haha.. my HB don like. but i say no childhood lei. chinese new year coming.. i pretty sure he will be interested in what we are munching..

Lian:
Just keep letting her try. As long as she is interested, she will try till she get it. My gal was so gianz to drink my sugar cane that she suck until she get a tiny sip. She would have gotten more if I din clap the straw with my fingers to prevent the flow up.

Mummy2nia:
I gave in and let Alyssa try Macs, KFC, Pizza Hut liaoz. Sambal BBQ fish, Curry Potato, Roti Prata also try liaoz. Bad mummy hor. Making Alyssa eat is problematic. Everytime muz force. So we decided that rather let her each our food as well compared to her going on hunger strike.

Wah that dad at BK really useless. But hor, in that position, I think I will be just as useless. Not becoz I dun care but coz I panic.

I'm having maid problems again!!!

This maid has worked with us for slightly over 1 mth. This morning cried and complain to MIL that her lower tummy pain for 3 days already and she couldnt even sit up last nite. I ask her whether issit her menses ... she say no, finished already. I asked her if it happens to her in Philippines, she says yes and it is UTI.

Is she here for free treatment???

Her medical problem shld be detected during her entry medical test but why is it not reported?

For the first month, she already spend $30 (her 1st mth salary) on Intl Call Card to call home and I jus bought the 4th call card for her yesterday. She will call at least once a week. Gosh.

I wondering to send her back anot ... but I'm sick of searching for a new maid again.

Jo
I think it's better for you to call your maid agency first to tell them of this issue. Coz UTI will come back again even if your maid gets the treatment now. If she's super prone to UTI, then you'll have problems in future again. So if your agency refuses to do anything about it, then i tink u better send your maid back to them. otherwise, next time you'll have more headaches.

And I heard that drinking cranberry juice regularly will reduce the risks of having UTI. But its costly wor.dun tell me u wanna buy for your maid to drink meh? :p

BabyZel, has Rachelle's rashes subsided? Also feel heartpain to see pretty Rachelle's face with dot dots.

Jo, I dont tink the entry medical test can detect UTI. I think UTI can be treated by antibiotics. Maybe u can search t web for more info.

Fifi, yest nite we tried giving her our straw to our soft drink. However she dunno how to suck, only interested in swinging the straw around -_-

Lynn, haiz too... I rem u mention he's not walking & talking? same same. They can b good friend liao.

jo
i forgot to tell u that time she did mentioned to my maid that she missed home v v much.. wanted to cry when she tok to my maid le.. u still rem my last maid. she keep seeing doc oso.. & even told doc to refer her to hospital.. tat one i suspect tat she was here to treat her medical condition.. As for yours. UTI is common & will come back if u're prone to it.. But 1st of all, ur main duty now is to bring her to doc 1st. monitor her 1st. if suspect tat she is here jus to have free treatment. probably den u send her back.

drink barley oso will lower the risk of UTI. my ex maid oso got UTI. we always cook barleY & make her drink too.

Good morning mummies,
Happy,
What I usually do is to wash and fill up their bottles full and leave it on the coffee table. The gals will go and drink by themselves when they are thirsty. By mid afternoon, they will finish their water.
For bb, she will go there and drink when she is really thirsty. After that start playing wif it liao. Now got to keep track, once she spit out the 1st mouth I will keep her bottle, only leave it at the coffee table half an hour later.

Peanut,
Grape cannot give in whole la. It far too big. Usually I break it into 4-6 pieces.

Jo,
I think you need to tell your agency cos like what moomummy said, UTI will be bk if she is prone to it. Then it's like no ending issues. It can be big issues cos I was once admitted for 2 weeks due to UTI.

Jo,
For UTI, dun need to bring to docotor first. Bring her go to Pharmacy and tell the pharmacist you need medication for UTI. They sell a sachet thing called Citravescent. This is good for treating UTI. I used to buy this whenever I had UTI. Bring your maid along to show her that dun need to go doctor in order to get medication. At same time, tell her that you won't anyhow bring her go see doctor cos it's expensive. Then make sure you keep the receipt and make her sign that she received the medication. Once the maid knows that you won't anyhow spend $$ to send her go doctor, she won't anyhow "keng" to be sick.

But if after 3-days she still says pain, then maybe you boh pianz but bring her to see doctor. But make sure you impress upon her that doctor visits is only for really problem or else you'll make her pay $$$.

I may seem heartless, but I like to warn my maids when they behave like this or else they think they can have all this perks at my expense?? No way! I'm no sucker!

As for the calling card, you'll need to put your foot down. Limit her to 1-card per month. If she wants extra... can... she pay for it! Cos if you keep buying, she'll keep using. They won't care about your expenditure. Be firm or else this maid will over step her boundary.

Jo
is it u mentioned ur boy having night cough last time? ok now? dry or phlegmy cough?

olwen
i added u as friend le but u never add me.. so unfriendly lah.. :p

Haiz... I also got maid problems! So fed-up! This few days I tried wearing all my suits and find how come they shrink! I question my maid and she confessed she throw them into the washing machine instead of hand wash! *aarrgghh* Sososo tempted to cut all her pay! Cos my suits are all expensive (from Blum) and I need them for work! This is not first time somemore! Previously I already suspect and told her off. Now happen again! Now thinking how I can 'punish' her else she will keep on repeating this mistake. REally angry whilst typing this.

friday HBF lunch anyone?

1. kiki
2. chilipadi
3. mosh
4. bear?
5. peanut?
6. iluvbli55?
7. kash?
8. wtan?
9. triangle?
10. lilian (better put else say I never jio her though I know she can't make it wakakak)
11. anyone?
12. anyone?

kiki,
allergy to what? I will take note these few days if still got cough anot.

My MIl cant stand the maid complaining abt her pain so bringing her to GP now. Haiks. Waste money.

Jo: UTI get her some cranberry juice..should help.

Mummy2nia, snowy and other mummies who are preggy now:
Were u breastfeeding when u got preggy? I am little frustrated by trying and no results..cos i still BF-ing.

Lilian,
Yah lor... cannot 'punish' her. Either way also MOM will protect them. We poor employers are the ones with no Human Rights. So sad right... Haiz... Oh yah! This year CNY 'Ang Pao' give her $50 only. I was thinking of giving her $80 somemore. Hmmp! Cut her red packet $$.

Kiki,
Oh so nice... got Lunch gathering. I've got some tentative appointments in that area. Maybe I can join in?

Jo,
If it's due to sleeping in aircon room, maybe you can buy those humidifier and put in the room? I got one from Novita. Somemore can put in those essential oils. When my gals not feeling well, I'll put in Eucalyptus oil.

Fifi,
I'm also feed ing Janessa lots of adults now. Already feed her chikcen rice, roti prata, hard boiled eggs, duck rice, pao, tao-huay, in fact, whatever I eat, I'll also give her as long as not curry hot can already. So bad hor... but it's the only way to keep her quiet during meal times leh.

soho> 慢慢来。。。 This kind of things cannot rush de.
But can I ask, u want a Tiger baby huh?

Dymples> Sianz right? These maids know they must handwash t clothings yet they take short cuts. Juz like my ex-maid, secretly use washing machine wash her own clothes. 2 wks oredi, t agency hasn't find her a new employer.
U so 阔气! Still wanna give $50?!?! Can i bring my kid go your hse during CNY??

wow Dymples, u really good leh, give such a big angpow to yr maid ah? i was tinking just give $10 or $20 angpow to mine at CNY, haha.

feel sorry for u all having all sorts of maid probs... tink i'm really lucky so far quite problem-free for me, no big issues... my MIL told me my maid super scared of me, i don't know how and why did i ever potrait such a scary image but i guess it's good then she knows she can't 'play play' with me.

wanna ask if any v gd doc for asthmatic kid with keep getting brochitis/low oxygen level/coughing. my little niece 2.5yr keep getting this & was just only admitted to hospital earlier this mth. less than a mth come back again.. told SIL to bring niece to TMC to recuperate after the western medication.. but she did not take in the advise.. haiz.. v sad to see niece to keep falling sick. any mummies has gd recommendation of TMC sinseh or PD.

ah lian
mai ke ki, such a pity u can't join us.. next time must join us hor... *grin*

dymples
yeah join us join us.. PM me your contact if u can make it k?

jo
ya u take note better...
Last month my boy had this dry cough at night (around 12am - 2am), initially just few coughs then it got worse that disturbed his sleep. PD said it's allergy to temperature change (weather turned cold & rained at nights). She said quite common among kids wor..

jes
usually 37.5 then got to give paracetamol oredi. however u can try sponge her, see whether it helps to bring the temperature down..

Lilian,
Aiyohz... all maids are like that lor. Always will find shortcuts. So I every weekend will spot her work. If I find any dirty corners or things not done properly, I'll make her re-do till I happy. Hahahaha... I still give her $50 cos my kids she will help my dad take care mah. So need to 'bribe' her for the sake of my girls lor.

hahahah... this year CNY I no 'open house' leh..

Jes,
Aiyohz... $50 is to bribe her lah... cos she helps my dad to take care of my girls. Then her overall performance still within the acceptable range. So far her "damages and spoilt record" is way below my previous ones... so can say she's better then them lah. hahahahah... *lolz* *faintz* At least this one I sometimes feel like 'knocking' her head to wake her up. All my previous ones I sssooo wanted to 'strangle' them cos I dunno how they can be ssooo stupid. Simple instructions also cannot follow... hhmm make that purposely dun want to follow.
kao_frustrated.gif

Kiki,
Sure sure. Will update you again on Thursday. Thanks.
kao_kiss.gif

thanks kiki, ya hv asked MIL to feed her a dose of paracetamol and monitor her, dun know if her fever is due to the jab the week before...

dymples, say if the maid's salary is $400, wat u give in an angpow is already more than 10%!! haha, you very good employer leh, and only "discount" her $30 for shrinking yr suits :p

Dymples, u r the maid specialist

So far, did u use any 'punishment' on maid? I not mean physical abuse or deduct pay la.
I know of a fren who made her maid mop the floor 10x cos the maid refuse to follow instructions.

No lor, jes. Cos Dymples will not go and tell t maid that she had strunk her angbao bcos t maid strunk her suits... haha
If the maid dun know, it's not counted

Lilian,
Unfortunately... have lor. I made my maid wake up from her sleep at 11-pm cos she did not mop the kitchen floor and tidy the kitchen counter top before going to bed. The whole kitchen in a mess with unwashed plates, the floor super sticky and food not kept back in the fridge. Another time, i made her clean my toilet 3 times cos the corners, bathtub and shelves are not cleaned properly. Still got dust lah, hair lah, worse she did not use the mildew remover and got those moulds growing on my tiles she also dun care. Just recently because she did not pack baby's outing bag properly, left behind the diaper bag, baby's shoes and worse still... milk container. So I made her stand and repeat to me 5x the things that got into the bag. So far after such 'punishments' she won't repeat the same mistakes. But other then tat, she's already considered quite ok lor.

Jes,
Aiyohz... dun say me like that leh. *sob-sob* hahahaha... Else I dunno how to 'punish' her liaoz. Maybe I make her write 1-thousand times tonight :"I must hand wash all of mam's suits!" hahahahah

ah lian, good point! haha

dymples, no lah, actually tink u r quite lenient lor. imagine the maid do so many wrong things, you still say considered ok ah. haha... ya not a bad idea to make her write 1000x as punishment, then she will hv no excuse of not remembering, and if next time happen again, become 2000x etc.. sure they gonna remember very well!

Jes,
hahah... that's cos my previous maids all did worse things man. Steal my salmon and expensive Japanese food to cook her own scrumptious lunch... steal my hub's wine and drink half bottle, everyday MIA for few hours to go out meet boyfriend, steal my children's and my old clothes which I had wanted to donate to charity, spoilt my washing machine, the worse... I was babysitting my SIL's dog for her. End up dunno how the dog ate a piece of small cloth. End up the dog gotta go to hospital for operation to remove the cloth. Almost died... both the dog... and me from shock cos the doggie hospital bill came up to nearly $4K. *aarrgghh*

Dymples, aiyo.. I will do the same if i were u! How can go to sleep w/o finishing her work?
It is really sad that these maid has to be treated like small children, although they are above 20years old liao.
Aren't u worried that t maid will 记仇 and then resent u?

dymples... haha! u made me feel i m very 小气!
I send my ex-maid back cos she use my washing machine, steal a sweet, sleep during work hrs...
Imagine if she steal my salmon and drink my wine, i might have send her to police post liao! haha...
My case really chicken feet compared to urs sia... >.< U considered v gd mam liao. But unlucky also la