(2008/11) November 2008

jo
no la.. not so rich to keep changing maid.. no body is perfect.. she is good in some ways la.. most importantly she mus know how to tackle my son. & she is still quite alright with it.. And also the thought of reteach again VV sianz.. Plus mus oversee if baby ok with new maid anot..

does any of u buy Baby Toddler Harness Walk Trainer Learning Assistant? Is it useful for bb who start learning to walk? How much does it cost? I think there's no BP selling it leh...

ah lian, no prob

hope u will tio TOTO at the agency, hehe

jo
there's pro & con .. this one is slower than the previous one.. Guess it's because of her age.. do housechores slower not so neat but her cooking is better.. Can see this one is more patient also..

Her Hp is still with me.. she nv ask from me yet.. & also she didnt really request to call home .. So far i tink only once... One reason for her not calling frequently because her children are quite grown up already.. & every time she call back, they will ask for $$.. & at the moment she has no salary.. need to repay loan.

i will consider to return her hp when her loan is up.. But i guess she will only get it back during weekends or when go out only..

& ya. this one face not so charcoal.

Karen: Yes my girl also sleeps less now sometimes even skiping her morning or noon sleep sometimes both! By 7-8pm she really tired...maybe the older theya re the less sleep they need..?

jeanne: Thats a very gd idea, is it better than holding her armpit or hands to walk? What if gonna fall just use string to pull up...?

soho: i duno if its gd or not... coz i'm tired of bending down to hold her armpits or hands to walk. if going to fall, i think its not gd to use string to pull... there's another type "walking wing". this one support the upper part of body. the other one support the below part of body. i think walking wing is more ex...

actually will your maid complain to you that if you nv give hand phone like in emergency they can't call to let you all know?

minky
my house got phone. any emergency she can call me by my hp. If outside, she is suppose to stick to me..

minky,
Yah.. me same as alibaba. If got any emergency, she can call me using my house phone.

She seldom goes out... unless it's to send or fetch my gal from kindergarten which is about 10-mins from my place or to buy some minor grocery stuffs. So no need to bring handphone.

If really got emergency during these short trips, she can always use the public telephones mah.

Sharing pic of my gal's bday cake, its themed to her favourite cartoon The Wonderpets. We celebrated last Sun, then on her actual day - 3 Nov, she had a mini celebration with her playgroup and we brought cupcakes. Everything's home-made, by Daddy dearest no less!
3203717.jpg
3203718.jpg

peanut
yup, and he also cooked the food for the home celebration - pizza, mashed potato, pasta/cream sauce, roast kurobuta leg, salad. Not baker at all, he used cake mixes and is 1st timer at fondant. the figurines also moulded by him haha!

thanks all, he burnt 3 wkends and late nights testing and practising the cake stuffs...really not easy. think he's had enuff of cake making for now hehe. alot of his sweat and love went into the making of tis cake, which we never imagined would turn out like tis in the first place.

alibaba,
haha i let him know..if in case he got the urge to make cakes again in future

jes,
yup i brought her to a playgroup, made up of a few SAHM friends wif their bb/tots held at our own place

jinomo
wow....Victoria's 1st birthday cake really very pretty n nice done by her daddy

I like the cupcakes...taste nice...BBJ likes eating it too

just to share...yest my hubby ask me to massage his legs after his soccer play. So i shown my boy hw to press to massage..n he follows me to massage his daddy's leg...He also go n pull his daddy's legs' hair..haaa...i keep laughing there..

Jinomo,
WOW! WOO! HOO! Your hubby really good for a 1st timer baker leh. Wah seh... if only my hub also can do this... I'll faintz siah. Berry berry nice! So colourful the cake.... then the cupcakes sssooo sweet and girlish.

Can see lots and lots of daddy's love went into it. All the time and attention spent on the cake is well worth it. *clap-clap*

Tell you hub he can set up his own bakery liaoz. Sure get lots of orders.

jinomo,
wow.... very nice "AI XIN" cake and cupcakes.
i think i will cry if my hb were to bake 1 cake like yours for my gals. heehee..

Dymples.. wahah.. ya, I will faint too if my hub suddenly wanna bake cake. He isn't even interested when i ask him wat flavour shd we get for t PG cake

Really can see a lot of loves in jinomo girl's cake

Jo
wow so aft last nite she actually told u she no wan to work liao? u on leave next week rite? spend a bit of time to get a new maid ba.. Hopefully e nex one wil be satisfactory. My current one also jialat one.. she only needs to take care of housework (minus cooking hor..) and stil do things dilly dally.. even slower and worst than the previous maid who did not hav experience. Then drink lots of water and always occupy the toilet.. v pu huay one.. MIL always complain when bb cry she also bochap jus continue with housework no help to entertain bb a bit.. Not like the 1st maid who likes children more and wil play and sing to them.. Aft this one then my MIL starts to miss the 1st maid -_-...

jimono,
*standing ovation* your hubby is a Jamie Oliver in the making!!! very very impressed!~!!

RE: sleeping
i was just bout to post bout baby's change in sleeping patterns too. she still takes her day naps, although sometimes it can only be one half hour or hour nap. but i do try my best to make her nap despite her protests coz if not she can get very grouchy esp during dinner and bath time. and it has been very challenging getting her to sleep at night. she will keep blabbering for a looong time before finally falling asleep. past few nights, she has been falling asleep close to 10pm coz she keeps talking and one of us has to stay in the room with her. grandma says coz she is learning to talk so she just gets excited at her new skill..hahah...

peanut,
you're right, wonder how Enne and bb L are doing?

rainbowcandy,
wahahah!!! should have recorded that on video!!

Sleep
haiz.. tok abt this again.. My gal also.. day and aftern nap have to force her to sleep one.. She's jus not those who can guai guai lie down and drift into dreamland by herself.. Most of the time hav to struggle wif her for a while before she falls asleep.. sianz.. And lately for her nite sleep, pattern come out again.. jus when it seems to improve (but stil wil wake up whine a bit at least 2-3times a nite), past few nites heard from my mil she whine every 1hr again!!! aarrgh!!!

soho/haru/peanut,

My baby every night since birth sure wake up: min 2times, max 4/5times! My boy even has dark circles leh. That's why now he skip afternoon nap, a bit worried lor

I dun have the luxury of a sleep through baby haiz.......

Jimono, really envy you that you have such a nice hubby. The cake he made is really very nice. bet you and your gal should be very delighted to see such a nice cake.

re:sleep
my boy's sleeping pattern is changing most of the time. a few months back, he sleeps at abt 8:30pm but nowadays, he sleeps at abt 10:30pm!
and it's a such a tedious affair patting him to sleep now..
can remember when i was preggy with him, he likes to kick alot and i will stroke my tummy and say to him,'boy boy, guai guai hor, go back to sleep okie?' then he'll be very quiet after that. now? when i ask him go to sleep, he'll kick me more and scream...haiz..

Karen/peanut,
my baby doesnt wake up in e night except occasionally. but when she does, she will be crying and takes a long time to calm her down. maybe bad dream?? its making her fall asleep that is a lil challenging.

oh ya, recently bb loves to push her play yard all e way till it is completely out of the mat! gave me a shock that day when i came out of the kitchen and her play yard was completely moved!!! any mummies experiencing this too??

Re: Sleep,
For Bb J, I've been sticking close to her night routine. Till now *touch-wood* she's a berry good baby. After daddy bathes her at 8.30pm, she will take milk at 9.00pm. Play with me abit, then take milk again at 9.30pm and finally sleep at 10pm.

For day time, grandpa will 'force' her to sleep at 11am and again at 4.00pm. But sometimes, she will forgo the afternoon 4pm nap. Then grandpa will grumble cos he's berry tired.

peanut,
yah, how u know leh? he can kick at least 10 times a day in my tummy. even in the middle of the night when i'm sleeping. i remembered there was once when my hubby was grinding his teeth in his sleep, it was so loud that my boy kicked me real hard that i woke up startled. hahaha..

Lilian:
My maid got HP. She can call whenever she wants. I dun really restrict. But my maid has been with my family for very long already and her sister is now working for my mum. Her MIL (working in SG) also knows my parents so she knows what is at stake if she dun do her job properly - i.e. we can 1 short fire both she and her sister & that will severely impact their ability to provide for their kids. So far they are doing very well for us.

Try to find out their motivation for working in Singapore. More abt family. Coz I think that makes a big difference in their attitude. So far, I find that if their family background is relatively closeknit (coz this affects how much "problems" they bring with them) & they have a very valid motivation (like wanting to see their kids through college), it will be better.

Jes:
You have to be caring but yet firm when you consider what you want to give and not. Overly nice and not firm = they step over you. Not caring and too strict = they hate you so will rebel.

Jeanne:
There are different kinds ard. Some are good and help to assist the kid. Some are not good and may end up causing the kid to fall when you pull on it.

Jinomo:
Wah very nice. Your hubby is very talented.

fifi: my maids also have their own handphone one of them i gave the mobile phone as a gift an extra set i had at home unused. It helps them connect well with family knowing their every move and so won't keep thinking too much. I also dun restrict them bcos i feel they are so distant from family, so a handphone helps them connect with family is only fair to them...anyway nowadays i NEVER see any maid write letters liao..LOL.

Happy Birthday to Nov Babies!!!

Jinomo : Ur cake very nice!
Its really not easy for a husband to bake a cake. If I ask my husband, hv to wait long long.

Fifi: Ya, I also thought the same. So I kinda stuck between choosing these 2 learning walkers.

Rainbowcandy : U shld teach ur boy to do karate chop massage. Hehehe...

Mummies : Last nite & today I had hard time coaxing my gal to sleep. Duno y each time I juz lie my gal down to change diaper b4 sleep. She cry like hell. I'm kinda helpless. Duno if its becoz its past over the hours. Any1 experience this?

haru,
my boi also like to push e play yard n this is an ongoing event for him since the first day. now e play yard is not to fence him but to prevent him from opening the cupboards.

dear little peanut, I'm fine! so 'touched' that u asking after me.. a little angel drop by to tell me.

dear mommies, looking forward to our babies bday bash!!

me at new workplace for nearing a mth liao, didn't really get to be SAHM for long.. and here MSN blocked and am newbie here so cannot 'surf' too much lo... hehe..

I'm quite lost here.. but can see the thread is overwhelmed by CAKES AND PARTIES!!
my little fighter is having his party next weekend... theme would be poohbear coz he likes bear bear.. hehehe.

Some updates!
Little fighter had his last checkup last week, doc say his body is working hard despite his condition and now checkup is 2mths once.. although eating-wise we need to be careful abt what we give him, was referred to a dietician on what he can eat and what he cannot. Need to see his output b4 whether can give him more, he's a glutton but yet we not able to give him anything he wants. Physio say he is good, no prob with his mobile development (which I was quite worried abt initially) Weight-wise doc say is quite avg liao.. (thank god).. but still when I bring him see doc, sometimes other pple will 'comment' that he looks thin or small for his age, sigh.. my MIL always say need to give him 'discount' in terms of his age coz of what he been thru =P

Can see he is more daring than korkor, he climb here and there and as and when he likes, like not scared of falling down. He's not scared of loud noises either which his korkor will cover his ears still haha. He can call 'papa' then sometimes when crying he will call out 'mummy' or 'nainai' yet when ask him to call, he keeps gog 'papapapa'.. oh yeah and he knows how to say bear (his fave) he learns things faster and can copy us when we show him.

2 boys really headache, now sometimes korkor scold him beat him, didi will 'scold' back too although we dunno wad talking him!!! Can anticipate more fights in future!!!

Recently my mind keeps wandering back to that 'dark' period, and I wonder how I ever came out alive, now thinking back really makes my heart shivers... its not easy for my little fighter to come this far to 1yr old.. he dun even have 1st mth celebration.. so this time his bday party is smth like all-in-1.. hopefully everything will go smooth!

For my boy birthday, I hope he can receive 'health', that would be the best bday pressie for him.

For all the nov babies.. Enne mommy and little fighter wish u all health, joys, laughters and grow up fast fast!!!

Minky/Karen,
I thought my gal was the only 1 that had sleeping issue for the last 1 month. Basically she has skipped all her afternnon nap. A 15 min min power nap and she is all gear up to play but evening time is a torture to me cos she is sleepy.
I know it because she is active and excited over her new found skill of standing so she cant wait to put it to use. Praying hard that she gets over this phase soon.

Jinomo,
Nice cake. It's the effort it counts.

Jes,
So so agreed wif you. All our hubby only "bake cake in the toilet"

Enne,
Glad to know that you are getting on fine. Congrats on BB L's achievment. Mummies are the strangest creature on earth. No matter how bad a situation is, she'll adapt to the environment and walked through it. Call it maternal instinct bah.

Enne,

I'm so glad to hear that the small ray of sunshine has finally burst through the dark clouds and engulf you and your little fighter in full light and warmth. You are a strong mommy... it was crtainly tough going thru the dark period. But praise God that everything is getting better and better with each passing day.

Dun worry about wat other people say... some babies are born naturally petite whilst others are like mini sumo wrestlers. But considering wat Bb L has gone thru... his average weight is already quite an achievement and a huge testimony to your hard work and determination.

Take care... and please pass all my hugs and kisses to Bb L. Tell him... he is most loved and treasured. May God bless him abundantly with health in mind and body on his berry special 1st Birthday and all the days of his life. Cheerios...

Bibi,
hahahah... Bb J also loves to push her play yard off the playmat. Worse... her climbing skills are getting better each day. Dunno how long more my play yard is able to 'fence' her in before she is able to climb out. *faintz*

Jeanne,
Is your bb having some type of discomfort when you put her in lying position? Or maybe she wants to play somemore is 'protesting' cos she dun want to sleep?

I find giving babies a 'wind-down' time with the lights dimmed, her diapers changed and her body kept warm will help greatly in inducing a sleepy environment.

For me, when I am putting baby to sleep, I will switch off the main light and on my bedside light. I also dun leave her alone in the room or cot. But rather I will lie next to her on my bed and read my book. She knows this cue very well cos I've been doing this for the past 6-months. Once she sees me reading my book, she will initially try to grab it, but I'll 'scold' her. Then she will flippity flopperty abount the bed, talk to herself abit and then suddenly fall asleep. hahaahah... But hor.. this only works at night. Day time will be different routine liaoz.