(2008/11) November 2008

kare2711, maybe we could have rubbed shoulders at the zoo y'day! haha.... we were stucked outside Ah Meng Restaurant when it rained and we couldn't go anywhere after that cos Venice was sound asleep and slept thru'out the whole journey home.

dymples, i guess when kids are older, they definitely will enjoy outings to zoo, birdpark etc more interesting. talk abt FOC entry, my blur HB bought only 3 adults tix when there are 4 of us, fortunately we were not discovered, so malu, kekeke

mildy, right lor the zoo so big think we only managed to cover 1/3 only, and so tiring from all the walking though we took a tram ride...

lilian, when did u inform the noodle cutter seller abt posting yr items and did she acknowledge? i post a msg on her closed BP this morn but no acknowledgement from her leh. can't PM her oso cos she dun accept PM, aiyo

ah jes.. huh.. I have not informed her leh. Why so sudden close her BP???

Bear, i will post there that u will help me collect

lian, her BP closed liao cos she said overwhelming response so will not accept any more purchase. her tat thread still can post msg on it for co-ordination purpose only.

Thanks mummies! Both bb and sil are doing well and bb had stitches remove ysday.The scar is quite long.. see liao v heartpain nw.

Bear,
I didnt make any complains abt the nurses but in fact i wanted v much to esp when i see the video taken.
I know there are bad and gd nurses in every hosp.And is individual pure luck to meet gd ones.
But i am realli v boil when the nurse speak in such attitude to me!She is a MANAGER not a younger nurse ley.
But when i shot her v loudly,another nurse did come by and help me and explain nicely instead.I tink i had throw her face liao!!!

As for the gynec,we know Csect still hav a certain risk abt it.And she is willing to take responsible for future complication.So we did not wan to make matter tat serious now.

Maid: My maid today send home le.. got this new maid.. trying out.. hope she is good.. actually happy that the old maid has left. cause recently just set up the cctv.. i saw records yesterday that the old maid feed my bb porridge until got choke and vomit. and even scold bb for not eating properly. she still got the cheek to tell me that Brandon don like porridge, spit out. but didn tell me he actually got choke and vomit. to think i treat her so nice. she like that to my son. and while he is playing, she don play with her, keep yawning. and saw the new maid actually play with him and sing songs to him. today when she left, she still got the cheek to tell me that she will call me if she want to come back and work.. Sorry, i not getting her back!Maid ah one thing reali treat them nice, also wouldn treat u back good.

MAH: I also give birth there lei.. the nurses are very nice.. at night automatically push bb for me to feed even though i still sleep.. I think have to depend on luck. mine is a 2 bedded room.

mosquitoes: mosquitoes net very hot lei.. i buy those like blue light small one.. attract insect.. go inside kena kill.. better.. kill the mosquitoes.. n very cheap.. i think i got it 42 bucks. at isetan scotts. very effective.. the sticker i only use if outdoors.

glad_glad: that time u bring Greg go for vacation. May i know where is the place and the resort name? how much? u go by plane right? thought of bringing brandon for holiday.

Lynn,
Maids are all like that. In front of employer will treat the children like treasure. But once the employer backs are turned, totally different story. We'll be lucky if they don't ill-treat our children or beat them liaoz. That's why till today I don't trust any maid to take of my girls... In end, either I send them to Infant or child care... else will get my parents to help out. Maids cannot be trusted becos their interests are NOT in alignment with ours. They are here merely for the $$ and enjoyment. Not to do proper household or take care of children.

Oh dear... I better not go on. My rantings on the terrible quality of maids can fill a novel. hahahahah

<font color="0000ff">Dymples, newmom,

yeah! thanks for the candle infor
vivo is near my work place!</font>

heloooo mummies,
been so busy, staying up late every night trying to juggle with chores, upcoming party and house reno..but looking forward to party!!

happy,
oh my gosh, that is really a shocker. can imagine how appalled they must have been. do hope that all is well with baby though. baby's well-being is most important for now.

bear,
that is a cake full of crab! hahah..looks awesome!!!! i must say that other that pattisier, i really do love Cheryl Shuen's cake. very very yum....

Peanut: I have one CDA account for my girl for her schooling/kindergarten can last till uni.

Then I got insurance which is 20 yr plan I put in 30k over 20 yrs and overtime it just accumulates its value and when she grow older ie: 60+ yrs is about 10 times. So good fer her..

I haven't setup savings a/c but plan to do so over the next 1-2 yrs, as now all her ang pao I am keeping has abt $5k since ppl gave her the ang pao I thot wld be good i pass it to her..rather than me spending it, bcos I will spend it in no time la..LOL

haru: i also like cheryl shuen cakes like a dream cake and cupcakes...but pocket must be very deep so spend so much wor...and then eat liao feel so pitiful the $$ all like eatn..lol

Hello.. took one day of my supposedly ML to bring Z out. sigh.. my ML take only in name. I still work everyday. Anyway we went to Polliwogs at East Coast. Z enjoyed it very much. Even though he isn't ready for the older kids' play section, he still climbed up and down.

Re: crab cake
Why crab ah? hahah not becos he likes to eat crabs (he does though). He is one of the world foremost experts on crabs. hence we students got that for him. we wanted a poisonous crab but Patissier got the colours wrong. so it just looks like a cooked mud crab. (the one we eat in chilli crab).

Bibi, the crab is actually on those cake board. it comes in a separate box so just pack it back in the box and Prof can bring it home.

Lilian, i think right now it is still too young to tell if ur bb isn't interested in learning or has learning disability. (choy choy choy). What i realised from most mummies is we tend to 'force' a timing to teach our bbs. Learning doesn't have a fixed time or a fixed place. And learning isn't a fixed process, i.e. i say something and expect the kid to get it aft saying 100x. Learning has to be fun. We do this with Z, say i want to teach him those things he sees flying around are birds. I dun point and say bird. instead i carry Z and run towards the bird. the action accompanying the word makes learning more fun and hence the kid will rem it faster. I hardly sit with him and point things out on a flash card or book (i'm not saying any mummies here hor, it is just not my preferred teaching style and i believe each kid is different). Usually what we teach is accompanied with an action or an experience.

Peanut, erm, here is my suggestion to Minky. Set up a reading corner. No toys, no distractions. only u, Nini and books. Read to her only when she is paying attention. Else what u are showing to her is that what u say is hot air, don't need to pay attention to u. Of cos she won't be interested in the books cos when u read to her, she doesn't think u are doing anything interesting.
that's my thoughts lah. haha... I stop reading when Z's attention wanders away (usually abt 3 books). then instead of reading the book, we play spot the animals.
initially she prob can last one 3-4 pages or 1 book. slowly her attention span will increase. what u show her is impt. colourful pixs, pop up books work best now. if u see her attention is wandering, dun read the words. instead point things out, say a dog, and bark like a dog to reinforce what u want to teach.

Having said all those, bear in mind every kid is different. What works for Z might not work with ur kid. but i just want to say learning HAS to be fun and not rigid. Also look out for ur kid's preferences. Z prefers animals, esp if they have big eyes. I found out when he started pointing to animals (on his wall charts) when i randomly called their names. So far he can identify panda (his fav), jellyfish (not supposed to have eyes but his chart's one has them), kangeroo, tiger and aeroplanes (becos i live near the airport and we show him the real ones flying past). Other wall charts are boring to him. He only mastered grapes, onions and carrots aft me telling him 100x whenever he walks past his charts. haha..

Peanut, we have a separate saving acc for Z whereby ang paos all go in + his Baby Bonus. On top of that i have an insurance plan on myself for him. We got an insurance for me cos i can cash out if we need be or if *touch wood* i mati, he has the money.

Happy, i realise some senior nurse can be quite attitude one. esp the really old type.. they think they know best and really take it out on u. To them u are just an ignorant fool! Oh well... put it behind u liao.. just enjoy ur little nephew.

Re: combi
Only collect for Lilian then?

rainbowcandy: I also found one MAH nurse last time very mean and uncaring..if memory is gd her name is something like Von. Didn't like her at all..found her to be an exception from the rest of the nurses. She was the mean one I could remember, didn't reply qns properly, curt, and doesn't give me a helping hand esp after surgery she expected me to know everything and expects me to walk ard freely and easily after surgery.

Anyone bring baby to zoo oredi? I feel like bringing but my todd can't walk yet...will 1 yr olds like zoo?

Night shift again...*yawns* Dunno why baby like a koala bear nowadays. At night put to sleep cannot have my hb but must be me if I am ard. Gosh!

Savings a/c: Ha..took back part of the angbao money to cover for the party expenses, remaining will then put it in. But yah interest is miserable. So far got Health and Hospitalisation policies for baby. Pondering if shld take up education plan as well

Lynn: I PMed you the details liao!

Going to NZ this Fri for work for 1 week. First time away from baby. Will miss him greatly
even though it is a good exposure...

Btw, noodle cutter..wanted to buy but BP closed leh. Is this sold at Kiddy Palace or something?? Nvr noticed before...

soho
very familiar of that nurse Von... I can't remember the one which is not so gd that particular nite which served me. Ya lo just a helping hand onli mah...somemore they r nurses...shd help n care for patients. U really gd memory le
After birth my memory very bad le.

re: cda acc

re: zoo
I've brought my boy to Zoo when he's abt 5or6mths old...he's curious n keep looking at the animals
He's a animal lover too...He also like the water playgroud. Nwdays we went to animal farms, he will want to touch them
Really grown up...

pls support my BP- <font color="119911">Anti mosquito patch fm Korea</font>: http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/cgi-bin/forumboard/show.cgi?581296/2852908
www.rainbowcandybaby.weebly.com
I've been selling it since april...
Very effective...we use the patches when we go for outing like Zoo, J.BirdPark, animal/fish farms, beach, park....even indoor also can use. I got alot return customers too...it showns that it really effective.

Happy
Deeply sorry to hear abt yr nephew and yr bad experience at the hospital. A birth should be a joyous occasion instead of being marred by these unpleasant incidences. To put a newborn through an operation after he just came out of one is too much, not to mention the drugs and medication he will be doped with. Although the physical damage has been done, the emotional damage incurred by the loved ones is irreparable. Whether it is a mistake, accident or negligence, the matter is serious and not to be brushed away lightly (as the gynae/hospital would like you to). It is just my two cents, but I hope you would check with a lawyer to see if there is a possible case of negligence in this whole thing. Your nephew is a perfect, precious newborn and his welfare is worth pursuing the case for, so make the hospital take the liability now instead of few years down the road when it will be difficult tracing any problems back to this injury.

re my maid

Yesterday I told off my maid ... I ask her how much milk she prepared she say 210ml ...she SHORTCUT to prepare Lucas milk ... 6 scoops powder - 180ml of water then add brown rice but she did 6 scoops powder - 150ml of water and add brown rice to 210ml ... means the proportion of milk is incorrect. When I tried to explain to her the correct proportion, she keep quiet trying to ignore mi ... I wrote down on pc of paper the correct proportion she should make. In the past, I wrote for her and she kept it. So i say dun keep it in the cupboard ... and dun make wrong one again. I was using a harsh tone and v angry cos everytime say her ... she like /ignore mi.

This morning tell hb she dun wanna work anymore ... wanna go home end of the mth. Hb say why I go scold her... I dun understand hb and in-laws ... they always keep quiet when she is in the wrong and look as if she is the employer and they are the maids.

Now I need to look for a maid by end of Nov. Any good recommendations?

Bear,
Saw someone who look very much like you in AMK hub NTUC on Tuesday.Or was it you??

Jo,
Is you maid saying in a fit of anger?? But you need to correct her mistake, otherwise she will keep making the same mistake.

snnowy,
Maid told my hb she knows she cant complete 2 years contract ... she will pay for her own airfare.

Yah, I agree whenever they are wrong, we need to correct them .. how can we let them do the wrong things forever.

My hb says all Lucas meals leave to the maid to feed ... we juz sit beside and see ... which I doubt he will. And I like to feed him and see him enjoy his food except milk. Haha. I told hb if I have a choice, I wld feed him all by myself. He says maybe sometimes maid feed .. sometimes I feed and when I correct her, she not happy liao.

Jo,
Cheer up,
If mistake is not corrected immediately, they will think it it is right and next time you dun even need to say so' I'm sure she will reply you tt all along she is doing it in this way. xx never say anything.

As for your hubby, I guess man will always have their own set of thinking. Maybe to them bonding is not tt important at all. As a mother, I do wish to be able to attend and involve in my kids daily live when they are young. Bathing and feeding them at every opportunity. But I also want them to be independant at a stage when they are able to. Like now, my 2 yo know how to feed herself, take off her pant to pee and wear it back all by herself. Night time after changing into pj, she will bring her dirty clothes to the bucket in the toilet.

You need to drill into him tt you want to be involve in bonding with Lucas and not leave everything to the maid. The maid will help to prepare the food but you still need to oversee everything.

Bear, only for me ah? Oppss... Dun wanna bother u for 2 little cutters leh..
Is there anyone here want the 2 cutters i ordered and paid for? Can ask the BP organiser to post to u (postage add $1.50) and u transfer $12.40 back to me..

Recently my baby is skipping his afternoon nap, no matter how my hubby and mil try to pat him to sleep. Does any of you face this problem too?

Thus now his bed time is pretty early by 8pm he will be sleeping.

Karen, ya my darling also doesn't want to take afternoon nap! he seem to be sleeping lesser and lesser...
No choice sometime will let him play till he is tired then he will do a "shut eye" for like 15mins. Bt at night is the same thing he want to play even when it is his bedtime. force him to sleep he scream n cry really bo bian.

ah lian, how come dun wan the cutters liao? i'm arranging to meet the seller to collect mine, can collect for u oso. u wan?

Jo,

Dun worry. You are not wrong to correct your maid's mistakes. Better to correct it from start then let the mistakes accumulate till small mistake become big problem.

Most man are like that. They tink that becos they have a maid, they are able to push off most of 'child care' responsibilities to the maid. Then they are able to do their 'own things'. They dun understand why mommmies want to be so hands-on.

I dun agree with that thinking cos I dun want my child to grow up thinking that they will have a helper to assist them in everything. Become like those 'xiao sao ye, xiao chien jing' - little master or little missy.

Till today, me and hub try to do pretty much everything that concerns my gals. From bathing baby to making her milk and changing diapers. Baby even co-sleeps with us not the maid.

jo
cool down 1st~ 1st of all, ask ur maid again if she confirm want to quit her job here.. Seriously, i tink ur maid got some kind of attitute problem towards u.

for ur hb side, did u complain about the maid oftenly? or only sometimes &amp; he know little about her working attitute? which maybe he thought that u are overdoing it.. Men usually think household stuffs are just peanuts.. only know how SAY nia..

Myself,, i keep complaining to hb about my ex maid's atttutite etc.. so in the end it was him who wanted to change her... LOLz

Ex maid too clever.. Current one sometimes too stupid.. i also hang in no where now..

maid
mummies, how often do you let yr maid call home? and do you let your maid have the "freedom" of holding to her own HP? my maid is currently still under loan. i'm not wrong not to provide her HP right? cos i heard pple said only after they cleared their loan then we give them HP.

ah lian, yes i'm going for the Dec bash, and since i need to collect mine so its no trouble to collect yrs together, but only if u can wait for another mth for yr cutters

minky,

haha at least your baby still have 15mins shut eye time, so cute! Mine just watch tv or play until he knock out at 8pm

Ali,
You wanna change again ah?

For sure, I wont ask her to stay on. No point keeping her.

Once awhile, I will complain to him abt the maid ... sometimes he also cant stand the maid .. but definitely she has not show him tt attitude towards mi.

My hb cant stand the maid in e way ... eg last tues socks this tues still havent wash ... clothes squeeze into the packed wardrobe ... iron clothes never iron properly but I doubt he has said her on any before. He wld juz keep quiet when she replied havent wash. If mi, I will walk off saying wanna wait till when then wash.

When I see crumpled clothes I wanted to wear, I will juz iron in the morning myself before gg to work.

Jes,
The employer IS NOT obligated to buy a handphone for the maid! There is no such ruling. If the maid wants a handphone, she can jolly save her own $$$ and buy it.

As for holding on to the phone, when my maid first came, I will hold onto the phone. Will pass it to her only at night after she finishes her chores. Then in the morning, she will need to 'surrender' it back to me for safekeeping. Now after 3-months, I have let her keep it on the condition that she is NOT allowed to use it during work hours. Becos my parents are always at my place to take care of baby, I dun mind her holding her mobile. But if the maid is alone at home with the children, then I will never allow her to hold on her mobile during work hours. Or else... they will whole day chit chat and sms till dun do work. Maids are like children. You need to set very firm limits on them. Cannot give too much freedom cos they dunno how to set their own limits. Eventually will climb on your head.

Jes:

You do not need to buy her a phone. You only need to decide if you want to allow it or not. For my maid, I allow &amp; we do lend them old HPs where available. If not available, they save money to buy those no contract phones at 7-11.

If you allow if, do ensure that you set your conditions.

Fifi, how often u allow ur maid to call home?
I m planning to go agency next wk. Hope i have luck in getting a good one

ah Jes, its ok. Bear will help me collect. She has other stuff to get from her friend too.
Thank u

Dymples &amp; fifi, thanks for the tip. at least i know it's not cos i'm a bad employer not to provide her HP, haha... i do have an old HP which i don't mind giving it to her, but i will only do so much later. she's only 2mths with me so i dun tink i shd "spoil" her.