(2008/11) November 2008

Have not login to SMH for quite some time.

Kiki,
Thanks for the halal cake link. I'm sourcing for halal cakes as I'm inviting muslim friends.

Olwen,
The ONE cake looks nice, is it from ecreative? How's the taste, ok?

JJMom,
Sorry have missed your message. Already replied you

Lilian,
Yalor, Peanut met her hubby, 1 out of 6 million ppl.
Ppl always have a saying:
"十年修得同船渡,千年修得共枕眠" (It takes a thousand yr's fates to be husband & wife)
it's 今生注定. What to do??? Muakakak

Olwen,
How very true you have put it! I have always tell my friends the same thing. A marriage begins with 2 people falling in love and wanting to spend the rest of their lives together. A baby is a bonus out of the marriage. Modern life is as stressful as it is, we dun need to start a quarrel out the the children or money. The kids will be independant and leave us one such day. At the end we still need each other to depend on.

Maybe because my hubby is 10 yr older than me, His thinking is more mature and we seldom quarrel. (Out of being 8 yrs together, we only argue 5x and that was related to flat's issues).

On the other hand, I think mummies only "grumble" abt their hubbies in forum but deep down they still love them and definitely still loving couples. Else the thread will also be so boring only on babies right.

Mummy2nia,
I'm sure you can make it
All the best and hope your find strength and faith to overcome this period.

Birthday Party,
Aiyohz... this is getting more and more expensive siah. We decided to do a combnied birthday party for my #1 and #3 cos both born in November. The buffet alone already costs me nearly $500. The getting the cake from The Pattisier about another $100-$150. Then the party supplies inclusing balloons about $300. Total $1K. *faintz*. Hope can get some 'ang paos' to recoup back siah.

Cake Toppers,
The BP ones are quite limited leh. Anyone knows of any other places I can get this from?

Cake supplier (Glad Cakes),
I send out an enquiry email. Forgot to put date. Then stated my budget is about $100 for a 2-tier cake. I find her reply so rude! She replied:

<font color="0000ff">" Hi Audrey,

Thanks for your email.

First of all there's no mention of date of party, hence not able to tell availability. Secondly, sorry to inform you that my charges is beyond your budget. Thanks for your time and interest.

Wishing both your daughters a very Happy Birthday in advance. Enjoy your party!

Glad"</font>

*aarrgghh* I feel so angry! I mean, the email can be worded more politely right? Do you all feel that the email reply is rude?

After discussing with my hub, at first I tot of increasing my cake budget to $150 prob even $200. But after I get her reply, forget it! I'm not getting any cakes from her ever!

Fifi, agree, that PG lady ya ya papaya de
Email from her is one per day max ... and she nvr answer my qns de ! stupid
Asked her twice how much the 3D icing letter cost. Nvr reply. U know?

Dymples, ya, t glad cake like dun wanna do ur biz...

Fifi, Lilian,
Dunno how these people do biz leh. I mean... is it so difficult to be nice to your customers. eehhh... I'm also in the hospitality industry lor. Dun care whether that day I good mood or bad mood, everytime see client or reply their calls and emails also got to be polite wor.

Maybe this time my budget cannot make it. But who knows if next time I got big budget can splurge on a super fanciful cake leh? Never tink about future biz. Or else they got so much biz from those rich rich people tat's why can bo-chap small frys like me.

Somemore I'm doing events. I tot if these suppliers are good, next time can recommend to my wedding couples or those social functions like birthday or full month. All these rude suppliers are definately crossed out big time from my list liaoz.

Lilian:
I msn u. No need wait for her email lah. We can tell you le. Between all of us here, we prob have all the info u need.

dymples,
aiyo, the reply is really terrible.. I wouldnt order from her too. I also kena terrible attitude from PG thats why decided against using them altho their prices are attractive. so afraid that they will screw up the most expensive birthday cake I ever bought in my life! haha..

Dymples, have u called Patissier? Kiki and I both ordered from them and they mentioned that their kitchen will be closed on certain days due to charity events. U better check hor. But their customer service is great! took my order in even though their kitchen will be closed on 21st Nov. Very nice and patient too. 2nd time ordering from them and their service is impeccable!

U are looking for a cake abt $100-150? think the weight would be abt 1-1.5kg at the very most. Is this enough for your party? I got a 1kg for abt $100+.. Kiki's one lagi more ex.. hehehe... hor my dear Duckie?

I send them email liaoz. At first I wanted 2 separate cakes of 500g each. Then they quoted me about $60 for each. But now I'm thinking of getting a 2-tier cake. Each layer will represent each of my gals. Really hope they can take in my orders. My party not big. Only about 30 guests max. So tink 1-1,5kg should be enough bah. After all, not everyone will eat the cake lor. hahahahah...!!

walao I really cannot tackle the bear!! wakakakak....

ok ok I confess I spent alot on BBQ's cake compared to you all.... but but .. .. he only turns ONE once nia leh.... *run away &amp; hide*

Woah lau my long post gana deleted #%&amp;%

Dymples: Oh dear, how come like that..hmm her service for me so far OK leh, prompt too. I just hope the taste and look of the cake turns out well!
Pattisier is nice! My SIL ordered for my niece's 1st yr bday party. Looks very good and tasted very yummy :p
Me so far also spent abt $1K liao, if cater 2 times, plus cake, plus cupcakes plus deco plus goody bags.

Mummy2nia: I wish!! If only so talented can set up my own biz liao at home..

Kiki: Got more than me?? I spent $225 :x And I need another grp of cupcakes for my 2nd party!

Lynn: So got ur Artscow book? Me got my 2nd one today! Quite happy with it coz thicker with more pages hee..though at the side of the books, a little bit of the letter was cut off. But overall, quite satisfied

anyone want to order PG's mickey/minnie theme cakes, i hv a few pics from them to share if anyone is interested...

kiki, i oso think like u, turns 1 YO once only, so now very tempted whether to buy the set of mickey figurines for cake topppers tat cost $36.90 for 6 pcs, wow lau eh...

snowwy
thanks dear...! *hugs*

Kiki
thanks for the info. i wanted swensens but after i saw my cousin-in-law having a hard time cutting the cake to the extent of using a pounder (use to pound ingredients) to knock the knife to cut through the ice cream cake, i veli scared. LOL!! but i noe if i use swensens, it will definitely ease my mind..no need to think whether halal or not..hehe

glad
can wat...hehe...my fren from noe nothing in baking and now she owns her own online business and still goin strong. I nvr ask her cos i want something diff. This fren is not the same fren i ordered initially from..diff person btw....hehe..her cake is inside this link.

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/578191/2073452.html?1252491961

my bdae budget oso 1k..hehe..

glad gal,
Haiz... I also dunno why her reply so rude. Guess maybe her baking all full and no need biz from small time budgets like me lor. Nevermind lah... There's lots of other bakers out there. hehehhe... hope your cake turns out nice nice. Post some pics yah.

Kiki,Bear
Piangz... I got a reply from Patissier liaoz. For a 2 layer cake and my requirements, they suggested a fondant cake. Guess how much... $600+ hor. I nearly dropped off my chair when I read the mail. Now replying them to inform way way out of my budget. Maybe I'll pop by their shop to discuss.

Aiyohz... This is the 1st time I'm so stressed over a birthday cake. Last time I just go straight to either Polar or Bengawan Solo and ordered those 4-kg character cake. Costs about $150 per cake. But since it's a combined birthday party, I wanted to do something different. Hope I'm still able to get my 2 layer cake at a budget price. hahahahaha

wow seems like u all spending alot on cakes n babies bday party. can i get some suggestion on what to put inside goodie bag?

minky,
For Goodie Bags, I'll usually put in some party poppers, some muchies (like mini toblerone, mini snickers, mini skittles), then also 1 or 2 stationery item like a tiny box of crayons + mini notebook. It all depends on the age group you are catering for as well as your budget. Usually I'll spend about $5-$8 per bag. HTH's.

so many night mummies tonite?? :p

Dymples: Yah wld surely post in FB and here
Hope u settle your cake soon! Don't be too stressed...surely got other sources.

Mummy2nia: Woah which one..the Thomas cake?? I used to like baking but somehow interest sort of dwiddled off, plus now too lazy to try new recipes..

MinkY: Hee to share mine, very happy coz today managed to get my organic lolipops at United Sq which have been wanting to get for a long time.

Mine is Winne Pooh theme so comprises of:
1) Small WP face towel
2) 1 WP kaleidoscope
3) WP Whistle / For bigger kids, may alternate with WP stationery sets
4) 1-2 sticks organic lollipop
5) Thinking of putting the Kinder bueno egg too, but see how first

Yoyosan,
ya..heehee.. i saw it. nice, too.

Jes,
buy la... it's a nice set! i have the set of mickey figurines. cos my theme is Minnie &amp; frens. and I ve ordered PG 2 tiers cake w the set of mickey figurines as cake topppers. hope it will turn out nice.
when is ur party? mine is on 25th oct.

glad gal,
wow, your goodie bag sounds great! am sure it will be a hit with the kids
how much does each bag cost approx?

kiki,
i also spent more than glad gal on my cake *hides guilty face* so now very little budget for other things like goodie bags
how? how? esp cos didnt expect balloons to be so exp!

mummies who are getting helium balloons, where are you getting yours? need some cheap contacts! hee

ah fifi, got your msg
Thks

Me not giving goodie bags. Will give them one mylar balloon each instead. Easier, cos no need to source for items.. hehe.. and the cartoon characters i select for them individually.

ah kiki, your cake more than $300 ah? Serious?

ah Jes, go ahead buy t figurines la. Aft tat can sell away at WTS thread. hehe..

happywifey, when i calculate the cost of my helium balloons order hor, i felt heartpain. So ex.
Intend to get from Kidzpartystore

Balloons &amp; party stuffs,

I'm getting 20 latex balloons with words on it plus 10 18" mylar balloons - all helium filled from Kidzpartystore. Total cost is about $78.

Then the partyware cos I'm getting 2 diff types - Disney princess for #1 and then 1st Birthday theme for #3. This one more costly wor. About $120. *Faintz*

Still hv not included the cake toppers, table cloth and others! Somemore my hub wanted to get scene setters. Aiyohz...

lilian,
wah, giving mylar balloon is also not cheap wor.. the last party my baby was given one and we accidentally let it fly away.. now that i know the price, I feel so heartpain for my fren!

re: kidzpartystore, is this one of the BPs? Dymples, think your price for the balloons is quite ok, cheaper than those I have seen.

kiki, triangel, ah lian: after a nite's consideration, i'm buying the set of figurines, yeah! my hubby said ok to buy cos can recycle them every year for baby's birthday, wow piangz

ah lian: me oso buying most of party stuffs from kidzpartystore, only the figurines set will be from babyterror. both your recommendations. thanks ya..

triangel, my gal's party theme is oso minnie &amp; friends. i hv oso ordered PG's 2-tier cake, now i will hv 6 pcs mickey/minnie of cake toppers, not sure if i'm gonna use all 6, see how... my party's on 1 Nov.

happywifey,
Yup it's one of the BP's. They also got a blog where you can view their products. Tink one of the mommies posted the link earlier.

Jes,
Me too! Getting most of my party stuffs &amp; ballon from kidzparty. But cake topper will get from baby terror. Boh pianz.. need to source for the cheapest leh.

morning mummies..

wau most of u are really spending a bomb and efforts on the 1st yr party manz.. ;p
i spend $150 on the cake already feel the pinch le.. coz i nv bot such an expensive cake before.. haha..

Liv,
This will be the start of expensive birthday cakes lor. hahahahha... When my gals went to childcare, I had to buy tose 3-4kg super big cartoon character cakes from Polar or Bengawan Solo cos I will give everyone (all the children from nursery to student care + Teachers + aunties) a piece of cake. Always spend at least $150 per cake. Then I gotta do this 2x a year for each gal. Can faintz. hahahah... but at least in cildcare I no need to source for lots of partyware or balloons. So saved costs on those. *lolz*

Dymples, my mickey cake toppers oso from baby terror, cos only they sell the 6 pcs set leh. actually i hv compared the prices of some items, some cheaper at kidzpartystore, some cheaper at baby terror, depending on what u r buying lor. thats y i'm buying some each from both stores, keng ka liao

Happy:

My balloons and some partyware also from Kidzpartystore

Happywifey: I est abt $6-7 per goodie bag. Also don't dare to count all the $$ spent in TOTAL! All add up here and there gosh..

Hee aiyah after spending the money, don't think so much liao..i am sure you would have big and lovely cake that your bb will love!

Happy Birthday Rachelle! Zelia, u did it!

Kaoz! u all spend so much on the bdays ah.. for me just my cake and some mylar balloons cos we are not having a party.. Spend abt $170 in total. Tell urself u will only do it once, but i think some of us will do it yearly! haha..

Dymples, if u really want a 2 tier cake at abt $150, then go for PG. their 2 tier cos less than $100 only. u can even go up to 3 tier for abt $150!

<font color="ff0066"> Happy 1YO Birthday</font> to Little Rachelle (Babyzel) today!

And also <font color="ff0066"> Happy 1YO Birthday</font> to the following sweeties tomorrow!
Charlene (Yoyosan)
Emma-Jane (chilipadi)

Wow! So many babies turning 1YO.

Happy 1st Birthday to Rachelle (bbzel)!

And a Happy 1st Birthday to:
Charlene (yoysan) and Emmma-Jane (Chilipadi)

have a great celebration ahead!

Charlene (Yoyosan)
Emma-Jane (chilipadi)
HAPPY 1st Birthday to your darling!

Yoyosan,
post some pics of ur no1 minnie jellycake, ok?