(2008/11) November 2008

ali/minky/lilia, same same wan, only food can tame them. they r at the stage where they just enjoy throwing everything (except food) away when given to them.

re: mooncakes, i bought the 717 durian mooncakes, nice! and it's not too ex oso.

So quiet today hor.. cos we all went shopping. kekeke... went to the Toys R Us fair. queued very long to pay. but not bad.. we all each grabbed quite a few things. aft lunch still went back in and get even more stuff!! hehe...

Ali, actually it is gd that ur boy wants to move around and such.. they are curious at this age.. i m sure u dun want a gong gong dai dai baby right? for us, we past Z tissue paper (this one can keep him entertained quite a bit). if he throws things down, we usually just pick it up cos he is not doing it on purpose. otherwise he is quite happy looking at people walking around him.

Keep up with the slping routine. u will see the benefits soon as his nap time self adjust. Trysten will be chirpier and in the long run, more alert and able to absorb things faster.

Re: walking
Am i the only one that don't want my kiddo to walk earlier? Cos I haven't got my staircase railing done up! so afraid he would tumble down the stairs. It is like prolonging the inevitable. Anyway i learnt from Mildy today that for gals, best not to learn how to walk earlier cos it means their lives will be very xin ku!

bear,
wakakaka... not say very xin ku la, just that old wives tales says that if learn to walk later girls will have a better life. kekekekek....

and actaully crawling is very good for their motor skills developement so dun worry if your kid learn to walk later cos it does benefits them. but i think claudia will probably learn to walk earlier then her jie jie, she is such a dare devil. not like jie jie scare this scare tat. jie jie only walk at 16 months. lolx

Bear
u gals went shopping hor... gd life.. haa

u mean u pass the tissue paper itself to Z? or the whole packet of tissue paper? i doubt Trysten will be well entertained with it leh.. guess shld be eating paper instead -_- throwing toys are purposely. cos he normally will throw & look where the toy is...lolz. yup i agreed tat bb shld be more active at tis pt of time.. but notin seems to be able to settle him down.. unless we carry him walk around.. but still with the "sian" look.. so tot if anyone got any better solution? else gonna jus bring all his bb snacks out!?

yup.. will ensure the slping routine continues.. write down wat he eat/drink/time of slp.. when i got home from work.. i got kinda upset when bb drink lesser than before...& today i even wrote down wat time he shld eat/drink/slp..abit kua chang hor? hopefully maid will follow... i know with my mil around.. difficult! mus go home spot check...

mildy
so jie jie will be gd life in future lor. ehhehe.. i tink i heard of this old folks tale.. but how about boys?? same?

Ali, i give him a single sheet of tissue.. he can spend ages shredding it! he loves tissues.. shred liao then he will eat it lor.. it creates a mess but can keep him entertained for like 20mins!

No lah that's not on purpose.. that's their way of learning cause and effect. they throw and see what happens. to them they cannot understand that throwing something would lead the thing to fall on the floor.. so they wonder why that happens. must rem they haven't learn these kind of concept. Z also does the same.. throw then look.. but it is really not on purpose.

I don't think u are over worrying esp since Trysten is a fussyeater. u are the mum so it is only natural that u should be more kan cheong. why ur MIL around will be difficult leh? i m the opp of u. my MIL scared Z dun eat/drink enough.. always stuff him with milk or food. May be u wanna increase his solids? then u dun have to worry too much abt milk.

Mildy, hehe.. i dunno how to say pai mia in Engrish mah...

mildy, re: gals' walking - how early is considered early and how late is considered late huh?

is it right tat pple said most babies start walking between abt 12-15mths?

alibaba,
wakakak... i bo hear abt boys one leh.

jes,
hm.... i think anytime before 12 months is consider early ba. i hear babies walking at 10 months.

bear
becos mil fav sentences are " dont force him" " he dun want to slp" " he dun wan to drink" & my maid.. tat time missed one feed of milk by 1 hr. becos she miscalculate the hours interval... gosh... writing down could be a better way for her to refer back!

solid
he dont eat alot.. porridge also jus a small bowl nia... probably he is jus small appetite..

Extract from babycentre website:

"Most babies take their first steps sometime between 9 and 12 months and are walking well by the time they're 14 or 15 months old"

9-10mths i seldom heard.. so that should b considered as early walker. But both my nieces had their 1st step at 11mth so i gues tt shd stil b considered normal.

Sigh Ali.. so young already let ur son have his way.. like that he sure climb all over ur heads when he grows up. I think it is time u talked to ur hb on how u all want to discipline Trysten.

My hb and i realised this morning too. Cos Z picked up the floor mat and play when we already told him no. so i scolded him very badly and he cried with tears some more. Then we thought cannot everything also use the same harsh tone hence we will use the very stern scolding only when he plays with dangerous stuff like power sockets, wires and climbing up or down the stairs. otherwise, we decided that distracting him or enticing him with other things would be the best. If he still do it (the dangerous stuff) aft 3 warnings, then he gets a smack on his hands. as for dinner time, he cannot get out of his high chair until he finishes ALL his food. No tv at all although at MIL's plc, she gives him a toy to play.

ok i missed out this sentence..

"Don't worry if your child takes a little longer, though. Many perfectly normal children don't walk until they're 16 or 17 months old."

bear
yah! but i tink i am always the bad person at home la.. ev tin cannot.. mus do . mus eat.. so i tink record down wat he eat/drink/slp is the best way for me to monitor lor!

gal.dolphin
then just let him tk his own sweet time

bibi
then must becareful, must have someone look at him...if not just close the door.

minky
i have let my boy tried bread...just give abit.
Also not sure he likes or not cos he eat quite slow..not much teeth.

Jes
ic...hope she n the others bbs gt this prob recover soon.

Alibabah
usually i give my boy eat something when he goes out with us makan. Will give a pkg of tissue paper or my purse lo..haa

re:solid porridge
Alibabah, my boy also eat a small bowl of porridge.

re: mooncakes
wahhhh mummies here say abt mooncakes until i also want to buy to eat liao.heee

Bear
wahhhh u all went shopping on toys again ar...
my boy onli ot a few toys at home...nwdays toys really ex. Ya...if BBZ starts to walk..must have have something to block at yr staircase at hm.

walking: haha me also dun want my bb to start walking yet.. let him take his time and also no need to go after him ;p

big block: hahaa i bot one set le... kiki's fault.. she tempted us!! hahaa.. hope ethan's room has space for that..

Bday Bash Payment :
Received:
Jo
yoyosan
olwen
lynn
rainbowcandy
moomummy

I got 2 ATR, 1 is from Jes (saw ur email). The other is from which mummy? transaction is done today 25th Sep.

If transfer is done thru ATM, pls email me so i can match ur payment. For IB transfer, pls indicate ur NICK so i can match the funds. Thanks for ur co-operation.

Ali, somebody must be the pai nang lah.. at home, both hb and I disciplined Z tog so we both equally bad to him. he will look at the other parent who isn't scolding him for sympathy!

Rainbowbabycandy, ya i have to get special gates for the stairs. not the usual baby gates u see outside cos those cannot tahan the force of a baby hitting the gate and fall down the stairs. Have to get something called top of stairs gates. Aft getting it, we realised that the hinges are still not sturdy enough so hb had to go and buy extra stuff to modify them. Aft 1+ wk, we still haven't got the gates up.

Mildy said that Z will walk soon although i really hope she is wrong! The last 2 wks, Z has been standing up from a squatting position! luckily he still can't balance long!

Minky:
I gave my gal already. Only plain ones... once in a while only.

Alibaba:
My colleague taught me this trick. I haven really use it but she say it really works for her sun. You know the bibs with the pocket, put gerber puffs/biscuits there. Apparently they will be so enticed that picking and eating those puffs gives you enuff peace for your meal.

minky,
When i put my boy on his chair, he will climb out... food also got no use.

My mum gave my boy both types of bread n he likes it very much.

rainbowcandybaby,
close e door also cannot. just now i open the door from inside and my boy was trying to stand outside, haiz kena a 'bao' on his head again...

ali,
my boy have multiple position also. but his last position before he wakes up, is to lie on my tummy...

yes, my boy do frog jump but is very dangerous cos the impact from the jump is big so his 'bao' also very big.

Hey,, mummies!! My brandon today he start to crawl. not the turtle push.. is crawl around the living room.. so happy n proud of him.. Finally!! yes,,

bread: I give brandon bread, plain ones, even some breadtalk choco mix bread. i know choc cannot.. but so far so good nothing.. no rash.. hehe..:p

Mummies, finally n luckily out of the sudden we able to book Costa Sand Pasir Ris Chalet for BBJ 1st bdae celebration. Slowly will plan for the paty stuffs. Prob will get fm BP & SKP shop. Then the cake still searching...got a few reccom fm friends. Now my turn to busy liao...
Finally, BBJ clap his hands while he go shopping with hubby n me...Must teach him some others new skills liao...

babyzel
noted.Thks!

bear
wow...need to do so much on the gate.

bibi
aiyo yr boy poor thing kena a "bao"...this age always like that...knock here n there

lynn
Well done Brandon! He did it...

lynn,
so happy for u!!!@@ brandon can crawl liao!!think mabe now u SAHM already hence more time with him.. i'm sure he will develop faster under ur care! =)

bread:
my son used to like bread but now.. he will spit it out.. haiz.. he onli like to eat rice..

babyzel, the fund should be transfer by me, $50 bucks from posb saving at atm bras basah around 6plus sorry i misplace the receipt...cant give u reference no.

kiki: that time u mentioned going to gymboree trial lesson. over alr? have any mommies sign up any classes? now brandon can crawl so it will be more fun for him for this class. I wan him to join our thread bbs. so mummies who have sign up the HBF Gymboree let me know ya.. i also want to let him join the same class.

Glad_glad: u got sign up the gymboree lesson? which session are you from?

rainbowcandybaby: hey, that time u mentioned got bp selling cheap diapers. can forward me the website?

kiki: pls also update my giant.

Name: Brandon
Last weighed on 10m 23days @10.5kg,length 80cm (still the same). ah fat. haha

teeth: 4 lower and 2 upper

thanks mummies for recommendations on the car seat. Will be gg to baby avenue to check it out today. quite keen on the maxi cosi Priori XP.=)

re: mooncakes
i have been eating lots of it!!! i think that peony's the best! the mao shan wang beats Goodwood park durian mooncakes hands down! it is awesome! their yam with jap golden pumpkin & single yolk is very good too. but e goodwood soursop one is a nice surprise. i was apprehensive but turns out to be my fav one from there. better than e mango.

Hi bbzel
i transferred $$ to ur a/c liao. transaction ref 2470703912

fifi
pocket bib?? izzit the one we bot tat time together.. actually i oso put gerber puff on his table to let him pick & eat.. & always v fast finish. else give him biscuit let him slowly chew but it's messy.

lynn
yup.. the trial class over already... just went to My Gym trial class today too.. decided to sign up Gymboree kekeeke, most likely a weekend class.. u keen? I can check it out..

Hi Lynn! Great that Brandon can crawl
Hee I still hvnt signed up...procrastinating mummy. If I do, will definitely let u know yah!

Kiki, finally got my latest stats haha..visited PD today. Help me update ok tks!

Weight: 9.22kg (11 mth)
Height: 77cm

Jes: My PD said that boys tend to be alittle later walkers, so up to 16 mths still considered ok. While I hope greg can walk when he is 1 yr old but on the other hand, too early also another headache. :p

Goodwoodpark mooncake not nice?? :x planning to buy a box leh. Tried Four Seasons durian mooncake not bad

Alibaba; Hiaz my boy also can only be tamed by food or pacifier when me n hb eating outside. HE cannot stand pple eating but he cannot eat ;x anyway usu bring all my 'fa2 bao3' when we are eating meals to keep him distracted. Food, pacifier, snacks, some paper etc. LOL

Bear,
egg yolk: yup, we also not sure why my gal has intolerance towards egg. No rash nor swelling so we din suspect is allergy. Mentioned to her PD, and he asks us to try again later (maybe around 1 yr) again. Was thinking of doing the patch/prick test, but i guessed it doesn't give any answer bah.

rainbowcandybaby,
bb walking: wow, walking at 10mths. U must be proud mummy.
Saw u mentioned few times that help bb practice walking. How to practice walking with them? Holding them up help? I hold my gal and she is like rushing forward and just trying to leapfrog everytime. She so gan chiong, how to learn how to walk slowly? haiz.

mummy2nia
u can't work anymore Ots ar...aiyo they so bad..then hw? U got think of switch job?

Yoyosan
thks!
Yes, i try to walk with him by holding his hands. haaa yr girl so cute will jump when she walk with u...too excited n happy liao...maybe u show her yr feet as u hold her to walk slowly. I also let my boy use the standing walker to learn his walking.
Maybe u can try

<font color="0077aa">Disciplining
Aiyooo my BB i dunno how or where to start leh.. I tried scolding him, giving him a harsh tone(serious) and last resort is to smack his thigh, and he just turns around and laughs and laughs! Very funny meh? so exasperating!
When he touches those wires or plugs, i take his hand away and tell him "no, its dangerous" and then he'll do it again for about 5-6 times, and by the 8-9th time, he is looking at me and stretching out his hand reaching for the plug/wire and waiting for my reaction! How frustrating!

Haru/Carseat
I got the Maxi Cosi Priori SPS at Spring Maternity. RP: $368, Sale now only @ $208! We were considering this model when the price was $268.. Hubby says he likes the locking system and is more sturdy and user-friendly. So when we found out it was only $208, we grabbed one immediately! heehe.. happy shopping !

Guess everyone is enjoying the weekend eh? Hubby is outstation again till tues, and then wed to fri... sianz.....

adenmummy,
thanks! I bought the maxi cosi priori xp yesterday and its great! baby loves its coz she has better view during car rides now. she fell asleep in it during a short 10 min journey this afternoon. =D

I need some feedback from you mummies who own Parklon/ LG playmat.

Is Parklon (from Minitoons) playmat gd enuff? Or LG is better? As Parklon price is much cheaper but size is smaller.

Thinking of buying more than 1 so if i buy 2 LG is almost $500... Pls advise.

haru: wow how do u get ur baby to sit in car seat? I have one maxi cosi fitted in my car one whole yr baby never sit she hates it and cry non stop.

soho,
i have a parklon and LG, find that they both just as good. =) my baby loves to look outside e window and she will smile looking at the view outside. she went thru a very short phase when she was about 6mths when she absolutely hated car rides. other than that she is quite ok. not sure if bringing her out alot since she was 1 month old helped her get used to it.

Alibaba:
Yah those kind. Table may not be clean mah.

Aden'sMummy:
Maybe you can try smacking the hands instead when he is trying to touch things he should not. That way, the smack is directed at the offending area &amp; that tells him what he is being scolded for.

Soho:
I find Parklon good enough for playmat. Getting baby into car seat is a matter of training. You have to ensure that its done every ride and soon they will get the idea that they need to be in the seat when in the car. And since they like car rides, they will be agreeable to being in the seat. Ensure that your driver is calm enuff to endure "protests" during the "training" period though.

Liferacer thermal swinwear
Those who bought the swimwear for their bbs b4, can i know what size u got?
Is it must to get thermal one huh? N must wear swim diaper?

<font color="ff6000"><font size="+1">Good morning super mummies!
</font></font>

<font color="0077aa">Haru
Your welcome!

Fifi
Yuppz, have tried the hands as well also.. no effect wor..

Egg Yolk
Have any mummies been giving egg yolk already?

Soho
I agree with Fifi, Parklon is good enuff ler.. I read the reviews before and between both brands, besides the price, there's isn't a huge difference in terms of quality.
HTHs