(2008/11) November 2008

Bear, oh dear.. ya, think t best is to try home-made porridge.

My bb loves avocado! I think its weird taste is similar to her milk milk. Erkkss...

good morning mummies!

Super hot wkend. Today lagi hot.

Fifi,
received the bibs liao. washed and used it for emma liao. Also pass the other set to my sis for my nephew. Very fast. Thanks a million

Pinenut,
u poor thing. but like what yoyosan and haru says, must sacrifice ur nites out for at least 2 wks to set the routine. When nini wake up and whine at night. leave her to whine and just watch her in silent. after 20 mins if she still whine, than you pick her up and pat her back to sleep. the next time stretch by 5 mins. It will come to a point she get the message that no one is coming to my rescue and will fall back to sleep. We recently had to retrain emma to sleep thru' so when she fell sick 2 wks back, when she whine at night we picked her up and she got used to it. But last wk, we retrained her to sleep till morning again and so far for the pass 3 nights we have been having good note sleeps... touchwood...

Caregivers
My mum is my primary caregiver for emma and megan. My mum will set the routine for the kids and she will let me know. But the evening schedule she leaves it to me to set. since we set the routine with emma since she was 2 wks old, she knows that once I have my bath and change to PJs, it's time for milk and sleep. She is so conditioned that when she takes an evening nap at 8.00pm for 30mins, she will still sleep latest by 10pm. We try and stick to the routine as much as possible. On weekends, i try and follow the routine my mum set as she takes care of the kids 5 times a wk during the day while I only take care of them 2 days a week. grand parents who are the caregivers will set routine base on their convenience as they may have other chores to cover and so may want to do things their ways. We as parents will also need to be understanding to their needs as well. need to communicate with them why things shld be done a certain way so that they understand. if they do not agree, than ask them if they have better options. Let them know that by doing things a certain way will in the long term benefit everyone including them. good for baby and for caregivers as well. That's how I work with my mum. just my 2 cents worth...

Megan's ad
it's out on 8days and iweekly this week. grab a copy of each this morning before i cam ein to work. I am quite proud of her. tonight will give her a special treat... her favorite - vanilla ice-cream...

Fifi
my bb since a mth+ dun like to be carried to drink milk liao.. could only do it on rocker and stroller.. sometimes when asleep i tried while she's on bed, but once she wakes then no wan liao.. so at least on rocker we can continue to rock rock to make her drowsy.
Me angry is not mainly becos her sleep routine not yet set.. but also lately she can wake up more than 10times to whine! sometimes it's screaming and crying hard like last nite.. i see her like gena frightened or in pain.. Dunoe wat happen to her lately..

weekend passed so quickly..had such a nice time spending with baby and hubby.

peanut,
dun feel too bad ok? it is not easy being a mummy and we all have the moments when we feel completely helpless. since your MIL and hubby are not keen to work together with you to help estabalish nini's bedtime routine you will have to do it yourself and take the lead for now. initially my in laws, friends, family all tot we are so rigid about baby's routine but remember you are baby's parents so you decide whats best for your baby. and of coz no one knows ur baby better than you and hubby. whenever you feel frustrated, just calm yourself, take a breather and ask yourself what baby may be feeling (if you were in her shoes), eg. she maybe feeling confused if her routine is constantly changing and does not know when is bedtime,etc..cheer up ok? it will all work out!

Jo,
hmm, honestly i feel it is impt that caregiver tries to follow the same pattern, routine of caring for baby coz if not i think it will confuse e baby somehow. of coz it need not be exactly e same, but at least both of you are on same page. my mum would normally ask me how i do certain things,etc so that she will try her best to follow suit.

Bear,
oh dear, maybe you can start trying home made cereal and see if the situation improves? gosh i do hope Z grows out of the allergies, is that possible?

Pam,
i went to Motherworks yesterday and the price of Tripp Trapp has been raised, grr!!!

peanut,
nini's crying is it only like this at night or same during the day. If it's only the night, than you may want to read up on nite terrors. Some babies and kids goes thru this and it can get very bad as they grow older. Nite terrors are different from nite mares. do a google search on night terrors and find out the symptoms. Nini cld be having that and see how you can help her. This is one of my guess base on what you have mentioned earlier. the earlier you recognise it the better cos' as the child grows up, the note terrors can become worst. my aussie niece went thru that and she will cry and cry, in her sleep as well as when she wakes up. there is no way to stop her. very stressful.

Chilipadi, Fifi
It is quite impossible to do e cry it out method liao.. cos Mil simply wont allow it esp at nite! That nite when bb sleeping with me and woke up scream and cry, she next day can tell me dun let bb cry until like tt.. majiam i can control bb's crying thou i was already doing wat i could to stop that! Its really difficult since i'm staying with them.. Not as if we're staying alone and i only need to come to an agreement with hubby u understand..?

And secondly.. bb on weekdays sleep in Mil room, only weekend with me.. cos my room is simply too small to put in the cot.. So even when she sleep in my room, she's on the giant rocker.. I really also dun wan her to keep sleeping on tt esp at nite, prefer to put her on proper bed.. So while i train her to sleep herself on cot, i've to do it in Mil's room lor.. Its so inconvenient cos Fil usually comes home 10+ which somewat clashes with her bedtime and he'll use the master bedroom for bath so ther wil bound to be some sounds.. And also he comes back early on wed/thur and will be sleeping by 9+.. which means when i try to put baby to bed, fil is sleeping in the room!! Isn't it strange and v inconvenient??
its sooo sooo hard..

bear,
poor Z. hopefully by the age of 5, he will grow out of his allergies. you may want to consider bringing him to skin center for test to find out what else is he allergic to. My god daughter and newphew are allergic to dairy products and nuts. My newphew is slowly growing out of his allergy now that he is coming 6 years. My god daughter is only 3 and still have the allergies but now can take some nuts but not all.

hey peanut,
i see..seems like you do have some challenges to make it work. i remember you mentioned getting your place some time ago. is that still in the plan?

chilipadi,
that is sooo cool!! Megan must be thrilled, haha..=D

haru,
thanks, we haven't showed her yet. tonight will show her. yesterday we brought her to paint and she decided to paint her daddy. will take a pix tomorrow and post here. Quite funnie, the daddy looks like a bollywood star... hahahaha

peanut,
u poor thing, u are stuck in a very difficult environment. go check on the nite terrors thingy, sounds like nini may have that if she cries non stop for no reason.

Haru
We've gotten it but it'll only be ready by 2011 -_-...
Yes its a challenge.. i so much wan to control al things myself but can't

Chilipadi
thanks.. i read up nite terror but it says it happen like 1-3times a week.. but mine is almost everyday!!!

Chilipadi
and also.. for night terror it says ther happened to child 3 and above, thou sometimes it happen to bb as young as 9mths.. mine only 7mths!
And it didn't mention abt recurring numerous time in a nite..

morning ladies

peanut

poor thing! Understand your situation. My mil also like tat one, will tell us not to let bb cry like tat majiam we can control her cry lor! I also angry and complain to my hubby.
Y dont let nini sleep from 8pm onwards? My bb slept ard 8pm till next morn 6am. Sometime she will wake up ard 12am but I just pat her back to slp or before she is fully awake, give her milk bottle then she will suckle and fall back to sleep.

Bear
My bb also having rashes ard her mouth last few days when she is teething. Now her first tooth has erupted, no more rash leh.

peanut,
my niece also happen every night all the way till 3 plus. According to my cousin, now it's better so they try not to over excite her during the day. Although they say happens 1-3 times a week, some kids may have it more. did it say how you can minimize it from happening so often?
Maybe you need to sit your MIL and hubby down and explain that by setting a routine for child, it helps everyone to better plan their time and also more rest for all. work on them slowly... cannot teach old dogs new tricks...so work MIL slowly... ooooomp......no stress.........

how's weekend?? went foodfair yday... ok nia lor. always sell same stuffs & soooo crowded.. dont tink will go another round next time.. v ma huan... plus BB T almost nv drink his milk for 2 feed... since he kanna cough & can hear phlegmy sound.. duno izzit due to tis for not drinking his milk...

Poor peanut> u mean she only do tat at night oh? how is she during daytime? ur mil allow bb slp so long 8-10pm? quite long leh.. we adult if nap too late oso will not slp back early one leh.. tink u really mus sacrify ur time for time being to set a bedtime routine for nini.. actually BB T oso bo routine one... always is me tat mess up the timing. cos only time to play with him is night time.. so sometimes when i reach home liao & see him haven slp. i bu she de let him slp 1st... & i will carry him to my room acc me one de...

peanut

Nini could be crying cos she is tired but cant go back to sleep? Or she need some kind of security? It happened to my bb sometimes and we try to soothe her back to slp, at times we resort to putting her in sarong, instead of her cot when she cry nonstop. Once in Sarong, she feel more 'safe' cos it's like being wrapped up.

peanut,
hmm, actually i have a wild suggestion but i know it be a tough one..that is to swop rooms with your MIL. so that you guys can sleep with nini with you and hubby and she can have undisturbed sleep at night. it think that would help the situation alot already and you will be more in control coz baby is in your room.

Gd morning..

I m very frustrated leh. Of all the brands selling in super markets Bellamy is the only one without added stuff except iron. All the cereals have probiotics, DHA, vitamins and minerals added. I think Heinz has some of the stuff added but it is the next 'cleanest' cereal aft Bellamy. SIGH!!!

Mosh, what kind of rash did ur gal have? I was just telling Peanut abt the rash. Nini also had rash when she was teething. But her rash seems different leh. For Nini, it was just around the mouth, patches smaller than 10cents coin. For Z, the rash is from ear to ear, bigger than 50 cents coin plus he got it on his chest.

Peanut, can move ur bed or something? 5 nights in ur MIL's room and 2 nights in urs u might as well dun train cos Nini will nv get used it it. Slp training takes weeks not days. how abt putting mattress on the floor or something?

Peanut:
I never allow my daughter to cry it out de. I buay tarhan.

Ur room cannot get a smaller cot? Or mattress?

I think Nini may cry at night coz you all rock her to sleep. Once she wake, she cannot sleep herself. So will whine/cry. So you have to slowly cut it out as well.

Or you wanna try use a mattress, then you sleep next to her, pat her to sleep. My daughter was "trained" something like that. We started with letting her sleep surrounded by pillows on my bed (fall asleep then we shift to cot) and we pretend to sleep with her. Then slowly become put in cot and sleep on her own with some patting till now, sometimes no need to pat. We also try to ensure not to let her become too tired before she sleep. Once too sleepy, we have to carry / pat to sleep.

And if 8pm she is sleepy le, then start ur sleep routine at that time ba. My daughter sleeps at 7.30-8.30pm on most nights.

Oh yah. My daughter sleeps surrounded by pillows. My cousins also. You can consider that BUT make sure she knows how to ensure she dun get suffocated. My daughter knows how to push away the pillows/kick them away/throw them away. But we also fit it in such a way that they are not loose around.

Peanut:
I never allow my daughter to cry it out de. I buay tarhan.

Ur room cannot get a smaller cot? Or mattress?

I think Nini may cry at night coz you all rock her to sleep. Once she wake, she cannot sleep herself. So will whine/cry. So you have to slowly cut it out as well.

Or you wanna try use a mattress, then you sleep next to her, pat her to sleep. My daughter was "trained" something like that. We started with letting her sleep surrounded by pillows on my bed (fall asleep then we shift to cot) and we pretend to sleep with her. Then slowly become put in cot and sleep on her own with some patting till now, sometimes no need to pat. We also try to ensure not to let her become too tired before she sleep. Once too sleepy, we have to carry / pat to sleep.

And if 8pm she is sleepy le, then start ur sleep routine at that time ba. My daughter sleeps at 7.30-8.30pm on most nights.

Oh yah. My daughter sleeps surrounded by pillows. My cousins also. You can consider that BUT make sure she knows how to ensure she dun get suffocated. My daughter knows how to push away the pillows/kick them away/throw them away. But we also fit it in such a way that they are not loose around.

Bear

My bb rash also like nini, small and ard the mouth. Guess Z is having some allergies bah since the patch is so big and widespread...

Good Afternoon!

Peanut, wow the line!!! I WAN TO EAT!!!

Chillipadi,
Your girl is so pretty. i will b on cloud 9 if my daughters appeared in magazines cover, i think hor i will buy 10 book and give away. lolx

Peanut> enjoy! i just went to The Line on fri and killed a lot of oysters! :p slurp!

Bear> try the normal Heinz, not the organic one. Maybe baby Z is really a cheap bb, which is good!
Darwin loves Heinz, organic or original.
Darwin didnt have rashes during teething.....

re: bumper mat
any mummy know which is the smallest size avail? Coz am looking around for one to put at mum's place but there limited place at her home so wondering if i can find one which is not too large. I already hv one LG prime mat at home.

hi lilian,
thanks! I will go back and see if it can fit in mum's living room.

Fifi,
i also dun really like to let bb cry it out. but several times she was whining/crying when we put her to bed and when we carried her she cried even harder. so now we sorta let her be unless she really sound very upset. if not we will just try to stroke her back to help soothe her. normally she is just whining and trying to find the right position to fall asleep..=P

Maggie, i got the non organic Heinz one. but they have a lot of things added inside. dunno if i shd intro him.. http://www.heinzbaby.com/nutrition_facts/beginner/rice.html
Sigh i have to throw away the bellamy liao.. Unless any mummy wants it? I took only 4 teaspn from it. I can pack it in ziplock. let me know.

Mosh, ya i think he is allergic. but my hb feels that i m making a mountain out of molehill. when i brought Z to the PD last wk, he already said i m hot housing him, so minor also must see PD. sigh.. my fren recommended me to see a children allergist. but i know my hb sure dun want me to go...

Hey all..
i'm baaaaaack from the free lunch..!!! heavy heavy meal.. ate al e exp stuffs except for oysters.. dunoe how to appreciate e raw ones.. Now my tummy feel like bursting and i'm starting to get real sleeeepy..

Lilian
anything lah.. but my official nick for this week is pinenut..

Bear,
think u shld send him to test what he is allergic to. Allergies if serious can restrict his airways and cause complications. my younger sis cannot take panadol, if she does, she will swell up and her airways gets constricted. very dangerous.

Re. having mattress in room:
would u al believe if i say not even enough floor space for mattress?? unless its jus a small one for the bb.. I ever tried before and Mil say better dun leave her on the floor cos not good -_-

Bear
my room floor space fully utilized liao.. can't shift the bed much cos got a built in cupboard blocking.. and mine is a king size bed lor

Amooks
remm u mentioned Dawei at a time also wake up crying every an hr?? May i know how long this saga last? His sleeping return to normal now??

bear
poor z... =( u this fri on leave rite? then bring z to pd for test ba.. So big and serious patches ur hubby stil so relaxed.. for babies.. better be safe then sorry..

bear
oops sorry overlooked.. u went pd last week liao.. Yah i gues most likely its cereals.. But if u bring him to allergist wat wil they do? do various patch tests for Z?

bear
i suggest u give Z home-made porridge first. If tat also causes rashes then should bring him for allergy tests.

pinenut
u in tough situation hor. Actually haru gave a gd suggestion - change room with your MIL.
Althou my bb returns home onli on wkends, she doesn't have much problem with chg in slping locatn.
Old ppl always say when bb crys in slp, tat means they are beaten by 'ceng bu' (t goddess tat teaches them new things) for not able to do things right. Hehe..

Haru
actually last time when we get married the mother did offer their room to us.. but we say dun wan, esp filial hubby cos he say no wan the father/mother walk al e way to kitchen toilet.. and also the main thing is our room faces the main road.. its v v v v noisy while they may hav gotten used to their room which is much quieter..

fifi
re. condusive environment.. Mus it die die b e same same room and bed?? So it defeat the purpose if weekday mil room and weekend my room? even thou we try to keep the rest consistence., like the timing, lighting etc?

And also i only hav today til nex mon to try out cos tue going to shanghai liao.. so wait till return or jus go ahead and start now.. I know it wil be difficult considering FIL using the room, esp when he comes back and sleep early.. Imagine he sleeping ther and me trying to make bb sleep + if bb keep whining then worst.. Soo soo strange... haiz.. i'm so vexed

<font color="ff6000">Kindermusik Class.

The class has been confirmed. Will all the 12 mummies please transfer the trial fees to me and PM mi the transation ref.

Acct: POSB Savings - 126-46110-0

Total is : ($23.80 x 11 x 0.7% (GST))/12 = $23.35
<font color="0000ff">*** PLEASE NOTE: NO REFUNDS ***</font>

<font color="ff6000">Date: Sunday, 14th June 2009
Time: 1500 hrs

Chillipadi/ Peanut,
So u guys gonna make it?

Chillipadi,
Just saw Megan on tv, channel 8.

I need help,I just cant simply train my #1 on potty. She refused to sit at all. Can some 2nd time mum gave me some idea how to go abt with it?

Peanut:
Usually better if same room same bed. So it teaches her that once she get into that bed, its time to sleep. But you can try to see if the rest consistant can anot lor.

Its a lot of patience lah. When you go Shanghai, is baby going along?

Peanut,actually me nv give my boy a fix sleeping pattern too. bt realise he also like to wake up and play at night. then we just pat him to sleep and best part these few nights he actually woke up to look for milk and come really close to my breast so i just let him latch and he automatically sleep after that. weird baby i tell you. cause he never never does that!

How come you always get free lunch ah.. nt bad leh you
wasted u don't like raw oyster really nice.

Bear, poor Z u have to let him eat the most simple stuff agree that you need to cook plain porridge for him. no choice.

Chilipadi, will look out for Megan later when i get home

So are we still going to maggie's place for gathering this month?

Chillipadi, it is no use giving him any allergy test now becos he has only been exposed to one food type (other than milk). that means he is allergic to cereal. Prick test is only used when u are not sure what is causing the allergy. Also Z hasn't been exposed to anything else so the prick test either show no reaction to other food (cos his body has nv encountered them) or react to everything (becos his body just fights against them becos the body nv encountered them). Z needs to be exposed to more food then can do prick test. SIGH!! so mah fan hor. i very frustrated!!

Peanut, yeah i have seen the PD last wk. but that time his rash wasn't very bad cos he didn't take cereal for 24hrs liao. like this morn, his rash subsided quite a bit. when the PD saw it, she immed said it is common. I was like how come i seldom hear abt rice allergy? gave us antihistamines and a topical cream to apply lor. my hb dun wanna give him antihistamines if possible becos it is easy to become immune to antihistamines. sigh... it isn't me that dun wanna bring Z to the PD. its the hb.. he keeps saying it very minor. kids get rashes oftn etc. but the truth is Z nv had rashes anywhere before until we intro cereal.

Lilian, yup i have to go and buy brown rice, wash then dry it. My mum told me not to us the oven becos the heat might break down the nutrients in there. at first i tot i can get it from EYS but my mum went to asked. Those si shen fen has chinese herbs in there so lagi cannot give. SIGH!!!!!!!!! i have find a way to cook 2 TEASPN of rice.. so bloody mah fan.

I did some research, and some sch of thoughts recommended started meat as first food!! imagine that! i m gg to let him try sweet potato and see how. might just skip rice till later.

Bear
t good news is... the sun is so damn big and hot, good for shine your brown rice!
Why brown rice and not normal white rice? Better?
Ya.. 2 tsp of rice... Hahah.. how huh? Me am looking out for super small size slow cooker. Anyone knows?

peanut,
Your bed is KING SIZE! Get Nini to sleep with u &amp; ur hb then. And since you can at least put a giant rocker in your room, check the measurement of SEAHORSE foldable mattress and get it for Nini if possible ... jus put pillows ard it on the floor.

Lilian, Brown rice old ppl say good for legs. strengthen the legs. u looking at how many litres for the slow cooker?

There's a private sale for toys (see appended invite) but i think not suitable for babies... probably more appropiate if you have older kids =)

Fifi: any idea when the doidies will arrive?! btw if not troublesome can I change my colors to pink, turquoise and yellow?? (dont want the cerise anymore). Also how to pay you ar?
2517580.jpg