(2008/11) November 2008

hello mummies!
Today work from home again! Had delicious duck drumstick rice downstairs!

<font color="116644"><u>Baby Chart</u></font>
No update today! Any baby born on 27/11/08?
Remember to send me your baby updates, I've got Bear and Blustar so far nia.

<font color="116644"> <u>HFC Gathering</u></font>
Of cos! As HFC resident I must go mah. Lonut, both me and kiki going. Wed-Fri shd be ok. Prefer Friday thou =)

Let me know the dress code/colour then ;)

What to eat ah?

dymples,
donno lah this stupid company...
I truly agree with you on the enrichment classes. I oso quite anti one but my sister keep telling me to start meg on kumon since last year. i only started this year but Tien Hsia I started last year cos' I know if I don't start, it will be damn jia lat when she starts P1. When meg was 2 years old we actually sent her to Julia Gabriel bilingual class once a week. 2 hrs, one hr chinese and one hr english. I must say that JG actually built a very good foundation for her. But very expensive so when she started pre-nursery we did not go already. I oso booked my nephew's chinese tution for meg to start in june next year. Will not start her for english cos' my ah lau can teach. he better cos' he is a writer. maths will just stick with kumon. Actually kumon has english enrichment program as well. you can go find out. not sure if it's good but my sis says not bad cos' her kid's england improved.

bloody aircon still so cold. i forgot to bring my wrap lah...

Kiki,
emma lost weight after she fell sick so now only 6.1kg. this time did not measure height only head. her head circumference grew from 39-41cm... "tua tao"

Gobbled down a donut at tea break
*satisfied*

chilipadi> i am clueless abt all these enrichment classes and school names. 2 yrs later i will ask u mummies for directions! Stay here and go elsewhere!

<font color="ff0066"> Chilipadi</font>
Wow! Yes yes yes... I agree tat JG is good leh... but it's very ex. For Chinese, I sending my gal for Berries. I dun like Tien Hsia cos too much worksheets. Then for English, I'm sending her to icreative learner. But her phonics and maths tuition is at KRTC. *faintz* Every weekends is spend sneding my gals everywhere for their classes. Thks God most of it is in the CCK area.

Kumon is good too but I heard also got lots of worksheet to do. Now I'm considering whether to send my #2 for abacus cos mental arithmatic is important. P1 already doing calculation up to 20. But for semester 3 onwards it's up to 100 wor. *faintz*

<font color="ff0066"> Lilian</font>
Dun worry abt all these enrichment classes. Enjoy this "honeymoon" period for now. Wait till your bb is in K1 then can start to do your research liaoz. hehehehe...

Haru, here is K's schedule....

7-7.30am wake up BF, sleep again till 10am
10am shower
11am BF
12pm one puree + rice cereal
play, read some stories, sing song with mummy..
2pm nap for 45 mins
usually go to the mall, supermkt, walk or stay home ( BF on demand throughout the day)
5pm nap for 45 mins
6pm one puree + rice cereal
6.45pm bathtime
7.30pm BF
daddy time if he is home
9pm bedtime story +bf and sleeeeeeep
7.30am wakes up and day repeats!
(not very strict on it tho and changes depending on if we go out ;)

ChannelNewsAsia web is down since noon....
I think all Sporeans ganchiong liao. Dymples, gotten your N95s?

Bibi/Kash, Tampines area have any gd enrichment centres???

u al got N95 masks?? i ony gotten those 3 ply ones...
My fren working in hospital told me wearing N95 feel terrible cos can't breathe well.. hope it wont spread in spore and ther wont be 2nd more deadly wave..

am carryin bb in sling while he naps today cos cough abit onli he wakes up!

wow talkin abt enrichment centres... when are u mummies gonna start to send your little ones? read in some other threads mummies alrdy sending their 6,7 or 8 mth bb to JG playnest! wonder if this is good for our bb? rather, would they benefit going to school at such a young age?

Lilian,
you nong nong way to go. by the time when it's time for your kid to enroll, there will be better enrichment classes.

Dymples
for kumon, meg does one set of worksheet everyday. for tien hsia, she has not homework from the teacher but i guess still young but the 老帅 is helping me with meg's chinese writing. she will help set chinese writing homework for meg to do during the wk - like 3 chinese characters. at least now meg knows how to write her chinese name oredi. once she start chinese tution next year, may drop tien hsia unless it's still the same teacher cos' meg loves her.
yes, JG is very ex. for that year that i sent meg which is only once a wk 2 hrs, it cost us over $2K very siong. But we will do it for emma too lah cos' foundation very impt.

ok... me have to shut down now or will miss company transport to mrt. chat later..

chili> nong nong? haha u kena virus liao

Guess what? The chinese teacher who jumped on Monday, she was under a lot of stress at work, &amp; caused her to jump!
Something is very wrong with our system.

bibi, u also noe nothing ah. hehe.. same

<font color="ff0066"> Lilian, Peanut</font>
Aiyohz... me heben gone to grab my N95s mask yet leh... my cleaning only juz left. *faintz* Now must run out liaoz... hehehhe...
2502825.gif

Dymples
go go go!!!!! *imagine dymples in messy hair carrying 3 kids grabbing masks in pharmacy**... + *fighting with another mummy over the last packet of masks**....

Kiki
we tink of something yummy but not too exp .. hehee.. i jus tot of 1.. can consider kopi club at HBF.. they got 1 for 1 using UOB card. me and my colleague went ther for main course end up each only pay ~$8.. otherwise others at vivo also got weekday set lunch at affordable prices.

Peanut:
No GST. But u VIP got less 10% still.

Lilian:
Yup yup. Got Baby Einstein toys. Go see ba.

Dunno why a lot of pple think I am lao shi leh.

Re: Masks
I oso bo leh. The N95 de so ex.

*Dymples chiongz back after grabbing masks and having dinner - hair even more messy now*
hahahha...

<font color="ff0066"> N95s Masks</font>
I got mine from NTUC Pharmacy. It's $50 for a box of 20-pcs. Guardian selling $60 for a box. Wow!! $10 diff is really alot of $$$ lor.

Peanut, it is never too late to start a routine.
she is just 7 months old.. still got many months to come. If i were u, i would tell MIL off lah (like i always tell u i will), even to the extend of giving Nini another bath.
else i would choose to wipe her down then settle her to slp. but u must be consistent. are u able to do it everyday until Nini is older? say 3 yrs old? that means cannot go out to party at night. this is something u might wanna think abt.

Haru, my suggestion is to give Heidi half her feed before shower, then read to her and give her the remainder aft that.
then slowly switch to giving her a shower then feed. will take u abt 2 wks to get it done. the gd thing abt ur routine is that ur gal has already learnt to slp by herself. For Z, he still needs a feed hence i'm worried that he might be dependent on bottle to slp.

As for toys, i get those that are abt 9 mth to 36 mths range. stimulates thinking, has music, lights or sounds to attract him.. but as my hb likes to say, we are his best toys!

Chillipadi, ur Emma can really drink a lot! My Z is still at 160ml per 3-3.5hrs! sometimes can't finish also.. if he needs a feed at 5+am, i give him abt 140ml max.

Fifi, i got gd taste when it comes to toys! :p hahaha.. i m eyeing one Bright Start and one Baby Einstein now.

Dymples, so aft getting her results, was ur gal shocked? i know some kids get so traumatise by failure that they become so afraid of exams. or is ur gal not bothered by it? I dunno how to help leh.. Pri sch syllabus is out of my depth. ask me sec sch one i can help. i agree with Chillipadi, reading is the only way to help with Eng. Eng cannot study one.. i mean can memorise idioms, synoynms etc but how to use it is purely through daily use. As for math, it is really just practise practise practise.

Sigh S'pore education sys is really very stressful. when my hb and I talk abt sending Z for classes in future, he always say last time he dun need such stuff also turn out well. but he forgets that the education sysm changed and that a lot of parents give a headstart to their kids. hence the kids all start with unequal footing.

Hi mummies....

These few days hard to breathe at work sigh. Only shopping gives me some joy..

Donut: WOah so gd...eat alot nvr get fat haha! So many HFC lunch gatherings...Anyone work near Thomson hahaha...

Fifi: At least ur hb takes over during wkends! My hb still want to play esp at certain timelots. :x But to give him credit, he has improved lah after much heated words and now he is more conscious that he needs to spend more time with bb.

Alibaba: Chill!! Breathe....

Pam: Alamak well hope there won't be any more of those spree scams!!

Mummy2nia: Haa..go check it out! :p Now can't wait for my diaper bag to arrive..

Enrichment class topic for today?? How early must we start. I was hoping to enrol bb in some of those fun music/gym once a week classes when he is a few more mths older...at least get some exposure :p But for 'learning purposes', think can leave till he is older...

chilipadi,dymples,
After reading your posts abt enrichment classes,realise that i am nt realli KS.I told me fren(who are mummy nw) that i am going to send my gal to phonics class,and berries learning chinese.ALL shot me badly,Telling me that my gal is just 3yo,no need to start so early!Can start when she is at K1.Guess i better start the lesson early and nt till end of the yr,to build up her foundation well.

Every nite, i read and do kumon worksheets with her.Is this enff??

Donut,coconut,
I agreed with bear.Nv too late to start a rountine for nini.When a rountine set in,it will be easiler for you and mil too.Mayb try telling your mil tat if nini hav a rountine,she can slp and rest more!When come to doing other chores,she can do in peace too.

bear,
what you eyeing? SHare with me!

thanks for sharing ur baby routines n schedules!

Bear,
i actually feed her now before her bath coz i dun want her to have habit of nursing to sleep..hmm..but i might try like what you said, half feed before bath and then BF again after bedtime prayer/story..

blustar,
wow, baby K can nap long in e morning! thats really good. H can only nap long in e mornin normally during weekends when she sleeps in with us,haha..coz we put her on our bed..=P lazy papa and mama..

peanut,
ya, i find tt having a routine helps somewhat. even though my baby toss and turns for a good 20-45mins in her cot, i still find that her bathtime-bedtime prayer-bedtime routine helps her sleep thru e night. i believe that the benefit will come when they are a lil older. that way they can learn to wind down and know when its almost bedtime.

oh blustar,
u are giving cereal and puree twice a day now? today my mum gave cereal + milk for "breakfast" and veg + milk for lunch. worked quite well..

<font color="ff0066"> Bear</font>
Got my gal's report book. She failed English paper 2, but overall she juz managed to scrap thru. Aiyohz... she's totally not bothered by her bad results. Now she's playing masak-masak with her mei-mei. *fainted* Still can laugh and joke so loudly.

<font color="ff0066"> Happy</font>
Wow! You started in Kumon worksheets liaoz. *pei-fu* leh... Yah lor.. Now it's better to be a KSP (kiaSu Parent). This is becos all the parents start their children quite early on their enrichment classes. So by the time these children are in P1, their foundation is already there and their grades average 80 marks and above. Gone are the days of 'sotong' children like wat we were last time siah.

<font color="ff0066"> BB Routine</font>
I find recently tat bb's routine is all haywire liaoz. And duunno why she is so so clingy especially in the afternoons. Haiz...

<font color="ff0066"> glad gal</font>
For enrichment classes, some parents will start as early as 18-mths. Going for playgroup sessions. Then when the child is in Nursey, tat's when they will start with pre-school enrichment like English phonics and basic Hanyu Pinyu plus abacus for Maths. By the time the child is in K2, they will start with the Pre Primary enrichment classes. Scary yah...

Fifi
I'm fine with getting the Doidy cup from you since Pam said ok. I want the Cerise Shimmer. Thanks! If you need urgent response, and don't get one from me, just PM me. Thanks!

b's routine:
k as mentioned i make her skip her 8pm nap today.. umderstand from mil she had a super short nap in the evening and woke up 630pm.. so i thong her until 9pm bath her 1 more time then 930pm when she starts to whine a bit i put her on rocker liao.. and she fell asleep within 5mins.. BUT.. after 15mins her tt forever coughing aunty starts coughing and woke her up from sleep! AND at e same time a relative came to pick up her dumpling and try to tok to her!! i was like super pissed keep telling her bb wan to sleep liao then hurrily bring e rocker + her into my bedroom wher lights already switched off and after a short while of whining she slept again. sleepfed her 1030pm before transferring to cot.. lets see wat time she wakes up now! hope she doesn't follow strictly e 8hr sleep cycle and woke up at 5+ !!!

My mum still don't feel well, i'm on leave again...

donut,
my mum n ur mil are gd frd. my mum refuse to go to ang mo doc, no choice my sis bring her to chinese one. both equally stubborn

Re: Routine
My BB does not have a routine for the day but she has a simple one for the night. Not cast in stone but approximately followed.

At about 7.30pm, we bring her to my room, wash her up + change diaper + change her into pajamas. After that I will latch her on and chat with her abit. If shes too wide awake, I will read to her or play with her abit. If she's already sleepy, skip this. After that (about 8pm or so), I will tell her its time to sleep, give her a goodnight kiss, place her in her cot and pass her the bolster. I will then dim the lights before switching it off. i.e. I turn the dimmer to the lowest then off the switch to let her know its bedtime. She will usually turn to her side and close her eyes after I do this. If she does not sleep immediately but toss around, either my maid or me will silently stay in the room away from her sight till she is asleep.

After this, she will sleep till about 5+ or 6+ in the morning. Occasionally she wakes for an extra feed at about 3+ or 4+.

Gd Morning!
Bibi> Oh dear, still not well ah? Is it food poisoning?

blustar> How's your bb?

lolut> Plan went smooth smooth?
My dad also forever coughing or clearing his throat, even in t mid of nite de. So now, my gal is imitating him. Piangzzz...

last nite kena hives attack. si bei pek chek. in the end took the super drowsy antihistamine and knocked me out. Now still so sleepy. I think this weekend better ask my mum for the bittergourd roots and use it. see if it works on hives.

Happy, Dymples,
now when the child goes to K1, they are somewhat expected to to read and do some writing. That's why I had a shock this year when megan came back from school 1st wk with her school homework and she had to write the Chinese character 我 with no tracing. We had such a hard time coaching her that both me and hb were so frustrated. that's why we spoke to her Tien Hsia teacher and she said she will help by setting writing practice homework for her. If I am not wrong, they are now tested on simple spelling words like cat, dog, ball etc. At least now with constant practice, she can now right her own names in english and chinese.

Bibi,
hope your mum feels better are taking the 中药. old ppl are like that. my mum is the poly clinic person. she will go poly cos' she says the meds are much cheaper especially for old ppl. so when she is there, she will ask doc to prescribe the flu pills, her vits as well and she will buy from pharmacy. Much much cheaper.

lonut,
how was nini last nite? she she sleep till 5 or later? emma woke up at 5am to fart and whine a bit. i was super sleep cos' of the antihistamine that I just carried her out of the cot and put her in between me and hubby and all went back to sleep unti 6.45 this morning.

HarbourFront/Vivo lunch
Date: Next week

1) Chinipali (aniday just let me know in advance so I won't plan lunch wif my horrible ppl here)
2) Dolut (Tue-Fri)
3) Bear
4) Kiki (Wed-Fri)

Food Maker
Does anyone noe where to buy the mashing bowl - the one with protruding lines/bumps that ease mashing job? It is normally included as a set in t food maker set. But i just want tat bowl.

forgot to share this,
last nite, i saw the TVC as well as the magazine ads that megan was in. If my hb is not wrong, the ads will appear on iweekly and 8 days next wk and the TV ad will start on 1st june on channel news asia. showed meg last nite and she like nothing, just look and run away but my mum was so happy and proud of her. knowing her she will whack a few copies of the magazines...

-_- Update on my bb:
As mentioned earlier, she slept at 9.30pm last nite.. whine for a while when gena disturbed by aunty and relative then continue sleep.. Around 5am heard her cry and mil make milk milk for her.. Then this morning 745am officially wake up.. GOOD! i tot to myself NOT BAD!!!! Then..... Mil say during the nite from ~1am onwards, she kept waking up and whine so she had to transfer her back to rocker and rock to sleep.. Told me it happened so many times til she also dunoe how many times.. Haiz.. Later blamed it on tt she slept toooooo early! Huh??? early?? 930pm is early??? i rebuke back say that few nites when she slept late and in my room she also woke up so many times wat.. So she orr.. think bb hong sim cos last nite i brot her out for a walk.. So say bb nite time better dun bring out.. Everything also she say one..
Dunoe how lei.. why my bb kept waking up and whine.. Any tips to let bb sleep more deeply??

peanut,
its ok if she wakes up a few times. my baby does that sometimes too. more importantly they need to learn to self soothe themselves back to sleep. for me, i dun pick up her immediately even if she cries. will try to stroke her back instead and most times she will fall back asleep on her own. dun give up ok? am sure she will be able to get used to sleeping earlier and the routine eventually.

Chinipani
wah.. megan becomes a star!! heheee.. u become star mommy liao! tsk tsk..
And hor u v funny lei.. u say ur HP horrible people why stil lunch with them tsk tsk.. Me hor.. i dun like the people i wont bother to lunch with them one.. unless some in the crowd i'm ok de then bobian.. otherwise i'll rather lunch myself

Haru
but its many many times wor.. and hor lately, even if she sleeps late also like tt one.. i dunoe why.. why she so light sleeper.. Not tired one meh??

Yes.. tonite me gonna try again.. actually got dinner appt with a man one.. *woo hoo*** But i cancelled it liao cos wan to try out again tonite

Hee we have a 6th month old baby today!

Happy 6th Month Birthday to:
<font color="FF0099"> ¨¨°°ooo_OO°°¨¨ <font size="+1">Baby Vernise</font> ¨¨°°Oo_Ooo°°¨¨ </font>

and Great Mummy Mosh!

<u>Last updates:</u>
7.00kg 64.0cm Drink Enfalac

peanut>
my son oso lah.. last night i tried to coax him to slp.. twist &amp; turn . whine whine whine.. so mai koon.. i give up.. pass to maid give him his last feed den he slp... end up 3+am wake up...worst than ur gal.. cos i only heard from my mil mention this morn... past few nights he seem to woke up in the middle of the night as welll...

glad_gal..
no lei.. these days i find my tummy starts bloating up again! sometimes look like i'm 5mth pregnant!
Me me thomson!!! my mum stays ther.. my old territory. Even now TPY also not far from ther.. Which building u work in?

Bibi
she finally go see doc liao lah.. after insisting she recovering no need to see... she can't tahan anymore..

Lilian
wah ur bb so smart!!??!! can imitate sounds liao??!!!? My b can't even mum mum baba yet..

<u><font color="6600CC"> Chilipadi the 星妈:</font></u>
CNA 1st June Monday night? Ok, will stay tuned and open my eye big big then
Around what time ah?

<u><font color="6600CC"> Teething:</font></u>
My boy is teething! Finally!
His milk intake drops tremendously, yesterday drank about 400ml oni! Can tell that he's hungry but the moment we offer milk to him then he rejects liao. End up this morning got to spoonfeed him wor..

Mummies, how long will it last ah?

<u><font color="6600CC"> HFC Lunch</font></u>
Coffee Club sounds good!

lolut> smart? she cannot ma ma and ba ba also la.
But she will imitate us doing the woo-woo sound and lip shape (only when in berry gd mood)
Recently my mama teaching her clap hands... seems like she noes a bit, but her palms always miss each other. Comical.

Hay, i agree with your mil tat dun bring bb out during nite time, esp to quiet &amp; dark places

Bibi> Pigeon bowl? Got t protruding lines inside?
I went Kiddy P and asked, they say they dun sell those bowl separately. All come in t food maker set.
I might kena food poisoning later... stupid damn canteen sold me uncooked french toast. Go and exchg new one liao, still t same

<u>peanut:</u>
1 month so long ah?! Now your nini bottom teeth come out already? Then her weight got drop anot?
My boy already sick and now teething... scared his weight drops alot leh..

Kiki
her bottom long time come out liao lor.. i also dunoe why her milk strike so long.. not supposed to.. mayb in e 1st place she already damn fussy drinker.. Anyway after a short while of being better drinker.. she now making me frustrated again.. -_-
Re. her weight.. i'm not v sure cos last PD appt more than a mth ago.. think she din really lose weight ba but it became quite stagnant..