(2008/11) November 2008

N Yo Yo Fifi, homemade cereal not iron fortified lay

Hello Kitty Lunch Boxes???
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/2500981.html?1243399723

<font color="ff0066"> Bear</font>
OMG!! You allergic to so many things. Then how so you usually makan if eating out? Must choose those organic foods? Sure not easy bah. Does the doc know the reasonf ro your allergies? How is lil bear now? Maybe can intro him to those normal rice cereal from Nestle? Tat one no added things like probiotics and DHA. Maybe tat will be better?

<font color="ff0066"> Lilian</font>
ooohhh.... I'm drooling over some of the Hello Kitty lunch boxes. But can only see cannot buy. Recently spending so much $$$ not on myself but for my #1's enrichment classes. She did so badly for her SA1 so now everything I also enrol her. *faintz*

dymples
no lei.. bear stil eat a lot of tings lei.. the steamboat buffet we went to last time, she gobble down almost anything.She mentioned as long as its cooked then ok, and her doc say no need to specifically avoid e food cos otherwise she can be 神仙 liao

Afternoon mummies,

peanut,
I went to this Kuishin Bo Jap restaurant on sunday and find their spread is nice! Hmm, i think better than the one we dine recently
They have a lot of variety in terms of sashimi, cooked stuff, desserts, cold dish, hot dish, drinks, noodles, sushi, handroll etc! Maybe next time can hv gathering there, but must hv time to enjoy slowly. http://res.com.sg/restaurants_view.php?v=8

Re: Rice
I think is wash then sun then grind. Not sure. The other way is to juz cook it overnight in a slow cooker till very soft (like cantonese porriage) then mash summore before feeding if necessary. Its not really called rice cereal anymore but more of rice porriage.

Lilian:
Not iron fortified then intro some iron rich food and mix it in lor.

joyce
yah.. they got alaskan crab leg ther also.. yum.. but the price is much more exp wor.. aft ++ close to $50 rite?

rice:
tt time i blend my rice i also wash and dry it in toaster 1st before blending.

Rice:
so des ne... Like tat ah, then i will do all these sunning and blending for my rice and ikan bilis on t same day. Save trouble.

Peanut,
that day i go during lunch, no crab leg
Think dinner have bah, lunch is ard $36 after +++.. Will go try for dinner one day
Ya, is a bit ex but a lot of variety though.

Chillipadi, my cousin decided not to work lor. she said she has been slogging her ass off in HP. didn't see her sons grow up. So now she is a SAHM. asked her how she likes the change in her life, she said so far so gd, until the money runs out!

Fifi, i m gonna try Bellamy on Sun and see how. Checked the label liao. its just plain rice with iron added. if this one also react then i have to get those rice powder from EYS or do it myself. It isn't the blending i m wary abt cos i can just blend one whole lot at one go. I m just not crazy cooking it! image cooking ONE TEASPOON! so much time and energy for ONE TEASPOON.. grrr... so little water is needed, boil a bit wait all evaporate.

Dymples, oh dear. how badly did ur gal do? may be its her first exam hence she doesn't know wat to expect. is she more KS now? working harder? Ya like wat Peanut says i eat everything lah, else i will be a deity (according to Peanut). just make sure they are all well cooked. but i still suffer from chronic ezcema and perpetual runny nose.

Lilian, may be Heinz or Nestle or Happy Times lor. not organic and didn't add all the gd stuff in. the last time i gave him something organic (think was California Baby) he also broke out in rashes.. May be he needs the pesticides to survive. :p

Peanut &amp; Lilian,
SEE !!! I'm back again to read the thread. CMI. Juz like Bear &amp; Alibaba, addicted liaoz.

Bear,
your cousin can afford to be SAHM but me cannot if we want to have some "life little enjoyments". Also both kids are still so young plus my hubby still have to support his mother's nursing home bill. Also me not the type to stay at home, must work and have personal space.

Dymples,
how bad did ur gal do. Sometimes they are just late developer especially for year end kids. don't tire her out with too much enrichment classes, in the end might put them off studying. But I oso know that u are worried like me. Some ppl think I kiasu, send my daughter for Chinese Tien Hsia and Kumon at 5 years old. But have no choice lor cos' my chinese so "lan" and no patience to teach math. so better expose her to this 2 so that she is prepared when she goes to P1. For leisure, we send her for her art sessions which she absolutely love, so we balance it out abit.

jO
hows lucas lately?? yest mine was terrible.. evening drank a bit by nite time before bed shd b hungry liao but after a bit no wan again! and then no wan sleep as well, whine and whine and whine.. almost 1130 then orr orr and fed her in the sleep. Aft tt then i can go bath, stil need to blow hair by time i settle down alredy 12+am.. surf a bit of net then sleep.. me now so yawny.. Had a heavy lunch of nasi padang + mac choco cone..

chilipadi
then i shd consider myself quite lucky.. at least stil got enuf leave, stil got some bonus and at least 1 company trip a year..

Lilian
u mean got someone jumped down in redhill ah?? How e hell u suspect was Fifi in e 1st place.wahahaa.... She and hubby jus started the biz lei.. good future wher got wan to end life at this time..

coco> toking abt co trip. Think my US trip might b canceled or postponed dunno till when bcos of H1N1.
Anyway, i also scared to go now. Seems like everyone coming bak from NY gets it!
U still got bonus ah?? Haiz... Oil is forever in demand. Got vacancies?

wah peanut, your company still doing well. we all at hp still making money but of course lesser compared to last year lah. but than of course all the ppl up there not happy mah company not making enuf, so their year end bonus will be lesser. last year our CEO took home abt $44M for hos compensation which includes salary, bonuses and stock options. Than all the different EVPs too home at least $25M each. So if they don't cut cost and heads, how can they take home their fat bonuses again this year. that's why morale is very low now in hp. so instead of happy people we become horrible people liow...

any good toys to recommend for our babies? my parents asking me to get more toys to put at their home coz baby is getting more curious n interested to play..=P

<font color="ff0066"> Bear &amp; Chilipadi</font>
Aiyohz.... my gal failed English and Maths. Surprisingly she passed Chinese - 60/100. So now I'm berry KS. Have enrolled her for English and Maths enrichment.

Thursday - English enrichment (AM)
Friday - Phonics (PM)
Saturday - Chinese Speech &amp; Drama (AM), Ballet + Maths Tuition (PM)
Sunday - Chinese HYPY (AM)

No choice lor. Nowadays the P1 std is really high. Already they have covered addition &amp; subtraction in 1st half. Now for 2nd half, they going into multiplication, division, graphs and money. Somemore they got problem sums and Heuristic questions wor.

For English, her exam covered the whole works - Oral, Compo (min 60 words), Listening Compre. Then for Paper - already got adjectives, nouns, conjunctions, verbs, punctuations, etc. Damn 'shiong'.

Oops I think i forgot to ans Haru.

Erm Haru, my evening routine goes like this. 7.30pm, Z will be playing in his cot while i get the water ready. we will play for abt 15 mins then bath. aft bath he will be cranky already and needs his milk but i try to delay by reading to him for 5mins or as long until he cries. Then lights off and milk time. He usually drinks finish then i burp him.. he falls aslp when i m burping him lor. then zzzz all the way until 5+ 6am or till 7.30am. If he wakes up at 5+am i will give him milk and he will slp till almost 8am. if not he wakes up abt 7.30am.

I guess for us, the routine has been fixed since wk 4 aft the CL left. every night is the same routine. sometimes my hb will put him to slp at night on wkends. the only minus pt abt this is everyday i have to rush like mad to go home to put him to bed. No life one. nobody else (except my hb) can put him to bed cos he is so used to us. come 7.30pm if he is not in his room he will start to cry liao.

As for naps, he usually takes 2 long naps. Once abt 10+ 11am in the morning and another aft abt 2pm. usually abt 1.5-2 hrs long.

Bear
haiz.. with my Mil being the caregiver do u tink she'll try to minimize the naps? Come to tink of it my bb naps quite a # of times during the day.. basically she gets tired again after 1.5-2hrs from the last nap so she took around 5naps in total before her bedtime! Some short ones of cos... Sometimes i try to hold on/drag her nap times and she gets cranky.. For my MIL, she always say bb wan to sleep then let her sleep.. like tt then they'll b happy.. my b routine totally screw up one.. Anyway last nite she slept at 815 then wake up 915 then no wan sleep liao.. drag until 1115 after much whining then finally bedtime. Told mil i wan to set routine let her bath before bedtime everyday she always do it even before i reach home from work then aft tt say bb flu dun let her bath so late -_-

Bear
jus wondering at this point is ther stil a chance to set a routine?? She already 7mths old a bit too late not..
She normally take another short nap at around 7+ or 8pm. wonder if i try to make her skip that tonight will it b better.. But then i know she'll be super cranky liao lor

In short with me working and my mil being the caregiver she would not consider a routine ie let her nap lesser in the day so can sleep early at nite. Cos she would also wan the bb to sleep more during the day to free up her time lor... its really not within my control. i can only take over aft i reach home..

Bear,
thanks for sharing ur evening routine! mine is pretty much e same except that i normally feed then bath and bed. so she is normally quite awake still when i put her to bed. =P i know what you mean about no life..used to slowly eat my dinner at parents place and feed her only around 9pm. now i try to feed her at 8pm so that i can bath and put her in bed by 9pm latest. no more dinner dates or gatherings for me. =P

now i am just thinking bout her day schedule..coz am hoping that she can slowly a pretty fixed schedule (i.e nap times, feeding times, etc) and also so that she gets ample naptime. coz she is one tough cookie to put to nap and is a light sleeper.

re: day naps
how are your babies napping in e day? coz my mum is having a hard time making baby nap during e day...for me when i am home i normally just carry and pat her and when she is asleep, i will put her on my bed to nap with me. =P hoping to train her to nap in e day in her cot..

peanut,
how about letting her to go bed instead of nap at 8pm then? wished my baby can sleep as much as yours in e day!hahaha..

Bear,
emma's routine is almost like Z only 2 hrs later. We will reach home from my mum's between 8 to 8.30pm. She will like to roll around in her cot and listen to her mobile while we settle megan. at abt 9am, we give her her bath than it's reading and prayer time with megan and daddy while i make milk. after that will feed her and she is usually out by 9.45pm latest. depending on her milk intake, if she drinks 210-240ml, she will sleep till 7pm, if she only drinks 180ml, than she will wake up to drink 90ml at abt 4am and go back to sleep. the 4am feed is like a 10 min job cos' i prepare evrything in advance just add hot water and she will guzzel the milk down in 10 mins with her eyes still close. burp her than put her back in cot. She has been on this routine since one month old. we cannot wind her down earlier cos' my ah lau always late so we have to factor that in so that he can spend some time with meg and emma before they sleep.

Dymples,
wah... alot of enrichment classes leh. To improve english, get her to read books. books like secret seven, famous five etc shld help cos' she will be expose to alot of words that can help her compo. after she reads the bpook, get her to write a short summary of 60 words abt the book. this will help you know if she understands what she reads. also for comprehension, nowadays the answers to the question asked are not direct answers that can be pulled out from the comprehension. The child must read and understand what the passage and answers are how she interpret it. All very chim now. BTW, do you want other school exam papers that you can let your daughter try? If you want, I can email to you. Hang in there. 要慢慢教.

Haru
u mean instead of the usual put her on rocker for naps, at 8pm put her in the cot instead?? hahaa.. i can try.. but i doubt she'll then sleep thru from 8 to nex morning.. hahahaa... Her routine now.. aiyor.. is 7+ or 8pm sleep for ~45mins.. then wake up and play until 10pm then tired again.. bedtime aft feed or sleepfeed... Normally if lucky she'll knock out ~10-1030pm. If not lucky.. whine and whine and whine until 11+ like last nite.. And i find her final bedtime normally last ~8hrs nia..

nut> Its never too late
Mine slps around 9pm. Wake up at 3am for milk, then slp till 6am.
Her day time nap not regular one, depends on mood.
For night, we will carry her, give her pacifier suck and pillow to hug. Normally slp within 10min.

Dymple, Chilipadi, I can't imagine wat t education system will be like 6 yrs down t road! Doing Calculus in P1? They siao de.

This thread not OFF today.

Peanut:
The Deluxe ones are the one that Kash recommended. You VIP got 10% off.

Haru:
I feel Baby Einstein toys are quite good. I was impressed by the description when I was uploading for my hubby. Bear bought one and after seeing it, I'm also very gianz. Very educational.

Fifi - ooohhh...okie..i got capella already..tot wanna gif present for bb, buy maclaren..hehehe..

Diaper Bag:
Glad..longchamp ar...okie...i go check it out online..see whether nice or not..hehehe..thanks

Pamela..
my diaper bag is a billabong backpack..aiyoh..no choice..cos my hub is the one carrying..but i want nice nice one for wedding cos backpack..gosh...so ugly...haha!

Fifi..
I share your sentiments...my hub oso dun wan to look gay lah..haha..but i long for a nice diaper bag..if haf..i really dun mind carrying..hahah

Aiyoh..now im sick..bb spread to me..sigh..my sis say i kiss her too much..aiyah..how not to kiss mah...hehehe

Fifi
e price $79.90 is nett liao or stil need to add gst ah? I'll go back discuss with tt log..

lilian
we stil need to rock her like mad in midst of whining and trying to sit up and we trying to push her back to lying position.. haiz.. Actually for her sleeptime i always carry her to sleep one so dun hav to struggle with her so much.. but these days i do tt no more cos i no wan it to b a habit since i going shanghai soon..

chillipadi..

i read your entry..i scared liao..next time how...this sat sending her to her first enrichment class! my dad asked, "she's not too young meh?" I told him," Of cos NOT!!"

Peanut,
Lucas is still drinking 180ml eh. I wan to increase his milk intake but spoonfeed already take us 45mins (+ cleanup) ... fainted. And we try to let him sleep ard 8pm for half hr or so, else he will be cranky during last milk feed at 9.30pm. And these few days, he sleep for 45mins-1hr, woke up ard 9pm then after milk feed abt 10.30pm ... REFUSE TO SLEEP .. lie there and stare at us patting him or play w his pacifier. Decided NOT TO LET HIM SLEEP AFTER 7pm! See how tonight.
How much is your gal drinking now?

dymples,
Nowadays P1 syllabus already so tough. I must teach my boy to study early le. Nursery study K1 stuff, K1 study K2 stuff, K2 study P1 stuff, etc.

Fifi
Baby Einstein toys in your hubby webstore too?
I want to see see

Jo> relax relax!

T stupid edu system is making everybody become KS. Not tat we want, is we have to!
T parliament discussing abt revamping... wait become more worse. am sure it will.

coconut> juz saw ur post say why e hell i tot is Fifi. heheh.. aiya. i concern abt Fifi mah! cannot meh? Somemore Fifi does sounds like a lao shi.

Jo
my b i stil giving ~160ml.. but most time stil can't finish, otherwise jus rite and stop before e last few drop -_- As usual, we're at mercy based on her mood..
Problem is if he wans to sleep and we dun allow they'll be SUPER CRANKY!!!!

Nilian
can... i is sb jealous mah cannot meh?

I;ve been eating NON STOP today!! lunch nasi padang and choco cone for dessert.. Jus ate a packet of mammi for snack and now munching bey teh so.. my darn colleague has been throwing al these snacks onto my desk -_-"

wakakkaaa... 2 complaning abt stomach, other 2 complaining abt work..

ALibaba
wat happun.. boss make u angry then u revenge! Go for 1hr teabreak!

Chilipadi
kekekeke.. save $ on al stuffs but not saving on energy lei ur company

alibaba,
hahaha, i had the same feeling yesterday.. got no intention to pontan today but somehow my mum fall sick and can't take care of my boi.... haha, ren suan bu ru tian suan...

Now co restructuring, haiz... finance staff need to do procodurement stuff... sian ar... n i'm the only finance staff kena... i don know study so hard for wat..

Who else who else... kash babzel kiki mosh? hehehe

HarbourFront/Vivo lunch
Date: Next week

1) Chinipali
2) Dolut (Tue-Fri)
3) Bear

RE: naps
my mum say my bb, ethan, only sleep ard 30 - 45mins per nap and nap 3 times a day, morning/early afternoon/5pm+

RE: routine
normally he will sleep ard 9pm if he had enuff naps, if not 8pm he very tired n cranky liao.. he will still wake up ard 1am for feed.. then 6am+ wake up le..
BTW he still sleeping in sarong before i shift him to the cot... i tried to let him sleep in the cot, but took ard 40mins.. he will turn n toss ard.. with eyes closing.. funny right.. then i got to pat him but he want to flip over.. if put inside sarong, he can fall asleep in 1 min lor.. how ah??

Re: cereal
i like healthy times more than heinz... much tastier n smoother.. my bb like puree with the cereal.. if not he will reject the cereal after a few mouthful.. ;p

Re: food maker
jus bot pyo pyo food maker set.. kiddy palace 20% discount...

<font color="ff0066"> Chilipadi</font>
My gal now reads books... but is those ladybird easy reading types. Her England berry terok leh. Can't really read well... tats why end up fail. The 1.5yrs I send her for I Can Read enrichment all down the drain. Now hv to balek start with phonics again.

<font color="ff0066"> Lilian &amp; Jo</font>
Yah... nowadays the syllabus all berry tough. I really really regret not pushing my gal for enrichment classes earlier. I am actually those anti-enrichment class parent. Only want my gal to enjoy her childhood. Now really regret cos her peers are all way advance then her. They can all read and write so well. Average they all scoring 70 marks and above hor. So now we hv got to play catch up and build her foundation. Else by the time she goes to P2 will be too late. So lesson learnt. My #2 is now in K1 and will be starting her enrichment by end of this year. More $$$ flowing out liaoz. No wonder people always complaining tat having kids in SG is expensive. Of cos lor... in order to keep up with MOE and the rat race, we as parents gotta send them for enrichment classes and these are not cheap hor. Each costs me about $150+ per month. Imgaine... every month about $500-$600 are set aside for #1 enrichment only. If count in #2, then will be $1,000+ plus liaoz.

<font color="ff0066"> Chilipadi</font>
Heheheh... you got jacket in office boh? Or a shawl? Aiyohz... better tell your admin side tat they should cut down on air-con... save energy = save $$$ = more bonus for staffs. hahahahah....