(2008/11) November 2008

Carol: I got my at Kaki Bykit. $170 i tink is original, not sure how much other shops selling.

BABY TALKING
My baby has started to 'talk' not the gugu gaga type but more like sensible talking but just tt mummy dun understand! quite funny wor..haha...maciam adult like tt.

jo: that's quite little less than 500 ml...not sure if i try will baby take less milk but she quite tum jiak one everytime i eat her mouth will move non-stop. she grabs my cup and 'drinks' from the rim.

hi young mummies: sooo busy at work. no time to post.

so sad. only bibi & dreamyjo joining me to buy the foogo for free delivery. looks like i got to pick up all at cityhall meself.

taka baby fair sounds good but no time to go! so sad, & i am a taka member too at tt.

cannot remember whether anybody asked me anything. anyways, anybody else working in shenton way or living near me (serangoon, hougang) & wants to join us, pls sms me, ok? i'm in the nov mtb list.

welcome to the new mums. *blur* abt who's who now.

bear: i went to check.. hehe.. negative.. whew.. I telling myself am goin to see my gynae to find a good conceptive method..

BB sit up: haha.. mine too doing sit up.. so funny..

Thanks everyone! so that's sitting up! i thought he was having a tummy ache cos he was kinda grouchy. Plus he hasn't mastered flipping yet. thought he would flip first then sit up. he managed to sit up by himself for a second or 2 just now. I thought he was too young to sit up on his own!

Babyzel, Z is also playing with his saliva!! i changed one suit for him today already, plus 3 towels and one bib. he just keeps spitting his saliva out! drool monster!

bear: ur bb the hair alot hor? mine behind no hair, in front a lot.. till now havent grow out, so funny..

BB: My bb also drooling non-stop, wet so many shirts alr.. not only that, put everything on his hand into his mouth, if not his whole fist can go in. he also protest by screaming if i take something away from him.. haiz.. is amazed that he has so many progress but can be headache at times..

bear
your bb is trying to get up...my too...when i see your pic...i laugh immediately coz my boy sama sama haha....now my boy keep wanting to stand..u put him sit down for too long...he dont want liao...

i see your baby very stable ley...can sit on his own ho...my will slowly "tdieow" to the side...haha.... how i wish he can sit liao then i no need carry hinm liao...

dymples/any mummies
any idea whether those papaya puree or whatever puree, those self made one...can put in refrigerator over night and thawl and give to bb the next day or the day after?

Johnson and Johnson baby shampoo
Hey mummies...heard the news say J&J shampoo will cause cancer ...anyone got any more news on this? my bb on that ley...very very very worried...

Brands Essence chicken
this also got problem ley....anyone got any news??????? my family also take this ley....

Hello! How was Sunday for everyone??

Haru: Yup me also can't wait to count down to 6 mths to stop bf. Very stressful sigh.

Oh today very embarrassing incident on the bus. Baby was screaming and crying so loudly on the bus as he was a bit tired out. Sigh! A few passengers kept telling us to feed him with water?! I didnt want to say actually bf baby don't need. Me and hubby have to get down the bus eventually. We can joke abt it afterwards but we nearly wanted to bury ourselves in a hole on the bus...I guess only mummies can empathise haaa

SHOP4STUFF: last time received some emails on J&J products not sure the contents but something like tat, i use Sebamed for baby. its gd quality and gd for rashes. Sigh, nowadays food this cant eat tat cant eat ..quite bad.

PUREE
I have the heinz one so far everyone told me can't keep at most can keep 2 days. i believe home made ones are non additives so can thaw in freezer in sections.
glad: i think people would understand just tat sometimes outsiders get 'annoyed' with others screaming and crying...we would too if we hear someone else screams and cries..hehe but anyhow its parenthood, who cares. :p

lynn
today i go cold storage to stockup my huggies ultra coz finish liao...seems like their promo over liao...no more 14.30...anyway the cold storage i go also no stock....think now back to selling at 16.70 liao ley... then i forgot which diaper u say is good so i didnt buy....will go back to grab pampers active again...btw, pampers and huggies size sama sama?

i will go down taka to grab the huggies too....

Joyce
Thanks i will persevere and do the tummy exercise which lynn recommends....as for the sell thread...i cant post ley...

btw, i was watching a mtv and realised you look like the singer who came in 2nd from the taiwanese singing competition, Liang wen yin...hehe...did anyone tell u that?

Bear
you take care k...u really need more rest...

Mattress on the floor / fifi / mummies
I also 1 2 put him on mattress coz maid kept requesting as bb can sleep better on my bed but she scared when she take care, bb will fall off bed coz she needs to do housework too...but hubby and i worried if put on the floor, we may accidentaly stumble onto him ley...e.g. we didnt walk carefully, tripped and fall and crushed onto him...coz last time even on my bed..i get up to tilt the fan then i got back to the bed and my elbow lie on his palm and theres a crack sound...he cry and cry and cry...my hear so pain ley...and my hubby scold me like mad man...hhh....how huh?
Jo
your boy flip and flip liao huh? thats why scare fall off the bed is it? mine only can flip 1 time so not so scared yet but he keep "go stan" so also scared he will fall off too..and when hes on his back, he will keep kicking and he will move upwards so also scared fall off...wow sei..think our nightmare "lai liao"

blessed
you mean must put in freezer ah? i put in refrigerator only ley, still can give?

Glad:
That day when I was at KK for my BB's injection, Alyssa had some hiccups. Another mother told my maid (who was carring my BB) that my baby needs to drink water. My maid did not respond so the lady turned to me and told me that I have to give my baby some water. She was saying it in such a commanding tone so I was kinda pissed. I told her directly that I do not give water at all. Then she back off saying.. 'oh breastfed baby ah?'

Blessed11: Yah me and my hubby were trying to act nonchalant! Haa..now we wld be me tolerant of crying of other babies ;p

Fifi: Yup, old pple still dont realise do not need to give water..oh well...but i guess some have 'gd' intentions...

Fifi: Alamak! Didn't noe that soft-fit shields not meant for sterilising so often... no wonder it's e way they are now as i've been sterilising after each use! *faint* If i get the normal, non-soft-fit ones, does that mean i can sterlise after each use?

Yah, now i also considering putting playmat below mattress.. and maybe got to use pillows and stuff to create a 'border' around the mattress...

BEar: Zach looks really cute flexing his neck and trying to sit up!
I do understand what u mean by being happy looking at pump output.. after several days of increasing the no. of pumps a day, i also finally see an increase in ss... hahaha.. tired but happy la.. at least efforts and sleepless nights paid off! ;)

shop4stuffs: Accidentally stumbling onto bb on the floor is one of my big concerns too. I suppose it's not that bad in the daytime when we can see where we are going.. how about putting bb back into playpen/cot during his night sleep? In that way, won't have to worry about accidentally stepping on him. I also tried co-sleeping with bb once, but hubby and i so conscious about our sleeping position (coz dun wan to risk 'crushing' bb) that we didn't get much sleep ourselves! so it was back to e playpen for him at night...

Pumping at work: Mummies who are pumping at work, can share how you sterilise the pump parts? Is it sufficient to wash with bb detergent and then use sterilising tablet? So far i only noe of pigeon sterilising tablets.. any other options? Also, think i'll have to get one of those lock-and-lock containers to keep the parts... but not sure which capacity i should get?

And... Thinking of the fact that i'm going back to work officially next week and have to leave bb at infantcare... i'm suffering from separation anxiety liao.. haiz..... think it affects e mum more than bb...

gladglad,
totally understand how u feel. other people especially the older ones will always think they know e baby more than the parents and offer all kinds of advice. my neighbourhood people always do it. eg. "you should shave her hair", "you should wrap her up more", "you should....blah blah blah". but at e end of the day, we are the parents and we know our baby best, so just gotta learn to smile and ignore. but recently i have been more bold and just tell e person straight in e face "no, i do not intend to/do not do that" (FULL STOP) no need to explain myself.

favoured,
i actually not another sterilizer to put in office(the avent microwave one) to save me hassle. in fact start to feel its better than my other avent sterilizer, coz the plug is giving me so much prob! always get switched off midway thru sterilizing. i end up watchin it like a hawk now when i use it to make sure e sterilizing cycle is complete. sigh..

favoured - regarding seperation anxiety, I cried the day before I return back to work!! Cant bear to leave him and go back to work. I can now understand why some woman rather quit their job to take care of bb full time.

Taka fair
Wah lau eh, so many babies and pregnant woman when I went on Sat...keke...its quite a sight, cause the whole of taka is flooded with babies and preggies. The nursary on the 3rd flr is packed and noisy. Cant imagine the breastfeeding room. I spent $300+ there, bought a automatic swing, slow cooker and thermal flask, quite worth to buy cause all got 10% discount. Happy with what I bought! Quite a splurge, but I told my hubby its all for bb and he got nothing to say...keke...

Guess wat? I spent my last wkend at KKH.
My girl kena UTI (urinary tract infection) and was hospitalised for 3 days.
Discharged yest liao but still have to take antibiotic medication for 7+wks ! My poor girl

She started having fever on Wed nite. Fever up and down after taking panadol. On Thurs nite we felt her shivering so quickly send her to KKH.
When arrive at KKH, her temp was 40.2degC!!!
Damn heartpain to see her on splint and a tube poked to her blood vessel on her foot.

So mummies... no matter how absorbant your diaper is, do remember to change it regularly even though it is not full yet.
For baby girl, must wipe from front to back
AND very impt, buy hospital insurance for your babies!

Favoured:
Yes normal hard ones can sterilise after each use. Won't go out of shape.

When my daughter is cranky, I do allow her to sleep with me for part of the night. I will use a bolster on 1 side of her so that my hubby does not roll over her and fit her into the curves of my body on the other side. I am a light sleeper so I can sleep even though I am quite aware of her presence. Only problem is when she's not asleep, she refuses to allow me to sleep too. She will punch and kick me till I give her attention. So when she does that, I will put her in a rocker where she can entertain herself with the toys and gradually rock herself to sleep.

lilian,
is your girl ok already? you must be very tired.. must take care of yourself also. I thought bb boy are more prone to UTI, din know bb girl also.

bibi
she's ok now. Still waiting for her blood test results to confirm her blood stream not infected. Got to bring her for ultrasound scan some time later too.
Actually girls are more prone coz of their shorter urinary tract.... below from babycenter:
"About 8 percent of girls and 2 percent of boys will have at least one urinary tract infection (UTI) during childhood."

Lilian> hope your baby is better now. I read that gals are more prone to UTI than baby boys. My colleague's daughter got UTI when she was about 1 year old. it's due to lack of constant changing of diapers. I think cheap diapers might not be a good choice, especially for bb gals. My chinese sinseh told me that it's not advisable to save on diapers coz chances of UTI is very high. Do take care!

Bear> my boy also doing the head lifting action. i cant keep his head flat down while in the car seat everyday! he's crawling out of the car seat all the time! grrr..r..r.. cant keep him still on the bed too. he always flip and sometimes when stuck (coz he cant flip back) in the position, he cries! hahhahaha

Lilian
wah 40dc tts v high... glad to hear she's better now =) Yes i bot hospitalization plan even before my bb turned a mth old.. its an impt mus get plan..

Amooks
long time u no log in wor
My gal started her flippingsssss yesterday hehee..

been busy for a while and havent joined in the chat.

Lillian: Hope your little gal will fully reciver soon.

UTI: Will boys get it?? How do we know if he/she has it??

Johnson & Johnson: I briefly saw the news on TV but dunno the details...what is it abt huh?

Joyce: the avent bottles trade in can be for the BPA free ones?

Co-sleeping: actually i co sleep with my baby every night and i want to train him to sleep on his own on the cot but dunno how. any ideas?

Car seat: Anyone bought a car seat already? from 4mths to 4yrs old type. went taka fair to have a look but cant decide what is good.

Diapers: i miss the earlier posts....is huggies good? better than mammypoko??

peanut> hehehhe, ya man, i got nothing to contribute leh, so didnt post much mah. sigh, now flipping baby is also problem.

fruche, thanks...

UTI:
For many babies, an unexplained fever is the only symptom. About 5 percent of babies and toddlers who have a fever without other symptoms have a UTI
In some cases, a baby may show other symptoms — with or without a fever — including:

• Crying or another indication that urination is painful
• Odd-smelling urine
• Cloudy or bloody urine
• Unexplained, persistent irritability
• Vomiting
• Refusal to eat

Sitting up:
Hello mummies, it's exciting to see your babies trying to sit up on their own right? Recently my baby is also always trying to push herself up by flexing her neck muscles. Sometimes when she's lying down,she'll bring her head and legs up to try and get up from the lying down position. Quite cute to watch.

Changing of diapers:

I know it's not good to let the baby wear the same diaper for too long but what happens when they are sleeping at night? Do i wake her up to change diapers? My baby is a light sleeper like me so if i change her diaper, she'll definitely wake up. She's started to sleep through the night a month ago already from 7pm to 8am. I've been debating this diaper changing thing with myself for some time now.

Shopforstuffs:
Actually most shampoo/body wash got the cancer causing chemical - SODIUM LAURETH SULFATE not just in J&J. As long as u look for for the ingredients of the product that is w/o the above mentioned is fine liao. I am using california calming shampoo & bodywash. almost all organic baby products dun have that chemical.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sodium_lauryl_ether_sulfate#Health_Impacts

Lilian,
Hope ur baby will get well soon. UTI is already a torture to me when i got it, let alone a little baby. TAke care.

Haru,
Now tat u mentioned, my avent sterilizer plug also got problem. Kinda loose and cannot connect properly to the power. I didn't even watch the whole sterilizing cycle to make sure it's complete.

Fruche,
I bought my combi cocorro carseat but not at the fair. It's quite ex come to think of it but bobian it's so pretty in pink tat i can't resist and it looks more compact and not bulky.

Favoured,
I am using baby washing liquid to wash off the milk oil then use pigeon tablet and soak in lock n lock box. I use half a tablet only cos the smell of the tablet is quite strong. Alternatively, i got the medela microwave bag and after washing i will put the pumps in it and use microwave to sterilize.

favour
hard to say daytime we wont trip lo...accident happen anyway and anytime rite...so scare we suai suai just trip n fall how...i ever read bb hand or leg fractured due to adult carelessness i.e. they break bb... so very poor thing 1 ley if really happen as they only know how to cry and dont know how to say pain or where pain etc ley...

lilian
wow 40 very high ho..very heartpain ho..luckily u gave him immediate attention...see pd is the best liao whenever bb is sick coz really duno whether serious or not rite... thanks for sharing, i learnt something again

initially i tell maid, wet or not wet must chg diaper at every feed. then felt heartpain so just 1 week ago, i told maid no full dun chg...im using huggies so very absorbent...but think better chg and dont save on it....

Fruche : car seat
Im using combi cocorro...the cheapest for infant till 4yrs old...its very light...and very cushioned...comes with combi egg protector cushion too...not very sure how much coz its a gift from friend...think about 400 ba

babyzel
thanks for the info...i will go see see...

blessed11,
if ur gal's milk intake has been good then shldnt b a problem. My boy dun really drink de ... thats why I dun wan give rice-based cereals first. Wait till he has a better appetite then I will give him semi-solid food.

lilian,
poor gal .. hope she is feeling better now.

bb flip:
After my boy flipped tummy down on his own nowadays, he can rotate himself almost 360degrees, I guessed he pushed himself against the bed and move. I left him on the bed where my hb was there on his notebook and when I return back to my room and realise eh he rotated himself haha ... but hb so engrossed in his stuffs till he also dunnoe.

change diaper:
Change diaper 4-5hrly interval is okay? Or do I have to change diaper after his every 3hrly feed?

shop4stuffs:
i agree with you, accidents can happen anytime. My colleague's 7 mth old son just broke his arm cos he was sitting on the maid's lap when he slipped off and the maid tried to grab his arm to prevent the fall. So the poor baby is not in a cast and crying all the time.

waterbaby
so poor thing ho...ai yo...maid always carry him on her lap ley..but she always sit on the floor 1 la...hardly on chair...unless outside...else if at home (whoevers home) she will sit on the floor..shes those dun 1 2 sit on the chair 1, agency teach 1, even eating also must b in kitchen etc

hi babyzel: do u work near international plaza? me trying to co-ordinate a delivery of the food jars. do u mind sms-ing me? i've PM u.

lilian, bear: what happened??? u guys take care, ok?

so busy. & my luke has got one tooth already! can't believe it, right? gerard is also in the process of popping one. cross my fingers tt nobody sick comes near them these few weeks. when ig was teething, he caught a bad infection & had hi fever for 3 days.

oh yah. gerard is so funny. he already learnt to flip since 2.5 mths. but he got bored after doing it few times so stopped. now rachel is happily flipping so he watched her do it & now start to flip again. but he gets angry after flipping onto his back cos he can't get back on his tummy. so he shouts & shouts till somebody turns him back onto tummy. then he immediately flips onto back again & shouts & shouts etc. over & over again.

mummies all have a good week, ok?

shop4stuffs,
my maid also dun sit down on chair except outdoors. Even in the kitchen having her lunch/dinner, either she stand or she squat down .. dun even sit on the floor leh ... think her squatting kungfu v good. Haha.

shop4stuffs, jo:
my maid is different from yours then...when she's carrying the baby, she'll plant herself on the sofa and watch TV. This doesn't happen all the time though and usually it's when we're having dinner and my baby fusses so we'll need someone to carry her.

jo
ya lo my either sit or squat too...think they are used to it...those prc chinese also got very good squatting kongfu...maybe the mummy,cant remember the pretty mummy's name-the one whose bb is big & chubby at the gathering at hogs breathe, can correct me if im wrong...

jo so guess we are abit safer on this...must tell maid always must wrap both arms around bb when sitting on her lap..

Mummies' Gathering:

Date: 20th Mar (This Fri)
Time: 7pm (Dinner + KTV Session), Buffet at KTV still available?
Venue: Cineleisure KTV

1) peanut
2) jo
3) Maria

Who else?

shop4stuffs,
talking abt maid ... how it relates to one of the pretty mummy?
All also pretty mummies and bignchubby babies at the gathering leh. Hehe.

Jo
umm?? tot below was the last update??

Date: This Fri 20th Mar
Time: 7pm (Dinner & Ktv)
Venue: Cineleisure

1. Peanut
2. Jo
3. Sabre
4. Maria
5. Jenn
6. Shop4stuffs
7. Alibaba (u stil ok for this Fri??)

hi bear!!your bb Z so cute!! my boy also like to sit up like this with both legs extended.. he even loves to stand up.. =)
my boy still dunno how to flip yet.. but when i place him by the side he will turn to his tummy.. hehe..

wah!!the mummies here so onz.. gathering with bb?or just mummies gathering? =)

Bear
gurp..!! zach's arms so ba ba one.. tsk tsk.. Does he belong to the tan side? or was it the lightings.. My gal gal not fair one.. a bit orr lu lu.. Frankly speaking she stil looks v much like a baby boy.. so sad.. majiam tomboy

Gal.dolphin
tsk tsk.. mummy nia lah.. ktv with babies tink they'll cry louder than our singing,, u wan join?