(2008/11) November 2008

<font color="ff0066"> shop4stuffs</font>
Hi babe. Yes.. yes. Need to get a separate grinder for bb. This is especially if you had also used your old grinder to mash chilli, garlic, onions and other strong smelling vegetables, herbs or spices. For pot, no need to get new one. But if you are looking to do so, preferably get those small small types. This way, if you cook porridge or vegetables, will also help to prevent it from getting burnt easily.

yoyosan,
thanks! i will give that a try. coz i normally off e main power before taking motor out.=P

gladglad,
sometimes its just that ur breasts prob reacts better to baby than pump. i think i am like u too.

Re: grinder and baby food
i feel so clueless bout introducing semi solids and preparation of the food!! but i tried puttin a piece of papaya on bb's lip, and she lick lick, very cute..

Re: Dex Dura Bib
If International plaza selling $7.90, definitely cheaper than buy from US. Can consider. Even if from factory outlet, as long as it serves its purpose and the material is ok (i.e. not harmful) can liaoz.

Heya,

Shop4stuff, sorry i didn't see ur msg. didn't check the prices for u.

Happywifey, i think the fair is for new mummies and newborns mostly. nothing much for us.
i just got some Avent teats (cheapest i can find in S'pore), some toys for Zach and some slpsuits. That's all.

Keep on pumping ya? if its any gd news, u usually have twice the amt u can express in ur boobs at least.
that means u do have enough for ur bb. also give urself some time to get used to the pump.

Alibaba, yes u can freeze the milk u pump in the office.

Haru, the blocks are prob causing ur lower output in the affected breast. I have lopsided breasts too but the difference isn't as pronounced as urs. My left is consistently producing 10-30ml more than my right.
if u clear ur blocks i m sure u will be able to pump more out.

Glad_gal, hrmm wat pump u using? could it be a mechanical prob?? i really have no idea leh.. cos mine recovered nicely today *finger cross*. could it be becos u are not achieving let down? this happened to me today. its the first time i pumped at a shopping centre so i was very stressed that somebody will come barging in (Plaza Sing's nursing room has no lock and no hot water). i pump and pump only 110ml despite it being a 4hrs interval since i last pumped. my fren later came into the nursing room to chat with me and aft 2 mins i had a letdown and managed to achieve 150ml. The same thing happened to me when i went back to office! I was happily pumping away and got 130ml when someone knocked on the door! No choice, i had to share the nursing room with a stranger and immed i couldn't even get 5ml of milk out.. simply no letdown at all.. that pump was a pathetic 140ml. but when i came home, i managed to get 190ml for 4 hrs interval. I could feel that there was milk inside me but simply couldn't get it out cos i wasn't achieving let down.. may be u could look at Greg's photos while pumping?

Bear,
thanks. seems so hard to clear e blocks..i can squeeze and massage until hands sore still blocked. then its just waiting for next latch for bb to clear it for me. hehe...

shop4stuffs: thanks, but i no citibank, kinda weird they tie up with only 1 bank.

haru: my baby oso my dad go and put a peach on her lips she lick and lick so happy, but i wont introduce fruits first as someone here mentioned to introduce bland food first, otherwise wait dun want bland food.

Haru: Maybe..but nvr had this prob b4. Previously had no prob with both latching and pumping. That's why puzzling..

Bear, using PIS. Hmm dont think it's faulty leh, but will check it again. Haa I don't think I can ever pump outside in shoppg centre!! Will be too stressful. Always will look of his photo when I m pumpg but doesnt work. But thks anyway...just hope can get some 'clue' from the LC.

Can't wait for bb to hit 6 mths, then at least not so stressed abt thinking if have enough BM!
Can also start on solids...

haru,bear,dymples,happywifey,
i have lopsided breast also. Left side 250ml right side only 50ml every 6 hourly. Try to let Kayan latch right side more often already. Sian
even my colleague noticed that.

glad_gal,
my boy have outgrown 's' and 'm'. currently using 'L'. My boy seems to be one of the bigger one weighting 8kg at 12 weeks.

Dymples
Thanks...i went to mustafa to get it liao ...just got back...got a small kenwood one..the 1 i have at home think also kenwood and it really smashed until very fine..but no more liao..maybe discontinued...so i get another model...2morow try see fine or not... as for pot think i will use the small corning ware which i hardly use since you say small one...hmmm...really gd advice from you, else really dont know ...thanks expert mummy

bear
no problem...

Bibs
If IP got sell, then maybe we can get babyzel to just get it for us la...how babyzel?

glad glad
ya lo...but i duno the price of the pull up pants la...so maybe cheaper by few cents so not really worth for me to travel all the way down for that lo coz i dun really have anything to buy there...

except thinking of getting the BabySafe bolster for my boy coz currently i gave him those normal fibre bolster i find it no gd coz those fibre starts to come out ...like those soft toy fibre...hhh...previously just grab in taka fare those pillow and bolster set...so tin gonna throw it away liao..i got the babysafe pillow the other time but never thought that bolster have such prob 2 coz bolster will reach bb mouth and he tends to put in mouth...so gotta change liao

Ya, now then i remember to ask....You know where i can post to sell clothes? All my jacket suits (mostly from G2000) cannot wear liao la....many so heartpain to give away/throw.... even if i sell 1 suit for $70 also better than nothing lo....

any mummy having such problem that all pre-preg clothes cant wear liao huh....i so heart pain ley...till now then i take out try thou i know tummy still big but thought i gave it a try..but hhh....*sob sob*....even hips so big too....maid kept asking me bind my hips n tummyy....hhh...regretted and hate my rashes la...."TIAN AH"....

Babyzel,
If they have it would b great! I will try to c if other website is selling cheaper as i really dunno how much is selling in SG, is it ok that u help us get though, we got so many maybe can negotiate for a even better price??

Dex Dura Bibs!
Please state if u wan large or small ones.
Small ones for 3 - 12 months Price: USD$5.90
Large ones for 9 to 24 months Price: USD$6.95

http://www.dexproducts.com/products_feeding_dbs.htm

1. Milderina x 2 bibs - 1 small + 1 large
2. Maria x 2 bibs -1 small + 1 large
3. Babyzel x 1 bib small
4. Favoured x 2 bibs - 1 small + 1 large
5. kare2711 x 2 bibs - 1 small + 1 large
6. Bear x 2 bibs - 1 small + 1 large
7. sherline x 2 bibs - 1 small + 1 large
8. Happydays x 1 bib small
9. shortgal x 1 - 1 large
10. peanut x 2 - 2 small
11. yoyosan x 2 - 1 small + 1 large
12. shop4stuffs x 1 large
13. alibaba x2 - 1 small + 1 large
14. Joyce x 1 bib - Large
15. Krystel x2 - 1 small + 1 large

Total: 14 Small (14 x $5.90) + 12 Large (12 x $6.95) = USD$166.00

Shopforstuffs,Milderina,
No problem, i can go IP and check and if they bringing in can negotiate for better price ba. Will keep mummies posted. Can save $$$, why not right?

shop4stuff:
I think is very good la.. I initally use it for quite sometime. then i find too ex, then i change to mamypoko. then i saw the sales, i faster buy back. good buy.. can last very long, more than 6 hours.. plus my son scare hot one, i feel mamy poko is too cushioned, he always perspired. this one is thinner, with the resealable sticker, and good absorbent! can try..

Bibi: my breast also loopsided..i damn lazy to pump the other side. my bb can only drink one side.. i ever try to switch to feed the other side, but somehow he don like.. like the taste of the milk is different.. he drink till like vomitting.. haha... my friends also notice it too.. i put extra padding on that breast.. but i think the loopside one will shrink back to the same size once we stopped breastfeeding bah..

shop4stuff:
I think u are not fat la.. cause some of my clothing i also cannot wear, can zip up.. i think is the breast too big.. maybe u wan to give urself more time? tummy? i wonder which mummies no tummy.. i also got tummy loi... i bind up still also got tummy.. so doesnt matter, n don feel regret.. my gynae, teach me one thing to tighten ur tummy. he say, suck in ur tummy and squeeze tight whenever u are sitting down or waiting to cross the traffic light.. breathe in and hold in ur tummy as long as u can.. but keep breathing la.. then u released it until u can.. u will realised, ur tummy muscles aching.. then been u have work it out.. gynae also say helps ur posture.. have been trying for months, did feel my pants looser.. my pre-pregnancy pants can wear alr. in the beginning is damn tights, pant like the tights.. si bei sian.. try it!! don be sad ya.. jia you

its e weekend!! i have decided i will use some of my frozen EBM for foot spa. can use it chilled for foot spa? my freezer really no space already. just have to keep e faith that i will still have enough stock to meet her demand for the coming months. =P

lynn
thanks thanks...think this exercise is so much easier ...at times i lie down and lift my leg up but find it hard ley...maybe my elephant leg too heavier haha...gd this is gd and easy....anywhere also can do....now while typing...my tummy is sucked in...and still breathing and not panting haha

babyzel
thank you so much...love you many many... *muck muck*

can i join in to this thread?my bb was born on 24.11.08.
anyone's bb is near to tis date? =)

I went to taka fair yesterday, nothing much though but if u have taka card then worth buying avent bottles coz got additional 10% off!

<font color="ff6000"><font size="+1">Dex Dura Bibs! </font></font>
Please state if u wan large or small ones.
Small ones for 3 - 12 months Price: USD$5.90
Large ones for 9 to 24 months Price: USD$6.95

http://www.dexproducts.com/products_feeding_dbs.htm

1. Milderina x 2 bibs - 1 small + 1 large
2. Maria x 2 bibs -1 small + 1 large
3. Babyzel x 1 bib small
4. Favoured x 2 bibs - 1 small + 1 large
5. kare2711 x 2 bibs - 1 small + 1 large
6. Bear x 2 bibs - 1 small + 1 large
7. sherline x 2 bibs - 1 small + 1 large
8. Happydays x 1 bib small
9. shortgal x 1 - 1 large
10. peanut x 2 - 2 small
11. yoyosan x 2 - 1 small + 1 large
12. shop4stuffs x 1 large
13. alibaba x2 - 1 small + 1 large
14. Joyce x 1 bib - Large
15. Krystel x2 - 1 small + 1 large
16. Linglun x2 - 1 small + 1 large

just came back from the taka fair.. so crowded! couldnt move around properly with baby in sling. some mummies were interested in the $98 maclaren stroller? the model is Daytripper, for 6mths to 5yrs old.

bear,
thanks for the encouragement
will just give her what i can, shall try not to stress myself out, some BM is still good
can i ask, how do u sterilise yr pump parts in the office?

lynn,
is pampers active the same range as the S size 3-8kg, yellow packaging one? i find that my baby's poopoo keeps leaking out leh, dunno why
so ended up using mamy poko most of the time, tho i like the pee indicator for pampers

Glad_gal, i hope u fig ur prob soon.. if ur SS still low today, u shd talk to Parentcraft. don't let it turn into something permanent.

Dolphin gal, welcome. My boy and Krystel's bb were borned on the same day as urs!

Happywifey, no worries! i understand how u feel. i rem when i started pumping exclusively, i was in tears almost everyday cos i was so bloody tired. i had gd frens who sms-ed me in the middle of the night to cheer on me.
heh.. so now i m cheering on you!
i bring my own baby detergent and then use boiling water (my lab got kettle) to pour over my pumps. I store my pump parts in a Lock Lock box. I then let it soak until the next pump.

Wah i feeling super dizzy today.. almost passed out when i was doing grocery shopping.

lynn,
I wear pre-preggie bottoms go out and if one time I suddenly release my tummy then my bottoms button go off or what how? haha.
*crazy* liaoz

shop4stuff: i can wear all my pre pregnancy clothes now all even looser as i lost more weight compared to pre pregnancy, i had 5 days massage after delivery and i also applied ru yi oil..

bb flip,
My bb is now 4.5mths old and has flipped on his own. Cannot leave him alone on the bed, even for 5secs le.

Bear,
u really in tears initially? Mother's love is really unconditional..
Why u nearly passed out? Must be the lack of zzz.. Sometimes i experience too, that's y i try to catch 1 or 2 hours of nap in the afternoon everyday, otherwise will be feeling really exhausted! So how many hrs of sleep u get everyday?

Blessed,
ru yi oil will help in firming tummy? If yes, i would love to try

shop4stuffs,
u can post it at want to sell thread.. Dun be sad, just exercise more, but also must watch out your diet at the same time, and also determination lor.. With all these, i am sure u will shred the extra inch soon. Me too, some of my pre-pregnancy pants/jeans especially also cannot fit.. But happy that i manage to PULL up one of my jeans today!

Lynn,
Me too, find the breast too big and thus some of the top can't wear at all! If wear, will show unbalanced shape.

Jo,
I also dun dare to leave my bb on bed without blocking her.. Sekali fall down then i will be deeply regret. Sometimes i will place her in playpen and she will flip immediately!

Haru,
can! But if warm up (boil) will better, cause warm water will soften all the cuticles and u can scrap after soaking!

Just back from Isetan, they are having sales too. There is this trade in bottle and get Avent bottles at 30% discount. But i only know when i go today.. so didnt bring any bottles. Think is a good deal right? cause most of the time is only 20% discount only.

hi Joyce,
I trade in my Avent bottles.2 old bottles for 2 new bottles... 125ml cost ard $12.10 &amp; 260ml cost ard $12.80.quite gd deal.. can trade in ur old bottles.. =) the trade in is still on going so no worries. =)

Jo, Joyce, no idea leh.. i was fine until i got to NTUC, then everything became very bright and the world started spinning. I m still taking my fish oil only.. Last night, i slpt at 2am aft pumping at 1am then woke up at 5am to pump. Z woke up at 6am, then dun wanna slp liao.. play with him until 7am before i told my hb i cannot take it liao. wkends really no time to nap cos usually Z won't slp longer than 1 hrs and we are rushing to run our errands.

Joyce, ya i was in tears almost everyday, esp when hb left me to go to work. I hated him leaving me alone with CL and bb cos i was so tired. kept asking my frens if i shd give up bf-ing..

Dolphin gal, my boy is trying to flip.. hands still get stuck under his chest. I have already gone back to work but i think Krystel is a SAHM, i'm not too sure.
why?

bear,
You have been doing very well so far ... and I'm sure you can continue bf-ing till Z is 6mths old. Try to get someone help you take care of bb so that you can get rest ... either ur hb or ur maid. You need more rest badly.

Hi mommies, thank God it's the weekend!!!

Bear - you feeling better? Think you have not been getting enough sleep. Waking up to pump at 4 hrly interval is really no mean feat. I only managed to tahan one day then cannot take it liao. Now pumping about 4.5-5 hr interval so doing 5 pumps per day. Jia you!

Unbalanced ss - me also having some issue of big-small boobs. My right always yields about half of what my left can produce. If got blocks sure can feel one right? Dunno why I dun feel any blocks but somehow cannot increase the ss on the right. Then hor, when i pump, i alternate starting on right/left first... if i start on left first for pump 1 and right first for pump 2, the output for left is definitely more for pump 1 than pump 2. Is that normal?

Pre-preg clothes - damn sian ah... all still cannot wear ah... think my hips and thighs are still the size of an elephant.. either pull until thigh area then cannot ascend anymore, or can ascend all the way to the summit but then cannot button... Warao.... @_@

Flipping - baby can flip from back to tummy down position without getting hands stuck liao. Bear, think Zach will soon be able to flip without stucked hands. They do figure it out quite fast... maybe when his hands are stuck, you can slowly withdraw it for him from under his chest.. then after repeating a few times, he will get it liao.

happywifey - i used to have the problem with poo leaking when i used pampers... then i realised it's becoz the cutting too big for bb so if bb kicks alot after pooing.. then it tends to leak... no issue with mamy poko though coz the cutting at the thigh area is smaller compared to pampers.

Lynn - gonna try your hold in tummy method to slim down! Else i think i'll always look like i'm 4-5 months preggie!

Medala PIS pump - mummies using this pump, do u encounter problems with the plastic of the breastshield somewhat 'melting' in the sense that it's a bit wrinkled at certain areas? Mine seems to have this problem. I thot pump parts can tahan high temperatures one rite? Dunno why mine got this problem... think got to get new breastshields oredi. But want to know what's possibly causing the problem so that hopefully it won't happen again.

Mummies who went to taka baby fair... care to share if there are any discounts for medala pump parts? I need to get e breastshields by next weekend b4 i return to work... thanks!

Mattress - need to get some advice from fellow mummies here... my in-laws are helping to take care of bb on sats... now that my boy can flip, they are concerned that he may fall off the bed and was asking us to buy a mattress (e.g. seahorse foldable type) to let him sleep on the floor. But i'm very concerned about bb sleeping on the mattress on the floor coz the tiles are usually quite cold plus if he flip and flip then will also end up on the floor rite? If that happens, he may knock his forehead/nose/etc on the floor also. Went to kiddly palace to check out mattress with 'barrier' at the sides and the only one they have is quite ex.. about $119 after discount. So now wondering if there is any alternative to this.... Apart from playpen/cot/single mattress... any other options?

happywife: the yellow package is for new born..pamper active is the next range i think start from M if I am not wrong.. But no indicator alr.. But the absorbent i think is good.. My baby got jumbo thigh, he now using L Size.. hehe...

Jo and flavoured: U guys are so funny!!haha.. mine too. when i wear a too tight shorts, i sit down i realise my zip goes down... haha... what to do? cant diet now, i don want my breastmilk to be non nutrious for baby.. we just wait when bb reach 6 mth for porridge, i going to wean him off...

blessed11: GOOD QUESTION!! when to wean and how? i nite time still breastfeed bb, i heard quite difficult to wean bb off if he likes the breast better (which mine like my breast)... my friend's bb is himself don want.. haiz...

Missed Period: Die, i have missed my period 1 day.. had started the intimate part alr.. will the 2nd period not be on the dot?! i going to faint if am pregnant again.. but i don have any symptoms.. usually i have diarrohea first if my menses is coming...

breastfeeding and *touchwood* pregnant: still have milk? and if *touchwood* reali pregnant, can still breastfeed?

Favoured:
Once you start work, I thik your hips will contract. I am heavier than pre-preg still but my pre-preg jeans feel loose liaoz (was also abit loose pre-preg). I was hoping to keep some of the weight but my weight seems to be going down still.

Are you using soft-fit shields? These shields are not meant to be sterilised more than once a day coz they are soft. Juz run thru hot water after use.

I intend to train my baby to sleep on mattress too. So fair she's not keen. She loves my bed too much but I'm also worried that she'll fall off. If you worried about cold floor tiles, maybe put playmat below the mattress? So that if he roll off, he'll be on the playmat?

me very very naughty..ate a whole plate of fried nian gao just now, followed by durians!! oh no..keep telling myself gotta eat healthy for sake of baby's milk. sigh..what a terrible mummy. always give in to temptation!!

Lynn,
did u use protection?? haha, dun worry too much. sometimes e more u think, the later it will come. =P

re:intro semi solids
does this mean that baby will slowly have lower intake of milk? think i better start to read up about introducing semi solids phase. like how to go about doin it and a rough guide on amt of semi solids to give, etc..

favoured,
i am like u!! always stuck at the hips area. think my butt def is more fleshy now.haha..but stil can't fit in some of my fav fitting bermudas, etc. all my skinny jean can fit liao.

Bear,
ya, i also tend to count down to the minimum mark of 6months. i think once hit 6 months, the pressure will be off our shoulders and we will just be able to really take it easy and enjoy every extra day that we are able to BF. =>

Breastfeeding>
I stopped because of stress &amp; most of it stemmed from marital problems...now I regret. =( So I really really peifu all the mummies here who are breastfeeding because it is not easy indeed! So don't put too much pressure on yourselves!

Pre-pregnant clothes>
Me too! Can't fit nicely into all my clothes... Sometimes feel like I look horrid in everything.. self-confidence also bit low recently.

happywifey>
Bout sizing for huggies ultra, my gal is wearing S still, but bit tight. She wears mamy poko size S, just nice for now. Maybe you can try M? Or see the weight for the sizing then decide? =)

Happy Sunday Mummies!

Haru,
I have tried rice-based cereals for my boy and I realise his milk intake of milk is quite low during that few days. So I stopped for now. That period, I think he is drinking <500ml of milk a day.

Maria,
Cant wait for you to join us at gym coming wk ... in few mths time, we 3 can fit into pre-preggie clothes.

Gd morning!

Thanks for ur concern.. Feeling a bit better this morning although slp wise i didn't get much again. bleah.. i shd take a day off a wk to recover man..

Jo, my maid don't touch Z at all. At most she helps to carry him while I'm pumping. Otherwise, hb and I take care of him by ourselves. Hb does the last and first feed everyday so he can catch abt 5hrs of solid block of slp. Since i have to wake up and pump, i do the soothing and any other night feeds (if he needs it) lor. no pt 2 of us getting tired lor. but really lah the night pumpings are killing me.

Favoured, haha i just need to look at my output to feel happy lor. 4hrly now can yield me abt 170-180ml consistently liao, which is a 10-20ml increase from the last time. really worth it.. back to expressing abt 1.2L a day so i have 200ml to store again. It is def worth it! I can't help u with ur alternate pumping cos i use a dual pump but one reason why ur left produce more milk when u start with ur left breast (i hope i got it right) is becos when ur right breast gets a letdown, ur left breast also gets one.

Re: flipping
Nah i'm not too worried abt him flipping yet. he is only 3 mths 3 wks tmr.. most bbs flip abt 4mths and that is considered early liao. I just let him grow at his own pace lor.

Blessed, WHO (World Health Organisation) recommends bf-ing for a min of 6 mths. Introduction if solids shd be aft 6 mths. Otherwise u shd bf for as long as u can.

Lynn, its possible that our period won't resume regularly for a few mths. if u are worried, take a pregnancy test. Ur questions abt being pregnant and wanting to bf can be found at this link. http://www.kellymom.com/bf/tandem/index.html

Haru, yups aft 6 mths i will def feel lighter... not so worried.. then i can wean him off whenever i want.

Maria, how come bf-ing caused marital probs? ur hb dun want u to bf?

Hey mummies, can any of u tell me wat's Z doing in this photo??? he has been doing this everday since last Wed..
2251699.jpg

bear: My baby does this action when lying down she is trying to poo, at looks of it, your baby is trying to get up on his own. So cute!

Bear - yepps, my Joan also lidat.. practicing to sit upright, so their neck and spine muscles will slowly become stronger.

Bear,
My gal has been doing this very often too. They are learning to sit up. Like Alyssa, my Rachelle also can sit off the pillow for few seonds. Very cute and funny to see them struggling to lift their head off the pillow.

My gal is learning to blow bubbles and playing around with her saliva... She will "bu bu" till all the mouth got saliva bubbles.

Bear,

Jadon have been doing that for a week le, but he still didnt manage to sit up straight on his own...keke...

Baby Bjorn,
Any mummy can tell me where to get this one cheaper?? I borrowed my sis de and its really nice and Jadon enjoy himself so much sitting on it. I want to get one for him!!