(2008/11) November 2008

baby23 - yes I am still expressing. Going to at least bf my bb for 6 months.

BB feeding
Jadon getting more and more scary le, last night he drank 210ml of FM and he woke up at 3am and cry for milk!!! Normally 170ml of FM will be able to last him till 4am, but suddenly he woke up at 3am this morning. Think I should slowly start him on the cereal le, the milk does not seems to satisfy him now. Very tum1 jiat4!!

Carol: Wah your bb really can eat!!! i told my parents and they were horrified!! Not horrified at your baby's diet....but horrified that my baby eats so little compared to yours!! Now my dad trying to increase bit by bit.

But I also a bit worried...cos my ss not very good to start with...if my bb drinks like yours, sure not enough.

mosh,
oic, tot u r msian. are you SAHM?

alibaba,
does ur baby always cry? mine seldom leh,don't know why, tot baby must cry more to grow. everytime when she refuse to drink milk,she will keep on baby talking, and when she is sleepy,is will keep screaming her head off,weird baby. my maid said she feel so easy taking care of her,but i found that she always wants to sit up and wants pple to talk to her.

carol,
i stop expressing after going back to work,as it is very inconvient to pump at work, and i realised that my ss getting lesser nowadays, bobian.i'm thinking of bf her till she is 4mths. wah, your baby really a big drinker. my girl the most can drink is 160ml.

Jo..
mine fluctuates depending on our dear princess's mood lor.. can be as high as 700+ml or ever hit a low 400ml.. But these few days hovering ard 600ml.. Earlier on we tried putting some rice cereals into her milk, she does drink but seems like she fusses more when drinking that compared to full milk.. so i told my mil to stop that liao.. Wil try spoonfeeding her instead this weekend but wil not count it as 1 feed becos purpose is jus to train her bit by bit on solid food. How many scoop of cereal u giving him for that feed? I hear your case a bit gia gia to start her on solid.. secally she prefers solid and rejects milk even more -_-.. urs like e cereals v much?

Haiz.. seems like my bb's stranger anxiety worsen lately.. Other than my own family members, these few nites my FIL carry her she also scream!!!! piangz.. dunoe issit becos she sees him the least in the family thus also starting to mosheng liao.. v mafan one lei this baby, always makes me worry

baby: No offence but i thot diaries meant to be personal, how come ur mIL reads maid dairy?

maid and phones:
I gave my maid my sony ericcson fone she very happy the fone not ex, better now for me so she can settle her own phone cards, which I am getting for her now.

When maids performance is good its ok tor eward them but lousy, can forget about giving fone..

wonder if u al heard abt baby's sign language?? can start tt as early as 6mths.. and they may be able to pick up within a mth or so.. Before they learnt how to speak, tot it might be a good idea to at least know what they wan by using signs.. then won't be vexed al the time by their cryings..

fifi,
really that good,ok,i will keep the contact first. thanks.

blessed11,
my mil sleep with the maid, and she always saw her writing dairy every night and put under the pillow after that. she allow her to read eventhough it is personal. i guess my maid wanted to keep a record of her feeling while working here.

hair loss,
i've not started yet. keep finger cross..

Fruche

tried to PM cannot leh... what's ur email addy? i email u?

karen,

Fruche posted she is keen to get the breastpads... if she doesn't want, i let u know ok... thanks..

Re : Nursing cover

anyone looking for 1? I got once only washed once but nvr use... coz my this boy doesn't latch. anyone interested let me know...thank you.

bear,

use ticker...they will auto count ur bb's growth for u

babyzel

thanks for the info on robinsons. Strange, i didnt receive this mailer from robinsons leh... I can't go down anyway coz both my kids are not sick
hiaz...bz bz bz looking after both...

peanut

it is pretty useful. my #1 could sign quite alot of stuff when she was a baby... however, for her case, she did not use it to communicate with us. She will sign only when we ask her. Eg, when we are wearing shoes to go out, she will sign "shoes", when we ask her or offer her banana, she will then sign "banana". Even if she wants to drink milk, i can't recall her signing milk unless we ask her how to sign milk, then she will sign milk..or when we brought the bottle to her and said milk milk, then she will sign "milk" etc but u can try lah..

carol,

350ml coz overnite mah... 7 over hours leh.. but i normally will empty my breasts until only left drops... coz if not, i worried will get block ducts again. But hor, i find it very difficult to hand express at the beginning...meaning when u first press... so painful..only after some milk has been let out, i find that it is easier and more ducts will appear..do u experience this?

babyzel, bear

me too lost all pregnant weight.. now feeding 100% BM...also wondering is my body able to produce nutritious milk. coz even my boy drinks quite alot, i find his weight is not as heavy as other babies... must be my milk lousy as i nvr eat homecook food. In fact, i order Mcdelivery very often...

karen
wher u get that from?? yah tink i'll jus teach her some v basic ones like: hungry, milk, water, thirsty, full, more, sleep, pain etc.. I saw a video clip and the bb who looks like only less than 9mths knows a lot of signs lei..

kash
tts wat i suspect may happen.. then no point teaching liao cos purpose is for them to let us know wat they wan mah.. chey.....

i have avent breast shell, it's have a new set.. opened the box but nv use it thou i have sterilise it coz i have stopped breastfeeding le..

bot it at $30, willing to let go at $20..

shop4stuffs,
we bought the 1st card for her to call home, using home telephone. And we actually keep the calling card.
If I'm not wrong, a detailed phone bill cost $5.

jynnsan,
ur bb at least better than mine. I think my boy drink 2-3oz in 1hr only.

baby23,
my bb also likes to sit up and enjoy pple talking to him. When he wakes up from nap, he will get angry cos he wanna pple carry him and sit down.

peanut,
My boy will fuss bcos he lie uncomfortably in the rocker when feeding him w rice cereals. Even when he fuss, I feed him the rice cereals, he will still open his mouth to eat.
He is drinking v little nowadays. 12am till now, he has drank only abt 220ml of milk. So worrying.
Rice cereals - 25g (3 scoops) of rice cereals w 100ml of water. I give him 1.5 scoops + 50ml water .. finish then mix another portion. Else cold le.

Let ur FIL spend more time with her when he is at home lo.

blessed11,
u having long hair? I bun up my hair at all times. Else I will see more hair in the whole hse.

maid cleanliness:
yesterday morning and today morning, I ask maid to carry bb while I spoonfeed bb .. I was quite close to maid and I feel that she abit smelly ... she dunnoe sweat or never bath the night before. Told her before she carry bb she must put the cloth diaper over her front and shoulder but everytime she put like never put like tat. Her clothes also in contact with bb. I do suspect that somedays she dun bath n juz change her clothes only cos she is SUPER AFRAID of cold.. but I never go check it out. Feel abit uneasy when I need her to help mi out with bb.

baby23
maid no write dairy.but she always tell me she bely happy here n tos scary tins in ex employer,shes a trf maid kana beaten last time.so far she very kuai lo,u tell her wat she will follow 1 jus tat sometime she will 4get tins&abit blur at times but rarely la. so i duno is it true she happy lo. but so far so gd la her performance&heardmaid after call hm will cry etc.but maid say no la last time she work in jakarta for 5yr she also no tink family,no always call hm.i dun 1 b bad employer coz i like her lo but also scared lo.so far she will worry4me,bb,ah ma etc lo n i also ask her if shes feeling sick etc lo

Jo,
Same as peanut's nini.. my gal also drink when she is in t mood. One day 5 feeds, total abt 550ml. I'm not too worried abt her low intake as she is active (somemore can scream veri loud). Wat i'm worried is her stagnant weight. 3wks no increase wor.
Maybe u can monitor ur boy's weight as a gauge if he is feeding sufficiently or not

I am thinking of shaving bb but worried abt the outgrow as heard that it can grow out patchy, not all areas grow at same time.
Mommies who have shaved bb, can u share wif me how's bb hair now?

jo,
when i put my baby to sleep at night, i always put her head on the left of the cot, but when she wake up, i found that her head is on the right of the cot, she turn 180degree,maybe she use most of her left leg to kick, but she still don't know to flip yet.

for maid, i will let her use the same shower soap as me and also wash her clothes using washing machine with the same washing detergent. and she must shower twice a day at least. i can't endure the odor smell of someone staying with me..me so fussy ya.

jo
i ask my maid bathe twice aday,after cooking,coz body dirty n she handles bb so mus b clean.she listen so far.she scare cold2.they very ks 1,tis cant tat cant but i told her mus b clean,she so far okie ley.i can smell 1 if she bath or not coz her Clear shampoo smell very strong 1 n also if floor wet or not but i didnt check floor la.

hi yoyosan,

Shave bb's hair
I shaved my girl's hair when she's 1mth. Now, she look like this.The longer you drag to shave...it gets more difficult. Just tolerate 3-4 months of botak, before their 1st birthday, it will be alright.
2221266.jpg

yoyosan,
i actually regreted to shave my baby's hair. her hair is so nice and soft at first, but after shaved,her hair became so rough and not evenly grow. Anyway,baby's first hair will slowly drop if don't shave also.

anyone bring their baby to swim? i brought her to plaza sg beside john little last week to swim for the first time and she enjoyed it. i doubt that this shop is open by china pple,coz the ladies there all china,and worry about their cleaniness of the bathtub, and changing table.

maid:
I have a filipino maid.first time here in singapore. every month she is given 20 dollars from her salary. her salary is 350 to be put in bank and 20 cash to be given to her to buy things she need.
the first time she was here in singapore, i buy her a phone card to call home. and give her our house no to her husband in case for emergency like send money home to call back. I told her straight that she is here for money for family, but if she needs to call home, she can buy the phone card at 7 eleven. she seldom call home, cause rather expensive. I don wan to make a habit, cause my first maid indonesian, she initial use my hp to call, her sis keeps sms me to ask my maid to call home say emergency. but seems like they are only chatting. I don suggest hp, why? they can make friends easily when ask to buy food. scare pass the hp no, sms. esp no one at home, end up she invite pp over.. don want to have such trouble.

cleanliness:
I also very particular about cleanliness esp with bb. I tell her properly first that cleanliness esp my bb is very impt. and jo.. yeah ur maid super.. do housework, dun bath.. must tell her.. personal hygiene very impt. I tell my maid who baths once a day also. that she need to change her t-shirt when she carry my bb after she do the housework.

peanut:
yeah i ever heard before, if u hear properly when bb cry.. hear the sounds like "nah" means want milk. and "eh" means uncomfortable. i think i seen it in babyzone.com

carol:
yeah my bb only like soothing music. try it in the car with the piano music, he will fallen asleep. everyday when sleeps must have music. so we know he need music to fallen asleep. so far so good. but he starting not to nap too much. wan to play alr

amy> ur bb hair is so much & thick now! my boy shaved 2 times still short.. i give up liao now let the hair slowly grow.. haha..

my maid oso shower twice a day.. one day after morning house chores & 2nd time before slp... or after cooking..

baby23> he does cry.. or whine when he is in an uncomfortable position.. or he waited too long for his milk or wan to be carry.. or he wan to slp. haha...

peanut> wat about the sign for bb? i nv heard before leh.. hehe..

How's everyone and baby doing? Once in a while drop by to read some of your postings...

Was wondering if its the right time to start feeding baby Shane (4months) cereal... The nurse from my PD told me not to start too young, preferably 5 months old... Has anyone got any advice?

My bb just turn 4 months, 8.1kg and taking 180ml every 5-6hours? Normal? He's been rather cranky lately, cries alot and always very irritated... Sometimes so helpless... Don't know if he is having some discomfort etc...

Anyone experiencing the similar condition???

Auggy Bear:
Yup my baby is the same. I'm also not sure what's wrong....jsut thought perhaps he's overly stimulated and fighting sleep. He's turning 4mth this week.

hi auggbear,

Your baby seems to be on the heavyweight side. Consider the amount he's drinking which is 180ml, he probably also swallowed more air thus maybe he's cranky because of discomfort in the tummy. Try to burp him more, rub ru yi oil.

And, keep a look out whether he's teething because though in terms of months, he only 4 month but given his weight, he's probably a month ahead in terms of growth.

I'm more inclined to giving solids later. For my #1, i started her when she's 5.5month. And, at least when the baby is able to sit upright on her own.

I think that there's really no hurry in this aspect. Our mother/grandmother generation starts baby early on solid because back then formula milk is expensive so they want to start earlier.

Fruche & baby23 - ya lar, I also shocked at the amt he is drinking! Cant wait to bring him to the PD to see how much he weighs now...kekeke...

Kash - For me, even overnight also can get only 240ml, guess my breasts are trained and used to the cycle le. Ya, initially when expressed, the breast very hard and will be painful. Sometimes I squeeze so hard that it will be painful for the rest of the day!!...Bfing is really an ordeal for me, but for the sake of bb's health, I will endure till he is 6m old.

Lynn - I am playing gospel and soothing music for him to listen, dont know if it helps making him sleep. But he will need to be rock in the sarong before he will fall asleep de. Now he is also sleeping lesser cause want to play le. Very cheeky boy.

Just want to share something funny abt bb Jadon. Yesterday night we put him on the bb high chair for a while and we buckle him up to prevent him from falling off. After abt 10mins he started his usual grumbling and want pple to go and carry him le. So i stood infront of his high chair and looked at him. Then he started whining even louder cause he wants me to carry him. So I reached out my hands to unbuckle the seat belt. At this moment, I saw Jadon's eyes looking down and see if I am unbuckling the seat belt and whining at the same time...his expression hor, is those secretly looking at what you are doing de. The moment he saw the seat belt come loose, he stopped whining le!!! Aiyo, bb nowadays really very clever lar!!

Hi mummies, sorry to intrude.

I had 3 boxes of Lansinoh Breastmilk Storage Bags(50 each) to let go. Each selling at $23(inclusive of local normal postage).

Please PM me if you are keen. Thanks You

auggybear
wah!! ur bb quite big hor.. tsk tsk.. i stil remm last time in ur tummy he growing v slow rite?

Hair
my bb lor.. shaved her head when she 1mth plus now stil patchy and like baby23's v v rough,unlike last time softer.. i super feel like putting conditioner -_- Everytime carry her poke my face until i feel like sneezing..

Lynn..
yah i heard but buay zun lei.. nei nei i tot she wan milk but turn out not the case.. bluff me..

Jo..
umm.. u wan to consider going to the sensei maggie recommends? i dun mind going with u. Got weighing scale at home? mayb shd get one to monitor his weight then

Thanks Amy, that's wat the nurse commented... Older folks like to start solid earlier.

He keeps on having disturbed sleep, also starting to recognise people. By now, im sure most babies are able to turn, but baby Shane is still struggling, which the Dr say his weight could be hindering his ability to turn... =P

Auggybear,
My baby weighs 8.39kg during 3.5mth, he is drinking 160-170ml every 3.5 - 4 hr. Also becoming fussy and cranky, drinking not very smooth too. Most feeds can't finish. I also suspect that his weight will slow his flipping process.

Flipping:
gosh.. Nini dun even bother to try!! She jus lie ther.. haiz..

Sleeping:
she also moves a lot lei.. keep shaking her head and kicking her legs, but when i look at her, she's not really awake.. So by time reaching daylight her head facing another angle..

alibaba
baby's hands signs.. eg milk, she'll close/open her fists like milking a cow

peanut>
OHH..only if we know what their sign means.. got any website on tis?

nowadays when carry my bb, he start pulling my hairs liao! or pitching.. damn painful one lor.. died la.. will drop even more hair.. haha.. when my fren carry him.. he try to grab her watch. keep lift up his hand & grab a few times. but aiming buay chun la..& the face is v serious one.. trying v hard.. kaka..

starting on cereal>
i tot we can mix with milk? i rem i read from some where..

carol> v funny to see their reaction hor.. like jus now when he drinking his water.. give dont give the face change v fast one. lolz

peanut
the baby signing dvd so ex! U duplicate give us la.. heheheh
I didn't abt baby signing until today. Got free website to learn not?

Ya peanut... Shane was a small baby, i still remember everyone say my tummy sooooo small just like bear...

He is a big boy now... sometimes feel so guilty never spend enuff time with him...

I wanna ask u guys, does you baby scratch his/her head/ear often?

Shane always scratch his head behind his ear.

Jynnsan, your baby is HUGE!!!

alibaba
baby signs - u've to teach them one.. earliest to start is 6mths

Lilian
i no hav e dvd lah.. i also jus learnt got such things from internet

Go yahoo and type baby signs and they'll direct u to some websites showing some examples of signs.. I jus went to bookshop, cheap cheap one can get at ard $10.. exp one ard $40.

My boi had his haircut 2 days ago.Dun intention to but no choice.He keeps dropping hair and hav lot of cradle caps.Use many type of shampoo oso like no improvement.
Now he is BOTAK! Shiny and round!
Cradle caps seems to get better too

Kash,
Both your kids better now?

Re: baby signing
I find it pretty good too.My gal was slow in her speech development as compare to her peers.So i intro and show her the whole series of signing times.She can sign pretty gd after seeing them and will let me know wat she wants.
Till now,she still signs to me if i dun understand wat she means.

There are pro and cons of teaching them signing times.
Some feel tat it might affect their speeach development cos we can easily understand wat they want.So they might be lazy at a later stage and nt speak out.If we have elders at hm,they SURE hav comments abt those dvd cos most of the children shown on the videos are not normal kids.Both my mum and MIL had BIG BIG reactions when i showed it to my gal previously.
But then,i find it pretty gd cos i know her needs w/o much guessing.

Re: flipping
My boi flips once and din flip till nw.But like wat alibaba said,they will flip one day.
I know some bb do skip some stages.One of my fren's kid,skip the crawling and started to walk at 10mths old.

Re: feeding
I will oso started when my boi is 5.5mths old.My PD dun realli encourage me to start now coz my boi seems to have sensitive nose.She said might cause allergic.So i better listen to her.

happydays

My mum told me that me and my 2 sisters all 3 skip the crawling and started to walk...

Re Signing
Ya I do heard that learning signing might delay their speech development

Re BB dropping hair
My bb also dropping her hair
so the whole hse got her hair and mine too, must always sweep the floor....

lilian & peanut,
My boy can only drink when he is in sleep mode (plus w drinking mood). Even if he is awake n hungry (like juz now), drink 30ml then push bottle away le.
I dun trust my weighing scale @ home. Abt 3wks ago, he weighs 6.9kg at PD ... juz now, he weighs 6.5kg. Only can wait till 28th Mar, bring bb for jab then know his weight.

Carol,
Jadon is SO CLEVER! Hehe.

peanut,
I think I only need to look for someone who can actually get rid of Lucas's hot temper. Can try sensei .. but I think think think .. maybe wont have any effect.

Lucas also dun try to flip de.

alibaba,
I bought Frisocrem for 4mth onwards de ... the can states content consist of milk ... dun need to add milk.

rice cereals,
I will stop giving rice cereals for the next few days to monitor his milk intake.

maid,
my maid cant be showering twice a day. She's very scared of cold. And she is doing household chores from morning 6am till 10pm ... she would need to bath alot of times woh.

fruche:
I give my bb listen to baby einstein music.. he likes lei..

Jo:
I got an organic rice cereal from cold storage. I mix it with my breast milk, he likes it.. the smell also very nice. in fact, he likes it better than the papaya.. so far no any reaction or allergies.

toilet trainin:
any mummies try give bb sit on the potty to train? bb gal easier ask big and small business all in the potty. but boy how ah? is urine first or pass motion first?