(2008/11) November 2008

Kash,
Robinsons having sale. Think 20% storewide ba but only 4th and 5th march. Can go if u still want to get the bpa free bottles.TAka having baby fair on 12th march. Maybe they will be selling as well.

Bear, i count the same way as babyzel.. so if born on 24th nov, baby will be 1mth on 24th dec.

Babyzel, Kash:
Its not 20% storewide for Robinsons. Its "up to 20% off" for cardmembers.

Bear:
I count the same way too. Alyssa will be 5 months on 31 March. 1 month = 30 or 31 days & not 4 weeks.

Re: Toothpaste
Have been abit busy so I may miss posts here and there. Those who have yet to contact me for the toothpaste, pls PM so that I will confirm get your message.

Re: Leaky breasts
I will leak mostly when its close to pumping/feeding time & when I heard my daughter cry. I dun bother abt them. Leak then let it leak lor. I find it less stressful than worrying about wasting milk, etc. After all, if supply is enuff then no need to worry ba.

Anyway, I stopped pumping in the middle of the night liaoz. I pump once after feeding her at 11/11.30pm. Her next feed is 6am & i pump at 7am after that (before I go to work). Trained my body to tarhan that liaoz. Breasts will be full but not engorged.

Recently, coz she's kinda ready for solids (i think), she wakes up for extra feeds in the middle of the night so the duration is shortened further.

Re: Bumbo
I bit the bullet and got 1 for my daughter. No regrets. She likes it. Sat in it watching abit of TV and when I blocked her view, she whined. Then when her daddy carried her out of it, she whined again. So cute.

Kash: okie will get from you. can PM me on how to pick up from you? I'm not in a hurry to get it cos I have about 7 boxes at home at the moment ("collected" them whenever there's a sale! :p )

Babyzel: Yah if I'm at home I dun have time to fuss about drinking/eating so supply no good. at work, I really pay attention to my diet. Actually with all these distractions, my day in the office really flies!!

Thks for informing abt taka fair! my hubby n i have been wondering when its on.

Coffee and BM:
Oh one thing i tried with drinking coffee is to drink lots of water after that....dunno if it works...but just trying to use water to neutralize the coffee a bit. So not too much caffeine.

Leaking breasts:
I have never encountered leaks before untill the last 2 nights when i was feeding baby on one breast and the other started dripping milk too. This has never happened before and the breasts are not particularly full.

Anyone has that before? Knows why it happens?

Dymples
Thanks for your tips about the Beco. I think I'm getting better at wearing it. Hee.

I tried the back-carry just now. Seems ok
and my girl's fine in it too. Yay! Think I'll just stick to this one carrier and sell off my others.

kash,
so now u 100% hand express, good la, no need to wash and sterilise the pump, so ley cheh right? Then u will have more time to spend with ur
darling.

jynnsan,
if your bb's poo is not hard, then it is not constipated even if bb didn't poo for few days.

Fifi,
Pls let me know once u posted out the items k, so that i can keep a look out. Tnks!

babyzel,
tnks for informing abt the fair!

Waterbaby,
When u r latching one side of your breast, it is perfectly normal that your another breast will leak even though it is not full. For me, Sometimes after pumping on both breast, my breast will also leak even only after 1,2 hours.. So just put a breastpad in your bra to prevent the leaking.

shop4stuffs,
is up to u bah. If she has done a good job and you are ok with it, then u can pay for it. Otherwise, ask her to pay herself cause it is not compulsory for us to buy for her.

gd morning mummies,

babyzel> u so updated sia! hehe.. i am stopping myself from shopping & spreeing. cos planning to go BKK in May.. Hurray. finally can travel.. but not bringing bb along.. cos the air there v dusty & it's v inconvenient to bring him out esp to their weekend market.. too crowded

leaking breast>
recently not much leaking aready even i slp over the night for 8hours no leak.. guess the breast aready used to it..

waterbaby>
it's common to leak when u BF one side of the breast. Last time when i used manual pump on one side the other side will leak too..

my baby decided to wake up at 5am for feed this morn..normally she wakes up only at 730am.hahah, coincidentally, my alarm didnt work so i didnt wake up to pump at 4am. if not, i would have had to give her the EBM. will see it goes tonite and if she wakes up in middle of night again.

Re:blocked ducts
does any mummy have any recommendation of cheap and easy to use heat pack? my right boob always seem to have blocked ducts (like lumps which cant be massaged out, and not much milk comes out)..so sianz..press until my hand tired..

Joyce
Thanks. Shes good so will pay for her then..Asked coz worried they will take things for granted..no la ho..Then do we need to restrict when she can call and how long she can call? Do we need to keep a log of calls huh? Or just tell her every week can only call 10mins so easier to keep track on the call card...coz worried if we not at home she will call and chat on phone...will right? Hubby say must giv them freedom but i worried they take things for granted lo and neglect my bb lo...can advice coz 1st time with maid...

Fifi
Glad that your girl likes it...im thinking of getting a high chair/feeding chair for my boy. but guess will bring him there to try it out first...think coz my boy is not very stable yet so cant sit properly..shall for a while longer when hes more stable then i bring him to sit on bumbo again to see how....hmm...coz i really the bumbo la...on the floor somemore...hope he will still be able to sit in it

Good morning ladies, how's everyone?

Such a long long time i didn't manage to login. miss out so many post
Let me tell you gals my story:
i'm suffering from a very bad wrist pain few weeks after delivery. both of my hand is so useless. The wrist pain so serious that i can't even open and close bottles properly. i've to change my nuk bottles to philips event coz nuk bottles need more strength to open. Holding a cup also hurt,wringing clothes pain like siao. So many things that i wish to do, that my hand dont allow me. But i still endure the pain to carry baby and bf her everyday till now. The thing upset and worry me the most is that I can't hold pen to write, how am going to start work if i can't even write? i didn't go for steriod jab as my aunt experience side effect from the jab and advise me not to take that. i wasted so much $$ for acupuncture,tui-na, including makuang also can't cure. At the end i went back to my mom hse in msia for a month++ with baby. I didn't do much thing during that time other than shower myself and playing with my girl. My mom help me to do most of the thing, and to my surprised that my wrist pain sligtly recovered. My hb employed a maid after i came back from msia. A week later with the help of my maid, i realised that i finally can hold a pen to write. Now i started working liao. It hv been almost 3.5 mths i endured the pain, i can said that my wrist already cure 90%, but i still got to be careful with certain angle n position that my wrist can't take, and also avoid carring heavy stuff.

Anyone of u here having the same problem as me?

My girl is going to 4 mths next week. Here is her pic to share... After shaving her hair when she is a month old, her hair doesn't grow evenly after that,so strange ya

2219314.jpg

Joyce & Alibaba,
OH! Well guess i should start to use beastpads then. This has never happened to me so i was quite amused and yet feeling so sayang that milk is just leaking away...

Haru:

The hot water bag from Osim is quite value for money. It's S$28 i think and the heat lasts for quite some time. It helped me a lot when i had blocked ducts.

baby23> i have wrist pain shortwhile after delivery. it's due to carrying bb.. it got better after i pass bb to maid to take care.. one of the wrist couldnt twist & aint flexible.. tat's y i nv dare to bathe my bb... v scare my hand will give way... but mine is not as serious as urs.. u jus have to stop all the heavy duties & it will recover by itself ^_^

waterbaby> if u feel sayang, den u get avent breast shell to collect the excess ^_^

joyce/shop4stuffs>
my maid recently requested to take back her HP. i left her hp with the agency for safekeep from start. cos i know tis will happen one day... Now i am tinking shld i take back her hp... let her use. afraid she nv do her work & keep on SMS... while no body at home esp weekday where ev one goes to work.

Have not login for quite sometime. Recently have been dropping alot of hair!! On the floor, in the bath room, on my bed, everywhere got my hair so horrible!! Any remedy?

baby23, alibaba
I have wrist pain on my left hand only recently, also cannot twist and not flexible. But still have to bathe bb cos Im currently in KL looking after bb by myself
A few times nearly give way so scared will drop bb

mosh> bo remedy.. i am feeling damn emo today... ev ting i see oso pek chey... my hair too drop alot... sianz..

u better be careful.. try to carry bb lesser.. it take quite sometime to recover one..

Wristpain: I also experience that initially, then I bought a wrist band from the pharmacy...like a sports one. It works well for me. and i use every now and then whenever i feel pain.

how was the gathering yesterday? sorry for not being able to join in last min. My gal was sick since tuesday and her fever is still here but not as bad as tuesday. Haiz~ think the virus ard the house really is strong.. Both me and hubby haven't fully recover yet and our gal is sick =/she's not as talkative n active as b4 le.. just hope she recovers fast.. getting her to eat the medicine is really difficult and her medicine causes dowsiness, not sure if it's alright anot.. but on the happier note, my gal still have a gd weight of 7.6kg at 4.5mths..

alibaba
thats my worry lo. my frnd maid, u take 1 hp away, she will have another, and u take away again, she will have another...hhh....n always talk on the phone, even at night until no sleep.

for me, i bought the call card this morning liao. intend to let her use the home phone to call as its in the hall and can see her. thats why thought of restricting her calls so i know shes not abusing it lo

Waterbaby:
Its common for the other breast to leak when you latch your BB. Coz BB stimulate the let-down. I have that all the time. You can use your hand to exert some pressure on the other breast to lessen the leak. Else, you can also try pumping the other side when you latch. Likely you will get more milk than usual de. Hehee.

Karen:
Wah you try back carry liaoz ah. I have the Beco for so long oso haven try. Heehee.

Joyce:
Likely to post tmr or Sat coz haven had a chance to visit the post office these 2 days.

Haru:
Gerber has a donut ring one. Can try that. I have but never use. If blocked and cannot remove, you may wish to see an LC to help.

Re: Wrist pains
Usually due to carrying of baby (they are heavy lor). I recommend seeing this Sinseh at Clementi. Lim Kian Hin, Blk 433 Clementi Ave 3, #01-270, tel: 67776770. Open Mon-Fri 10.30am-8.30pm, Sat 10.30am-6pm, Sun & PH, 10.30am-2pm. Go early to queue. Waiting time is usually min 3hrs.

alibaba
Y so pek chek today?

Last nite so angry with bb. She very notti recently and like to shout and shout and scream whenever she not happy lor. Esp in the evening wen she want to sleep, she super cranky and will scream if she not happy, cry and cry and refuse her milk lor... damn angry when she do that...

Jenn
Remember to use tower on her forehand ho....pd gave panadol when my boy got fever the other time...goes down fast, except for running nose and cough which takes quite a while lo..

Mosh
my boy now also loves to shout ley..last time my sil still call him "gentle man" coz he cries so gently and softly...but now..wow sei...talk also very loud...sometimes he refuse his milk too...especially morning when he wakes up...drink very little even though its already about 7hours...hhh...but later will keep wanting milk la...hhh...timing all run already...really feed on demand liao..

Korean show
Got mummy watch korean show or not...i have been going after this new korean show...SUPER NICE ah....Korean F4....hahah.... anyway...for those who loves it... heres the link .... enjoy watching... but not all up yet coz think its still screening in Korea...

Dymples...since SAHM...free watch la...very nice..

kash, I express for 15-20mins but I get abt 170ml to 240ml, not like yours lar..350ml!! Each time I target to get 170ml and I will stop le, cause the small bottle max can hold 170ml.

baby23, I have been experiencing wrist pain since I was in my last tri. Till now I still feel the aching pain especially in the morning when I just wake up. After exercising the wrist and fingers for a while, they will be better. But the pain is still there, but bearable. The pain is worst after I express cause use too much of my fingers le.

Shopforstuffs:
You can buy the card for her if you wish but make it clear its a reward, not a right. If she needs them, she has to use her own money (else she wont realise how expensive it is & talk nonstop). You will only buy for her sometimes as reward. As your maid is quite new, you can also try to ask her to use the public phone to make the call too as you'll never know whether she is using the card or not when she's using your phone. When you assess that she is good and can be trusted, then can allow usage of the card on your home phone / handphones, etc. Let her know that these are rewards which have to be earned & also can be taken away anytime. In summary, its good to give these as rewards as its welfare. But they muz know that if they are not good (e.g. neglect your BB, neglect their work, etc), the rewards can be taken away.

Bear,
I'm also like you ... dunnoe how to count. So what I did was ... from Facebook - Circle of Moms, add your bb DOB and they will let you know ur bb is how many mths & wks old. So when pple ask mi, I will jus tell them based on tat date. My weird idea. Lol.

But I think if your bb is 24th Nov .. that will be every 24th of the month is another mth. Cos when the clinic nurse record the next jab date, (my boy is on 27th Oct) and next jab date is 27th Mar. Got what I meant?

alibaba,
As your maid is usually home alone with the bb, I personally wont recommend you to return her mobile to her. Imagine she ignore ur bb if he cries or dun wanna drink milk and only concentrate on her mobile. Though you can view home w camera whenever possible, but you arent ard to stop her on the spot.

My maid has been with us for abt 9mths liaoz ... we bought the IDD card for her ... so far she has called home once or twice only ... n never ask for any mobile .. though we only suspect her of using the home phone few times as it was engaged but shld be local calls only.

hair dropping:
My hair also drop alot when I shampoo and comb my hair. Always ask maid to sweep that area right after I comb my hair .. else v sad. Sometimes still see my long hair ard the hse, so terrible.

milk feed:
Recently, my boy drink 50-70ml liaoz and refused to drink even after 4-5hrs. The moment the bottle teat in his mouth, he will push away the bottle with his hands ... cld manage to feed bit by bit of 70ml in 1hr. Cant win him. Wondered if its the rice cereal meal a day has affected his milk intake. Think he is drinking < 500ml of milk nowadays. Also dunnoe his weight now. So worried that he is under-fed.

peanut, lilian,
how's ur bb milk intake now?

Alibaba/shop4stuffs,
Ya, esp alibaba, better dun give her unless u firmly tell her the consequences if she misbehave cause they tends to chit chat here n there non-stop esp NO ONE is at home. Why not you buy a calling card to let her call hm (but u keep the card) if she really need to call her family once a while.

fifi,
ok, will take note.

jo/fifi
wow fifi tats indeed great help.will tell her reward then

my maid dun go out so diff 2 use public phone.tot hm phone can track oversea call rite?use our hp can bo? is it more expensive?

jo,ya maid call fm public phone 2 huh

maid
can give maid house number for their family to call?scare they call talk talk ley same same ley

she say last time in indo she work,home phone can track who call 1.so duno if she will ask me for number or not.if ask,i give my hp or home

hihi, im new to this thread. my boy was born on the last day of nov. im still on ML now,but soon will have to go back to work...sian!

Mosh
I think we are experiencing the same situation. My baby is also like this. I am also getting a bit impatient. My friend told me this is just a transit period, baby is changing everyday. Hope this is true.

Jo,
My baby is also rejecting milk, sometime it takes 1 hr to finish just 5 oz of milk.

Maid call:
I might sounds mean, it is better to let them use the calling card and call only when we allow them to do so, unless we are sure that our maid is GOOD AND self-DISCLPLINE which most are not (my opinion). Otherwise they will get emotional and neglect their work.

shop4stuff, jynnsan

So Im not the only one with this prob...haiz, really losing my patient lor. Shouted at her a few times liao, then angry at myself for losing patient lor
cos I think she is too young to understand so really have to remind myself to be patient with bb. Hopefully this phrase will pass very soon.

alibaba,
maybe i carry baby too much or maybe due to hormone change. but i remember that my wrist pain getting worst after the postnatal massage. i guess the massage lady massage my hand and pull my fingers too hard until can hear the 'tat'sound, and also the stupid me go for tui-na,which cause the pain even worst. luckily it really cure by itself slowly by not doing things that agitate the wrist.

mosh,
how come u r in kl, r u msian?

fruche,
i also brought wristguard from the pharmacy, but only wear for a few days coz it made my hand very itchy

carol,
sometimes in the morning when i stretch my hand too hard also feel the wrist pain but just awhile only. btw are u still expressing?

fifi,
i don't think that sinseh can help,as i already try other sinsehs. i would want to try to let my wrist cure by itself slowly...see how lar. Thanks for the info

Maid>
i did bot her a calling card to use when she 1st come. but i did told her it's only tis time. next time she will have to pay for her own.. after tat she prefer coins. so ev time she will take her notes to change with me..cos i never allow her to use house phone.. at least she only go downstair when someone is at home to jagar bb.. And we know how frequent she call back.. tat time when she request for her hp &amp; she even told me tat maybe her hp is spoilt liao -_- my heart was tinking u tink is spoilt liao den y mus take back.. but in return i ask her want her hp for wat? &amp; she said she wan to SMS back.. (izzit cheaper to sms back?) then told her see how 1st. cos need to meet agency to collect back.. feel abit bad for not giving her hp cos she told me her two daughter caught chicken pox. she look quite "bo sim" to work recently.. i tink mainly also becos most maid around her has HP but she dont.. my grand parent side tat maid &amp; my sil's maid have HP.. am tinking wat is a gd way to tackle tis now... any ideas?

baby23:
Normal sinseh I got no faith. But this one is good. You can always give it a short.

Alibaba:
Yes it is cheaper to sms back compared to call. My maid sms back to Phil de. If you scared, you can always let her have the HP only at nights. In the day you lock it. At night she can use. But as I adviced shop4stuffs, make sure they know all these are rewards or privilege. Not rights. If I am not wrong, according to MOM guidelines, we only need to allow letters.

baby23

My hubby here to work for 2 mths so me and bb follow him lor.

Tot wristpain shld get better after tui-na? I tot of going to one leh..

alibaba
now i got 2nd tots 2 let her use public phone coz my home got alot of coins,unsecured.so she may take it.still looking arnd for 1 with a lock.

sil say even if i dun giv hm no. 2 her my mum will giv if maid ask so tin i better giv at least she know im not tat bad la. any1 kno how much2pay singtel for detailed phone bill?

tin will call for her at hm n keep the card. hope it will b alrite.

jus now went back home for lunch..

our bb getting notti liao.. my mil is trying to feed him water but he refuse whine til v ke lian once put the water aside sit him up. he tiam tiam.. when take the water haven put into his mouth he will turn his head &amp; "air".. kns..

baby23: yah can get itchy so must air the wrist every now and then...cannot keep wearing for long period.

I think cannot tui na until 3-4 mths after delivery leh.

Maid:
my maid is an indo maid,experience, so far so good. she can understand mandarin and english well. she hv not demand anything yet,maybe still new. but she do things not that clean,maybe i'm super demanding in term of cleaniness like what my mil said.

shop4stuffs,
your maid also an indonesian? how much do u paid her? mine is $380. my hb already set the rules and regulations for her in first day she reach our hse. that including can't use the hse phone,can't go out alone etc..very strict. does ur maid write dairy? my maid did, and my mil read her dairy one day,she wrote that she is very happy with the family as we treat her like our family.