(2008/11) November 2008

hi joyce,
thanks for the recommendation on the donut relief pack. think i'll prob order one to try. => hopefully using e warm compress will help to increase the amount of milk i can express. still trying to hit 150ml..still always able to pump only 80-110ml only.

Re:wrist pain
i couldnt stand having it and went for a jab at orthorpaedic. coz i am looking aft baby on my own most of the time so can't risk myself suddenly losing grip of baby when i pick her up. i still have the cracking sound, but no more pain. what a relief!!

Carol,
ur darling is sooo funny!hahah..

Hello mummies! finally able to log in.

So many posts ah.. read until i blur!

Re: maid calling back
We don't buy the calling card for her. for me i make it very clear that if she uses the house phone to call back, when the bill comes the following mth, i will deduct from her pay. but we always offer to help her get the calling card. so far she only called back once and finished the card at one go, which was abt an hr. I have no prob with that cos she called back at night. In fact hb and i were helping her find out how to use the damn card!

Re: counting baby's age
Thanks ladies! now i know how to count liao. heh.. i suspected that it shd be every 24th, Zach grows older by a mth, but just wanna be sure. he is def one of the youngest here.. Only just turn 3 mths.

Re: expressing BM
Kash, if ur boobs are full, then u will feel the pain.

Haru, ur ss increased liao! rem last time u were worried abt it. Keep it up!
Fifi, u skip the night feeding/pump ah? might help induce ur period back leh. i'm still doing night pumps. must pump no matter wat cos i dun want my period back!
Lately i have this new prob. Aft i pump, i get this massive headache! since i pump every 4-5 hrs, the headache is there the whole day. i don't usually get headaches and the last time i got such bad headaches, i ended up with meningitis. any idea why i m getting such bad headache? i was thinking it could be becos i keep looking downwards.

Re: flipping
Zach is trying to flip already. Usually boys develop faster in physical skills while gals are develop faster at linguistic skills. Some kids skip developmental milestones, so as long as ur PD says ur bb is fine, don't go crazy comparing.. haha.. its very tempting but u only stress urself.. :p

Re: wrist pain
U guys get wrist pain i get knuckle pain! i cannot clench my fingers into a fist, esp if i have just woken up.. wonder why... if i do it, my fingers will get stuck in a claw like position. then the knuckles will all start cracking.

Re: shaving baby's head and hair growth
Actually its kinda pointless to ask what will happen to ur bb's hair aft u shave it off. simply becos our genetic make up is different. some bbs will grow thick and nice hair, others will look perpetually bald. if u wanna shave just shave.

Auggybear! ur Shane so big! i can't wait to weigh mine too.. small tummies don't mean small babies hor cos my Zach is more than 7kg liao..
he drinks abt 800-900ml a day. per feed abt 140ml.

Peanut, thanks for recommending signing. I heard of it but haven't done any research.. may be i shd.

jo
my maid also scared cold but also bath twice. she say in kampong they only used to bath once so maybe your maid just lie la so as to avoid bathing. i make a point that hygiene is important. my maid also do chores till night and normally dun sweat la unless really heavy chores or cooking then i will ask her to bath coz she needs to feed my boy and carry him etc so must be clean. i even get her to wash her hands with dettol whenever she wants to carry boy coz she might be doing some chores so just tell her to wash everytime coz usually maid duno when 2 and when not 2 so best is tell them everytime then no headache. coz if you tell them if see dirty then wash etc then they will never wash ah coz they wil tell you not dirty haha

compare bb
ya lo better dont compare coz diff parent got diff size ma...so bb will be diff lo...like me, u see me short short but boy i think tall lo (everyone say la ho) coz hubby very the tall lo...so after my hubby lo...think as long as healthy and pd say ok should be ok liao lo

MIA for a long time liao.. Super busy with work, study and boy boy.
No time to surf net.

Lynn,
My mum started to potty train my boy one mth ago. Seems ok. He will poo and pee at the same time. He seems to be quite happy sitting on the potty.

baby23:
Yes, I have tried Hwa Xia swimming. A number of the others here tried it too.

Lynn:
Recognising the sounds of babies cries mainly applies in the first 3 mths only. That is when the 5 different sounds are quite distinct. As they start getting "voices", its not really useful anymore.

Auggy:
Long time no see. Yes, dun start too early if possible. But not after 6 mths too. Too early increase risk of allergies. Too late may hinder chewing development.

Alibaba,
Envy you leh, can go travelling and shopping in BKK. Me dun know when can travel, HB say must wait till bb bigger then bring her together. I from ML till now kept nagging at hb that i WANT to travel. Sigh!

Auggybear,
My gal also like to scratch behind her ears till flesh raw raw and red red. Now still appying cream on the wounds but getting better now. Wonder why they got such habits. She also like to pull her hair. haiz...

Bear,
Me too, same as u i got knuckles pain especially right hand and early morning is always the worst. Like numb numb feeling and yet got the weird pain.
I'm wondering if it's due to frequent washing of my hands during confinement time and now i suffering from the after effects.

Havent got much of a time to come in regularly cos been really busy with Aden. Its been a really stressful week cos hubby is away the whole week, coming back only on sun and leaving again on mon. Pardon me if this is a long post, but really needa let off some emotions here..

Being a SAHM is really taking its toll on me, maybe cos i've got lousy time management but nowadays, Aden has been crying w/o reason in the noon and nights. Can't seem to pacify him unless i latch him on. I've not gotten the time to pump as well. Don't have a routine for him either cos i'm feeding him on demand, so whatever time left will be playing with him, bathing him twice a day, hsework and putting him to sleep. Having said that, Aden is used to being carried to sleep, so there's no chance that i can leave him to fall asleep on his own. Sigh.
I guess, the only quiet time i have is early in the morning before he wakes, and like now, when he sleeps and not wake up every 3mins after i put him down. I'll be thankful if i can have a cuppa milo in peace. Even my meal times are determined by his moods.. sometimes i even think of giving up bf..

sorry ladies if this seems like a lengthy post.. just need an avenue to let out and relieve some stress..

Hi mummies!!

Been MIA for a long time liao..Hope everyone is doing well!!

My boy is currently 7kg at 3 months plus. Fully taken formula milk now. And he's drinking around 120-160mls every 3 hrs.

He's been quite a good boy though. Still sleeping quite a lot.. During the day he'll nap around 1-2 hrs after feed and play with us, den at night just sleep and wake up for feeds only. And he's super talkative lor.. Just keep baby talking to us like complaining or trying to tell us something.. So naggy..hahaha...

Re: flipping,
He haven flip yet leh, but theres once he was on his tummy den he managed to flip back to lying down, but only one time la.. I read somemore, bigger size baby don flip so soon de..

Night feeding,
Any babies not feeding at night already?? Still trying to find a way to let him sleep thru.. Tried feeding him more but after a few days he drink that amount also wake up 3 hrs later..

Hope everyone is coping well

<font color="0000ff">teenyweeny</font>
U are taking care of bb Aden all by yourself? It's not easy leh.. can be stressful at times. Can U try to can get some help from your in-laws or parents or a relative, it will be easier for U.
As for breastfeeding part, it's up to do to decide cos U already bf bb for 3.5mths so whether to persist on or not is your choice. Jia you yo!

<font color="0000ff">Sabre</font>
I think the flipping age will depends on individual baby. Mine is flipping, he is almost your bb's age I think and weight also around 7kg.

Mine is no longer feeding at night but some nights can cry suddenly.. dunno why?

OMG!! Too many postings!! Cannot catch up but glad that everyone's bb is doing well so far =))

Sabre: my bb still waking up for her feeds. I give up... longest she can go for without 1 is 4 hours.

Teenyweeny: cheer up. Can anyone help out? during my maternity, I try to "switch off" when my mom pops by. Else I put her in her rocker which usu gives me at least 20-30 mins to do my own thing.

fifi: I come to your place to collect from you. This weekend convenient for you? Else normal postage will suffice. Do you still have stocks for the toothpaste with a brush? I think i need a brush lah-- this is my first tube!

Dunstan Baby Language: After 3 months, it doesnt work anymore. But i can still pick up her hungry cries -- everything else is a wild guess! hahahah

Haru: totally emphatise with your nursing @ work situation. I just went bac to work &amp; had to pump -- i usually book a meeting rm so that I din need to run to the car downstairs to pump (and so that i can work while pumping) BUT PEOPLE KEEP ON COMING TO THE STUPID ROOM TO ASK ME IF THEY CAN USE IT! then I get so paiseh!! Now, i just lock the door. If cannot lock, i put a chair in front of it!

Olwen: No worries -- so many postings here so we are bound to miss some =) My gf is worried sick abt not having a confinement nanny for her twins so any recommendations would be great. Will PM you for your contact later....

dymples: stupid idea -- maybe your menses coming back? My supply dropped by 20% everytime i pumped abt 3-4 days b4 my menses.

bluebear/pamela : thanks for ur encouragements, my ILs are staying in HK and my dad tries to come over to help for 2-3hrs, but i know he actually can't really handle cos he's age is catching up. sometimes feels so helpless, yet i know i gotta bite the bullet and pull through no matter how tough.. gosh, its really tough and tiring..

haru, pamela,
usually i'll lock myself in e storeroom 2 express. so no one can disturb me, at e same time rest for a while. tired cos my boy still wake up in e middle of e night.

flipping,
my boy also haven flip. he prefers 2 sit. he crys when he wanna sit, n is in sitting position most of e time.

Gd morning.. pumping now.. headache is lurking at the back.. sigh..

Jo, my hb wants to increase his feed again cos he has been waking up at 5am to drink. Zach doesn't look fat though. i think its his bone mass, super heavy.

Babyzel, Kash, missed ur posts on weight loss! ya i have the same fears as u guys. i m pretty panaroid abt my calcium although i have been drinking milk since young. i still drink one cup a day at least. Kash, may be u can take multivits? my gynae said i shd take fish oil for as long as i bf.

Babyzel, abt the knuckles, i was thinking it could be bcos of the hormone relaxtin produced during the end of our preg. it causes our joints to loosen. aft preg, the hormone stops being released. could then make out joints stiff. just my guess. will do some more readings and share if i come across anything.

Teenyweeny, hang in there! having ur dad to come over is better than nothing. at least u can pee in peace!

morning ladies...

haru,
you went for the jab..how come still got the cracking sound? mine got the cracking sound when sometimes the wrist bone out of alignliment,and i align in back, a little bit painful, but now no more liao.

bear,
my fingers used to be very stiff and numb,can't bend esp after waking up in the morning. But after taking some chinese medicine(mixture of 16 type of herbs),no more stiff liao.

fifi,
hmm..any idea if this hwa xia co. run by china pple?

night feeding,
my girl drinks more at night and midnight, but daytime drink lesser,maybe daytime she see pple walking around, very kaypo,and wanted to play,cannot concentrate to drink her milk

baby signing,
baby estein signing dvd is good,you gals can try it out

baby23,
wher u got tt dvd from and aow much ah?

gosh my little rascal also starts screaming and crying loudly these days.. put her down also cannot, carry her also cannot.. Wah sometimes i almost lose my temper feel like throwing her down.. wahahaa.... tink i'm going crazy haiz

Last nite played peekaboo wif her she laugh until super happy.. ony like tt then cute.. tsk tsk tsk..

Teenyweeny:
Hang in there ba. Maybe try to set a bit of routine. Your BB shld have some of his own sleeping/drinking patterns. Work your routine ard that lor. My daughter was also used to being carried to sleep. But was getting heavier and heavier. So we found that she sleeps longer on my bed &amp; used that location to train her to sleep on her own. Now, we just put her there with the pillows surrounding her in a specific position (that she likes) &amp; she will sleep on her own most of the time. If not on her own then sometimes juz pat her to sleep/sleep with her.

Sabre:
Since abt 3 mths, my daughter usually does not feed in the night (last feed 11am, next feed 6am). But recently, I think coz she's abt ready for solids, sometimes she wakes for an extra feed.

Pamela:
Tentatively am arranging for this Sunday ard 12nn. Fruche also wants to collect. However, I can only confirm tmr coz this weekend is actually "hubby's" coz its his BDae tmr. Can you PM me ur HP no &amp; I will call you.

Baby23:
No idea.

anyone's baby now can withstand about 6 hrs without milk at nite? My baby goes w./o milk for about 5.5 hrs- 6 hrs..

haru: do take car of ur body, maybe can try swimming to relax ur body/muscles.

TGIF!!so happy that i told hubby mayb i'll go pick him up from work w baby today. hahah...

Bear,
thanks. yeah, i woke up at 4am to pump again aft last pump at 12am as advised by joyce and babyzel. and i actually could express more at 4am than 12am. just that i couldnt get back to sleep after that! good thing baby only woke up at 8am so could get some sleep..heh..

pam and bibi,
my office is open concept so no meeting rooms, etc to use. but i have a small screen which i use to block myself in a corner. i sometimes wonder if i could actually express more if i had more privacy. =P oh well, just hang in there ya! lets keep our spirits up and tell ourselves its all for the good of our lil precious one.

baby23,
the cracking sound is not very often. still monitoring it. but def no pain anymore.=>

re:post-natal exercise
any mummies starting working out already? i am planning to resume my running (prob start with power walk and short run) this weekend but i just wanna make sure it will not affect my BF supply. any idea?

blessed11,
thanks! too much trouble for me to go swimming coz of travelling time. but thinkin of going running soon.

my baby normally has last feed around 9pm and will only wake up around 7am. =P

my gal's flu is recovering and fever just gone down =) but now me n hubby are sick all over again.. haiz~ really wonder when will our family really recover.. will be bringing my gal for her review tdy for her hip bone, *pray* hard her hip bone is in position and she's fine le..

drinking:

she has a schedule of 9-10pm last feed and waking up at 11am the next day for her feed of 180ml den rest of the day is 180ml per 3.5-4hrs, so she's only having 4 feeds per day and ard 700ml in total.. though these days she is not well so only 500ml..

gd morning mummies

knuckles &amp; wrist pain> i had it during the confinement. oso tot i been washing hand too much &amp; got this.. tot it's "hong sip" .. the ache has gone aready.. i guess we all need ample rest.. else our body wont have aches ev where...

Today i got a STIFF NECK.. haiz.. feel the ache when turn my head to right side.. any one got any remedy??? buay tahan i applied yoko yoko tis morn to relieve abit...

pumping in offiz>
i did it in the locker/changing room.. sometimes colleague come in to take stuff will tok to me abit but not work stuff. hehe.. so i so far still pumping in peace..

last night trysten slp with me...on the same bed.. i basically nv slp for the whole night.. he is still slping with alot of noise &amp; movements.. kns... &amp; his daddy came back v v late,he slp beside me oso.. i like kanna sandwich in between.. the daddy give me a "hard" kick! PAIN! cannot imagine if trysten slp in the middle!! -__-

talking about calcium &amp; vitamins.
i didnt take any supplements for sometime aready.. finished those i got for preggie &amp; nv replenish..and i am not a milk person.. i guess i need to buy some calcium to eat.. afraid i will be lack of calcium for BF... oso tink will BF as long as possible.. but i jus cant wake up &amp; pump in the middle of the night.. hahaha..

Jenn!!
ur bb slept for more than 12hrs?????? SB envy lei!! wah.. like that can do a lot of things while she sleeping man! So she doens't wake up for feeds in between??

Alibaba
yah my rascal also makes lots of noises and kicking her legs.. strange hor, wonder wat they dreaming of

Sleeping Habits:
My baby is starting to sleep through the night from about 9pm to 8am. However, she refuses to sleep during the day. My mum looks after her when i am at work and on several occasions when my husband works from home, he said he saw my mum had to almost 'force' the baby to sleep by rocking and rocking her. I still have no idea how to train her into a routine. Headache!

peanut, she doesn't wake up for night feed since she's 6 wks old, sleeping for 12hrs is since she was 3mths old.. prob she loves sleeping more than drinking?? think she's used to playing on her own till she falls asleep again even if she wakes up earlier than 11am.. so as days gones by, she knows it's not time to wake up yet ba.. since she's ard 2mths, everytime she wakes up i will play with her w/o picking her up from her cot instead of feeding her milk instantly.. only when she starts crying for milk then i will feed her.. usually will be an hr later.. so when she drink liao she will auto go bk to sleep.. unless it's in the later afternoon then she will want to continue playing le.. so it sets a rountine for her le and she just follow thru it slowly..

jenn,
wow! i think thats great. its alot less time spent feeding then and you have more rest time in between. =>

waterbaby,
maybe try to "tire" her out by playing with her, bringing her out for a stroll. i tend to do that after her feeds so that she can get tired and hopefully fall asleep on her own. =P

Jenn
so good lei, sounds like an easy baby! thou ony 4feeds but she's stil taking the required vol.. during the day she stil takes naps rite? envy envy, lets swop bb..

jenn> envy u!!! my son still wake up lor.. 2+am he aready start moving .. i latch him on awhile den slp... 4am again keep on moving... i go make hot his milk &amp; feed him.. btw ur wait til bb really cry den give or wat?? cos i really duno when he can slp thru the night if cont'd lidat.. if he 8+pm slp liao. he can tong til 1+2am den wake up for feed. if 11+pm give him, den he tong til 3+4+ for milk.. no much diff whether to give the 11+pm feed leh. although he can finish all or 90% of the milk la.. cos still gotta wake up at the timing between 1-4+am.. -_- then u will normally wake up around 7+am... wait for pon pon.. den will nap awhile

Morning mummies! TGIF!

Teenyweeny: Think SAHM is not easy..you sound really weary. Jia you OK! Do the best you can regd bf, but don't be too hard on yourself k! Hope you can get a breather when your father comes...

Sabre/Blessed11: My bb last feed ard 11.30pm, his next feed usu abt 7.30am. *keep fingers crossed this will last* So that's abt 8 hrs interval. But once in a while, he will wake up at 5.30am. But daytime, his feeding interval still stays at 3 hrs.

Haru: Me starting my running regime nxt wk! Will start with fast walk, then progress to jog again. Don't think will affect bm supply rite...

Jenn: Wow - your bb sleep from 10pm and next feed at 11am?! That's really a long interval!

Alibaba: Haa..ur bb like your hb then, make a lot of movements in his sleep :p that's why i don't dare to let bb sleep on our bed, coz my hb sure 'crush' him one coz he so big sized...

Toys: Now that bb is 4 mths liao, think it is getting boring for him coz he is either on the cot or on the rocker.

Anyone got the rubberized mat (LG/parklon) or those padded playmats that come with music/toys? Do your bb like it?? Wondering if shld invest in one....or is playpen better?

Hope next wk Taka bb fair can get gd bargains

Teeny weeny: Oh dear.. how about looking for a part time help? Or you may want to start instilling a schedule with ur baby (so that at least when she sleeps u can relac). Dont be stressed ok? And think abt it -- you have done a really good job bfeeding for almost 4 mths already!! So if you switch to formula, then at least u know you tried your best for 4 mths!

Bibi: GREAT IDEA! I am going to look for a storeroom in my ofc today!

Blessed11: I was tempted to buy the excersaucer but there was something wrong with the stge 3 (Mummy zeal sent the link). How's ur experience so far?

peanut, the tough times come in the afternoon lor... ard 2pm-5pm where she seldom sleep or maybe nap 45mins to an hr only.. sometimes she wanna sleep but can't will be super cranky de then have to carry n pat on her buttock for awhile before she can sleep in the afternoon.. hahahaz~ but again, luckily it's only the few hrs in the afternoon i have to carry her else my hands really cannot tahan le..

alibaba, sometimes they just wake up or move abit dun need to feed him de.. just monitor lor.. he should be able to sleep bk himself de.. let him be used to it.. unless he really make noise for milk else dun need to be alarmed..

haru, i will rest in the morning then chong all the way to take care of her in the afternoon.. hahaz~ can be tiring also coz is chong all e way de.. lol~ then again, I have enough rest in the morning le ba..

ALibaba
yah.. middle of nite, unless they cry, try not to feed. For mine, when she making noise, i'll either pop the tutu into her mouth or jus try to ignore.. If cry a bit, i try to feed some water 1st.. if after tt she stil cry then milk milk time.

Jenn
aiyor, ony that few hrs in e aftern ok liao lor.. wher got bb not cranky at all one..

peanut, ya lor... she cranky = wanna sleep n pat pat le.. think once they get older, it's easier to take care of them le =) prob also coz i take care of her 24X7 myself so I can easily spot her pattern..

So envy those with bb sleeping thru the nite... mine still canot leh

Try to give her last feed ard 11-12 so the next feed will be ard 5am. But hor recently she will auto wake up ard 2-3am and cry, give her some water and pat her to slp, then she will wake up ard 5am crying for milk liao. She cannot break the habit of waking up at 2-3am leh, sigh....

Alibaba,
My bb also like urs but recently I try to give her water at nite if she cry,if she just move move , I will pat her to sleep and try to stretch her feeding time to 5-6hrs. Think that is the longest she can tong lor...she cannot tong for 7-8 hrs leh

Haru:
Ya, was thinking of that but have to get my mum to subscribe to that too. Have told her that a few times but still she's not doing it. Think she's worried she can't handle baby during the walk. My husband actually suggested getting the maid to follow my mum when they go out for walk so there's an extra pair of hands to help should my bb decides to buly por por. But i am reluctant to let the maid go cos she's already trying to use the baby as an excuse now for the housework that's not done even.

I've told the maid to concentrate on housework during in the morning so that she can help por por with the baby in the afternoon. But on several occasions, she would drop everything she's doing the moment she hears my baby cry and grab her from my mother to carry. She would then keep carrying the baby and use that as an excuse for not being able to do housework.

Lynn: Thanks! I will buy Baby Einstein for my baby. see if he likes it.

My baby went crazy last night....refused to sleep till 4am!! This moning me like zombie at work...somemore runny nose. sigh. going to stay over at my parents tonite...at least got someone to help.

Does anyone use electric yaolan?? I want to buy one from the forum but not sure if electric one make a lot of noise.

Pamela: Baby likes the exersaucer and can sit and play in it for about 20 mins or more, which is really gd.

The sounds, music is gd for her and also she feels the toys and pulls and all, which is gd for her motor skills. And best of it the exersaucer can hop hop in it, which she can train her feet. Her toes touches the base. The exersaucer has a spring motion so even if baby hops, is fine, it springs with baby and she finds it fun bcos as if she is standing up on her own.

I saw an article that said exersaucer better than walker, but anyway, I have both for her, she doesnt really like the walker sa for now.

I bought it through a mummy in this forum only $309, evenflo exersaucer retail $349 at some shops Paragon even worse sells at $429! So I saved quite a bit..which is gd. Let me know if u want her contact.

glad gal and waterbaby: wow ur babies can really sleep thru! I must try let my baby sleep longer too, i wake her after 5 hrs scared she hungry but i guess they will start making noises when they r really hungry, sometimes i wake her now she will cry.

Baby23, i don't dare to eat chinese herbs cos i m bf-ing. anyway i hate chinese herbs. :p kekeke.. i just leave it alone lor.. just keep flexing my fingers as and when I can.

Haru, ya i was just telling Fifi, even if i can slp through, i will still wake up to pump. cos i yield more at night. easily 250ml per pump (4-4.5hrs interval). keep it up. I know its tough but its definitely doable!

Re: Slping habits!
Wah ur bbs can slp for so long ah! that's very gd! my boy only slps a max of 7hrs at one shot. but recently he needs his 5am feed. dunno why.. fed him liao he can zzz till 8am so i'm not complaining. if i dun feed he will wake up at 6am!

Pamela, have u left for Belgium? I'm gg off to Cairns next mth. wanna ask u how to bring ur milk back.

Peanut00: I tried to put him to sleep around 830pm....he slept a bit then woke up. Last time he could sleep till abt 1am wake up for a feed then continue sleeping till next morn around 6am. Now cannot.

My dad told me he's been sleeping quite a bit in the day too.

But I dun dare to not let him sleep so much in the day cos he' also cranky when he din get enough. i really dunno wat to do with him

so going to buy another yaolan for my place to try. sigh.

and cos he doesn't want pacifiers, i let him suckle until my breasts really hurt. sian. sometimes i just push his fist into his mouth.

Still Big
Hhh...now already 4 mths and tummy still so big...hhh...sad ley...i only bf for abt 1 mth..so tummy cant shrink...help!!!!! still cant wear my pre-preg clothes ley coz bust line&amp;hips seems to have expanded ley...

shop4stuffs
haiz.. tok abt bustline.. my ney ney shrink back liao.. somemore majiam even smaller than last time lei!!! sianz.. dun feel sexy at all.