(2008/11) November 2008

Haru> i have 2 of the FP rocker, 1 at my mum's place and 1 at mine. it's very good and my baby likes the vibration calming effect. he can sleep in the rocker for a straight 4-5 hours. but now he's out growing the rocker as he's quite tall.

Just brought him to PD yesterday coz i feel he's really drinking TOO little. max 400ml a day. most of the days are just over 300ml. checked his weight, he's slowing down now, he used to grow 200g every week but now he only grow 200g in a mth. PD checked everything and found nothing wrong with him. Anyway, my baby have been refered to see neurologist. dunno what's that for but my PD wants me to bring him for a check.

Peanut> sigh, i think my son is having the same problem as ur nini now. refused to drink milk. in fact when he sees the bottles, he goes into wailing and crying..... it takes us hours to feed. daily milk intake is a little! so kelian! sigh... have ur nini's drinking habit improve?

by the way, my baby is almost 3 mths old and he only weighs 6kg and 63cm long. dunno why his growth has slowed down so much.

Looking at all your bb weight, i think Kayan is too heavy liao. At wk 6, he is already 5.4kg. I guess he should be 6 kg by now (wk 7+).

My boy drink a lot if he is not sleeping.

Pls be careful if you are breastfeeding outside. Yesterday when i'm using the baby care room at TM, a stupid man was trying to open the door. The baby room in TM does not have any lock, luckily my mum is with me. She quickly push the door tight. How can someone just open the door like that, without knocking somemore. i'm so angry cos I'm breastfeeding my boy.

sorry for the long post.. i happen to be free. baby is sleepin..

CNY>> gog to latch direct too. but will be bring pump out.

sleep>> initially my girl can sleep longer in the nights. but now due to runny & block nose, she sleeps at 8 and wakes up at 2am. after that, she will wakes up every 2 hrly... she gets really cranky at 6pm and i usually prepare to get her to slp at 7pm.

breastmilk>> mine is just right. i usually pump at 10-11pm as my baby sleeps at 8pm and wakes ard 2am. after that if i still more 'some', i may pump out ard 5am. like that very lack of sleep!! i dun pump in the day, as i feed direct.

going out>> actaully goin out is easier than stayin at home.. sometimes my girl keeps wantin to suckle for comfort.. or she wants to play and play and play... and i cant do any housework.. but when goin out, i need to find the nursing rooms, else i feed her in the car.

weight>> i dun really know my baby's weight as i m feeding direct. just got back frm her 3rd chkup &jab. she gained enough weight, doc say ok, so i'm fine. i'm trying not to get too pananoid abt not knowing how much she is drinking.

windy&bad weather>> my girl is down with slight cold.. hence sleepless nights. i hope it gets better by this wkend.. else very hard to go out during cny.

tv>> i think its bad for baby. but if i dun let her watch, i cannot do anything at all..

avent manual pump>> quite happy with this so far. but can get pretty tiring. i m using this every night.

Pneumoccocal>> my girl is taking this and the rotavirus. i think all the jabs cost abt 1k right?

left over breastmilk>> i use for footsoak. i dun keep it more than 1 mth.

waterBaby & joyce>> blocked ducts.. i usually pump out the milk before the breast gets any harder. massage before every feed or pump should help.

waterbaby>> my baby behave very well when she is outside and drink faster. she is like ur girl, always playin with my nipple when she is at home. maybe ur girl will behave differently outside? maybe i will intro sarong for her to slp in the day!

enne>> hope ur baby will be alright. i have been mia too. wishing u all the best!

Jo>> there's no logic behind dun weigh too often. but at least ur baby will gets to weigh in the monthly chkup right? i think that's gd enough. using the same weighing machine is more accurate. when my baby falls sick she lose some weight. that's normal. if the baby weight is not gd, ur doc will tell u.

lisa77>> my girl's dry up already. slight red bump. show to the doc during her mthly chkup?

happywifey>> dun give up. my baby can only latch well after her 2nd mth. it takes time for both of u to learn.

Yoyosan >> i hate it when i have to wake up in the middle of night to express while my baby and hubby sleepin soundly..

brocoli >> the photos r very nicely taken! esp the sleepin angel!!! so cute!

haru>> sometimes sore nipple can get u slight fever. maybe the bad weather makes it worst. take care. i m just recoverin frm my cold.

amooks>> my girl's growth slowed down too though she is drinkin gd. maybe mine is due to her slight cold..

bibi>> so horrible! stupid man or is he the cleaner?

hdb hub parents room>> the security comes knocking quite frequently. very irritatin but he says there are people sleepin in the room, so he has to do chks.

marina barrage's nursin room>> when i went to the nursing room, 2 indian cleaner were there. then i went in with my hubby. but shortly, some indian man tried to open the door. luckily it can be locked. i dunno if they are the some man. but can be very scary if i m alone with my baby. anyway the room is really bad ventilated. stuffy and warm!!! and it smells!!

Pkum> ya, PD also suspected my baby has slight flu but it's so mild that maybe it cannot be detected. PD also say it's also probably due to my BM quality not good that baby is not gaining weight. he said there was 1 baby who drinks a lot of BM and didnt gain weight at all, the mummy found out later that she was pregnant and that's why there's no nutrients in the BM that the baby was drinking, therefore not gaining weight. but for my case... sigh, really dunno. just had a 1.5hrs fight with baby over drinking milk..... so tired....

Re: Drugstore Spree
Stuff have arrived. Spare 8 tubes of desitin creamy and 1 tube of desitin original. All the rest have been reserved. Will post shipping costs, etc later tonight/tomorrow.

oh, another thing, those of u who said you have the Fisher price rocker with the vibration mode one...my hubby said he dunno where to get the battery for the vibrator..where you gals get it? I haven on the vibrator before cos no bat

Fifi,
Thks. I've checked with their staff and she told me is for bb age above 1yr.

blurfairy,
No bat, not sure. I had the fisher price rocker too but I've not used it yet as my mil says must wait till bb is 4mths when his backbone is firm. Haiz.

Photos:
how u mummies managed to get still pictures of bbs. haha.. mine is like moving all the time.. hands, legs swapping here and there... pictures come out all blurry...

Milk:
Bear, i remember u mentioned b4 that u would make sure bb drink the milk that u give regardless. How do you push in the milk? Other than "vomiting" sound, tongue pushing out the teat, pretending to cough.. i dun seem to be able to push in any milk at all. It would just dribble out from the side..
Mummies, any idea how to increase bb's milk drinking per session?

Just bought baby for his 6-in-1 jab yesterday. Now he having a bit fever, hopefully will recover soon. Anyway, he is 5.8kg at 8 weeks now. My doctor says he got weight of a 3 months baby.. hahaha... And he managed to lift his head up liao when I put him on his tummy. Now trying to train him to flip.. A pic of him to share with you all...

2099276.jpg

Dymples,
Your girl's hair is so long!!!

Re:Going out,
I only latch on when I'm out with baby. Too troublesome to bring pump. So far, I prefer bringing him out than staying home lor.. Cause he feeds 2-3 hrs outside, but at home can feed every hr de... Sometimes he does make a fuss la, but just try to coax him lor, since he don wan take pacifier and i don let him suck hand..

amooks/peanut/other mummies who have difficulty feeding bb: Lucas has been on pacifier since 6 wks old but since he started with bottle feeding (Avent) few days old, he has fuss almost during every feed and usually take 45mins to 1hr for feeding. Recently, we try switch the bottle to NUK and he actually finish up the milk in 20mins w/o much fuss. Spent quite an amt on Avent bottles ... but since he prefer NUK bottles and finish his milk fast ... I jus have to keep the Avent bottles away for now. I guess he prefers NUK bottles cos the teat is similar to his pacifier one. You may want to consider if a change of milk bottles be necessary for ur bb?

pkum: No mthly checkup. So far, been to PD when he was 6wks old for jab and next visit for his 3rd mth jab right after CNY.

my fever still has yet to subside and breast still feelin quite painful. Think i'll call to make appt to see a LC soon. dunno is it i dun pump often enough at nite to empty breasts hence tend to get engorgement..

Sorry i have been rather tired recently... hence taking all possible rest time to slp... i m still consolidating the list and it shd be out tmr.
Dymples and Vincy, sorry, don't transfer to me liao. gotta close this ya? hope u understand.

Enne, do take care of urself ya? u gotta be strong too. we are all praying for Baby L. he looks so bright and alert in that photo.

Re: LC
A few of u asked me for the LC's contact. sorry to say it was Fifi that arranged the whole appt thing for me! i just turned up at the place at the appointed time. Just for ur info her name is Cynthia Pang from KKH. U can call KK's hotline and asked to make an appt with.. not sure if that's possible.

Waterbaby. Joyce, ya lor.. its really very sian bf-ing sometime. but if i dun bf i feel like i m the lousiest mum in the world leh.. sigh..

Haru, hope u are ok.. and it isn't mastitis!

Yoyosan, hahaha ya ya.. somewhere in s'pore in the middle of the night there is a bunch of dedicated mummies pumping away.. heehee.. i usually pump around 4am.. heh so if u are pumping then, u know i m with u in spirit! abt the milk intake this is wat is do lor. my CL taught us one. she would tap the bottle continuously. u gotta be patient though cos the bb wouldn't wanna suck at all.. the longest it took for us to feed him 100ml was abt 1 hr 20 mins. we just sat there and tapped the bottle. he will only take one suck then stop so its very frustrating. the milk shdn't leak out leh cos ur bb needs to suck to get milk out and when he sucks he would usually swallow. if it dribbles out, are u using a teat size too big? anyway this works for us. if my boy is agitated i will stop feeding, soothe him before continuing.. he gets irritated with the tapping too!

Re: bf-ing during CNY
I planned my route swee swee liao.. will be bringing out 3 bottles of EBM and my pump. i will only go to those places that is absolutely necessary like my parents', inlaws' and granny's place. otherwise i have already told the rest that the bb is too small to be out the whole day. it would prob give him nightmares from all the stimulation!

Re: baby photos!
All ur bbs so cute leh.. wanna pinch their chubby cheeks!!

Jo
no use one.. my bb's pacifier is Nuk's latex and we've tried changing to Nuk milk bottle but she stil fuss.. Tried changing to Friso (sweeter tot she'll like it) but she stil fuss.. Tried diluting the milk (cos she likes water!) but she stil fuss... Go temple pray to god but she stil fuss!!!! No hope liao lah, hav to live with it... -_-"

Amooks,
Aiyorz.. sorry to hear that u've joined the "fussy baby" club.. Nini stil e same, fussing during feeds.. If we SUPER lucky she'll drink fast fast without fussing.. If we QUITE lucky, she'll fuss for 10-15mins before drinking.. If we DAMN suay she'll stil refuse after more than 1hr.. tell u ah, now i hear her cry during feeds my heart wil drop. Her milk intake can be as low as 400ml, on better days around 600ml so stil considered low.. Her growth also slows down liao.. She was weighing 5.85kg at 2.5weeks but doc say it's stil considered good weight.

Amooks,
paiseh correction.. 5.85kg at 2.5months..
Neurologist?? that has got to do with nervous system lei.. u shd hav asked e doc why he referred u to this type of specialist.. Anyway would b good if u can update me on the result of the checkup since my bb sama sama to urs...

Hey Bear, I pump at 4am too! So i know there's someone out there, groggy eyed and half asleep but pumping away with me

I'm hoping to bf for a year. The recent blocked ducts & blisters have really demoralised me quite a bit plus my bb's bf-ing habits have detered us from going out. All these added together have made me think of giving up bf-ing when i return to work in a month's time but i'm still hoping that i can be determined enough to perservere on...

Peanut,
My baby used to fuss a lot when i bottle fed her at night. She would wave her arms and kick her leg frantically in the air, making a lot of grunting noise which soon turned into frustrated cries. We couldn't figure out what was wrong till my PD pointed out that she could have a lot of wind in her tummy, thus making her feel full and also very uncomfortable to feed.

Perhaps you can try burping your baby first and putting some ruyi oil on her tummy perhaps 10 - 15 mins before feeding? Not sure this will work for your bb but can give it a try cos it worked for me.

Pumping @ 4am:
Wah... got kahki... same as me... I oso pump at 4am.

Re: LC Cynthia Pang
I managed to arrange for Bear coz I was going to see her on the same day. So you all have to call KK hotline hor. But if you want to see her, it gotta be soon as shes going overseas for some time soon.

Re: BF
I'm oso demoralised. My stupid blister keeps coming back. I was joking that I spend more $ on LC than I would have on milk powder. Also, my LC's office was like half a home for me last week. Sigh. But everytime I think that my daughter hates FM, I will make myself tarhan.

Re: Fussing when feeding
Ermz, try bring baby downstairs every morning for a walk. Might help. This is a routine for my daughter already and she fuss a lot less than before. In fact, now she only fuss on certain days.

Also ensure the milk flow is not too slow or too fast. And talk to them, let them know what they are drinking.

mornin mummies,
my fever has subsided!!yipee!! will see LC if my breast still hurts. see if the pain goes away.

re:feeding
my baby sometimes keep tugging away from my breast,really dunno why she does that. is it milk flow too slow? but i just try to do like fifi,hug her tightly..

Drugstore Spree

<table border=1><tr><td>Nickname</TD><TD>Item Description</TD><TD>Qty</TD><TD> Cost </TD><TD> Shipping </TD><TD> Total </TD><TD> Amt Paid </TD><TD> Top Up Amt </TD></TR><TR><TD>Glad_Gal</TD><TD>Lansinoh Breastmilk Storage Bags </TD><TD>2</TD><TD> SGD 42.60 </TD><TD> SGD 6.38 </TD><TD> SGD 48.98 </TD><TD> SGD 42.59 </TD><TD> SGD 6.39 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Medela Breastshield 1 ea</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bear</TD><TD>Desitin Diaper Rash Ointment, Creamy, Fresh Scent (4oz)</TD><TD>10</TD><TD> SGD 96.21 </TD><TD> SGD 17.55 </TD><TD> SGD 113.75 </TD><TD> SGD 91.50 </TD><TD> SGD 22.25 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Munchkin Fresh Fruit Feeder</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kash</TD><TD>Desitin Diaper Rash Ointment, Creamy, Fresh Scent (4oz)</TD><TD>4</TD><TD> SGD 36.59 </TD><TD> SGD 6.38 </TD><TD> SGD 42.97 </TD><TD></TD><TD> SGD 42.97 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jynnsan</TD><TD>Desitin Diaper Rash Ointment, Creamy, Fresh Scent (4oz)</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> SGD 28.25 </TD><TD> SGD 3.19 </TD><TD> SGD 31.44 </TD><TD> SGD 28.25 </TD><TD> SGD 3.19 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>California Baby Calendula Cream</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Alibaba</TD><TD>GNC Fenugreek</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> SGD 20.52 </TD><TD> SGD 1.60 </TD><TD> SGD 22.12 </TD><TD></TD><TD> SGD 22.12 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mosh</TD><TD>GNC Fenugreek</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> SGD 20.52 </TD><TD> SGD 1.60 </TD><TD> SGD 22.12 </TD><TD></TD><TD> SGD 22.12 </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jo</TD><TD>Desitin Diaper Rash Ointment, Creamy, Fresh Scent (4oz)</TD><TD>2</TD><TD> SGD 18.30 </TD><TD> SGD 3.19 </TD><TD> SGD 21.49 </TD><TD></TD><TD> SGD 21.49 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Please tell me how you want to collect.

Haru:
Can be too fast or too slow. For me is too fast. So she always try to stop the milk flow by either pulling away or using her tongue to stop. Using her tongue to stop apparently causes the skin to become thicker and form blisters. That's why I hold her in tightly to try to prevent her from doing that and also let her get used to my letdown. I try to lean back abit too.

re:pumping
quite hard for me to decide sometimes wat time i should pump at nite coz baby's sleeping pattern seem to have changed recently.

i think she has somewhat got used to the routine so after her bath time is when she normally falls into her deep sleep. she can sleep from 8pm till like 3am or later. she no longer has her feed at 11pm n wake up at 5am. but very blessed that i hardly hv to wake up more than once in the middle of the night to feed. but sometimes i am too tired to stay awake till 12am to pump. =P

Fifi, my blister keeps coming back too, on one boob only though and the swollen lump is also back, although much small now and goes away after my bb latches on. But i definitely know what you mean by being demoralised...

Waterbaby:
You muz massage the nipple well. Check before and after nursing/pumping that the affected opening is not blocked.

Wow! All the babies photos so nice and cute : They all look v happy!

Re : maid

Dunno why after maid left, i felt sooooooo RELIEF that there is no more "extra" person in the house althou i am super bz having to do housework, washing lots of bottles and pumping... but i juz feel so "light" that i can do whatever i want at home...put my wallet, valuables anywhere i want!

Re : Part time maid

Any lobangs? my previous one is very bz no time for me... i need 1 desperately... thanks.

Re : Meet up

Any mummies interested to meet up for coffee or tea ard 2pm on weekdays after CNY period?

Location : maybe vivo city or marina sq or any other suggestions.

hi lovedogs,
i would love to meet up with some mummies too! can share our experiences and stories,haha..only nervous that baby might be crying along e way in the car but she does tend to sleep better outside..=P

kash, I know of an agency providing maid service for a whole day or half a day cleaning service for your home. If you are interested, can you email mi your mobile no. @ [email protected] &amp; I will send you a sms template to the agent. Abit troublesome to deal with this agent but their maids are not bad.

mobile pet grooming: I'm looking for a pet mobile grooming before CNY. I know its v late but wanna try to give my Blessie a good cut ... she looks messy.

bear: I am also skipping those distant relatives houses so i feel no need to visit baby too small...so I will also make excuse to my parents i only visit cloest ones like granny, in laws, parents, save on my time too..its also tiring on baby to travel so much.

My car has baby seat but baby hate sitting in it always cry when we put her in, so always maid has to carry...her to sleep in car..

For pump..i m undecided to bring out my medela one so many wires so bulky...somemore go ppl house to use quite paisay...

re:naptime
my baby cant seem to nap long in e day at home. usually only bout 20 min, if not gotta let her sleep in my arms..she used to be able to nap quite long even in e day. oh dear..

cc:
Do take note that it is an offence for baby not to be in the car seat. Its also very unsafe. You have to get her used to it.

No doubt is an offence for bb not to be sitting in car seat. Yesterday, Lucas sat in his car seat and after abt 20mins, he cry nonstop so loudly. Give him his fav. pacifier also no use ... cant tahan let him cry nonstop in the car woh. So asked maid to carry him and he ok liao. Sometimes it might be bcos he has sat in the car seat quite some time ... quite warm or body uncomfortable ... so wanna pple carry.

borrowingkaren,
my baby has a funny habit..if car goes 80km/hr she will not cry as easily.if i stop at traffic junction is normally when she starts to cry.haha..i call her my human speedometer.

peanut/amooks aka "fussy baby club"

-do u follow a schedule for ur bb drinking?
if it takes more than an hour, how do u know when's the next feed? Wait for bb to cry or just play guessing game?

as drinking volume is different for my bb each time, i find hard to gauge. Sometimes offer, she refused then got to throw away the ebm. Sometimes offer, she not enough then make some more she dun wan liao. bcos of these uncertainties, i dun dare bring her out.. cos she can't wait for milk to be warmed.. and after warming, she just take 20ml and dun wan the rest... sigh!

any solution? wish i could have a schedule for her.. or like peanut, i might just hv to live with it.

mummyzeal,

i stay in tampines....extreme east leh... no, i am not a SAHM...but still on maternity leave...so hope to meet up some mummies if possible b4 going back to work...

fifi,

can take 1 half day? ;)

haru,

my bb cries in his carseat if he is hungry...most of the time he will zzzzz leh... sometimes he will make some noise when it is red light... but once the car moves, he is ok...

cc,

u have to let bb get used to it. coz they are safer in the carseat as compared to being carried by someone leh....my #1 now so old liao sometimes will still cry in the carseat if she is feeling "hot", or the sunlight is shining on her, or she is sleepy and missed her naptime. At times, i juz bo chap let her scream and cry...learnt to ignore liao...so immune...

the other day i went to airport with my #1 and #2 in their carseats behind all by myself to pick up hb from his biz trip. luckily both of them were very good...my gal juz talked alot and bb was juz looking ard....

brocoli,

u wont be alone...if there are a few mummies who are keen to meet up hor... we all will help each other sooth any crying babies i am sure

Re : CNY

i dun intend to pump nor latch... guess the most also 8 hrs without pumping...shdn't be a problem... juz that breasts will be painful... but 2 days only shd be ok...

brocoli

i got ur PM, thanks
replied u liao. but hor, nvr receive ur mms...i am using iphone...i think iphone cannot receive mms....

fifi,

i juz made payment to your bank account. can you please check and confirm receipt? thanks.

FIFI
Amount S$51.69
Transaction Reference 2081644529

kash,
would luv to meet up with u mummies, do let me know..
share wif u my girl's photo, she likes to smile always.. most of the time when she smiles, can't see her eyes already, keke
2101793.jpg