(2008/11) November 2008

Waterbaby:
I'm having the same problems. Left blocked, right blister, then left blister... never ending. But my LC is really good lah. Really can help me slowly clear it. If not, I surely give up BF by now.

just went back to work for half a day yesterday. so silly lor, forgot to bring one of my pump parts so end up i rush home to pump. really glad coz i managed to pump 120ml when i went home which is sufficient for one feed. pray that my supply will continue to increase.

Fifi,
i am also planning to give her freshly EBM rather than frozen EBM when my supply has stabilized. but i wonder what i should do with the frozen EBM then since can only keep for about 3 months..

blurfairy,
i am practicing the same routine as you. if she cries before her feeding time, i try to carry her and see if i can burp her before her feed. delay until feeding time.normally it is at least 3 hours. sometimes she can even stretch beyond 4 hours. but both my mum and MIL says if they do not wake up for feed, just let them sleep. i also try to let her stay awake (not a prob coz my baby very "kaypoh" and curious) and play with her. when i see she start to yawn or whine then i try to pat her to sleep..

Jynnsan

my boy oso same, always rubbing the face n eyes when trying to sleep.. like so itch..

Fifi

Is the spare desitin cream orginal or creamy? If it is original, can i reserve 3 tube?

Fifi, Bear, the LC you gals are talking about is it doris fok? My friend recommended her to me but i didnt use her that time cos i thought i can manage. But when im desperate, i forget to call her and instead use another LC. Use that LC twice, managed to clear my blockages twice, but problems still return cos i didnt know can massage aerola and nipples. Thus in the end, give up bf cos kena infection and also nipples pain like siao and no matter how hard i pump, not much comes out. Signz.

bluebear, sure, you can come and visit me during cny. In the meantime can see how my maid is performing. but do think it through, having a maid is another commitment. I will talk to you more about her when we meet up. Hey you interested to go for a stroll with the kids in bishan active or the park sometime next week?

Kash, for me, i have 2 free replacements. So i no need to pay agency fee again. I just need to pay the loan for the new maid and her insurance. But when i send my current maid back to agency, i need to pay some money for her lodging and food till she found a new employer for a max of 21 days which is not much really. If you want to send your maid back to her country, you need to cancel her work permit, insurance and buy her an one way air ticket home.

sleep: my boi a light sleeper in the day. Even though daily i will play with him till he is really sleepy and cranky, when i rock him to sleep in his sarong, my hands cannot stop cos once stop, he will be awake. I cant even go toliet or take a nap. Really headache got to ask maid to help in such times. Really tired and frustrating at times. Tempted to get the automatic cradle so i can be free to do something else. I give up trying to pat my boi to sleep in his cot le. No longer works. At night after he is fast asleep in his sarong, then we will transfer him to his cot. Now he can sleep for about 6-7 from last feed at nite.

joyce

i intend to check her luggage before she leaves on Monday...hmm...bra and panties huh? dun think i will do that...i think i will check my valuables before we leave. i called my fren's agency and they have a transfer maid now...also indo been her 4 mths... hiaz...sounds good...tmr we will try to go interview her. Heard a family interviewed her very satisfied and will be bringing their kids to see her tmr... so i guess i better act fast. isn't it normal to scold maids? I am so pissed off wif my maid i have to say that i am very nasty, i hope she will not find another employer and will be send back to Indonesia. I can't send her back coz she has not finish repaying her loan according to the agency. But agency will only keep her for max 1 mth.

Jynn: agree with you....i will be giving $20 each to both my maids..i tink it's a fair amt. Initially i thot $50 each but thats a bit too much...siong.

Kash: Maids can b very disappointing..my maid the Phil oso not tat smart and very deaf...always I have to repeat 3-4 times to get her to understand but the thot of changing maids quite sian have to re-teach all over...I used to buy Royal Umbrella rice so ex now I buy NTUC rice less than half price.

dreamyjo,
my baby also tend to have very short naps during the day. but sometimes bo pian have to let her cry a little bit coz i all alone so like u said wanna go washroom also got prob. i think thats why i have been having constipation too. lack of sleep plus body not relaxed enough. unlike my preggie days where my bowel movement was super good!

lovedogs,
oh dear, hope you will have better luck with ur next helper. i have seen some really good helpers who are really initiative, reliable and most of all get along well with family. those are really worth keeping them for as long as poss. one of my neighbour has a really fantastic maid and alot of the residents here know her coz she is so outgoing and even speaks mandarin! i guess it is all a matter of finding the right one.

amooks: ur maid v. scary good decision to hv her changed. I believe is voodoo or what we call gong tao...

RE: BREASTMILK
How do mummies manage to pump over 10-20 bottles or packs of milk...can share the secret to expressing more milk..?

Hi guys!

Re: Enne
Those who have not contacted me to tell me that they will be late in contributing, please don't do it liao. I have to close this.
the rest of u got mail! will consolidate and email everybody by Wed.

Maggie, eeee ur maid so scary!! i damn scared my maid will be the same and she hasn't even arrive in s'pore!

Kash, oh dear.. hope u can get the maid asap. dun go back to that agency liao lah.. they like overcharging u leh. gd luck with the new maid!

Re: naps
Wah ur babies are amazing! mine dun wanna zzzz leh.. esp aft his 4-5pm feed. he will be super cranky cos he is tired liao but still too bright for him to zzz hence will keep crying. only when we bathe him then he will stop.. sigh.. hard to get him to nap.

Dreamyjo, no the LC we saw is Cynthia Pang from KK. very experienced. cos the previous day i went to another LC who insisted the lumps in my boobs were swollen tissue. when i told Sister Pang, she said it is highly unlikely that someone can mistook it as swollen tissues.

Waterbaby, hope u can resolve ur block ducts. not all LCs are the same! i realised that aft the blockage, my ss from the affect boob dropped abt 20%. that 20% is damn precious to me cos i need to freeze it! Sometimes really wanna give up breastfeeding. i can't even go out in peace. like today i planned swee swee to go and do some grocery shopping in btw my pumps. end up had to feed the bb, eat my lunch and then when ready to go out its almost time to pump liao.. so sian.. my life revolves around my pump.. sigh.. now my boy is slping some what throughout the night i still need to crawl out of bed to pump! MEGA SIAN!

Carol> your boy sounds like behaving the same as mine! i get so frustrated during feeding time coz it takes a long time and when i force him to drink, he pretend to vomit and i hate that look whenever he does that! grr.r.r..r how to grow when he doesnt drink?? i really dun understand!

Kash> i think my boy should be ok ba. i dunno, will monitor his milk intake. Maid, i still take another indo maid. sigh, sometimes it's all boils down to luck lah. my mum's maid has been with our family for 8 years. and the previous ones also worked for very long. That's why i dun really have any problem or guard against maids! Now i really have to open my eyes BIG BIG.

hi all, its been a long time coz too tired everyday, pardon me if I forget who is who and whose baby is whose.. just back from hospital not long ago and made my elder boy sleep, had a shower too, tired tired.

And showing my little fighter.....
2090323.jpg

Actually feeling very sad, now hearing CNY songs brings tears to my eyes coz I know my baby won't be back for reunion but HB say hopefully can have some good news abt his condition before CNY would be good too, so am keeping fingers crossed, hope baby will give mummy some good news to start off the ox year.

Anyway wishing all mummies and babies a very happy chinese new year.

Thanks for all the well wishes too.

Dear Enne,
Stay strong and positive for ur baby ya. All will be well for you as i believe many of us will be praying hard for the fast recovery of ur bb. Take care and try to rest whenever possible!

Carol,Jynnsan, borrowing karen,
Bringing bb out in the evening is a real challenge now. Just return from a bbq gathering. My girl was crying so loud cos she's tired and wants to sleep. So paiseh cos i couldn't get her to stop crying and her volume so loud. She will fuss and cry for sometime before she finally go to Zzzz. Tired!!!

CNY -Pumping,
Wondering how i can survive all the CNY visiting and doing my pumping as well. Cos going to be out for whole day! Guess can only latch and dun pump. Any better suggestions?

karen, my maid wld juz walk in to put stuffs even if I'm in the room. I dun care ... I wld mind if she juz walk in if the door is closed but not locked.

nuk bottles: Anyone using NUK bottles. Cos my bb too cranky during feeds ... I thought maybe try another brand of bottle: NUK with the special teat. But I dun know if the teat hole and anti-colic hole (same side) shld be facing upwards or downwards or no diff?

Weigh bb: Issit true cannot weigh bb too often? So far, bb was weighed when he was 6wks old by the PD and weighed him again with home weighing scale when he was ard 8 wks old. Now wanna see if he has gained weight ... but MIL say cannot weigh bb too often. He is 5.5kg @ 11wks old but dunnoe if its accurate to use home weighing scale to weigh him anot.

pacifier & bottle teat: This morning 3am feed, my bb refused to drink milk and keep crying the moment I put the bottle teat into his mouth. MIL came and took over .. he is still same .. ask mi to give him pacifier and he WANTS IT! We slowly remove the pacifier and put the bottle teat into his mouth .. he fussed awhile then start drinking.

Issit okay to let bb lie on rocker to drink milk? What if he relies on rocker during feed? It wld be difficult for us if we bring him out w/o pram. Any advice?

enne: good to see u! leighton is so handsome. i wish u all the very best. don't worry, luke came home from hospital after a long time too.

bear, fifi & anybody else who wants: besides sister pang, nurse teo yen ping in kkh is also v good. 7 yrs ago i went to c her w no. 1 & this time again same problem. she cld still remember me!

Re: Maid
i think i am the exception. but i also experienced 2 irritating idiots i.e. fatso & her replacement. my atun is fabulous, loves my kids a lot & has been standing in for housework during these in between times when we only had her. choosing maid is really heng suay. doesn't mean transfer is lousy cos atun was transferred from anor family. fatso came direct from indonesia w good recommendation from agency but still drive us up the wall. impt thing is u must know the agent quite well then they will try & help. don't go to an agent u completely have no experience w. many thanks to alibaba for recommending her friend to me.

re: babies' weight
haha, my 2 boys r slowing down now but my rachel is taking at least 840 ml a day! tt's right, she's the biggest now, i really wonder whether i'm over-feeding her sometimes.

Fifi,

I have not bought the desitin yet. No idea where to get it also. At Kiddy palace?

You mean you purchase bulk from overseas? Cheaper? How much is per tube?

babyzel
i brought my boy out to bbq too and the wind is very strong (as you know, the wind has been strong nowsaday). He is down with flu now, for 1 week already. so my advise to mummies, dont bring baby out during this period coz its the flu season as told by my pd...especially cny coming, dont wanna see baby sick..

Dear Enne,
Be strong!! Will keep you and your boy in my prayer.

Babyzel,
I feel stres bringing my boy out regardless of the time of the day...when he cry, he is super loud de, somemore when its at crowded places, its even more difficult to make him quiet.

Amooks,
Same!! Jadon will give you that vomit look and sound, sometimes he will simply open his mouth wide and refuse to close or suck!! How come nowadays bb so smart huh??

BB watching tv
Realized that jadon likes to watch tv. Each time after we feed him, if he is not sleepy, will put him in the living room infront of the tv and let him watch the cartoons from disney channels. He quite enjoy Hi-5 also...keke...once he watch tv and laughed to himself so loudly, my mum and I couldnt believe it!

jynnsan: my bb also seldom have deep sleep leh.. my problem with him is that i very kiasi, keep checking on him when he made noise.. even slightest noise i will check on him.. haha so i not enuff sleep lor.. he also wake up for feed every 3 to 4 hrs.. he on tbf..
my bb always rub his face.. i have to check his fingernails lor.. and trim if abit long coz he kept scratching himself...

re: deep sleep
my bb very funny, day time can deep sleep but night time difficult.. ;p

re: breastmilk
i have ard 3 litres of frozen bm.. not my ebm in the fridge keep increasing so no chance to use the frozen bm.. dunno wat to do with them if they are 3 mth old.. haha...

i jus pump leh.. no special technique.. ;p maybe in the 1st mth, i keep latching on then the supply stablised le.. ;p

shopforstuffs,
Yup, the wind is especially strong, so chilly at times. I put on long pants and thicker top for her and hide her in my sling. Only expose her head. But again, she took rota and 5 in 1 jab last fri so i think shouldn't bring her to windy plcs also. Was supposed to look for fever during the 2 days, luckily she's fine. Breastmilk is best to get healthy babies.

Carol,
My gal also loves to watch TV but will stop her. Scare she get myopic.. so young expose to TV like not very gd.

TV
Hmm, I very suay. Every time I want to switch on the TV for my girl, no cartoons. She's not interested in Anime. And I don't have the 30+ channels for children. So only left with okto. So boring. No cartoons!

Enne,
Pls stay strong and all of us will pray for baby

Babyzel,
think is easier and more convenient to latch bb on during CNY visiting. I intend to do so, but just worry that she can't empty my boobs cos now she is drinking 3hourly at 4oz (120ml), but both of my boobs can create 6-8oz.. Maybe will bring pump out just in case.

Babyzel, Shop4stuffs,
ya, now the weather is super windy.. Even today i wear a short skirt, my skirt fly out with the strong wind
so i quickly go bk and change.
My baby is down with flu too, but he got it from his brother. Brought her to see pd and she is getting better liao.

RE: bb watching tv
haha, my bb also watch tv, dunno is it bad for them or not..

Bear,
at time i also feel like give up bf cause of so many problems. I kenal blocked ducts very often and went to LC twice. And other times, i hv to massage till tear wanna drop out to clear the blocked ducts. And i also got blister due to the pump abrasion.. But i still tell myself my target is 6 months, so just bear with it.
Same here, my bb is somehow also sleep thru the night but i still wake up to pump. Sometimes how i wish she is on formula, keke. And also everytime i hv to time myself if i wanna go out, hv to adjust my pumping time.. No choice lor..

RE: MEDELA BREASTPUMP DESIGN FLAW

i am using the Medela mini electric plus in the morning when milkflow is more...and I use the pump, the milk travels into the tube system and into the motor, does anyone face this problem too?

The design flaw has caused the motor to malfunction.

Are there any other better brands ard..?

Am also thinking of gettng a manual pump to bring out on CNY does it work exactly like eletric ones?

i actually enjoy bringin my baby out even tho when she cry she is really loud. she tends to be able to sleep longer when outside, up to 4 hours interval btwn feeds. =P so i normally have to latch her outside up to twice only when we go out.

just started letting my baby latch on both sides, about 15 mins each side so as to stimulate supply and so that my other breast dun get too engorged in case her interval quite long. is this a good practice?

will def be latchin during CNY. in fact,now i only pump once at nite when she is sleeping quite long and when i will be at work which is once only since i am currently only back at work for half days.

joyce and Liv,
think you both have the prob that we all BF mummies would love to have. haha...oversupply! i have not reached that stage yet although i still have my freezer pretty full of EBM.

i think my only peeve about BF is the clothes. kinda always have to plan on the clothes to wear to allow me to BF. =P

Enne,
hang in there!! you must be so busy, do take good care of yourself for your darlings too ya?

cutiemum:
Original I only have 1 tube.

Poohbear:
Desitin can be bought from pharmacies in the hospitals. I think Guardian also may have. However, the price in SG is about $14 for a 2oz tube. We buy and ship in is less than $14 for a 4oz tube. Exact amount depends on shipping.

Liv:
I have 5L in my freezer liao. I always give fresh where possible. After expire, use as milk spa for my daughter lor.

cc:
I have used both Medela PIS and Medela Freestyle and have never had milk flowing into the motor. Water droplets from the water after washing the parts yes but not milk. And it does not reach the motor. Dunno how you manage to get the milk there.

Frankly, Medela is already considered 1 of the best brands around. But its mainly for there higher end range and not for the cheaper pumps like mini electric. Anyway, if you already seem so tired looking after your baby, I believe you would be worst if you use manual.

cc> i'm using the same pump and it's ok leh. i also have the PIS and also have no problem but i prefer the mini electric though, duuno why.

Good morning mummies

I bought my bb and my #1 to see his bb brother do his 1st swim at Harbourfront Centre Hwa Xia on Sat, he kinda enjoyed himself, never cry though was a little fearful initially. He swam for 20min round and round the little pool.
Wow, the nursing room on the 2nd floor is spacious but too bad the seats just for two mummies and there's two diaper changing stations.

<font color="0000ff">Fifi</font>
Ya the water bill will be high, I'm considering to buy the equipment so bb can swim at home. Milk spa sounds cool, bb Alyssa will definitely enjoy it.. it's good for her skin also.

<font color="0000ff">Yen</font>
Your bb enjoyed the swim? The water is so nice warm that my bb was smiling most of the time.

<font color="0000ff">Maid</font>
So far I'm doing without any
Managable as my hubby helps me with housework during wkends. I discussed with him and we think can still cope with any.

<font color="0000ff">CNY</font>
Not going to bring my pump out, will be doing direct latch, easier for me.. bought a few pcs of breastfeeding clothes for the occasion.

<font color="0000ff">dreamyjo</font>
Can, can this week we meet for a walk,likely early evening after dinner like 6+pm or mid morning around 10am, I'll sms U ok.

<font color="0000ff">Babyzel</font>
Yr bb gal not looking at the camera, she's focused with the bb mobile. She's of very good weight ya

<font color="0000ff">cc</font>
Sorry to hear that your breastpump got prob. I have used Medela mini electric plus for 1mth+ for my #1, never have milk getting into the tubing. Think U got to send it for servicing liao.

<font color="0000ff">amooks</font>
I'm your exact opposite, I using PIS now instead of mini electric cos I find PIS can pump out more efficiently, only problem is sometimes got water droplets in my tubings. No backflow of milk.

hi bluebear: sorry didn't see your post earlier. sure wld love to meet u for cny. sms me, ok?

haru: i too wish i can have their over-supply! sigh, my 2 boys only get 3 EBM feeds a day &amp; rachel gets 4.

May I know have all your bb's bcg site recovered? My bb's bcg site has always been red and today i saw there are some lesion inside, looks like a big acne. Any mummies got any advice on this? What should I apply or do I need to see a doc? Thanks

Re Maids:

ANy comments on mynmar maids? Maid agency recommended this transfre maid from Mynmar. we interviewed her and like her in general...juz that her english super lousy.... that's the only concern.

Bear,

Thanks for your encouragement
BTW, can you share with me with LC you've been seeing? My blocked ducts are on and off. Just when i thought all is well now, i saw another blister on the right boob AGAIN! If your LC managed to help you solve your problem, I'll be very interested to get her help too. Agree with you that it's mega sian to have our lives revolve around pumping and feeding...Really need all the support from friends and family to keep breast feeding.

Regarding latching during CNY visits:
i'm undecided if i should bottle feed baby EBM and then express or just latch on. My baby likes to do 'express suckle' to drink to her heart's content and then, push the nipple out of her mouth but in less than 1 min, cry for the nipple again. This can go on for about half hour. I've not been confident enough to bring her out because of this, each feeding can take about an hour with her playing with my nipple so i'm just worried about her crying and crying in public if i refuse to let her play with my nipple.

Anyone's baby is like mine? Any advice?

kash
I wanted a myanmar maid before but agent said their english is horrible. Oh my maid's english now is already horrible and giving us problems cos of it. Unless she is willing to ask if she doesn't understand, if not, don't consider. Vomit blood when they do all the wrong things.

Hi cc,
I am frm dec thread..saw ur post abt the medela pump problem. Currently I am also having this prob. It is when you tilt it too much while pumping.

Kash:
Myanmar maid is ok. No pork issues. English must slowly teach.

Swimming is $28 for trial session. About 20 mins coz if too long, BB too tired will get phobia.

CNY:
I will be latching but bringing along pump and cooler bag in case BB dun drink much.

Waterbaby:
If she is playing, I dun feed. Else she treat my breasts as pacifier. I let her self soothe by sucking her hand as long as she dun put her fingers into her mouth. But muz clean her hands often.

dreamyjo

my boy same same... once stop shaking the sarong, will wake up.. my mum oso complained that must always sit there n shake all the way.. she is complaining dunno how to do hsework when i go back to work.. Luckily for me is that i got a auto cradle at hm..

Fifi, ok i will let u noe whether i m getting it again, cos getting on behalf of my frd.;. thks

times flies, i still got another 5wks left to start work..

CC,bluebear,
if bring pump got to bring a lot of barang barang for sterilizing, etc. Also if outside, may not feel comfortable enough to pump... My cny clothes all one piece type, diff to do latch on also. i "hiao" lor, bobian.

Joyce,
Ur supply so gd. Now if i do latch and pump the most i get is 100ml. But a great improvement already lah.

Fifi,
Haven't leh, am interested but hubby say waste money. He say he can do a good job in taking photos of our gal also but it's not the same what.

Blue bear
Cot mobile can keep my gal entertained but her attention span quite short. at most 20 mins.

Fifi, sucking her hands? Ok, i'll try that later with my girl. I tried giving her pacifier but she spits it out each time so i've given up on that now. Will definitely try the hand thing...

babybazel: ya clothing is the touogh part having to choose the ones with buttons...so limited choices..

RE: MEDELA breastpump
Hiyoh So i m the only unlucky one the milk went into the tube and motor, sent for servicing and it seemed to be quite a common prob for Medela too..happens only in mornings when my BM is a lot the heavy flow flow into the tubing.and thus the motor....sigh....

those mummies who hv tried the osteo massage, do u find it helps put yr baby to sleep? my baby cries all the time and doesnt sleep in between feeds in the daytime. she still feeds every hourly sometimes and yet her weight gain is poor too
so tempted to give up BF cos really dunno how much she is drinking each time.

was wondering if the osteo massage might help or if any mummies hv any advice? really at my wits end

waterbaby,
i hv a somewhat similar problem nursing my baby too. she sometimes tugs and pulls at my nipple i dunno wats wrong. so i hv to keep trying and coaxing her and sometimes she falls asleep. the whole feeding cycle takes very long so hv also been very difficult to bring her out cos she is always crying after nursing. am also worried about bringing her out during CNY

sorry to disturb u.. i need to engage for a confinment lady... anyone has any recommendation??? My EDD is july 09. pls pm me the contact. thanks

Spin> ehh wat is EOL har, i'm using avent manual pump.

Medela pump> my also lost his suction power so i'm now using the avent manual pump. Will sent it for servicing soon.

Fifi> I've got a freelance photographer to take Jaydon when he is 3 weeks old, will post some photos later.

BB pretend to vomit> So my bb is not the only one, dunno learn from where also, sigh.