(2008/11) November 2008

<font color="0000ff">Haru, u only pump once a day, can get 80~140ml is vy gd amt leh.

I stopped latching my gal coz she doesn't latch well, only suck the nipple *sob*

Anyway my ss finally managed to increase quite abit this morning...phew! Got scared there, thou I m a gone case on BFing ^_^'' Thanks for all the advices, mommies

haru,
U can 'assemble' the bottles after they are sterilized and put them in a container.
I use lock-it air-tight containers to put sterilised bottles and pump funnels.

Sabre,
my locia also yet to finish lay. Somemore quite heavy these few days. Tis is my 6th wk liao. I'm suspecting its my monthly period coming back.
Does Tampines Polyclinic do 5-in-1 jab?

Hello ladies, hope u guys had a wonderful Christmas! felt kinda sad on Christmas eve cos every yr i will be out partying.. this yr stucked at home..

Re: pumping
Thanks u all for ur advice. right now i pump aft feeding him at nights.. means it takes an hr to feed and settle him, then another hr to pump and sterilise.. then i get an hr of slp then the whole thing repeats again. but sometimes i do skip pumps and just zzzz... too tired to just survive on an hr's slp!

Re: ss
wah u guys ss quite gd leh.. at 3hrly, i m pumping 130ml.. 4hr abt 160ml.. 6 hrly can hit 280ml. my boy is taking 110ml so i got enough to store.

Re: Sterilised stuff
Haru, i usually close the bottles aft opening the steriliser.

Re: lochia
Mine finished liao!! anyway i dun think u guys are having ur period. u need a period of no bleeding first before ur 'normal' cycle resumes... dun think ur body will release an egg if u are still bleeding.

Oh ya, those ppl taking fenugreek, how's ur ss? I just realise my diarrhea might not be from fenugreek cos i stopped for one wk plus but still having diarrhea. I think its the confinement food!! all the sesame oil and wine!!!

wow Bear,
ur supply is really good! i am considering increasin e dosage of e fenugreek. currently only taking 3 capsules a day. but supply not really increasing.

hubby and i had a tough day. baby refused to nap all day and now also cannot sleep. so we have been busy tryin to get baby to sleep whole day..guess its one of those days..sigh..she really cannot fall asleep on her own leh and wakes up so easily like within 5 mins aft dozing off. very tiring for me.

Hi mummies ask you all.. When do you gals use your freezing milkbags huh? I have been storing n storing till my fridge is quite full. usually i have 6 bottles in my fridge. Normally i will pump in the bottles is theres enff of bottles. If not i will store in the freezer. So just curious asking u all when do you use your milk bags huh?

I mananged to (almost) total BF my baby for the last week! Really happy cos hv been needing to supplement with formula very often previously. only fed her FM 4 times in the last 10 days!
this shows that its never too late! but it was really difficult to weane her off FM, and really tiring for me cos had to latch vvv often

Can I ask mummies if pumping will really increase supply? Sometimes I hv to latch her abt an hour later so there is no time to pump. And yesterday tried pumping and only got 10ml
When is the best time to pump?

fabbie:
For me, I have 10 x 80ml bottles, 12 x 100ml bottles in the freezer. The rest are milk bags. My fridge will only have the amount I am giving her as freshly expressed put in the fridge can store 48 hrs and frozen thawed in the fridge can store 24 hrs only.

Fifi
Bottles can be put in the freezer? Wont crack meh? I have got 6 bottles in my fridge(below) and plenty of freeze milk bags. And of cus to save milk bags i will always pump in the bottle. when im not enff bottle i will put my milk in the milk bags. So the problem is. My milk bottles in my fridge below havent even finish and could store only 48 hrs right? so when can i use my freezemilk bags? I keep collecting my fridge freezer will be full liao leh.. haiz. any idea what should i do?

fabbie:
Mine is glass bottles and freezing bottles. Can put in freezer. Must leave a gap for the frozen milk to expand.

Yes, I have more than 2 litres of frozen milk in the freezer already. But that's less than 3 days full days supply if you think about it.

fabbie,
i do partial latch-on. so at night will give bb thawed BM. And those that i expressed out, i would freeze it.

This way is to keep the current supply of EBM up-to-date, and not throw them away in 3 months' time.

triAngel,
My GP is charging $120 per jab, including consultation.

Lilian,
Me too.. I'm wondering is it normal to bleed so long lor..

Tampines polyclinic have the 5-in-1 jab. I think all polyclonocs gt ba..

Bear,
you so on ar, at night after feeding still can pump.. For night feeds i normally can't even keep my eyes open liao lor..

happywifey,
latching baby on also can increase ur ss. Maybe u can try pumping while feeding baby?? Letdown is faster too..u're feeding hrly??

Wa, u all seem to be having very good supply wor.. I'm now pumping once a day and pump out around 90-110ml. My boy is back to drinking every 2 hrs liao, so at least can relax a bit, but sometimes he will haywire and drink every hr again. Luckily got pacifier to stall him for a while. However I noticed that when I feed him EBM, he's only drinking 50-60ml. And after that don't wan to drink liao, but want to latch on. So I'm thinking maybe the flow too slow liao. Gonna change the teat tomorrow so will see how it goes. I'm always worrying he's not feeding enough lor..

Re:Diapers,
Anyone using M size now?? Cause I find S size a bit tight around the thighs for him now leh, thinking whether to change to M a not..

Hi Happywifey,

latching baby on also can increase ur MILK... I heard fr my friend the best time to pump is early morning around 4am to 5am... maybe U can try...

Sabre,
my GP is charging $1440 for 6 in 1, MMR, Chicken pox, Rotavirus &amp; Pneumococcal (4 jabs) including consultation.

RE : Diapers
My girl is using M size already. She is 2mths old and weights 6.8Kgs...

Baby Centre is having a sale. Discounts quite good. Anyone interested?

As stocks are going off fast, I would like to place order by today if we consolidate enough.

Whoever is interested, pm me your orders in the following format:

Item Name:
URL: Ensure it is working
Qty:
Colour: if any
Size: if any
Instructions for OOS: i.e. drop or other colour/size

Exchange rate: 1.58

After you pm me your order, transfer immediately to my posb savings account 116-19620-4

i am tryin to figure how come my baby dun seem to be able to sleep as soundly and long at home compared to when she is outside. she can easily sleep longer than 3 hours when we are outside during the day. but if we are at home during e day, its a challenge getting her to nap. once we manage to get her to nap, she jerks and wakes up and yells within a few mins..wonder why..

i am thinkin how i should bring out my breastpump when i need to go out so that i can pump aft latchin baby on. should i bring e sterilized pump and milk bottle in an air-tight container and then store the expressed milk in a cooler bag to bring home?

sabre, karen,
yes, am latching her hourly on average. on good days, 2 and half hours, but sometimes 15 mins later
am worried she is not getting enuf cos am pumping out so little. can I ask how many times shd a baby on total BM be pooping a day?

triangel,
wow, yr baby is a good weight! my baby is barely filling out the S size diaper - she has a small butt, hee.

haru,
my baby also cant get to sleep easily at home. cant put her down at all. only sleeps when we are carrying her. maybe the constant movement of the stroller or your walking is putting her to sleep better?

happywifey,
i think so too..end up if hubby is not at home, i dun even have time to shower to eat. thinking what i can do to settle her down better at home.

o... den i guess i can switch to m size after this pack. cause i'm using huggies, n its getting a little small.

haru,
u go out still wan to pump ar.. for me go out latch on only, a bit mafan to bring pump and everything..

happywifey,
my baby poos around 6 times ba.. but its quite good liao, considering last time he poos at every feed.

Sabre,
no choice leh, need to get my supply going as i am plannin to go back to work in mid Jan and my EBM amount stil not stabilized..

my baby still using s size...try fitting her into drypers M size but looks gigantic on her..I realised diapers r much cheaper in medical halls.

Today manage to log in again after so many days as I have been busy lately and just finished with my baby's full month on Sunday. Really tired me out but overall is a happy occasion for my little one. :B

nikki: Thanks for sharing about the vaccinations. After reading what some of you commented about this, I think I will consider bringing my boy for his jabs at the nearby polyclinic and save the hassle. Glad to hear that waiting time not too long at polyclinic for babies. Will be going for his 2nd Heb B jab on 2nd Jan.

So tired last night. Baby was crying and did everything i could but he just won't stop. And he sleep halfway den will cry out loud liao..

Diapers &amp; Formula Milk

hi muumies, would like to do a survey on bb who take FM. Pls provide no.of week bb is, ml bb taking, no. of hour AND no. of hr diaper chg &amp; brand of diaper.....thank you all....so that we can see if bb is feeding ok or not.... will collate &amp; present result

diaper-how then is diaper considered full &amp; need to change huh?

cc: wow really! Your baby eyebrow must be really nice now. :B Heard that if shave away all baby hair, then new hair will grow in patches. Is it true?

happywifey,
heehee... ya..she is a big baby.

shop4stuffs,
my bb still got hair on her ear..hvnt drop too. and she is also 8wks old.

poohbeary,
me too. i shaved my bb hair and eyebrows on her 1st mth. her brows also grew in 2wks and v thick &amp; nice. her hair also grew very fast..and does not grow in patches leh.

Realised i m a bad mummy loh.. yesterday was my BD but bb decided to tekan his mummy by fussing n refusing to sleep in the day.. ends up i m so pek chek, n i actually shouted at him n smack his butt... feel so bad now..
N oso his cheeks have this red sort of inflammated patches abt 1-2 wks ago.. but we only become concerned last few days.. Brought him to PD yesterday n was told that it eczema.. n it abit infected liao n have to apply antibiotic cream.. Felt so bad towards him..

Hi shop4stuff

my bb: 7.5wks, 130ml, 2.5-3hrly, change diaper every 3-4 hrly, using drypers

shop4stuff,
my bb : 8wks 3days, 150ml, 2.5-3hrly, change as and when it is full, using mamypoko &amp; pamper comfort.
* mamypoko is more absorable than pamper comfort

shop4stuff,
mine: 6wks, 100ml, 2.5-3hrly.
Diaper change every 5hrs. Using Nepia.

FM price - Also juz found out yest tat medical hall sells FM cheaper than NTUC

cutiemum,
don't feel bad la. I understand how u feel. It can get very frustrating when baby refuse to cooperate and we lack of sleep.
My baby is fussy too. Must carry her to sleep and she drink very slooowww....

Anyone using Avent size 1 teats? Issit too small and slow?
I juz switched to size 3, variable flow, just to make my girl drink faster.

Lilian

ya, it so frustrating loh.. but no choice have to 'bear' with him.. hope he will grow faster and pass the phrase faster.. I changed the milk teat size to M when he abt 5wks old, cos he drank so so slow then.. now is better, abt 15 to 20 mins..

shop4stuffs, my bb 8wks 3days old. Drinking 130ml in 3-4hrly intervals. Using Nepia and MamyPoko, change ard every 4hrly. I'm keen to know your survey results.

You may want to add mi on msn or email mi @ [email protected]

Lilian,
my baby is still using Avent teat 1 and she is almost 7 weeks. still letting her use it as she is still slowly learning to get used to bottle since i am giving her EBM only once a day.

cutiemum,
dun feel bad ok? my baby also tends to be very fussy when at home. she refuses to sleep and cries alot even when we have fed and carry her. just tell urself its a passing phase ok?

I have a Medela PIS advance 2008 backpack for sale at $400. Will include new parts for hygiene purpose. Warranty till end of May 2009. Interested, please PM me. Thanks!